Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 20100292871 A1) in view of Stadelmann (US 9568602).
Regarding claim 1 Schultz discloses
A method of operating a multi-mode radar system during multiple phases of autonomous aircraft operation, comprising: at an aircraft configured for autonomous operations and comprising a multi-mode radar system (Paragraph 0012, “None of these methods, however, single-handedly manages all required modes of operation (i.e., collision avoidance, station keeping and interception of targets, takeoff, landing and taxiing of the aircraft)” problem being solved; Paragraph 0014, “The present invention provides a system that allows a vehicle to perform all operational requirements of a mission in autonomous, semi-autonomous (e.g., man-in-the-loop) or manned aircraft control while avoiding collisions and complying with traffic regulations and procedures… As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations”),
the multi-mode radar system comprising a two-dimensional array of antenna elements (Paragraph 0018, “According to a further aspect of the present invention, the surveillance system can include a radar altimeter, a laser range finder, an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar system”):
during an autonomous taxiing phase, operating the multi-mode radar system in a first radar mode to detect ground-based objects (Paragraph 0014, “As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations” which includes taxiing phase),
in response to a prediction of a collision between the ground-based object and the aircraft, the prediction based at least in part on the first position of the ground-based object, executing a ground maneuver to change a direction of travel of the aircraft over ground (Paragraph 0070, “The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable.” applicable to ground and air);
during an autonomous flight phase, operating the multi-mode radar system in a second radar mode to detect airborne objects (Paragraph 0014, “As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations”),
including: operating the two-dimensional array of antenna elements in the transmit mode for a first duration (Paragraph 0018, “According to a further aspect of the present invention, the surveillance system can include a radar altimeter, a laser range finder, an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar system” where it is transmitting pulses);
and after the first duration, operating the two-dimensional array of antenna elements in the receive mode for a second duration (Paragraph 0018, “According to a further aspect of the present invention, the surveillance system can include a radar altimeter, a laser range finder, an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar system” where it is receiving echoes);
based at least in part on a second set of signals received by the two-dimensional array of antenna elements when operating in the receive mode, detecting a second position of an airborne object (Paragraph 0070,“The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable” where tracking the position of the obstacle requires many position estimates);
and in response to a prediction of a collision between the airborne object and the aircraft, the prediction based at least in part on the second set of signals, executing a flight maneuver to change a direction of flight of the aircraft (Paragraph 0070,“The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable”). Schultz does not disclose including: operating a first subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements and a second subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements in a transmit mode, the first subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements different from the second subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements;
and while operating the first and the second subsets of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements in the transmit mode, operating a third subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements and a fourth subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements in a receive mode, the third subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements different from the fourth subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements;
based at least in part on a first set of signals received by the third subset and the fourth subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, detecting a first position of a ground-based object.
Stadelmann discloses
Including: operating a first subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements and a second subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements in a transmit mode, the first subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements different from the second subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements (Column 4 lines 51-57, "According to one embodiment, the radar system 102 is capable of providing transmit pulses with independent beam shapes and beam directions during a radar scan 106. In some embodiments, the radar antenna 104 provides a set of pulses, beams or sub-beams. The set of pulses can be provided simultaneously or near simultaneously or sequentially in one or more embodiments" where an AESA that can transmit multiple things at the same time effectively has different sections of the array for transmitting);
and while operating the first and the second subsets of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements in the transmit mode, operating a third subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements and a fourth subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements in a receive mode, the third subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements different from the fourth subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements (Column 5 lines 3-9, "In some embodiments, the radar system 102 provides the set of pulses and receives returns using an active electronically scanned array antenna as the radar antenna 104... The elements can be coupled to solid state transmit/receive modules"; Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers" where an AESA can transmit and receive at the same time and have multiple sections for both);
based at least in part on a first set of signals received by the third subset and the fourth subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, detecting a first position of a ground-based object (Column 8 lines 42-44, " In the object sense mode, the pulse generation function module 406 provides radar signals to the radar antenna 104 in accordance with a due regard/detect and avoid scan" which includes the ground);
Schultz discloses using an AESA and recognizing multiple threats but does not disclose that the AESA is divided into subarrays or the use of subarrays. Schultz having multiple sections for the transmit arrays facilitates the ability to track multiple targets at once so it can calculate a path with the different obstacles in mind. A third and fourth section facilitates the invention to transmit and receive at the same time. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to facilitate the tracking and receiving signals with the AESA with a multi-sectioned AESA.
Regarding claim 2 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 1. Schultz further discloses further comprising, during an autonomous takeoff phase, alternating between operating the multi-mode radar system in the first radar mode and operating the multi-mode radar system in the second radar mode (Paragraph 0012, “None of these methods, however, single-handedly manages all required modes of operation (i.e., collision avoidance, station keeping and interception of targets, takeoff, landing and taxiing of the aircraft)” problem being solved; Paragraph 0014, “The present invention provides a system that allows a vehicle to perform all operational requirements of a mission in autonomous, semi-autonomous (e.g., man-in-the-loop) or manned aircraft control while avoiding collisions and complying with traffic regulations and procedures… As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety where it goes through the different modes as necessary for the flight phase or collision avoidance).
