DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the communication filed on November 11, 2025. Claims 1-24 are currently pending.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed on November 11, 2025 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive for the following reasons:
Applicant argues that the additional limitations in amended independent claims 1 and 13 distinguish over the cited prior art Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally.
Examiner respectfully disagrees. The cited prior art alone and/or in combination discloses the argued features, as discussed in detail in the 103 rejection below.
For the above reasons, Examiner states that rejection of the current Office action is proper.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
At step 1:
Independent claims 1 and 13 respectively recite a method and a system, which are directed to a statutory category such as a process, machine, or an article of manufacture.
At step 2A, prong one:
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claim 13 recite the limitations:
“identifying…an indication of validity of the first instance of the data element corresponding to at least one of a format or a structure of the first instance of the data element, a value outside a defined range for a clinical trial metric, integrity of the data element, inconsistency between the data element and another related data element, or a missing value in the first instance of the data element”;
A person can mentally or using a pen and paper identify an indication of validity of a first instance of a data element corresponding to at least one of a format or a structure of the first instance of the data element, a value outside a defined range for a clinical trial metric, integrity of the data element, inconsistency between the data element and another related data element, or a missing value in the first instance of the data element.
The limitations, as recited above in claims 1 and 13, are processes that, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, cover steps that can be performed in the human mind or by a human using a pen and paper, but for recitation of generic computer components.
If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers performance of the limitation in the mind but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “Mental Processes” grouping of abstract ideas. Accordingly, the claims recite an abstract idea.
At step 2A, prong two:
This judicial exception is not integrated into a practical application.
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claim 13 recite the limitations:
“providing, to a user, a digital therapeutic application via a first user device to cause one or more interactions corresponding with a clinical trial”, which is a step of providing data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering and outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“receiving, by one or more processors, a data element generated based on at least one interaction with a second user device, wherein the data element comprises information corresponding with (a) completing one or more tasks corresponding with the clinical trial, (b) evaluating an endpoint of the clinical trial, and/or (c) affecting a condition of the user corresponding with the clinical trial”, which is a step of receiving data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“sending, by the one or more processors, the data element to each data store of a plurality of data stores, wherein at least some of the information of the data element is replicated across one or more of the plurality of data stores as one or more instances according to a schema”, which is a step of sending data to data stores. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“accessing, by the one or more processors, a first data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a first instance of the data element according to a first access schema of the first data store”, which is a step of accessing a data store to retrieve data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“accessing, by the one or more processors, a second data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a second instance of the data element according to a second access schema of the second data store, responsive to a determination of the first instance of the data element in the first data store as invalid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element”, which is a step of accessing a data store to retrieve data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“storing, by the one or more processors, the second instance of the data element onto a data repository for the clinical trial, responsive to receiving or obtaining a determination of the second instance of the data element in the second data store as valid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element”, which is a step of storing data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“wherein the first access schema and second access schema are at least one of a same schema or a different schema”, which is a step of accessing a data store to retrieve data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
“wherein the first user device and the second user device are at least one of a same user device or a different user device”, which is a step of accessing a data store to retrieve data. The step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity (MPEP 2106.05(g)).
The additional elements “digital therapeutic applications”, “by one or more processors”, “data stores”, and “a data repository” in the receiving, sending, accessing, identifying, and storing steps in claim 1 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
The additional elements “a system comprising: one or more processors coupled with memory, configured to:”, “digital therapeutic applications”, “data stores”, and “a data repository” in the receive, send, access, identify, and store steps in claim 13 are recited at a high-level of generality, such that it amounts to no more than mere instructions to apply the exception using generic computer components.
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
At step 2B:
Independent claims 1 and 13 recite the same additional elements as identified in step 2A prong two above. These additional elements are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception.
Independent claim 1 and similarly independent claim 13 recite the limitations:
“providing, to a user, a digital therapeutic application via a first user device to cause one or more interactions corresponding with a clinical trial”, which is a step of providing data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“receiving, by one or more processors, a data element generated based on at least one interaction with a second user device, wherein the data element comprises information corresponding with (a) completing one or more tasks corresponding with the clinical trial, (b) evaluating an endpoint of the clinical trial, and/or (c) affecting a condition of the user corresponding with the clinical trial”, which is a step of receiving data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“sending, by the one or more processors, the data element to each data store of a plurality of data stores, wherein at least some of the information of the data element is replicated across one or more of the plurality of data stores as one or more instances according to a schema”, which is a step of sending data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“accessing, by the one or more processors, a second data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a second instance of the data element according to a second access schema of the second data store, responsive to a determination of the first instance of the data element in the first data store as invalid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element”, which is a step of accessing a data store to retrieve data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“accessing, by the one or more processors, a second data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a second instance of the data element, responsive to a determination the first instance of the data element in the first data store as invalid”, which is a step of accessing a data store to retrieve data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“storing, by the one or more processors, the second instance of the data element onto a data repository for the clinical trial, responsive to receiving or obtaining a determination of the second instance of the data element in the second data store as valid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element”, which is a step of storing data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“wherein the first access schema and second access schema are at least one of a same schema or a different schema”, which is a step of accessing a data store to retrieve data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
“wherein the first user device and the second user device are at least one of a same user device or a different user device”, which is a step of accessing a data store to retrieve data, and is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional limitations are not sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception. Therefore, the claims are directed to an abstract idea and are not patent eligible.
