DETAILED ACTION
Claims status
In response to the application filed on 05/31/2022, claims 1-20 are currently pending for the examination. The present application, filed on or after March 1wl16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA .
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 05/31/2022 has been placed in the application file, and the information referred therein has been considered as to the merits.
Drawings
Drawing figures submitted on 05/31/2022 have been reviewed and accepted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vangal et al. (US 2011/0235531 A1) in view of Yousefi et al. (US 2012/0110356 A1).
Regarding claim 1; Vangal teaches a request allocation method for a virtual channel, comprising:
inputting a request that is received into a valid input buffer (See Fig. 2: incoming data is input into a buffer via an input multiplexer 222 of a port to which an incoming packet is routed. ¶ [0013]);
in response to that there is a valid request in the valid input buffer, regulating a working voltage and/or a working frequency of a dynamic virtual channel access group (See Fig. 2: controlling the first port to operate at a first voltage and frequency based at least in part on the comparison, wherein at least one other port of the router is controlled to operate at a second voltage and frequency. See Vangal’s claim 1) according to a current working state of the dynamic virtual channel access group (Vangal-See Fig. 2: a system may be configured such that each virtual channel is allocated based on message criticality, such as a static allocation in which a first virtual channel is associated with most critical packets, a second virtual channel is associated with next critical packets, and so forth. In such implementations, the first virtual channel buffer may be operated at higher speeds (i.e., current working states) than the other virtual channel buffers. ¶ [0018]);
inputting the request corresponding priority according to a priority of the request (See Fig. 2: a system in which a first virtual channel (VC0) is actively injecting/ejecting flits of highest-priority packets, the remaining channels/buffers, for example, VC1 through VCV can be put into low power states. The basis for adapting clock and voltage is thus message priority in this embodiment. ¶ [0019]-[0020]); and
outputting the request to a corresponding physical channel through the dynamic virtual channel access group (See Fig. 2: Similarly, the outputs of buffers 225 are coupled to an output multiplexer 226, which may be controlled by a virtual channel allocator 240. As seen, incoming credits are provided to virtual channel allocator 240, e.g., from other routers to which router 200 is coupled. Then, a given virtual channel buffer may have its output selected when it has a credit available. ¶ [0013]).
Vangal doesn’t explicitly provide the dynamic virtual channel access group of a corresponding priority according to a priority of the request.
However, Yousefi discloses the dynamic virtual channel access group of a corresponding priority according to a priority of the request (See Fig. 15: the packet ingress unit 396 receives a packet via one of the ports, which are coupled to the redundancy/backup modules. The switching circuit 420 outputs the packet to the top priority processing unit 432. The top priority processing unit 432 interprets the packet to determine its priority. If the packet is a top priority packet (e.g., a packet of the highest priority), the top priority processing unit 432 forwards the packet directly to the switching circuit 428 of the packet egress unit 394 for immediate transmission via one of the ports. In this instance, if the switching circuit 428 is currently outputting a packet, the top priority packet may interrupt the packet. ¶ [0189]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the dynamic virtual channel access group of a corresponding priority according to a priority of the request as taught by Yousefi to have incorporated in the system of Vangal, so that it would provide that if the packet is a safety related mission-critical packet, it may be placed at the front of the mission critical packet egress queue such that it is the next packet to be outputted by the packet egress unit 394. Yousefi-¶ [0186].
Regarding claim 19; Vangal teaches a terminal device, comprising: a memory, configured to store a computer program; and a processor, configured to implement the steps of the request allocation method according to claim 1 in response to executing the computer program:
inputting a request that is received into a valid input buffer (See Fig. 2: incoming data is input into a buffer via an input multiplexer 222 of a port to which an incoming packet is routed. ¶ [0013]);
in response to that there is a valid request in the valid input buffer, regulating a working voltage and/or a working frequency of a dynamic virtual channel access group (See Fig. 2: controlling the first port to operate at a first voltage and frequency based at least in part on the comparison, wherein at least one other port of the router is controlled to operate at a second voltage and frequency. See Vangal’s claim 1) according to a current working state of the dynamic virtual channel access group (Vangal-See Fig. 2: a system may be configured such that each virtual channel is allocated based on message criticality, such as a static allocation in which a first virtual channel is associated with most critical packets, a second virtual channel is associated with next critical packets, and so forth. In such implementations, the first virtual channel buffer may be operated at higher speeds (i.e., current working states) than the other virtual channel buffers. ¶ [0018]);
inputting the request corresponding priority according to a priority of the request (See Fig. 2: a system in which a first virtual channel (VC0) is actively injecting/ejecting flits of highest-priority packets, the remaining channels/buffers, for example, VC1 through VCV can be put into low power states. The basis for adapting clock and voltage is thus message priority in this embodiment. ¶ [0019]-[0020]); and
outputting the request to a corresponding physical channel through the dynamic virtual channel access group (See Fig. 2: Similarly, the outputs of buffers 225 are coupled to an output multiplexer 226, which may be controlled by a virtual channel allocator 240. As seen, incoming credits are provided to virtual channel allocator 240, e.g., from other routers to which router 200 is coupled. Then, a given virtual channel buffer may have its output selected when it has a credit available. ¶ [0013]).