Regarding claim 3 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 1. Schultz further discloses wherein: the method further comprises, during the autonomous taxiing phase, causing the aircraft to traverse a predefined trajectory over ground (Paragraph 0094, "The guidance routine 200 shown in FIG. 3 determines which behavior to activate if the proposed guidance method is used. Performing the trajectory adjustments of block 261 can trigger the "reach target" behavior or any other behavior used to maneuver the aircraft back onto its intended trajectory for the purpose of station keeping and interception of targets, takeoff, landing and taxiing of the aircraft" where there is a set trajectory in taxiing phase that it adjusts to avoid collisions );
and the prediction of the collision between the ground-based object and the aircraft is based at least in part on a determination that the predefined trajectory intersects at least one of the first position of the ground-based object or a predicted future position of the ground-based object (Paragraph 0059, "At block 130, the position, velocity and intended trajectory of targets and obstacles are received via the communication system 30. The communication system 30 is used to obtain position information of cooperative and non-cooperative traffic"; Paragraph 0070, "If at decision block 230 it is determined that the aircraft is below a collision emergency threshold T.sub.ce, then at block 231 a collision emergency procedure is performed, maneuvering the aircraft clear from imminent collision threats. The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable" where it uses the trajectories of other vehicles/obstacles to determine if it needs to change its own trajectory).
Regarding claim 4 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 3. Schultz further discloses wherein: the predefined trajectory is a predefined first trajectory (Paragraph 0094, "The guidance routine 200 shown in FIG. 3 determines which behavior to activate if the proposed guidance method is used. Performing the trajectory adjustments of block 261 can trigger the "reach target" behavior or any other behavior used to maneuver the aircraft back onto its intended trajectory for the purpose of station keeping and interception of targets, takeoff, landing and taxiing of the aircraft" where the intended trajectory can be designated ‘first’);
The method further comprises: after detecting the first position of the ground-based object, detecting a third position of the ground-based object (Paragraph 0059, "At block 130, the position, velocity and intended trajectory of targets and obstacles are received via the communication system 30. The communication system 30 is used to obtain position information of cooperative and non-cooperative traffic"; Paragraph 0070, "If at decision block 230 it is determined that the aircraft is below a collision emergency threshold T.sub.ce, then at block 231 a collision emergency procedure is performed, maneuvering the aircraft clear from imminent collision threats. The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable" which requires the detection of multiple positions of the target);
and determining a second trajectory of the ground-based object based at least in part on the first position of the ground-based object and the third position of the ground-based object (Paragraph 0059, "At block 130, the position, velocity and intended trajectory of targets and obstacles are received via the communication system 30. The communication system 30 is used to obtain position information of cooperative and non-cooperative traffic"; Paragraph 0070, "If at decision block 230 it is determined that the aircraft is below a collision emergency threshold T.sub.ce, then at block 231 a collision emergency procedure is performed, maneuvering the aircraft clear from imminent collision threats. The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable");
and the predicted future position of the ground-based object is determined based at least in part on the second trajectory of the ground-based object (Paragraph 0059, "At block 130, the position, velocity and intended trajectory of targets and obstacles are received via the communication system 30. The communication system 30 is used to obtain position information of cooperative and non-cooperative traffic"; Paragraph 0070, "If at decision block 230 it is determined that the aircraft is below a collision emergency threshold T.sub.ce, then at block 231 a collision emergency procedure is performed, maneuvering the aircraft clear from imminent collision threats. The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable").
Regarding claim 5 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 1. Schultz does not disclose wherein: the first subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements comprises a first one-dimensional array of antenna elements; and the second subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements comprises a second one-dimensional array of antenna elements.
Stadelmann discloses wherein: the first subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements comprises a first one-dimensional array of antenna elements (Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers"; Column 5 lines 20-27, "The radar antenna 104 can be embodied as a multi-channel two dimensional array in one or more embodiments. The radar antenna 104 can be utilized to point electronically at angles in one dimensional or two dimensional space. For example, multiple beams may be aimed from the radar antenna 104 (e.g. AESA antenna) by simultaneously or near simultaneously providing waves on multiple channels so that the waves interfere constructively" where it can transmit in 1d);
and the second subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements comprises a second one-dimensional array of antenna elements (Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers"; Column 5 lines 20-27, "The radar antenna 104 can be embodied as a multi-channel two dimensional array in one or more embodiments. The radar antenna 104 can be utilized to point electronically at angles in one dimensional or two dimensional space. For example, multiple beams may be aimed from the radar antenna 104 (e.g. AESA antenna) by simultaneously or near simultaneously providing waves on multiple channels so that the waves interfere constructively" where it can transmit in 1d).
Schultz discloses using an AESA and recognizing multiple threats but does not disclose that the AESA is divided into subarrays or the use of subarrays. Schultz having multiple sections for the transmit arrays facilitates the ability to track multiple targets at once so it can calculate a path with the different obstacles in mind. Additionally, 1-D shapes can potentially mitigate mutual interference. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to facilitate the tracking and receiving signals with the AESA with a multi-sectioned AESA.