Dependent claim 2 and similarly dependent claim 14 recite additional limitations, such as:
“receiving or obtaining, by the one or more processors, a determination that a second instance of a second data element on the second data store is invalid”, which is a step of receiving data;
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
“providing, by the one or more processors, an indication that the second data element on the second data store is invalid”, which is a step of providing indication or outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 3 and similarly dependent claim 15 recite additional limitations, such as:
“wherein storing a second data element further comprises storing the second instance of the data element onto the data repository”, which is a step of storing data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 4 and similarly dependent claim 16 recite additional limitations, such as:
“storing, by the one or more processors, a first instance of a second data element from the first data store onto the data repository, without accessing the second data store to retrieve a second instance of the second data element”, which is a step of storing data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of storing and retrieving information in memory (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 5 and similarly dependent claim 17 recite additional limitations, such as:
“receiving or obtaining, by the one or more processors, a confidence value indicating a degree of validity of the first instance of the data element”, which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 6 and similarly dependent claim 18 recite additional limitation, such as:
“wherein determining, receiving, or obtaining the confidence value further comprises receiving or obtaining the confidence value as output of a machine learning (ML) model”, which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 7 and similarly dependent claim 19 recite additional limitation, such as:
“receiving or obtaining, by the one or more processors, a plurality of metrics corresponding to at least one of a degree of efficacy of the digital therapeutic application, a degree of performance of the digital therapeutic application, or a degree of severity of a condition to be addressed in the user during the clinical trial, using the data element stored on the data repository” which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 8 and similarly dependent claim 20 recite additional limitation, such as:
“providing, by the one or more processors, a graphical user interface comprising information associated with at least one of the plurality of data stores or the data element on the data repository”, which is a step of providing or outputting data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data outputting, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of presenting offers and gathering statistics (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(iv)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 9 and similarly dependent claim 21 recite additional limitation, such as:
“receiving or obtaining, by the one or more processors, the first data store of the plurality of data stores as output of a machine learning (ML) model”, which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 10 and similarly dependent claim 22 recite additional limitation, such as:
“wherein receiving the data element further comprises retrieving, from the first user device executing the digital therapeutic application, a plurality of data elements generated over a time period during which no communications were established with the first user device”, which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 11 and similarly dependent claim 23 recite additional limitation, such as:
“wherein sending the data element further comprises providing a respective instance of the data element to each data store of the plurality of data stores, the respective instance comprising an encrypted copy of the data element”, which is a step of sending data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Dependent claim 12 and similarly dependent claim 24 recite additional limitation, such as:
“wherein the digital therapeutic application is configured to receive or obtain the data element during the clinical trial, in at least partial concurrence with the user being on a medication to address a condition associated with the clinical trial”, which is a step of receiving data.
At step 2A prong two, the step is recited at a high level of generality, and amounts to mere data gathering, which is a form of insignificant extra-solution activity.
At step 2B, the step is recognized as a well understood, routine, and conventional activity within the field of computer functions as an element of receiving or transmitting data over a network (MPEP 2106.05(d)(II)(i)).
Accordingly, the additional elements, individually or in combination, do not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application, even viewing the claims a whole, because it does not impose any meaningful limits on practicing the abstract idea.
Accordingly, dependent claims 2-12 and 14-24 are also directed to abstract idea without significantly more and are not patent eligible.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-4, 7-16, and 19-24 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darcy (US Pub 2024/0212824) in view of Ahad (US Pub 2004/0015504) and in further view of Kuppahally (US Pat 11,250,022).