Vangal doesn’t explicitly provide the dynamic virtual channel access group of a corresponding priority according to a priority of the request.
However, Yousefi discloses the dynamic virtual channel access group of a corresponding priority according to a priority of the request (See Fig. 15: the packet ingress unit 396 receives a packet via one of the ports, which are coupled to the redundancy/backup modules. The switching circuit 420 outputs the packet to the top priority processing unit 432. The top priority processing unit 432 interprets the packet to determine its priority. If the packet is a top priority packet (e.g., a packet of the highest priority), the top priority processing unit 432 forwards the packet directly to the switching circuit 428 of the packet egress unit 394 for immediate transmission via one of the ports. In this instance, if the switching circuit 428 is currently outputting a packet, the top priority packet may interrupt the packet. ¶ [0189]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the dynamic virtual channel access group of a corresponding priority according to a priority of the request as taught by Yousefi to have incorporated in the system of Vangal, so that it would provide that if the packet is a safety related mission-critical packet, it may be placed at the front of the mission critical packet egress queue such that it is the next packet to be outputted by the packet egress unit 394. Yousefi-¶ [0186].
Regarding claim 20; Vangal teaches a non-transitory readable storage medium storing a computer program, wherein in response to that the computer program is executed by a processor, the steps of the request allocation method wherein:
inputting a request that is received into a valid input buffer (See Fig. 2: incoming data is input into a buffer via an input multiplexer 222 of a port to which an incoming packet is routed. ¶ [0013]);
in response to that there is a valid request in the valid input buffer, regulating a working voltage and/or a working frequency of a dynamic virtual channel access group (See Fig. 2: controlling the first port to operate at a first voltage and frequency based at least in part on the comparison, wherein at least one other port of the router is controlled to operate at a second voltage and frequency. See Vangal’s claim 1) according to a current working state of the dynamic virtual channel access group (Vangal-See Fig. 2: a system may be configured such that each virtual channel is allocated based on message criticality, such as a static allocation in which a first virtual channel is associated with most critical packets, a second virtual channel is associated with next critical packets, and so forth. In such implementations, the first virtual channel buffer may be operated at higher speeds (i.e., current working states) than the other virtual channel buffers. ¶ [0018]);
inputting the request corresponding priority according to a priority of the request (See Fig. 2: a system in which a first virtual channel (VC0) is actively injecting/ejecting flits of highest-priority packets, the remaining channels/buffers, for example, VC1 through VCV can be put into low power states. The basis for adapting clock and voltage is thus message priority in this embodiment. ¶ [0019]-[0020]); and
outputting the request to a corresponding physical channel through the dynamic virtual channel access group (See Fig. 2: Similarly, the outputs of buffers 225 are coupled to an output multiplexer 226, which may be controlled by a virtual channel allocator 240. As seen, incoming credits are provided to virtual channel allocator 240, e.g., from other routers to which router 200 is coupled. Then, a given virtual channel buffer may have its output selected when it has a credit available. ¶ [0013]).
Vangal doesn’t explicitly provide the dynamic virtual channel access group of a corresponding priority according to a priority of the request.
However, Yousefi discloses the dynamic virtual channel access group of a corresponding priority according to a priority of the request (See Fig. 15: the packet ingress unit 396 receives a packet via one of the ports, which are coupled to the redundancy/backup modules. The switching circuit 420 outputs the packet to the top priority processing unit 432. The top priority processing unit 432 interprets the packet to determine its priority. If the packet is a top priority packet (e.g., a packet of the highest priority), the top priority processing unit 432 forwards the packet directly to the switching circuit 428 of the packet egress unit 394 for immediate transmission via one of the ports. In this instance, if the switching circuit 428 is currently outputting a packet, the top priority packet may interrupt the packet. ¶ [0189]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the dynamic virtual channel access group of a corresponding priority according to a priority of the request as taught by Yousefi to have incorporated in the system of Vangal, so that it would provide that if the packet is a safety related mission-critical packet, it may be placed at the front of the mission critical packet egress queue such that it is the next packet to be outputted by the packet egress unit 394. Yousefi-¶ [0186].
Claims are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Vangal et al. (US 2011/0235531 A1) in view of Yousefi et al. (US 2012/0110356 A1), and further in view of Ramadasse et al (US 2022/0385467 A1).
Regarding claim 18; Vangal teaches the request allocation method wherein the valid request is a request.
Neither Vangal nor Yousefi discloses the request conforms to a policy of an access policy firewall.
However, Ramadasse teaches the request conforms to a policy of an access policy firewall (Ramadasse: the network server can verify the security posture of the client 102 (e.g., whether the client 102 has drive encryption, bit locker enabled, and the firewall setting). ¶ [0069]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to provide the request conforms to a policy of an access policy firewall as taught by Ramadasse to have incorporated in the system of Vangal, so that it would provide to avoid the cumbersome, impractical communication of providing the assertions over the VPN channel. Ramadasse-¶ [0069].
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-17 are objected to as being dependent upon the rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kuenemund et al. (US 2018/0218177 A1).
Contact Information
If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Noel Beharry can be reached on 571-270-5630. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
/SAI AUNG/
Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2416