Regarding claim 6 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 5. Schultz does not disclose wherein: operating the first one-dimensional array in the transmit mode includes transmitting, with the first one-dimensional array, a first signal having a first waveform; and operating the second one-dimensional array in the transmit mode includes transmitting, with the second one-dimensional array, a second signal having a second waveform different from the first waveform.
Stadelmann discloses wherein: operating the first one-dimensional array in the transmit mode includes transmitting, with the first one-dimensional array, a first signal having a first waveform (Column 5 lines 20-28, "The radar antenna 104 can be embodied as a multi-channel two dimensional array in one or more embodiments. The radar antenna 104 can be utilized to point electronically at angles in one dimensional or two dimensional space. For example, multiple beams may be aimed from the radar antenna 104 (e.g. AESA antenna) by simultaneously or near simultaneously providing waves on multiple channels so that the waves interfere constructively at certain angles in front of the radar antenna 104");
and operating the second one-dimensional array in the transmit mode includes transmitting, with the second one-dimensional array, a second signal having a second waveform different from the first waveform (Column 5 lines 3-11, "In some embodiments, the radar system 102 provides the set of pulses and receives returns using an active electronically scanned array antenna as the radar antenna 104. The radar antenna 104 can include an array of individual steerable elements in some embodiments. The elements can be coupled to solid state transmit/receive modules. The transmit/receive modules can provide signals at different frequencies or with different coding in some embodiments").
Schultz discloses using an AESA and recognizing multiple threats but does not disclose that the AESA is divided into subarrays or the use of multiple waveforms. Schultz having multiple sections for the transmit arrays facilitates the ability to track multiple targets at once so it can calculate a path with the different obstacles in mind. Additionally, as cited above using multiple beams on one target, through the use of different waveforms, can cause constructive interference. The constructive interference would be good for gain on areas of interest. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to facilitate the tracking and receiving signals with the AESA with a multi-sectioned AESA and using different waveforms to augment the beams used.
Regarding claim 7 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 5. Schultz does not disclose wherein: the third subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements comprises a third one-dimensional array of antenna elements; and the fourth subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements comprises a fourth one-dimensional array of antenna elements.
Stadelmann discloses wherein: the third subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements comprises a third one-dimensional array of antenna elements (Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers"; Column 5 lines 20-27, "The radar antenna 104 can be embodied as a multi-channel two dimensional array in one or more embodiments. The radar antenna 104 can be utilized to point electronically at angles in one dimensional or two dimensional space. For example, multiple beams may be aimed from the radar antenna 104 (e.g. AESA antenna) by simultaneously or near simultaneously providing waves on multiple channels so that the waves interfere constructively" where there are multiple (2 or more) transmit beams);
and the fourth subset of the two-dimensional array of antenna elements comprises a fourth one-dimensional array of antenna elements (Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers"; Column 5 lines 20-27, "The radar antenna 104 can be embodied as a multi-channel two dimensional array in one or more embodiments. The radar antenna 104 can be utilized to point electronically at angles in one dimensional or two dimensional space. For example, multiple beams may be aimed from the radar antenna 104 (e.g. AESA antenna) by simultaneously or near simultaneously providing waves on multiple channels so that the waves interfere constructively").
Schultz discloses using an AESA and recognizing multiple threats but does not disclose that the AESA is divided into subarrays or the use of subarrays. Schultz having multiple sections for the transmit arrays facilitates the ability to track multiple targets at once so it can calculate a path with the different obstacles in mind. Additionally, 1-D shapes can potentially mitigate mutual interference. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to facilitate the tracking and receiving signals with the AESA with a multi-sectioned AESA.
Regarding claim 8 Schultz discloses
A method of operating a multi-mode radar system during multiple phases of autonomous aircraft operation comprising: at an aircraft configured for autonomous operations and comprising a multi-mode radar system, (Paragraph 0012, “None of these methods, however, single-handedly manages all required modes of operation (i.e., collision avoidance, station keeping and interception of targets, takeoff, landing and taxiing of the aircraft)” problem being solved; Paragraph 0014, “The present invention provides a system that allows a vehicle to perform all operational requirements of a mission in autonomous, semi-autonomous (e.g., man-in-the-loop) or manned aircraft control while avoiding collisions and complying with traffic regulations and procedures… As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations”),
the multi-mode radar system comprising an array of antenna elements (Paragraph 0018, “According to a further aspect of the present invention, the surveillance system can include a radar altimeter, a laser range finder, an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar system”):
during an autonomous ground transit phase, operating the multi-mode radar system in a first radar mode to detect ground-based objects (Paragraph 0014, “As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations” which includes taxiing phase),
detecting a first position of a ground-based object based at least in part on the first reflected portions and the second reflected portions of the first and second signals (Paragraph 0070, “The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable” which requires multiple signals from the target);
changing at least one of a speed or a direction of the aircraft over ground during the autonomous ground transit phase based at least in part on the first position of the ground-based object (Paragraph 0070, “The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable.”);
during an autonomous flight phase, operating the multi-mode radar system in a second radar mode to detect airborne objects, including: causing the array of antenna elements to emit a third signal (Paragraph 0014, “As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations”; Paragraph 0018, “According to a further aspect of the present invention, the surveillance system can include a radar altimeter, a laser range finder, an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar system” where the radar would send out multiple pulses);
