DETAILED ACTION
1. This Office Action is responsive to claims filed for No. 18/740,287 on September 23, 2026. Please note Claims 1-13, 15-18, 20-26 and 28-32 are pending and have been examined.
America Invents Act
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
4. Claims 23-26 and 28 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by
Bleyer et al. ( US 11,037,359 B1 ).
Bleyer teaches in Claim 23:
A method of operating an electronic device ( Figure 1 Column 2, Lines 60-64 disclose a device and method which can provide improved passthrough images ), comprising:
with an image sensor, capturing a first image ( Figure 3, Column 10, Lines 26-39 disclose creating “virtual” cameras that are in front of the user’s pupils 330 and 335 (right and left eyes) to perform parallax correction, i.e. transform images generated by the camera 305 to change perspectives, i.e. generating virtual content. Column 6, Lines 17-35 disclose additional details on the virtual cameras used for reprojecting from an actual camera and Column 19, Lines 52-64 disclose details on the GPU. Please note Figure 13, step 1305 );
with a first processor, generating virtual content that comprises a virtual object ( Figure 13, Column 18, Lines 41-47, step 1315, please note the generation of a stylized image. Furthermore, please note the virtual content provided by the virtual camera ),
mitigating double vision by modifying the virtual content, wherein modifying the virtual content comprises shifting or rotating the virtual object; ( Figure 3, Columns 9-10, Lines 44-3 disclose parallax occurring as a result of offsets and as such, it is beneficial to perform parallax correction, aka an image synthesis, on the raw images. Parallax correction includes depth computations to determine depth of aspects and this correction entails mitigating double vision or improving vergence comfort. As for the particulars of correction and modification, Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose a style filter which can modify the image and impose aspects on the image. To expand on this, please note Figure 13, step 1320 which generates a stylized parallax-corrected image. To clarify, parallax correction will compensate for depth issues, which cause double vision or vergence issues and as discussed above, the offsets are eliminated, i.e. lateral shifting along a common projection plane, to combine the various camera images into one image for each eye. Furthermore, Column 12, Lines 43-50 disclose a plurality of modifications, including resizing, rotation, etc, (read as shifting or rotating) ); and
with a second processor different from the first processor, combining the first image with the modified virtual content to produce combined content ( As noted above, the initial, captured image is combined/modified to result in the stylized parallax-corrected image. These are two different steps/processes and done by two different elements/processors ); and
with a display, outputting the combined content. ( Column 9, Lines 49-65 disclose reprojection transforms on the stylized parallax-corrected image which can be output to the user’s pupils (resulting in a fourth image). To clarify, the raw image is filtered/stylized/corrected with this virtual camera/content and then output. Figure 3, Column 17, Lines 51-57 disclose the stylized parallax-corrected image is output to the display or flat screen device for the user to view )
Bleyer teaches in Claim 24:
The method of claim 23, wherein the first processor comprises a graphics rendering unit and wherein modifying the virtual content comprises: with the first processor, modifying the virtual content. ( Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose various modifications that can be performed, such as cropping, scaling, resizing, rotating, as well as different visual effects. This is done using a filter to adjust the image, i.e. an image signal processor. Furthermore, Column 9, Lines 49-65 disclose transforming the raw image as part of parallax correction and Column 10, Lines 9-25 disclose an example of this, namely warping the raw images as part of reprojection and this adjusts the offsets, i.e. shift, as seen in Figure 3. Furthermore, this is done using cameras 305 and 325 in conjunction with cameras 310 and 320. To clarify, the change in aspects during/after processing results in “transforming the first virtual camera or the second virtual camera”. Furthermore, as noted in the reasoning in Claim 23, Figure 13 shows a plurality of transformations of a sequence of images )
Bleyer teaches in Claim 25:
The method of claim 23,
Wherein the first processor comprises a graphics rendering unit and wherein modifying the virtual content comprises: with a third processor different from the first processor and second processors, modifying the virtual content, wherein the third processor comprises an image signal processor ( Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 35-43 disclose cameras 305-325 which can provide passthrough images 350, which are raw images. Figure 13 shows a plurality of steps which are detailed in the reasoning of Claim 23 ); and
Bleyer teaches in Claim 26:
The method of claim 25, further comprising: with the third processor, modifying the first image ( Please note the reasoning above with regards to Figure 13 which shows a sequencing of images being generated and it is clear that there is a processor/processing to perform this )
Bleyer teaches in Claim 28:
A method of operating an electronic device ( Figure 1 Column 2, Lines 60-64 disclose a device and method which can provide improved passthrough images ), comprising:
with one or more image sensors, acquiring a first image, wherein the first image comprises passthrough content ( Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 35-43 disclose cameras 305-325 which can provide passthrough images 350, which are raw images );