With respect to claim 1, Darcy discloses a method of maintaining integrity of data
during clinical trials of digital therapeutic applications, comprising:
providing, to a user, a digital therapeutic application via a first user device to cause one or more interactions corresponding with a clinical trial (Darcy in [0065] discloses a user device includes a therapeutic application, lessons can be selected and provided to user device as part of a digital therapeutic configured to treat one or more symptoms of anxiety or depression; Darcy in [0066] discloses a therapeutic treatment session time period begins with the application initiating interaction with user through the completion of a treatment; Darcy in [0069] discloses user of a user device inputs a response into the therapeutic application, response data provided by patients of a clinical trial used to train a machine learning model);
receiving, by one or more processors, a data element generated based on at least one interaction with a second user device, wherein the data element comprises information corresponding with (a) completing one or more tasks corresponding with the clinical trial, (b) evaluating an endpoint of the clinical trial, and/or (c) affecting a condition of the user corresponding with the clinical trial (Darcy in [0003] and [0065] discloses receive data on a user device based on interaction between an application server and a digital therapeutic application on the user device, user interacting with the therapeutic application, user device can include a smartphone, tablet, laptop, desktop, smartwatch, or the like, therapeutic application installed on the user device; Darcy in [0066] and [0067] discloses a therapeutic treatment session time period begins with the application initiating interaction with user through the completion of a treatment, initiating interactions with use to determine emotional state, initiating interaction by notifications, alerts encouraging a user to check-in with the application; Darcy in [0069] and [0071] discloses data items communicated between conversation engine of the therapeutic application and users of a clinical trial; Darcy in [0090] and [0099] discloses evaluating number of lessons completed by the user of the user device, determine that the user of the user device has recently consumed more than a threshold number of recent therapeutic lessons; Darcy in [0164] and [0168] discloses computing device includes a processor and memory, multiple computing devices communicating with each other);
sending, by the one or more processors, the data element to each data store of a plurality of data stores… (Darcy in [0068], [0069], and [0098] discloses data and communications are transmitted by the server across a network to the user device, user response data transmitted to the server; Darcy in [0080] and [0092] discloses storing user responses and content locally on the user device or remotely in one or more databases; Darcy in [0093] discloses therapeutic application on user device has access to content items stored locally on the user deice or stored remotely from the user device; here Darcy does not explicitly disclose wherein at least some of the information of the data element is replicated across one or more of the plurality of data stores as one or more instances according to a schema, but the Kuppahally reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);
accessing, by the one or more processors, a first data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a first instance of the data element… (Darcy in [0092] discloses data referencing one or more therapeutic content items processed by the user device or selected by the user of the user device, therapeutic content items are accessed by the user, access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; Darcy in [0059], [0086], and [0091] discloses identify one or more data content items based on user provided data, identified one or more content items are administered to the user of the user device; here Darcy does not explicitly disclose accessing a first data store according to a first access schema of the first data store, but the Kuppahally reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);…
accessing, by the one or more processors, a second data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a second instance of the data element… (Darcy in [0092] discloses data referencing one or more therapeutic content items processed by the user device or selected by the user of the user device, therapeutic content items are accessed by the user, access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; here Darcy does not explicitly disclose accessing a second data store according to a second access schema of the second data store responsive to a determination of a first instance of a data element in a first data store as invalid, but the Ahad and Kuppahally references disclose the features, as discussed below); and
storing, by the one or more processors, the second instance of the data element onto a data repository for the clinical trial… (Darcy in [0080] and [0092] discloses storing user responses and content locally on the user device or remotely in one or more databases; here Darcy does not explicitly disclose storing the second instance of the data element onto a data repository responsive to receiving or obtaining a determination of the second instance of the data element in the second data store as valid, but the Ahad reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);…
wherein the first user device and the second user device are at least one of a same user device or a different user device (Darcy in [0003] and [0065] discloses receive data on a user device based on interaction between an application server and a digital therapeutic application on the user device, user interacting with the therapeutic application, user device can include a smartphone, tablet, laptop, desktop, smartwatch, or the like, therapeutic application installed on the user device; Darcy in [0164] and [0168] discloses multiple computing devices communicating with each other).
Darcy discloses identifying, accessing, and storing instances of data elements, however, Darcy does not explicitly disclose:
identifying…an indication of validity of the first instance of the data element corresponding to at least one of a format or a structure of the first instance of the data element, a value outside a defined range for a clinical trial metric, integrity of the data element, inconsistency between the data element and another related data element, or a missing value in the first instance of the data element;
accessing…a second data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a second instance of the data element…responsive to a determination of the first instance of the data element in the first data store as invalid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element;
storing…the second instance of the data element onto a data repository… responsive to receiving or obtaining a determination of the second instance of the data element in the second data store as valid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element;
The Ahad reference discloses identifying an indication of validity of a first instance of a data element corresponding to at least one of a format or a structure of the first instance of the data element, a value outside a defined range for a clinical trial metric, integrity of the data element, inconsistency between the data element and another related data element, or a missing value in the first instance of the data element (Ahad in [0010] and [0016] discloses some data points or items, such as a product description or an address being valid for a long period of time, and other data points or items, such as a stock quote or a currency conversion rate being invalid after a relatively short period of time, data stored in cache table having associated periods of validity specified by a data source from which the data were obtained; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data);
accessing a second data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a second instance of a data element, responsive to a determination of a first instance of the data element in a first data store as invalid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element (Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data);
storing the second instance of the data element onto a data repository responsive to receiving or obtaining a determination of the second instance of the data element in the second data store as valid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element (Ahad in [0006] and [0007] discloses copying or downloading data to a client device for a mobile application, data from server copied onto or replicated on a mobile device; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Darcy and Ahad, to have combined Darcy and Ahad. The motivation to combine Darcy and Ahad would be to keep data retrieval cost low by selectively refreshing cached data with just those data items that are invalid (Ahad: [0012] and [0034]).