causing the array of antenna elements to cease emitting the third signal (Paragraph 0018, “According to a further aspect of the present invention, the surveillance system can include a radar altimeter, a laser range finder, an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar system” where an AESA sends out pulses and after it has sent out a third pulse it stops before sending out another pulse);
and while the array of antenna elements has ceased emitting the third signal, receiving, with the array of antenna elements, a reflected portion of the third signal (Paragraph 0018, “According to a further aspect of the present invention, the surveillance system can include a radar altimeter, a laser range finder, an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar system” where the pulse that is sent and eventually ends reflects and is received);
detecting a second position of an airborne object based at least in part on the reflected portion of the third signal (Paragraph 0014, “As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations”; Paragraph 0070,“The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable”);
and changing at least one of a speed or a direction of the aircraft through the air during the autonomous flight phase based at least in part on the second position of the airborne object (Paragraph 0070,“The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable”). Schultz does not disclose including: causing a first subset of the array of antenna elements to emit a first signal;
causing a second subset of the array of antenna elements to emit a second signal different from the first signal, the second subset of the array of antenna elements different from the first subset of the array of antenna elements;
and while the first subset of the array of antenna elements are emitting the first signal and while the second subset of the array of antenna elements are emitting the second signal: receiving, with a third subset of the array of antenna elements, first reflected portions of the first and second signals;
and receiving, with a fourth subset of the array of antenna elements, second reflected portions of the first and second signals, the fourth subset of the array of antenna elements spatially separated from the third subset of the array of antenna elements.
Stadelmann discloses including: causing a first subset of the array of antenna elements to emit a first signal (Column 4 lines 51-57, "According to one embodiment, the radar system 102 is capable of providing transmit pulses with independent beam shapes and beam directions during a radar scan 106. In some embodiments, the radar antenna 104 provides a set of pulses, beams or sub-beams. The set of pulses can be provided simultaneously or near simultaneously or sequentially in one or more embodiments");
causing a second subset of the array of antenna elements to emit a second signal different from the first signal, the second subset of the array of antenna elements different from the first subset of the array of antenna elements (Column 4 lines 51-57, "According to one embodiment, the radar system 102 is capable of providing transmit pulses with independent beam shapes and beam directions during a radar scan 106. In some embodiments, the radar antenna 104 provides a set of pulses, beams or sub-beams. The set of pulses can be provided simultaneously or near simultaneously or sequentially in one or more embodiments" where an AESA that can transmit multiple things at the same time effectively has different sections of the array for transmitting);
and while the first subset of the array of antenna elements are emitting the first signal and while the second subset of the array of antenna elements are emitting the second signal: receiving, with a third subset of the array of antenna elements, first reflected portions of the first and second signals (Column 5 lines 3-11, "In some embodiments, the radar system 102 provides the set of pulses and receives returns using an active electronically scanned array antenna as the radar antenna 104. The radar antenna 104 can include an array of individual steerable elements in some embodiments. The elements can be coupled to solid state transmit/receive modules. The transmit/receive modules can provide signals at different frequencies or with different coding in some embodiments");
and receiving, with a fourth subset of the array of antenna elements, second reflected portions of the first and second signals, the fourth subset of the array of antenna elements spatially separated from the third subset of the array of antenna elements (Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers" where there can be multiple receive sections; Column 5 lines 3-11, "In some embodiments, the radar system 102 provides the set of pulses and receives returns using an active electronically scanned array antenna as the radar antenna 104. The radar antenna 104 can include an array of individual steerable elements in some embodiments. The elements can be coupled to solid state transmit/receive modules. The transmit/receive modules can provide signals at different frequencies or with different coding in some embodiments" where the individual sections can all receive the echoes of a signal and the sections can be arranged in various ways).
Schultz discloses using an AESA and recognizing multiple threats but does not disclose that the AESA is divided into subarrays/subsets or the use of subarrays. Schultz having multiple sections for the transmit arrays facilitates the ability to track multiple targets at once so it can calculate a path with the different obstacles in mind. A third and fourth section facilitates the invention to transmit and receive at the same time. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to facilitate the tracking and receiving signals with the AESA with a multi-sectioned AESA.
Regarding claim 9 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 8. Schultz further discloses wherein changing at least one of a speed or a direction of the aircraft over ground during the autonomous ground transit phase occurs in response to a determination that a trajectory of the aircraft over ground intersects the ground-based object (Paragraph 0070,“The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable” applicable to ground and air).
Regarding claim 10 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 9. Schultz further discloses wherein changing at least one of a speed or a direction of the aircraft through the air during the autonomous flight phase occurs in response to a determination that a trajectory of the aircraft through the air intersects the ground-based object (Paragraph 0070,“The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable” applicable to ground and air).
Regarding claim 11 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 8. Schultz does not disclose wherein the first signal has a first waveform, and the second signal has a second waveform different from the first waveform.
Stadelmann discloses
Wherein the first signal has a first waveform, and the second signal has a second waveform different from the first waveform (Column 5 lines 20-28, "The radar antenna 104 can be embodied as a multi-channel two dimensional array in one or more embodiments. The radar antenna 104 can be utilized to point electronically at angles in one dimensional or two dimensional space. For example, multiple beams may be aimed from the radar antenna 104 (e.g. AESA antenna) by simultaneously or near simultaneously providing waves on multiple channels so that the waves interfere constructively at certain angles in front of the radar antenna 104").