with a graphics rendering subsystem, generating virtual content ( Figure 13, Column 18, Lines 41-47, step 1315, please note the generation of a stylized image. Furthermore, please note the virtual content provided by the virtual camera );
mitigating double vision by transforming the first image ( Figure 3, Columns 9-10, Lines 44-3 disclose parallax occurring as a result of offsets and as such, it is beneficial to perform parallax correction, aka an image synthesis, on the raw images. Parallax correction includes depth computations to determine depth of aspects and this correction entails mitigating double vision or improving vergence comfort. As for the particulars of correction and modification, Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose a style filter which can modify the image and impose aspects on the image. To expand on this, please note Figure 13, step 1320 which generates a stylized parallax-corrected image. To clarify, parallax correction will compensate for depth issues, which cause double vision or vergence issues and as discussed above, the offsets are eliminated, i.e. lateral shifting along a common projection plane, to combine the various camera images into one image for each eye. Furthermore, Column 12, Lines 43-50 disclose a plurality of modifications, including resizing, rotation, etc, (read as shifting or rotating) );
mitigating double vision by transforming the virtual content ( Please note there is a left and right eye image content, as well as two virtual cameras. Furthermore, one of the eyes relate to the first and third images and the second and fourth images relate to the other eye. The above steps are repeated for the other eye );
merging the transformed first image with the transformed virtual content to produce merged content ( Please note the stylized image for one eye is combined with the stylized image for the other eye, i.e. a fifth image );
with a display, presenting the merged content ( Figure 3, Column 17, Lines 51-57 disclose the stylized parallax-corrected image is output to the display or flat screen device for the user to view )
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1-12 and 29-32 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable
over Bleyer ( US 11,037,359 B1 ) in view of Da Veiga et al. ( US 2023/0419593 A1 ). Please note Da Veiga claims priority to PCT/US2022/019411, with a publication date of September 22, 2022.
Bleyer teaches in Claim 1:
A method of operating an electronic device ( Figure 1 Column 2, Lines 60-64 disclose a device and method which can provide improved passthrough images ), comprising:
with one or more image sensors, acquiring passthrough content ( Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 35-43 disclose cameras 305-325 which can provide passthrough images 350, which are raw images ), wherein the passthrough content comprises left eye content and right eye content ( Figure 3, Columns 8-9, Lines 65-26 discloses first and second cameras, such as 320 and 310 for the left and right eyes, respectively );
with a graphics rendering subsystem, generating virtual content ( Figure 3, Column 10, Lines 26-39 disclose creating “virtual” cameras that are in front of the user’s pupils 330 and 335 to perform parallax correction, i.e. transform images generated by the camera 305t o change perspectives, i.e. generating virtual content. Column 6, Lines 17-35 disclose additional details on the virtual cameras used for reprojecting from an actual camera and Column 19, Lines 52-64 disclose details on the GPU );
mitigating double vision by [modifying only one of the left eye content or the right eye content] to produce corresponding modified passthrough content ( Figure 3, Columns 9-10, Lines 44-3 disclose parallax occurring as a result of offsets and as such, it is beneficial to perform parallax correction, aka an image synthesis, on the raw images. Parallax correction includes depth computations to determine depth of aspects and this correction entails mitigating double vision or improving vergence comfort. As for the particulars of correction and modification, Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose a style filter which can modify the image and impose aspects on the image );
merging the modified passthrough content with the virtual content to produce corresponding merged content ( Column 9, Lines 49-65 disclose reprojection transforms on the stylized parallax-corrected image which can be output to the user’s pupils. To clarify, the raw image is filtered/stylized/corrected with this virtual camera/content and then output ); and
with one or more displays, presenting the merged content ( Figure 3, Column 17, Lines 51-57 disclose the stylized parallax-corrected image is output to the display or flat screen device for the user to view ); but
Bleyer does not explicitly teach of mitigating double vision “by modifying only one of the left eye content or the right eye content”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, projection environments, Da Veiga teaches of image pairs for the left and right eyes, ( Da Veiga, [0021] ). In one implementation, the re-projection techniques create additional properly projected 2D images for only one eye. Respectfully, Bleyer teaches to perform re-projection for each frame and while Da Veiga teaches of this implementation, an alternate implementation of only modifying one eye is also taught.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the modification of only one eye, as taught by Da Veiga, with the motivation that this is a substitution of modification, given Da Veiga’s teaches of multiple implementations and this can provide additional visual information, ( Da Veiga, [0021] ).