Darcy discloses sending and accessing data elements in data stores and Ahad discloses replicating data and storing data elements in data stores, however, Darcy and Ahad do not explicitly disclose:
wherein at least some of the information of the data element is replicated across one or more of the plurality of data stores as one or more instances according to a schema;
accessing…a first data store…according to a first access schema of the first data store;
accessing…a second data store…according to a second access schema of the second data store;
wherein the first access schema and second access schema are at least one of a same schema or a different schema;
The Kuppahally reference discloses wherein at least some information of a data element is replicated across one or more of a plurality of data stores as one or more instances according to a schema, accessing a first data store according to a first access schema of a first data store, accessing a second data store according to a second access schema of a second data store, wherein the first access schema and second access schema are at least one of a same schema or a different schema (Kuppahally in Column 2 line 56 – Column 3 line 30 discloses creating replica data set by evaluating data items according to a schema to replicate those items that are specified by or otherwise satisfy the schema, replicated items are replicated from a source data store and sent, written, or stored to another data store; Kuppahally in Column 9, lines 30-56 and Column 12, lines 27-52 discloses implementing different schemas for storing replicated data in different storage nodes, replicating items to different storage nodes according to different schemas; Kuppahally in Column 11, lines 29-39 discloses evaluating each item with respect to a schema by issuing access requests with respect to the items; Kuppahally in Column 13, lines 26-47 and Column 15, lines 1-13 and in Figure 5 discloses data items replicated according to a schema, items evaluated with respect to the schema and/or formatted or ordered according to the schema when replicated to allocated storage nodes, storing data in different data stores from a source data store according to different schemas that provide different arrangements or ordering of items);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally, to have combined Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally. The motivation to combine Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally would be to provide scalable mechanisms for replicating updates to replicated data by replicating items that are specified by or otherwise satisfy a schema (Kuppahally: Column 1, lines 6-24 and Column 2 line 56 – Column 3 line 30).
With respect to claim 2, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
receiving or obtaining, by the one or more processors, a determination that a second instance of a second data element on the second data store is invalid (Darcy in [0059], [0086], and [0091] discloses identify one or more data content items based on user provided data, identified one or more content items are administered to the user of the user device; Darcy in [0092] discloses access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data); and
providing, by the one or more processors, an indication that the second data element on the second data store is invalid (Darcy in [0059], [0086], and [0091] discloses identify one or more data content items based on user provided data, identified one or more content items are administered to the user of the user device; Darcy in [0092] discloses access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data).
With respect to claim 3, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
wherein storing a second data element further comprises storing the second instance of the data element onto the data repository (Darcy in [0059], [0086], and [0091] discloses identify one or more data content items based on user provided data, identified one or more content items are administered to the user of the user device; Darcy in [0092] discloses access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data).
With respect to claim 4, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising:
storing, by the one or more processors, a first instance of a second data element from the first data store onto the data repository, without accessing the second data store to retrieve a second instance of the second data element (Darcy in [0059], [0086], and [0091] discloses identify one or more data content items based on user provided data, identified one or more content items are administered to the user of the user device; Darcy in [0092] discloses access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data).
With respect to claim 7, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving or obtaining, by the one or more processors, a plurality of metrics corresponding to at least one of a degree of efficacy of the digital therapeutic application, a degree of performance of the digital therapeutic application, or a degree of severity of a condition to be addressed in the user during the clinical trial, using the data element stored on the data repository (Darcy in [0089], [0188], and [0196] discloses determining various characteristics and metrics including efficacy, performance, and/or severity).
With respect to claim 8, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising providing, by the one or more processors, a graphical user interface comprising information associated with at least one of the plurality of data stores or the data element on the data repository (Darcy in [0103] and [0104] discloses obtaining content items and rendering the content items on a graphical user interface of the user device, prompt user to select display of a graphical element, alerting user to direct user’s attention to digital therapeutic contents being rendered on the graphical user interface of the user device).