Schultz discloses using an AESA but does not disclose that the AESA is divided into subarrays or the use of multiple waveforms. As cited above, Schultz using multiple beams on one target, through the use of different waveforms, can cause constructive interference. The constructive interference would be good for improved gain on areas of interest. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to use different waveforms to augment the beams used to track potential obstacles.
Regarding claim 12 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 8. Schultz does not disclose wherein: operating the multi-mode radar system in the first radar mode further includes, while the first subset of the array of antenna elements are emitting the first signal and while the second subset of the array of antenna elements are emitting the second signal: receiving, with a fifth subset of the array of antenna elements, third reflected portions of the first and second signals; and receiving, with a sixth subset of the array of antenna elements, fourth reflected portions of the first and second signals.
Stadelmann discloses
Wherein: operating the multi-mode radar system in the first radar mode further includes, while the first subset of the array of antenna elements are emitting the first signal and while the second subset of the array of antenna elements are emitting the second signal: receiving, with a fifth subset of the array of antenna elements, third reflected portions of the first and second signals (Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers"; Column 5 lines 20-27, "The radar antenna 104 can be embodied as a multi-channel two dimensional array in one or more embodiments. The radar antenna 104 can be utilized to point electronically at angles in one dimensional or two dimensional space. For example, multiple beams may be aimed from the radar antenna 104 (e.g. AESA antenna) by simultaneously or near simultaneously providing waves on multiple channels so that the waves interfere constructively" where there are multiple (2 or more) transmit/receive beams which would receive multiple portions of the signal or all of the signal);
and receiving, with a sixth subset of the array of antenna elements, fourth reflected portions of the first and second signals (Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers"; Column 5 lines 20-27, "The radar antenna 104 can be embodied as a multi-channel two dimensional array in one or more embodiments. The radar antenna 104 can be utilized to point electronically at angles in one dimensional or two dimensional space. For example, multiple beams may be aimed from the radar antenna 104 (e.g. AESA antenna) by simultaneously or near simultaneously providing waves on multiple channels so that the waves interfere constructively" where there are multiple (2 or more) transmit/receive beams which would receive multiple portions of the signal or all of the signal).
Schultz discloses using an AESA and recognizing multiple threats but does not disclose that the AESA is divided into subarrays or the use of subarrays. Schultz having multiple sections for the transmit arrays and receive arrays facilitates the ability to track multiple targets at once so it can calculate a path with the different obstacles in mind. Additionally, multiple subarrays allows the device to continue working if some elements of the AESA goes down. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to facilitate the tracking and receiving multiple signals with the AESA with a multi-sectioned AESA.
Regarding claim 13 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 8. Schultz further discloses further comprising, during an autonomous takeoff phase, alternating between operating the multi-mode radar system in the first radar mode and operating the multi-mode radar system in the second radar mode (Paragraph 0012, “None of these methods, however, single-handedly manages all required modes of operation (i.e., collision avoidance, station keeping and interception of targets, takeoff, landing and taxiing of the aircraft)” problem being solved; Paragraph 0014, “The present invention provides a system that allows a vehicle to perform all operational requirements of a mission in autonomous, semi-autonomous (e.g., man-in-the-loop) or manned aircraft control while avoiding collisions and complying with traffic regulations and procedures… As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety where it goes through the different modes).
Regarding claim 14 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 13. Schultz further discloses further comprising, during an autonomous landing phase, alternating between operating the multi-mode radar system in the first radar mode and operating the multi-mode radar system in the second radar mode (Paragraph 0012, “None of these methods, however, single-handedly manages all required modes of operation (i.e., collision avoidance, station keeping and interception of targets, takeoff, landing and taxiing of the aircraft)” problem being solved; Paragraph 0014, “The present invention provides a system that allows a vehicle to perform all operational requirements of a mission in autonomous, semi-autonomous (e.g., man-in-the-loop) or manned aircraft control while avoiding collisions and complying with traffic regulations and procedures… As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety where it goes through the different modes).