Bleyer and Da Veiga teach in Claim 2:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
modifying the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content comprises cropping, at an image signal processor, the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content. ( Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose various modifications that can be performed, such as cropping, scaling, resizing, rotating, as well as different visual effects. This is done using a filter to adjust the image, i.e. an image signal processor. Furthermore, this is done using cameras 305 and 325 in conjunction with cameras 310 and 320. Please note the combination with Da Veiga of only modifying one of the left and right eye data )
Bleyer and Da Veiga teach in Claim 3:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
modifying the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content comprises transforming, at an image signal processor, the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content. ( Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose various modifications that can be performed, such as cropping, scaling, resizing, rotating, as well as different visual effects. This is done using a filter to adjust the image, i.e. an image signal processor. Furthermore, Column 9, Lines 49-65 disclose transforming the raw image as part of parallax correction. Furthermore, this is done using cameras 305 and 325 in conjunction with cameras 310 and 320. To clarify, with regards to the “only one of”, the goal is to provide parallax correction and this can be for either the left, either the right, or both cameras. Respectfully, one of ordinary skill would realize that if only one of the left or right eye needed correction, then this would be done, i.e. “only one of”. Please note the combination with Da Veiga of only modifying one of the left and right eye data )
Bleyer and Da Veiga teach in Claim 4:
The method of claim 1, wherein
modifying the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content comprises selectively warping the only of the left eye content or the right eye content to apply a lateral shift in a field of view of the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content. ( Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose various modifications that can be performed, such as cropping, scaling, resizing, rotating, as well as different visual effects. This is done using a filter to adjust the image, i.e. an image signal processor. Furthermore, Column 9, Lines 49-65 disclose transforming the raw image as part of parallax correction and Column 10, Lines 9-25 disclose an example of this, namely warping the raw images as part of reprojection and this adjusts the offsets, i.e. lateral shift, as seen in Figure 3. Furthermore, this is done using cameras 305 and 325 in conjunction with cameras 310 and 320. Please note the combination with Da Veiga of only modifying one of the left and right eye data )
Bleyer and Da Veiga teach in Claim 5:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
modifying the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content comprises selectively warping the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content to apply a transformation in a point of view of the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content. ( The same reasoning in Claim 4 is also applicable here as well: Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose various modifications that can be performed, such as cropping, scaling, resizing, rotating, as well as different visual effects. This is done using a filter to adjust the image, i.e. an image signal processor. Furthermore, Column 9, Lines 49-65 disclose transforming the raw image as part of parallax correction and Column 10, Lines 9-25 disclose an example of this, namely warping the raw images as part of reprojection. Furthermore, this is done using cameras 305 and 325 in conjunction with cameras 310 and 320. Please note the combination with Da Veiga of only modifying one of the left and right eye data )
Bleyer teaches in Claim 6:
The method of claim 1, wherein:
the virtual content comprises virtual left eye content and virtual right eye content ( Figure 3, Columns 8-9, Lines 65-26 discloses first and second cameras, such as 320 and 310 for the left and right eyes, respectively ); and
the graphics rendering subsystem is configured to generate the virtual content based on a first virtual camera that imposes constraints defining a first point of view from which the virtual left eye content is being rendered at the graphics rendering subsystem and a second virtual camera that imposes constraints defining a second point of view from which the virtual right eye content is being rendered at the graphics rendering subsystem. ( Figures 3 and 5, Column 10, Lines 26-39 disclose creating “virtual” cameras which can perform the parallax corrections and transform images generates by camera 305, etc to change the perspective. Each eye has its own “virtual” camera, such as 305 and 325 to work with cameras 310 and 320 to change/define the point of view for each eye )
Bleyer teaches in Claim 7:
The method of claim 6, wherein the first virtual camera has a first view frustum and wherein the second virtual camera has a second view frustum ( Figure 3 discloses details on the cameras 305, 310, 320 and 325, which assist in the parallax correction. It is clear they have a field of view/scanning view, i.e. frustrum ), the method further comprising:
with the graphics rendering subsystem, shifting only one of the virtual left eye content or the virtual right eye content on the one or more displays to mitigate double vision by adjusting an angle limit for a corresponding one of the first view frustum and the second view frustum. ( Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 44-65 disclose parallax occurring as a result of offsets 340 and 345 because of non-alignment of the cameras with the pupils. As a result, the transformation, parallax correction is performed. Correction can include correction for types of angles, optical axes, reposition of axes so as to be in front of or in-line with the user’s pupils. Respectfully, to eliminate this offset in both the horizontal and vertical directions, the angle of the field of views are adjusted/corrected for )
Bleyer teaches in Claim 8:
The method of claim 6, wherein the first virtual camera has a first view frustum and wherein the second virtual camera has a second view frustum ( Figure 3 discloses details on the cameras 305, 310, 320 and 325, which assist in the parallax correction. It is clear they have a field of view/scanning view, i.e. frustrum ), the method further comprising:
with the graphics rendering subsystem, laterally shifting only one of the first view frustum or the second view frustum along a common projection plane to mitigate double vision. ( The same reasoning in Claim 7 is also applicable here as well: Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 44-65 disclose parallax occurring as a result of offsets 340 and 345 because of non-alignment of the cameras with the pupils. As a result, the transformation, parallax correction is performed. Correction can include correction for types of angles, optical axes, reposition of axes so as to be in front of or in-line with the user’s pupils. Respectfully, to eliminate this offset in both the horizontal and vertical directions, the angle of the field of views are adjusted/corrected for. To clarify, parallax correction will compensate for depth issues, which cause double vision or vergence issues and as discussed above, the offsets are eliminated, i.e. lateral shifting along a common projection plane, to combine the various camera images into one image for each eye )
Bleyer and Da Veiga teach in Claim 9:
The method of claim 6, further comprising:
with the graphics rendering subsystem, transforming only one of the first virtual camera or the second virtual camera to mitigate double vision. ( Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose various modifications that can be performed, such as cropping, scaling, resizing, rotating, as well as different visual effects. This is done using a filter to adjust the image, i.e. an image signal processor. Furthermore, Column 9, Lines 49-65 disclose transforming the raw image as part of parallax correction. Furthermore, this is done using cameras 305 and 325 in conjunction with cameras 310 and 320. Please note the combination with Da Veiga of only modifying one of the left and right eye data )
Bleyer and Da Veiga teach in Claim 10:
The method of claim 6, further comprising:
modifying the virtual content by selectively warping only one of the virtual left eye content or the virtual right eye content to apply a lateral shift in a field of view or a transformation in a point of view of the only one of the virtual left eye content or the virtual right eye content. ( Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose various modifications that can be performed, such as cropping, scaling, resizing, rotating, as well as different visual effects. This is done using a filter to adjust the image, i.e. an image signal processor. Furthermore, Column 9, Lines 49-65 disclose transforming the raw image as part of parallax correction and Column 10, Lines 9-25 disclose an example of this, namely warping the raw images as part of reprojection and this adjusts the offsets, i.e. lateral shift, as seen in Figure 3. Furthermore, this is done using cameras 305 and 325 in conjunction with cameras 310 and 320. Please note the combination with Da Veiga of only modifying one of the left and right eye data )
Bleyer and Da Veiga teach in Claim 11:
The method of claim 1, wherein modifying the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content comprises shifting or rotating the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content with respect to the other of the left eye content or the right eye content to introduce an offset between a view frustum of the left eye content a view frustum of the right eye content. ( The same reasoning in Claim 7 is also applicable here as well: Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 44-65 disclose parallax occurring as a result of offsets 340 and 345 because of non-alignment of the cameras with the pupils. As a result, the transformation, parallax correction is performed. Correction can include correction for types of angles, optical axes, reposition of axes so as to be in front of or in-line with the user’s pupils. Respectfully, to eliminate this offset in both the horizontal and vertical directions, the angle of the field of views are adjusted/corrected for. To clarify, parallax correction will compensate for depth issues, which cause double vision or vergence issues and as discussed above, the offsets are eliminated, i.e. lateral shifting along a common projection plane, to combine the various camera images into one image for each eye. Please note the combination with Da Veiga of only modifying one of the left and right eye data )
Bleyer and Da Veiga teach in Claim 12:
The method of claim 1, further comprising:
with one or more tracking sensors, obtaining gaze data ( Column 5, Lines 28-36 disclose eye tracking techniques to generate the passthrough visualization, which allows for the data to be modified to correspond to the user’s pupils );
generating warp meshes based on the gaze data, wherein modifying the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content comprises modifying the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content based on the warp meshes to mitigate double vision; and modifying the virtual content based on the warp meshes to mitigate double vision. ( Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose various modifications that can be performed, such as cropping, scaling, resizing, rotating, as well as different visual effects. This is done using a filter to adjust the image, i.e. an image signal processor. Furthermore, Column 9, Lines 49-65 disclose transforming the raw image as part of parallax correction and Column 10, Lines 9-25 disclose an example of this, namely warping the raw images as part of reprojection. Furthermore, this is done using cameras 305 and 325 in conjunction with cameras 310 and 320. To clarify, based on eye/gaze tracking data, the passthrough images can be effectively captured and then warped accordingly. Please note the combination with Da Veiga of only modifying one of the left and right eye data )
Bleyer teaches in Claim 29:
A method of operating an electronic device ( Figure 1 Column 2, Lines 60-64 disclose a device and method which can provide improved passthrough images ), comprising:
with at least one image sensor, acquiring passthrough content ( Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 35-43 disclose cameras 305-325 which can provide passthrough images 350, which are raw images )
with a graphics renderer comprising left and right rendering cameras, rendering computer- generated content comprising left eye content and right eye content Figure 3, Columns 8-9, Lines 65-26 discloses first and second cameras, such as 320 and 310 for the left and right eyes, respectively, each with its own field of view, wherein the left rendering camera has a first view frustum and the right rendering camera has a second view frustum; ( Figure 3, Column 10, Lines 26-39 disclose creating “virtual” cameras that are in front of the user’s pupils 330 and 335 to perform parallax correction, i.e. transform images generated by the camera 305 to change perspectives, i.e. generating virtual content. Column 6, Lines 17-35 disclose additional details on the virtual cameras used for reprojecting from an actual camera and Column 19, Lines 52-64 disclose details on the GPU, i.e. computer-generated content. ( Figure 3 discloses details on the cameras 305, 310, 320 and 325, which assist in the parallax correction. It is clear they have a field of view/scanning view, i.e. frustrum ) );
shifting or rotating only one of the left eye content or the right eye content with respect to the other of the left eye content or the right eye content to introduce an offset between the first view frustum and second view frustum, producing corresponding modified computer-generated content ( Column 12, Lines 43-64 disclose various modifications that can be performed, such as cropping, scaling, resizing, rotating, as well as different visual effects. This is done using a filter to adjust the image, i.e. an image signal processor. Furthermore, this is done using cameras 305 and 325 in conjunction with cameras 310 and 320. Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 44-65 disclose parallax occurring as a result of offsets 340 and 345 because of non-alignment of the cameras with the pupils. As a result, the transformation, parallax correction is performed, which naturally includes offsetting the two fields of view. Correction can include correction for types of angles, optical axes, reposition of axes so as to be in front of or in-line with the user’s pupils. Respectfully, to eliminate this offset in both the horizontal and vertical directions, the angle of the field of views are adjusted/corrected for );
merging the passthrough content with the modified computer-generated content to produce corresponding merged content ( Column 9, Lines 49-65 disclose reprojection transforms on the stylized parallax-corrected image which can be output to the user’s pupils. To clarify, the raw image is filtered/stylized/corrected with this virtual camera/content and then output ); and
with one or more displays, presenting the merged content ( Figure 3, Column 17, Lines 51-57 disclose the stylized parallax-corrected image is output to the display or flat screen device for the user to view ); but
Bleyer does not explicitly teach of mitigating double vision “by modifying only one of the left eye content or the right eye content”.
However, in the same field of endeavor, projection environments, Da Veiga teaches of image pairs for the left and right eyes, ( Da Veiga, [0021] ). In one implementation, the re-projection techniques create additional properly projected 2D images for only one eye. Respectfully, Bleyer teaches to perform re-projection for each frame and while Da Veiga teaches of this implementation, an alternate implementation of only modifying one eye is also taught.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filed date of the invention, to implement the modification of only one eye, as taught by Da Veiga, with the motivation that this is a substitution of modification, given Da Veiga’s teaches of multiple implementations and this can provide additional visual information, ( Da Veiga, [0021] ).
