CTNF 18/740,284 CTNF 89159 DETAILED ACTION This office action response to the communication filed on 06/11/2024. Claims 1-20 are presented for examination. Notice of AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102 of this title, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 1-7, 9-10, 14-15, 17-18, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordaychik et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0019892), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of MEDINA et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220361182), (“D2”, hereinafter), and further in view of LI et al (international Patent Application Publication No. CN 118785487 A, hereinafter “D3”) . As per Claim 1, D1 discloses a user equipment (UE) ([see, [0017], a UE 102), comprising: one or more memories storing processor-executable code ([see, [0227], processor]); and one or more processors coupled with the one or more memories ([see, [0227], processor and memory]); and individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a capability indication (capability information) of the UE ([see, [0013], a capabilities transmission, the UE may receive a registration area configuration with an indication that capabilities are acceptable for a registered area]), wherein the capability indication indicates one or more supported functions ([see, [0013, 0019-0026], indication indicates the functions, such as capabilities are acceptable for a registered area. In addition, on [0019], discloses capability identifier may provide or indicate support for group message capability]); transmit or receive one or more aircraft-to-everything transmissions using at least a subset of a resource allocation ([see, 0069], where a sidelink or v2x message shall be transmitted simultaneously with an uplink message (corresponding to resource allocation))]). D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: that use a sidelink connection of the UE; and that is determined from a set of sidelink resources for aircraft-to-everything communication. However, D2 discloses that use communication via a sidelink connection of the UE ([see, [0013], and Fig.1, utilized a non-terrestrial network, the non-terrestrial network terminals (UEs), such as radio modules mounted on aircraft that over a direct radio link (such as a sidelink)]); and that is determined from a set of sidelink resources for aircraft-to-everything communication ([see, [0041], scheduling of sidelink radio resources for communications between first and second non-terrestrial network (NTN) terminals such as aircraft]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]). The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: aircraft-to-everything (A2X) communication. However, D3 discloses aircraft-to-everything (A2X) communication ([see, page 13, lines 1-15, wherein the aircraft can send A2X service (or called A2X service message) to other aircraft (or other terminal device) through sidelink link, A2X service data, etc.), or an aircraft may send other service type sidelink communication messages (e.g., V2X service messages) to other aircraft (or other terminal devices) via sidelink links]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a solution for allocating resources for A2X service of aircraft results improving the reliability of A2X service of aircraft. (D3, page 2, lines 10-15]). As per Claim 20, is the non-transitory computer readable medium (CRM) claim corresponding to the apparatus claim 1 that has been rejected above. Applicant attention is directed to the rejection of claim 1. Claim 20 is anticipated by CRM being performed by the method above and therefore is rejected under the same rational as claim 1. As per Claim 2, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein, to transmit the capability indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code ([see, [0227], processor and memory]); and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses to cause the UE to: transmit a set of supported aircraft-to-everything parameters that are separate from a different set of vehicle-to-everything communication parameters for sidelink communications ([see, [0052], distance between UEs in an NTN scenario may be large compared to, vehicle-to-everything (V2X) scenarios where the distance is typically, at most, hundreds of meters, and also the lead to propagation delays in the order of one millisecond]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]). As per Claim 3, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a capability indication for sidelink communications, wherein the aircraft-to-everything communication is dependent on support of sidelink communication at the UE ([see, [0013], determining a set of candidate radio resources for transmitting data from a first communication node of a non-terrestrial network to a second communication node of the non-terrestrial network over a direct radio link (such as a sidelink)]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]). As per Claim 4, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein, to transmit the capability indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit one or more aircraft-to-everything capability parameters that indicate support for one or more of broadcast remote identification communications or detect-and-avoid communications, or other A2X services ([see, [0052], distance between UEs in an NTN scenario may be large compared to, vehicle-to-everything (V2X) scenarios where the distance is typically, at most, hundreds of meters, and also the lead to propagation delays in the order of one millisecond]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]). As per Claim 5, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein, to transmit the capability indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a capability indication for a subset of sidelink communications, that indicates the UE supports less than all sidelink communication capabilities (i.e., interpreted as supports a limited subset of device-to-device/V2X communication features) ([see, [0013, 0085], a subset of candidate radio resources by excluding the identified one or more conflicting radio resources from the set of candidate radio resources; and selecting a radio resource from the subset of candidate radio resources for transmitting the data over the direct radio link. In addition, on [0085], a subset of candidate radio resources a slot may be excluded from the candidate resource set based on a UE capability in terms of a maximum number of simultaneously active SL transmit or receive beam]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]). As per Claim 6, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 5, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the capability indication indicates the UE supports receive-only functions of aircraft-to-everything communication ([see, [0070, 0085-0086], capability indication indicates the UE supports a half-duplex communication that occurs at the second device j if that device tries to transmit at the same time as receiving the signals transmitted by the first device I, and a UE to report a UE capability in terms of a maximum number of simultaneously active transmit or receive SL beams]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]). As per Claim 7, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 5, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the capability indication indicates the UE supports transmit-only functions of aircraft-to-everything communication ([see, [0070, 0085-0086], capability indication indicates the UE supports a half-duplex communication that occurs at the second device j if that device tries to transmit at the same time as receiving the signals transmitted by the first device I, and a UE to report a UE capability in terms of a maximum number of simultaneously active transmit or receive SL beams]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]). As per Claim 9, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein: the capability indication is provided in one or more aircraft-to-everything capability bits that are appended to one or more sidelink capability messages ([see, [0018], wherein the network may request the UE transmit capability bitmap that includes capability ID includes a capability of detecting the levels to other vehicles]). As per Claim 10, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein, to transmit the capability indication, the one or more processors are individually or collectively operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit the capability indication as a differential capability from an associated vehicle-to-everything communication capability ([see, [0052], distance between UEs in an NTN scenario may be large compared to, vehicle-to-everything (V2X) scenarios where the distance is typically, at most, hundreds of meters, and also the lead to propagation delays in the order of one millisecond]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]). As per Claim 14, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the one or more processors are individually or collectively further operable to execute the code to cause the UE to: transmit a second capability indication to a network entity ([see, [0017], and Fig. 1, the UE 102 may provide a UE capability information message 108 including a UE capability ID to the gNB 104]), wherein the second capability indication indicates one or more supported UE functions using an access link with the network entity ([see, [0024], UE may have a capability indicator which indicates a capability to avoid SRS collisions when the UE must transmit user or control information]). As per Claim 15, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 14, and D1 further discloses wherein the one or more supported UE functions include one or more of height-dependent parameter reporting, joint measurement and height-dependent parameter reporting, flight path parameter reporting, or any combinations thereof ([see, [0047], spatial information may include beam information and direction of transmissions. Spatial information may aid in beam tracking. Directions may have a 3-dimensional component, i.e. one that includes height or altitude]). As per Claim 17, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 further discloses wherein the capability indication indicates a list of one or more aircraft-to-everything sidelink bands or sidelink band combinations where one or more aircraft-to-everything services are supported by the UE ([see, [0026], UE may report the frequencies, frequency bands (for example, 2.4 ghz, 4.9 ghz, 5 ghz, 5.9 ghz, 6 ghz, 60 ghz etc.), number of supported bandwidth parts, numerology, subcarrier spacing or the like to a base station during a capability report]). As per Claim 18, D1 discloses method for wireless communication by a user equipment (UE), comprising: transmitting a capability indication (capability information) of the UE ([see, [0013], a capabilities transmission, the UE may receive a registration area configuration with an indication that capabilities are acceptable for a registered area]), wherein the capability indication indicates one or more supported functions ([see, [0013, 0019], indication indicates the functions, such as capabilities are acceptable for a registered area. In addition, on [0019], discloses capability identifier may provide or indicate support for group message capability]); transmitting or receiving one or more aircraft-to-everything transmissions using at least a subset of a resource allocation ([see, 0069], where a sidelink or v2x message shall be transmitted simultaneously with an uplink message (corresponding to resource allocation))]). D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: that use communication via a sidelink connection of the UE; and that is determined from a set of sidelink resources for aircraft-to-everything communication. However, D2 discloses that use communication via a sidelink connection of the UE ([see, [0013], and Fig.1, utilized a non-terrestrial network, the non-terrestrial network terminals (UEs), such as radio modules mounted on aircraft that over a direct radio link (such as a sidelink)]); and that is determined from a set of sidelink resources for aircraft-to-everything communication ([see, [0041], scheduling of sidelink radio resources for communications between first and second non-terrestrial network (NTN) terminals such as aircraft]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]). The combination of D1 and D2 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: aircraft-to-everything (A2X) communication. However, D3 discloses aircraft-to-everything (A2X) communication ([see, page 13, lines 1-15, wherein the aircraft can send A2X service (or called A2X service message) to other aircraft (or other terminal device) through sidelink link, A2X service data, etc.), or an aircraft may send other service type sidelink communication messages (e.g., V2X service messages) to other aircraft (or other terminal devices) via sidelink links]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D3, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D3. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide a solution for allocating resources for A2X service of aircraft results improving the reliability of A2X service of aircraft. (D3, page 2, lines 10-15]). As per Claim 19, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the method of claim 18, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein transmitting the capability indication comprises: transmitting a set of supported aircraft-to-everything parameters that are separate from a different set of vehicle-to-everything communication parameters for sidelink communication ([see, [0052], distance between UEs in an NTN scenario may be large compared to, vehicle-to-everything (V2X) scenarios where the distance is typically, at most, hundreds of meters, and also the lead to propagation delays in the order of one millisecond]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gordaychik et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 2023/0019892), (“D1”, hereinafter), in view of MEDINA et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20220361182), (“D2”, hereinafter), and further in view of Luo et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20210400721 A1), (“D4”, hereinafter) . As per Claim 8, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 5, and D1 appears to be silent to the instant claim, and D2 further discloses wherein the capability indication indicates the UE supports transmit-only functions of aircraft-to-everything communication ([see, [0070, 0085-0086], capability indication indicates the UE supports a half-duplex communication that occurs at the second device j if that device tries to transmit at the same time as receiving the signals transmitted by the first device I, and a UE to report a UE capability in terms of a maximum number of simultaneously active transmit or receive SL beams]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D2, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D2. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide supporting direct communications between UEs results improving performance in NTNs in terms of allowing direct communication via sidelink between NTN UEs, such as between aircraft (D2, [0042]]). D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose : supports channel sensing for a sidelink channel. However, D4 discloses supports channel sensing for a sidelink channel ([see, [0083, 0088], the sensing capability, an indication that the IAB node 215 is capable of performing channel sensing procedures as a single node]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D4, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D4. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide channel sensing procedures results improve power savings and increase battery life, while also achieving greater spectral efficiency (D4, [0186]]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim s 11-12, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, and further in view of ORSINO et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20250016561), (“D5”, hereinafter) . As per Claim 11, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein: the capability indication includes separate indications of support for broadcast remote identification communications and detect-and-avoid communications. However, D5 discloses wherein: the capability indication includes separate indications of support for broadcast remote identification communications ([see, [0026], support the broadcasting of UAV identity and other information related to speed and route of the UAV over the PC5 interface]), and detect-and-avoid communications ([see, [0026], the UAV over the PC5 interface for the purpose of collision detection and avoidance]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide broadcasting of UAV identity results improving the efficiency and robustness of the terrestrial LTE network for providing aerial connectivity services, particularly for low altitude UAVs (D5, [0006]]). As per Claim 12, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the capability indication includes a single indication of support for broadcast remote identification communications and/or detect-and-avoid communications. However, D5 discloses wherein the capability indication includes a single indication of support for broadcast remote identification communications ([see, [0097], he first node 111 may provide a first indication to the first node 111 in order to identify itself, when this may be requested to be broadcasted over PC5 by the first node 111]), and/or detect-and-avoid communications. In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide broadcasting of UAV identity results improving the efficiency and robustness of the terrestrial LTE network for providing aerial connectivity services, particularly for low altitude UAVs (D5, [0006]]). As per Claim 16, D1, D2 and D3 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the one or more aircraft-to-everything transmissions comprise one or more of a broadcast remote identification transmission or a detect and avoid transmission. However, D5 discloses wherein the one or more aircraft-to-everything transmissions comprise one or more of a broadcast remote identification transmission ([see, [0026], support the broadcasting of UAV identity and other information related to speed and route of the UAV over the PC5 interface]), or a detect and avoid transmission ([see, [0026], the UAV over the PC5 interface for the purpose of collision detection and avoidance]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D5, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D5. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide broadcasting of UAV identity results improving the efficiency and robustness of the terrestrial LTE network for providing aerial connectivity services, particularly for low altitude UAVs (D5, [0006]]) . 07-21-aia AIA Claim 13 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over D1, in view of D2, in view of D4, and further in view of Ptasinski et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication No. 20090046593), (“D6”, hereinafter) . As per Claim 13, D1, D2, D3, and D4 disclose the UE of claim 1, and D1 doesn’t appear explicitly disclose: wherein the single indication comprises a two-bit field that indicates support for broadcast remote identification communications, detect-and-avoid communications, or both. However, D6 discloses wherein the single indication comprises a two-bit field that indicates support for broadcast remote identification communications, detect-and- avoid communications, or both ([see, [0181], wherein the Capability and Status Announcement, based on periodic broadcast announcements and status flags allow determination of the stations, and two bit-flags are supported for announcing status and configuration information]). In view of the above, having the system of D1 and then given the well-established teaching of D6, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to modify the system of D1 as taught by D6. The motivation for doing so would have been to provide broadcasting of UAV identity results improving the efficiency and robustness of the terrestrial LTE network for providing aerial connectivity services, particularly for low altitude UAVs (D6, [0006]]). Conclusion Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to BERHANU BELETE whose telephone number is (571)272-3478. The examiner can normally be reached on Monday-Friday 7:30am-5pm, Alt. Friday, and EDT. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, JEONG, MOO R. can be reached on (571) 272-9617. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /BERHANU D BELETE/ Examiner, Art Unit 2468 /WUTCHUNG CHU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 2 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 3 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 4 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 5 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 6 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 7 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 8 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 9 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 10 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 11 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 12 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 13 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 14 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 15 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 16 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 17 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 18 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 19 Art Unit: 2418 Application/Control Number: 18/740,284 Page 20 Art Unit: 2418