With respect to claim 9, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving or obtaining, by the one or more processors, the first data store of the plurality of data stores as output of a machine learning (ML) model (Darcy in [0069], [0086], and [0091] discloses provide user response as an input to a machine learning model trained to process response data and output mood data corresponding to the user, output a confidence score indicating a confidence of the machine learning model that the predicted mood is correct, based on the mood data identified by the machine learning model identifying one or more stored content that are provided to the user).
With respect to claim 10, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the method of claim 1, wherein receiving the data element further comprises retrieving, from the first user device executing the digital therapeutic application, a plurality of data elements generated over a time period during which no communications were established with the first user device (Ahad in [0012] and [0017] discloses application executing on a mobile user device accessing local data offline, does not need to always access a central or master source of data, and can use cached data in an online or offline mode; Ahad in [0160], [0177], and [0180] discloses using a hybrid online/offline application that accesses data locally such as offline but which can also avail itself of online access to selected data, application can operate fully offline and submit data changes when placed back online, configured for offline application without any active connection to a remote server or other computer system, if device is currently offline requests are queued until connection is available to retrieve data that are stale or locally unavailable).
With respect to claim 11, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the method of claim 1, wherein sending the data element further comprises providing a respective instance of the data element to each data store of the plurality of data stores, the respective instance comprising an encrypted copy of the data element (Darcy in [0094] discloses therapeutic content items accessible by the application of the user device have restricted access including content that is access controlled, encrypted, or otherwise protected).
With respect to claim 12, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the digital therapeutic application is configured to receiving or obtaining, the data element during the clinical trial, in at least partial concurrence with the user being on a medication to address a condition associated with the clinical trial (Darcy in [0188] and [0197] discloses various characteristics and metrics associated with clinical trial data includes medication use by user to address a condition).
With respect to claim 13, Darcy discloses a system for maintaining integrity of data during clinical trials of digital therapeutic applications, comprising:
one or more processors coupled with memory (Darcy in [0164] discloses computing device includes a processor and memory), configured to:
provide, to a user, a digital therapeutic application via a first user device to cause one or more interactions corresponding with a clinical trial (Darcy in [0065] discloses a user device includes a therapeutic application, lessons can be selected and provided to user device as part of a digital therapeutic configured to treat one or more symptoms of anxiety or depression; Darcy in [0066] discloses a therapeutic treatment session time period begins with the application initiating interaction with user through the completion of a treatment; Darcy in [0069] discloses user of a user device inputs a response into the therapeutic application, response data provided by patients of a clinical trial used to train a machine learning model);
receive a data element generated based on at least one interaction with a second user device, wherein the data element comprises information corresponding with (a) completing one or more tasks corresponding with the clinical trial, (b) evaluating an endpoint of the clinical trial, and/or (c) affecting a condition of the user corresponding with the clinical trial (Darcy in [0003] and [0065] discloses receive data on a user device based on interaction between an application server and a digital therapeutic application on the user device, user interacting with the therapeutic application, user device can include a smartphone, tablet, laptop, desktop, smartwatch, or the like, therapeutic application installed on the user device; Darcy in [0066] and [0067] discloses a therapeutic treatment session time period begins with the application initiating interaction with user through the completion of a treatment, initiating interactions with use to determine emotional state, initiating interaction by notifications, alerts encouraging a user to check-in with the application; Darcy in [0069] and [0071] discloses data items communicated between conversation engine of the therapeutic application and users of a clinical trial; Darcy in [0090] and [0099] discloses evaluating number of lessons completed by the user of the user device, determine that the user of the user device has recently consumed more than a threshold number of recent therapeutic lessons; Darcy in [0164] and [0168] discloses computing device includes a processor and memory, multiple computing devices communicating with each other);
send the data element to each data store of a plurality of data stores… (Darcy in [0068], [0069], and [0098] discloses data and communications are transmitted by the server across a network to the user device, user response data transmitted to the server; Darcy in [0080] and [0092] discloses storing user responses and content locally on the user device or remotely in one or more databases; Darcy in [0093] discloses therapeutic application on user device has access to content items stored locally on the user deice or stored remotely from the user device; here Darcy does not explicitly disclose wherein at least some of the information of the data element is replicated across one or more of the plurality of data stores as one or more instances according to a schema, but the Kuppahally reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);
access a first data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a first instance of the data element… (Darcy in [0092] discloses data referencing one or more therapeutic content items processed by the user device or selected by the user of the user device, therapeutic content items are accessed by the user, access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; Darcy in [0059], [0086], and [0091] discloses identify one or more data content items based on user provided data, identified one or more content items are administered to the user of the user device; here Darcy does not explicitly disclose accessing a first data store according to a first access schema of the first data store, but the Kuppahally reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);…
access a second data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a second instance of the data element… (Darcy in [0092] discloses data referencing one or more therapeutic content items processed by the user device or selected by the user of the user device, therapeutic content items are accessed by the user, access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; here Darcy does not explicitly disclose accessing a second data store according to a second access schema of the second data store responsive to a determination of a first instance of a data element in a first data store as invalid, but the Ahad and Kuppahally references disclose the features, as discussed below); and
store the second instance of the data element onto a data repository for the clinical trial… (Darcy in [0080] and [0092] discloses storing user responses and content locally on the user device or remotely in one or more databases; here Darcy does not explicitly disclose storing the second instance of the data element onto a data repository responsive to receiving or obtaining a determination of the second instance of the data element in the second data store as valid, but the Ahad reference discloses the feature, as discussed below);…
wherein the first user device and the second user device are at least one of a same user device or a different user device (Darcy in [0003] and [0065] discloses receive data on a user device based on interaction between an application server and a digital therapeutic application on the user device, user interacting with the therapeutic application, user device can include a smartphone, tablet, laptop, desktop, smartwatch, or the like, therapeutic application installed on the user device; Darcy in [0164] and [0168] discloses multiple computing devices communicating with each other).