Regarding claim 15 the combination of Schultz and Stadelmann discloses
The method of claim 8. Schultz further discloses wherein: the second position specifies a distance between the aircraft and the airborne object (Paragraph 0059, "At block 130, the position, velocity and intended trajectory of targets and obstacles are received via the communication system 30. The communication system 30 is used to obtain position information of cooperative and non-cooperative traffic"; Paragraph 0070, "If at decision block 230 it is determined that the aircraft is below a collision emergency threshold T.sub.ce, then at block 231 a collision emergency procedure is performed, maneuvering the aircraft clear from imminent collision threats. The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable" where the target hitting the threshold can be the second position);
and the method further comprises: during the autonomous flight phase, in accordance with a determination that the distance between the aircraft and the airborne object satisfies a distance condition, transitioning from operating the multi-mode radar system in the second radar mode to operating the multi-mode radar system in the first radar mode (Paragraph 0012, “None of these methods, however, single-handedly manages all required modes of operation (i.e., collision avoidance, station keeping and interception of targets, takeoff, landing and taxiing of the aircraft)” problem being solved; Paragraph 0014, “The present invention provides a system that allows a vehicle to perform all operational requirements of a mission in autonomous, semi-autonomous (e.g., man-in-the-loop) or manned aircraft control while avoiding collisions and complying with traffic regulations and procedures… As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations”; Paragraph 0071, " If at decision block 240 it is determined that the aircraft is below a collision avoidance threshold T.sub.ca, then at block 241 a collision avoidance procedure is performed, maneuvering the aircraft away from close collision threats. The collision avoidance maneuver is defined as quick trajectory adjustments performed by the aircraft before a collision would occur to keep the aircraft at a safe clearance distance from threats" where if it is in takeoff mode it will go into collision avoidance mode, and ‘first’ and ‘second’ are arbitrary );
and detecting a second position of the airborne object with the multi-mode radar system in the first radar mode (Paragraph 0071, " If at decision block 240 it is determined that the aircraft is below a collision avoidance threshold T.sub.ca, then at block 241 a collision avoidance procedure is performed, maneuvering the aircraft away from close collision threats. The collision avoidance maneuver is defined as quick trajectory adjustments performed by the aircraft before a collision would occur to keep the aircraft at a safe clearance distance from threats" where to make sure it is at a safe distance it would continue to monitor the threat after going back to take off mode or whatever mode is appropriate).
Claims 16, 17, 18, 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 20100292871 A1) in view of Stadelmann (US 9568602) further in view of Garrec (FR 3041766 A1).
Regarding claim 16 Schultz discloses
A multi-mode radar system for an autonomous aircraft (Paragraph 0012, “None of these methods, however, single-handedly manages all required modes of operation (i.e., collision avoidance, station keeping and interception of targets, takeoff, landing and taxiing of the aircraft)” problem being solved; Paragraph 0014, “The present invention provides a system that allows a vehicle to perform all operational requirements of a mission in autonomous, semi-autonomous (e.g., man-in-the-loop) or manned aircraft control while avoiding collisions and complying with traffic regulations and procedures… As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations”),
comprising: a radar array comprising a two-dimensional array of antenna elements arranged in a set of rows and a set of columns (Paragraph 0018, “According to a further aspect of the present invention, the surveillance system can include a radar altimeter, a laser range finder, an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar system” and AESA has rows and columns);
and configured to operate the radar array according to a first radar mode during an autonomous ground transit phase and according a second radar mode during an autonomous flight phase, wherein: operating the radar array according to the first radar mode comprises: causing at least a portion of a first column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements to emit a first signal (Paragraph 0014, “The present invention provides a system that allows a vehicle to perform all operational requirements of a mission in autonomous, semi-autonomous (e.g., man-in-the-loop) or manned aircraft control while avoiding collisions and complying with traffic regulations and procedures… As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations” where it goes through the modes and at least a portion of the AESA is used for operation );
and operating the radar array according to the second radar mode comprises: causing the two-dimensional array of antenna elements to emit a third signal (Paragraph 0014, “The present invention provides a system that allows a vehicle to perform all operational requirements of a mission in autonomous, semi-autonomous (e.g., man-in-the-loop) or manned aircraft control while avoiding collisions and complying with traffic regulations and procedures… As a result, operational capabilities and modes of operation can be extended while increasing safety. In general, the present invention employs surveillance and communication systems to detect airborne and ground obstacles and to provide additional situational awareness. Self-separation and collision avoidance procedures can follow FAA regulations” where it goes through the modes and the AESA emits many pulsed signals);
causing the two-dimensional array of antenna elements to cease emitting the third signal (Paragraph 0018, “According to a further aspect of the present invention, the surveillance system can include a radar altimeter, a laser range finder, an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar system” where an AESA sends out pulses and after it has sent out a third pulse it stops before sending out another pulse);
while the two-dimensional array of antenna elements has ceased emitting the third signal, receiving, with the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, a reflected portion of the third signal (Paragraph 0018, “According to a further aspect of the present invention, the surveillance system can include a radar altimeter, a laser range finder, an Active Electronically Scanned Array (AESA) radar system” where the pulse that is sent and eventually ends reflects and is received);
and detecting a second position of an airborne object relative to the multi-mode radar system based at least in part on the reflected portion of the third signal (Paragraph 0070,“The collision emergency maneuver is defined as quick and significant trajectory adjustments optimized for and performed by the aircraft as a "last resort" right before a collision becomes unavoidable” where tracking the position of the obstacle requires many position estimates). Schultz does not disclose and a radar controller coupled to the two-dimensional array of antenna elements
causing at least a portion of a second column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements to emit a second signal;