Bleyer teaches in Claim 30:
The method of claim 29, wherein the offset between the first view frustum and the second view frustum mimics a misalignment between the eyes of a user with diplopia. ( Respectfully, diplopia is synonyms with the concept of double vision. Figure 3, Columns 9-10, Lines 44-3 disclose additional details of parallax correction, which considers offsets (misalignment), i.e. double vision. Respectfully, one of ordinary skill in the art would realize that correction for parallax issues by offsetting also mitigates diplopia )
Bleyer and Da Veiga teach in Claim 31:
The method of claim 29, wherein shifting or rotating the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content with respect to the other of the left eye content or the right eye content to introduce the offset between the first view frustum and the second view frustum comprises shifting or rotating the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content with respect to the other of the left eye content or the right eye content to introduce a first offset for a first user and shifting or rotating the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content with respect to the other of the left eye content or the right eye content to introduce a second offset different than the first offset for a second user different than the first user. ( The same reasoning in Claim 7 is also applicable here as well: Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 44-65 disclose parallax occurring as a result of offsets 340 and 345 because of non-alignment of the cameras with the pupils. As a result, the transformation, parallax correction is performed. Correction can include correction for types of angles, optical axes, reposition of axes so as to be in front of or in-line with the user’s pupils. Respectfully, to eliminate this offset in both the horizontal and vertical directions, the angle of the field of views are adjusted/corrected for. To clarify, parallax correction will compensate for depth issues, which cause double vision or vergence issues and as discussed above, the offsets are eliminated, i.e. lateral shifting along a common projection plane, to combine the various camera images into one image for each eye. Please note the combination with Da Veiga of only modifying one of the left and right eye data. As for a second user, the claim requires a second offset for that second user. Respectfully, this is clearly taught by the combination in which Bleyer teaches to introduce an offset for one user and this can be mimicked for a second user )
Bleyer and Da Veiga teach in Claim 32:
The method of claim 1, wherein mitigating the double vision by modifying the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content to produce the corresponding modified passthrough content comprises modifying the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content by a first amount for a first user and modifying the only one of the left eye content or the right eye content by a second amount different than the first amount for a second user different than the first user. ( The same reasoning in Claim 7 is also applicable here as well: Figure 3, Column 9, Lines 44-65 disclose parallax occurring as a result of offsets 340 and 345 because of non-alignment of the cameras with the pupils. As a result, the transformation, parallax correction is performed. Correction can include correction for types of angles, optical axes, reposition of axes so as to be in front of or in-line with the user’s pupils. Respectfully, to eliminate this offset in both the horizontal and vertical directions, the angle of the field of views are adjusted/corrected for. To clarify, parallax correction will compensate for depth issues, which cause double vision or vergence issues and as discussed above, the offsets are eliminated, i.e. lateral shifting along a common projection plane, to combine the various camera images into one image for each eye. Please note the combination with Da Veiga of only modifying one of the left and right eye data. As for a second user, the claim requires a second offset for that second user. Respectfully, this is clearly taught by the combination in which Bleyer teaches to introduce an offset for one user and this can be mimicked for a second user )
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments considered, but are respectfully not persuasive.
Please note the updated rejection in light of the claim amendments.
Applicant argues Bleyer’s parallax correction of a captured image is not a reasonable interpretation of “generating virtual content”. However, Bleyer teaches in Column 10 of virtual cameras which can capture and provide corrected data. This reprojection of virtual content is a reasonable interpretation of the cited claim language. Examples of this includes reprojection transforms which comprise repositioning optical axes as to essentially place content in-line with the user’s pupils and again, this is a reasonable interpretation of generating virtual content, which needs to be better defined.
Applicant argues the combination of Bleyer and Da Veiga would render Bleyer inoperable. However, this is not a reasonable outcome or interpretation of what one of ordinary skill in the art would realize a combination entails. Bleyer teaches to adjust the virtual content for the eyes in general and Da Veiga teaches to adjust for one of the two eyes and in general, the goal is the same, which is to adjust the content. One of ordinary skill in the art would realize parallax could still be compensated for by simply focusing on one eye in particular, etc.
Conclusion
9. THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/DENNIS P JOSEPH/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2621