Darcy discloses identifying, accessing, and storing instances of data elements, however, Darcy does not explicitly disclose:
identify…an indication of validity of the first instance of the data element corresponding to at least one of a format or a structure of the first instance of the data element, a value outside a defined range for a clinical trial metric, integrity of the data element, inconsistency between the data element and another related data element, or a missing value in the first instance of the data element;
access…a second data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a second instance of the data element…responsive to a determination of the first instance of the data element in the first data store as invalid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element;
store…the second instance of the data element onto a data repository… responsive to receiving or obtaining a determination of the second instance of the data element in the second data store as valid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element;
The Ahad reference discloses identifying an indication of validity of a first instance of a data element corresponding to at least one of a format or a structure of the first instance of the data element, a value outside a defined range for a clinical trial metric, integrity of the data element, inconsistency between the data element and another related data element, or a missing value in the first instance of the data element (Ahad in [0010] and [0016] discloses some data points or items, such as a product description or an address being valid for a long period of time, and other data points or items, such as a stock quote or a currency conversion rate being invalid after a relatively short period of time, data stored in cache table having associated periods of validity specified by a data source from which the data were obtained; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data);
accessing a second data store of the plurality of data stores to retrieve a second instance of a data element, responsive to a determination of a first instance of the data element in a first data store as invalid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element (Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data);
storing the second instance of the data element onto a data repository responsive to receiving or obtaining a determination of the second instance of the data element in the second data store as valid based on the indication of validity of the first instance of the data element (Ahad in [0006] and [0007] discloses copying or downloading data to a client device for a mobile application, data from server copied onto or replicated on a mobile device; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Darcy and Ahad, to have combined Darcy and Ahad. The motivation to combine Darcy and Ahad would be to keep data retrieval cost low by selectively refreshing cached data with just those data items that are invalid (Ahad: [0012] and [0034]).
Darcy discloses sending and accessing data elements in data stores and Ahad discloses replicating data and storing data elements in data stores, however, Darcy and Ahad do not explicitly disclose:
wherein at least some of the information of the data element is replicated across one or more of the plurality of data stores as one or more instances according to a schema;
access…a first data store…according to a first access schema of the first data store;
access…a second data store…according to a second access schema of the second data store;
wherein the first access schema and second access schema are at least one of a same schema or a different schema;
The Kuppahally reference discloses wherein at least some information of a data element is replicated across one or more of a plurality of data stores as one or more instances according to a schema, accessing a first data store according to a first access schema of a first data store, accessing a second data store according to a second access schema of a second data store, wherein the first access schema and second access schema are at least one of a same schema or a different schema (Kuppahally in Column 2 line 56 – Column 3 line 30 discloses creating replica data set by evaluating data items according to a schema to replicate those items that are specified by or otherwise satisfy the schema, replicated items are replicated from a source data store and sent, written, or stored to another data store; Kuppahally in Column 9, lines 30-56 and Column 12, lines 27-52 discloses implementing different schemas for storing replicated data in different storage nodes, replicating items to different storage nodes according to different schemas; Kuppahally in Column 11, lines 29-39 discloses evaluating each item with respect to a schema by issuing access requests with respect to the items; Kuppahally in Column 13, lines 26-47 and Column 15, lines 1-13 and in Figure 5 discloses data items replicated according to a schema, items evaluated with respect to the schema and/or formatted or ordered according to the schema when replicated to allocated storage nodes, storing data in different data stores from a source data store according to different schemas that provide different arrangements or ordering of items);
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally, to have combined Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally. The motivation to combine Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally would be to provide scalable mechanisms for replicating updates to replicated data by replicating items that are specified by or otherwise satisfy a schema (Kuppahally: Column 1, lines 6-24 and Column 2 line 56 – Column 3 line 30).