while the first and second signals are being emitted: receiving, with at least a portion of a third column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, a first reflected portion of the first signal and a first reflected portion of the second signal;
and receiving, with at least a portion of a fourth column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, a second reflected portion of the first signal and a second reflected portion of the second signal;
and detecting, based at least in part on a time difference of arrival of the first reflected portion of the first signal and the second reflected portion of the first signal, a first position of a ground-based object relative to the multi-mode radar system;
Stadelmann discloses
A radar controller coupled to the two-dimensional array of antenna elements (Column 5 lines 52-55, “In one embodiment, the processor 303 controls the radar antenna 104 via the dual function transmit/receive circuit 301 to provide pulses for each sensing function using the radar antenna 104” which is tantamount to an antenna controller)
causing at least a portion of a second column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements to emit a second signal (Column 4 lines 51-57, "According to one embodiment, the radar system 102 is capable of providing transmit pulses with independent beam shapes and beam directions during a radar scan 106. In some embodiments, the radar antenna 104 provides a set of pulses, beams or sub-beams. The set of pulses can be provided simultaneously or near simultaneously or sequentially in one or more embodiments" where an AESA that can transmit multiple things at the same time effectively has different sections of the array for transmitting);
while the first and second signals are being emitted: receiving, with at least a portion of a third column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, a first reflected portion of the first signal and a first reflected portion of the second signal (Column 5 lines 3-9, "In some embodiments, the radar system 102 provides the set of pulses and receives returns using an active electronically scanned array antenna as the radar antenna 104... The elements can be coupled to solid state transmit/receive modules"; Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers" where an AESA can transmit and receive at the same time and have multiple sections for it and if the receiver receives the echo it will be receiving portions of the transmitted signals);
and receiving, with at least a portion of a fourth column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, a second reflected portion of the first signal and a second reflected portion of the second signal (Column 5 lines 3-9, "In some embodiments, the radar system 102 provides the set of pulses and receives returns using an active electronically scanned array antenna as the radar antenna 104... The elements can be coupled to solid state transmit/receive modules"; Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers" where an AESA can transmit and receive at the same time and have multiple sections for both and if the receiver receives the echo it is also able to receive secondary echoes or reflections);
Schultz discloses using an AESA and recognizing multiple threats but does not disclose that the AESA is divided into subarrays, the use of subarrays, or that the AESA has a controller. As Schultz has an AESA but does not specifically mention a controller a controller would be useful for facilitating the use of the AESA and controlling its functions. Schultz having multiple sections for the transmit arrays facilitates the ability to track multiple targets at once so it can calculate a path with the different obstacles in mind. A third and fourth section facilitates the invention to transmit and receive at the same time. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to facilitate the tracking and receiving signals with the AESA with a multi-sectioned AESA and having the infrastructure to control the antenna.
Garrec discloses
Detecting, based at least in part on a time difference of arrival of the first reflected portion of the first signal and the second reflected portion of the first signal, a first position of a ground-based object relative to the multi-mode radar system (Page 2 lines 18-22, "Another known technique of the prior art is to use time difference measurements (or TDOA for * Time Difference Of Arriva * according to the terminology Anglo-Saxon) to locate electromagnetic emitters. This method is close to the previously described method but uses, for the triangulation, the difference of the arrival times of the same emission on two receivers" where if it can do tdoa for one emission it can do tdoa for two different emissions).
Schultz discloses using an AESA and recognizing multiple threats but does not disclose using TDoA. Stadelmann discloses multiple receiving sections of an AESA but not using them for TDoA. In combination with Stadelmann, Schultz can use multiple sections of an AESA as receivers. It would be advantageous for Schultz to use the multiple receiving sections for TDoA between receiving multiple signal reflections as a means of mitigating the effects of jamming. For the normal operation of an AESA receiving signals one and two from the same target helps to locate it, but if there is jamming that can interfere with that process. The AESA using TDoA as a backup allows it to potentially overcome the jamming problem as TDoA is resistant. As such it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz and Stadelmann with Garrec to have a jamming resistant option for detecting targets.
Regarding claim 17 the combination of Schultz, Stadelmann, and Garrec discloses
The multi-mode radar system of claim 16. Schultz does not explicitly disclose wherein the first column of antenna elements is adjacent the second column of antenna elements.
Stadelmann discloses
Wherein the first column of antenna elements is adjacent the second column of antenna elements (Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers"; Column 5 lines 33-37, "In some embodiments, the two dimensional array of the radar antenna 104 for the radar system 102 can be circular, cylindrical, spherical, etc., and can be an arbitrarily curved surface and can be conformal to a vehicle surface"; Column 5 lines 20-27, "The radar antenna 104 can be embodied as a multi-channel two dimensional array in one or more embodiments. The radar antenna 104 can be utilized to point electronically at angles in one dimensional or two dimensional space. For example, multiple beams may be aimed from the radar antenna 104 (e.g. AESA antenna) by simultaneously or near simultaneously providing waves on multiple channels so that the waves interfere constructively" where the sections can be 1-D columns and take on various arrangements).
Schultz discloses an AESA but does not disclose an AESA with multiple sections adjacent to one another. Stadelmann discloses an AESA as a 2d array divided into multiple sections. As such, the different sections would be adjacent to one another, this would be advantageous as a means of implementing a multi-section AESA. Additionally, if all the sections were adjacent this would allow the AESA to operate on multiple tasks and as a single aperture when applicable. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to incorporate a multi-section AESA where the sections are adjacent to one another as a means of allowing multiple independent actions and one singular action when applicable.