With respect to claim 14, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
receive or obtain a determination that a second instance of a second data element on the second data store is invalid (Darcy in [0059], [0086], and [0091] discloses identify one or more data content items based on user provided data, identified one or more content items are administered to the user of the user device; Darcy in [0092] discloses access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data); and
provide an indication that a second data element on the second data store is invalid (Darcy in [0059], [0086], and [0091] discloses identify one or more data content items based on user provided data, identified one or more content items are administered to the user of the user device; Darcy in [0092] discloses access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data).
With respect to claim 15, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the system of claim 13 wherein, the one or more processors are further configured to:
store the second instance of the data element onto the data repository, responsive to identifying the second instance of the data element as valid (Darcy in [0059], [0086], and [0091] discloses identify one or more data content items based on user provided data, identified one or more content items are administered to the user of the user device; Darcy in [0092] discloses access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data).
With respect to claim 16, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to:
store a first instance of a second data element from the first data store onto the data repository, without accessing the second data store to retrieve a second instance of the second data element (Darcy in [0059], [0086], and [0091] discloses identify one or more data content items based on user provided data, identified one or more content items are administered to the user of the user device; Darcy in [0092] discloses access data or content items that are stored locally or remotely in one or more databases; Ahad in [0086] and [0160] discloses client device or application attempts to update locally stored content, determine whether the content is still valid, if content is invalid sending a request for updating content, online/offline application accesses data locally and also avails itself of online access to selected data; Ahad in [0175] and [0215] discloses if data items stored in client device is identified as stale, they are retrieved from one or more remote systems, connection to remote systems minimized by retrieving just the necessary data).
With respect to claim 19, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive or obtain a plurality of metrics corresponding to at least one of a degree of efficacy of the digital therapeutic application, a degree of performance of the digital therapeutic application, or a degree of severity of a condition to be addressed in the user during the clinical trial, using the data element stored on the data repository (Darcy in [0089], [0188], and [0196] discloses determining various characteristics and metrics including efficacy, performance, and/or severity).
With respect to claim 20, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to provide a graphical user interface comprising information associated with at least one of the plurality of data stores or the data element on the data repository (Darcy in [0103] and [0104] discloses obtaining content items and rendering the content items on a graphical user interface of the user device, prompt user to select display of a graphical element, alerting user to direct user’s attention to digital therapeutic contents being rendered on the graphical user interface of the user device).
With respect to claim 21, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are configured to receive or obtain the first data store of the plurality of data stores by applying a machine learning (ML) model (Darcy in [0069], [0086], and [0091] discloses provide user response as an input to a machine learning model trained to process response data and output mood data corresponding to the user, output a confidence score indicating a confidence of the machine learning model that the predicted mood is correct, based on the mood data identified by the machine learning model identifying one or more stored content that are provided to the user).
With respect to claim 22, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to retrieve from the first user device executing the digital therapeutic application, a plurality of data elements generated over a time period during which no communications were established with the first user device (Ahad in [0012] and [0017] discloses application executing on a mobile user device accessing local data offline, does not need to always access a central or master source of data, and can use cached data in an online or offline mode; Ahad in [0160], [0177], and [0180] discloses using a hybrid online/offline application that accesses data locally such as offline but which can also avail itself of online access to selected data, application can operate fully offline and submit data changes when placed back online, configured for offline application without any active connection to a remote server or other computer system, if device is currently offline requests are queued until connection is available to retrieve data that are stale or locally unavailable).
With respect to claim 23, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to provide a respective instance of the data element to each data store of the plurality of data stores, the respective instance comprising an encrypted copy of the data element (Darcy in [0094] discloses therapeutic content items accessible by the application of the user device have restricted access including content that is access controlled, encrypted, or otherwise protected).
With respect to claim 24, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the digital therapeutic application is configured to receive or obtain the data element during the clinical trial, in at least partial concurrence with the user being on a medication to address a condition associated with the clinical trial (Darcy in [0188] and [0197] discloses various characteristics and metrics associated with clinical trial data includes medication use by user to address a condition).
Claim(s) 5, 6, 17 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Darcy (US Pub 2024/0212824) in view of Ahad (US Pub 2004/0015504) in view of Kuppahally (US Pat 11,250,022) and in further view of Spears (US Pub 2024/0056465).