Regarding claim 18 the combination of Schultz, Stadelmann, and Garrec discloses
The multi-mode radar system of claim 17. Schultz does not explicitly disclose wherein the third column of antenna elements is adjacent the fourth column of antenna elements
Stadelmann discloses
Wherein the third column of antenna elements is adjacent the fourth column of antenna elements (Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers"; Column 5 lines 33-37, "In some embodiments, the two dimensional array of the radar antenna 104 for the radar system 102 can be circular, cylindrical, spherical, etc., and can be an arbitrarily curved surface and can be conformal to a vehicle surface"; Column 5 lines 20-27, "The radar antenna 104 can be embodied as a multi-channel two dimensional array in one or more embodiments. The radar antenna 104 can be utilized to point electronically at angles in one dimensional or two dimensional space. For example, multiple beams may be aimed from the radar antenna 104 (e.g. AESA antenna) by simultaneously or near simultaneously providing waves on multiple channels so that the waves interfere constructively" where the sections can be 1-D columns and take on various arrangements).
Schultz discloses an AESA but does not disclose an AESA with multiple sections adjacent to one another. Stadelmann discloses an AESA as a 2d array divided into multiple sections. As such, the different sections would be adjacent to one another, this would be advantageous as a means of implementing a multi-section AESA. Additionally, if all the sections were adjacent this would allow the AESA to operate on multiple tasks and as a single aperture when applicable. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to incorporate a multi-section AESA where the sections are adjacent to one another as a means of allowing multiple independent actions and one singular action when applicable.
Regarding claim 19 the combination of Schultz, Stadelmann, and Garrec discloses
The multi-mode radar system of claim 16. Schultz does not disclose wherein operating the radar array according to the first radar mode further comprises: while the first and second signals are being emitted: receiving, with at least a portion of a fifth column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, third reflected portions of the first and second signals; and receiving, with at least a portion of a sixth column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, fourth reflected portions of the first and second signals.
Stadelmann discloses
Wherein operating the radar array according to the first radar mode further comprises: while the first and second signals are being emitted: receiving, with at least a portion of a fifth column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, third reflected portions of the first and second signals (Column 5 lines 3-11, "In some embodiments, the radar system 102 provides the set of pulses and receives returns using an active electronically scanned array antenna as the radar antenna 104. The radar antenna 104 can include an array of individual steerable elements in some embodiments. The elements can be coupled to solid state transmit/receive modules. The transmit/receive modules can provide signals at different frequencies or with different coding in some embodiments" ; Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers" where there can be a fifth section that is a column and if it can receive echoes it can receive other reflections of said echoes);
and receiving, with at least a portion of a sixth column of antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements, fourth reflected portions of the first and second signals (Column 5 lines 3-11, "In some embodiments, the radar system 102 provides the set of pulses and receives returns using an active electronically scanned array antenna as the radar antenna 104. The radar antenna 104 can include an array of individual steerable elements in some embodiments. The elements can be coupled to solid state transmit/receive modules. The transmit/receive modules can provide signals at different frequencies or with different coding in some embodiments" ; Column 5 lines 17-19, "In one embodiment, the radar antenna 104 can include or be used with two or more pulse generators and two or more receivers" where there can be a sixth section and if it can receive echoes it can receive other reflections of said echoes).
Schultz discloses using an AESA and recognizing multiple threats but does not disclose that the AESA is divided into subarrays or the use of subarrays. Schultz having multiple sections for the transmit arrays facilitates the ability to track multiple targets at once so it can calculate a path with the different obstacles in mind. A third and fourth section facilitates the invention to transmit and receive at the same time. The number of independent actions increases with more sections for transmitting and receiving. The antenna receiving multipath reflections of a target is a natural result of a target being near the antenna in a complex environment such as an airport, and the multipath signal can be used to confirm identification of moving targets. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Stadelmann to facilitate the tracking and receiving signals of multiple targets and facilitating the confirmation of moving targets.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Schultz (US 20100292871 A1) in view of Stadelmann (US 9568602) further in view of Garrec (FR 3041766 A1) further in view of Krich (US 8354960 B2).
Regarding claim 20 the combination of Schultz, Stadelmann and Garrec discloses
The multi-mode radar system of claim 19. Schultz does not disclose wherein, while the first and second signals are being emitted, a portion of the antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements are neither emitting nor receiving signals.
Krich discloses
Wherein, while the first and second signals are being emitted, a portion of the antenna elements within the two-dimensional array of antenna elements are neither emitting nor receiving signals (Abstract, "Described is a method of modifying an antenna pattern for a phased array antenna having at least one failed antenna element. A number of proximate beamformers in a proximate angular region about a beamformer at an angle of interest are determined. Each of the proximate beamformers has a proximate beamformer weight vector" where phased array can transmit multiple signals and receive and this action is occurring while a portion of the array is not transmitting or receiving).
Schultz discloses using an AESA and recognizing multiple threats but does not disclose transmitting and receiving while a portion of the array doing neither. Krich discloses a method of continued operation of an array when a portion of it is inactive (i.e. failed). Schultz continuing operation while part of the array is damaged is advantageous for maintaining collision avoidance when the array is damaged. As such, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Schultz with Krich so that the invention of Schultz can continue to protect the aircraft while damaged.
Conclusion
/PETER DAVON DOZE/Examiner, Art Unit 3648
/RESHA DESAI/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3648