With respect to claim 5, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the method of claim 1, further comprising receiving or obtaining, by the one or more processors, a confidence value…(Darcy in [0069] discloses output a confidence score and associate the score with a user, determine whether the confidence score satisfies a predetermined threshold; Ahad in [0010] and [0016] discloses data can become invalid after a period of time, determine whether to use cached data or attempt to refresh the data from a data source, determine whether data are invalid and whether a connection is available to the data source; Ahad in [0033] and [0073] discloses managing data validity, retrieve updates for invalid data, perform data integrity checks based on integrity constraints; Ahad in [0034] discloses data retrieval limited to just those data items that are invalid; here Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally do not explicitly disclose a confidence value indicating a degree of validity of a first instance of a data element, but the Spears reference discloses the feature, as discussed below).
Darcy discloses a confidence value and Ahad discloses determining validity of an instance of a data element, however, Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally do not explicitly disclose:
a confidence value indicating a degree of validity of the first instance of the data element.
The Spears reference discloses a confidence value indicating a degree of validity of a first instance of a data element (Spears in [0051] and [0057] discloses data validated based on pre-defined validation criteria comprising a series of operations performed in relation to the data, based on the results of the operations performed a confidence score associated with the validation is determined, confidence score influences whether data is valid or invalid, the confidence score can measure a level of validity, data deemed valid if confidence score satisfied a confidence threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Darcy, Ahad, Kuppahally, and Spears, to have combined Darcy, Ahad, Kuppahally, and Spears. The motivation to combine Darcy, Ahad, Kuppahally, and Spears would be to determine whether a data is valid or invalid based on a confidence score associated with the validation (Spears: [0051]).
With respect to claim 6, Darcy in view of Ahad in view of Kuppahally and in further view of Spears discloses the method of claim 5, wherein receiving or obtaining the confidence value further comprises receiving or obtaining the confidence value as output of a machine learning (ML) model (Darcy in [0069], [0086], and [0091] discloses provide user response as an input to a machine learning model trained to process response data and output mood data corresponding to the user, output a confidence score indicating a confidence of the machine learning model that the predicted mood is correct, based on the mood data identified by the machine learning model identifying one or more stored content that are provided to the user).
With respect to claim 17, Darcy in view of Ahad and in further view of Kuppahally discloses the system of claim 13, wherein the one or more processors are further configured to receive or obtain a confidence value…(Darcy in [0069] discloses output a confidence score and associate the score with a user, determine whether the confidence score satisfies a predetermined threshold; Ahad in [0010] and [0016] discloses data can become invalid after a period of time, determine whether to use cached data or attempt to refresh the data from a data source, determine whether data are invalid and whether a connection is available to the data source; Ahad in [0033] and [0073] discloses managing data validity, retrieve updates for invalid data, perform data integrity checks based on integrity constraints; Ahad in [0034] discloses data retrieval limited to just those data items that are invalid; here Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally do not explicitly discloses a confidence value indicating a degree of validity of a first instance of a data element, but the Spears reference discloses the feature, as discussed below).
Darcy discloses a confidence value and Ahad discloses determining validity of an instance of a data element, however, Darcy, Ahad, and Kuppahally do not explicitly disclose:
a confidence value indicating a degree of validity of the first instance of the data element.
The Spears reference discloses determining a confidence value indicating a degree of validity of a first instance of a data element (Spears in [0051] and [0057] discloses data validated based on pre-defined validation criteria comprising a series of operations performed in relation to the data, based on the results of the operations performed a confidence score associated with the validation is determined, confidence score influences whether data is valid or invalid, the confidence score can measure a level of validity, data deemed valid if confidence score satisfied a confidence threshold).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, having the teachings of Darcy, Ahad, Kuppahally, and Spears, to have combined Darcy, Ahad, Kuppahally, and Spears. The motivation to combine Darcy, Ahad, Kuppahally, and Spears would be to determine whether a data is valid or invalid based on a confidence score associated with the validation (Spears: [0051]).
With respect to claim 18, Darcy in view of Ahad in view of Kuppahally and in further view of Spears discloses the system of claim 17, wherein receiving or obtaining further comprises receiving or obtaining the confidence value as output of a machine learning (ML) model to the first instance (Darcy in [0069], [0086], and [0091] discloses provide user response as an input to a machine learning model trained to process response data and output mood data corresponding to the user, output a confidence score indicating a confidence of the machine learning model that the predicted mood is correct, based on the mood data identified by the machine learning model identifying one or more stored content that are provided to the user).
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
Contact Information
/R.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2159 /ANN J LO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2159