CTNF 18/740,354 CTNF 83292 DETAILED ACTION Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia 1. The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Information Disclosure Statement 2. The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 06/11/2024, 04/07/2025 and 02/20/2026 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner. 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 3. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states: A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention . W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984). Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 4. The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-12-aia AIA (a)(2) the claimed invention was described in a patent issued under section 151, or in an application for patent published or deemed published under section 122(b), in which the patent or application, as the case may be, names another inventor and was effectively filed before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15-03-aia AIA 5. Claim s 1, 3-6, 8-11 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by SHIN et al. (US 20230042138) (hereinafter Shin) . Regarding claims 1, 6 and 11: As shown in figures 1-9, Shin discloses an apparatus (see figure 8) for wireless communication (see wireless communication figures 1-2, 4-7) , comprising a processor (806 in figure 8) that when configured implements a method that causes the apparatus (par 0135) to: communicate a configuration information for a sidelink positioning (see figure 2) (par 0009-0010, 0047) , wherein the communicating is from a first wireless communication device (UE-1 in figure 1) to a second wireless communication device (UE-2 in figure 1) (par 0047) , and wherein the configuration information is transmitted through at least one controlling signaling information (see PC5-RRC control signaling in par 0047) . Shin also teaches “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having code stored thereupon” as recited in claim 11 (par 0027) . Regarding claims 3, 8 and 13: Shin further discloses wherein the at least one controlling signaling information is transmitted using a higher layer signaling, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or sidelink control information (SCI) (par 0108) . Regarding claims 4, 9 and 14: Shin further discloses wherein the first wireless communication device is a user equipment (UE) (UE-1 in figure 1) , and wherein the second wireless communication device is a Location Management Function (LMF) (see location server 400 in figure 4) (abstract) . Regarding claims 5, 10 and 15: Shin further discloses wherein the communicating comprises sending the configuration information (par 0038, 0083) . Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103 07-20-aia AIA 6. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 103 which forms the basis for all obviousness rejections set forth in this Office action: A patent for a claimed invention may not be obtained, notwithstanding that the claimed invention is not identically disclosed as set forth in section 102, if the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art are such that the claimed invention as a whole would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to a person having ordinary skill in the art to which the claimed invention pertains. Patentability shall not be negated by the manner in which the invention was made. 07-23-aia AIA 7. The factual inquiries for establishing a background for determining obviousness under 35 U.S.C. 103 are summarized as follows: 1. Determining the scope and contents of the prior art. 2. Ascertaining the differences between the prior art and the claims at issue. 3. Resolving the level of ordinary skill in the pertinent art. 4. Considering objective evidence present in the application indicating obviousness or nonobviousness. 07-21-aia AIA 8. Claim s 2, 7 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shin in view of GHIMIRE et al. (US 20240340839) (hereinafter GHIMIRE) . Regarding claims 2, 7 and 12: Shin discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the configuration information comprising resource ID, and/or a list of sorted resources. However, GHIMIRE in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the configuration information comprising resource ID (par 0040) , and/or a list of sorted resources. Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use resource ID as taught by GHIMIRE to modify the system and method of Shin in order to identify a reference signal (RS) resource or resource set (par 0040) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results) . Conclusion 07-96 AIA 9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. YOU et al. (US 20240064688) disclose a method for positioning a terminal and a first terminal. The method comprises: a first terminal receiving a first reference signal sent by at least one second terminal, the first reference signal being a positioning reference signal of a sidelink; and the first terminal positioning a target terminal according to the first reference signal. SARKIS et al. (US 20230011471) disclose a wireless communication network a method for sidelink positioning at a first wireless communication device in a wireless communication network. 10. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to KABIR A TIMORY whose telephone number is (571)270-1674. The examiner can normally be reached Mon-Fri 7:00 AM-3:00 PM. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Hannah S Wang can be reached at 571-272-9018. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /KABIR A TIMORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/740,354 Page 2 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/740,354 Page 3 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/740,354 Page 4 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/740,354 Page 5 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/740,354 Page 6 Art Unit: 2631 Application/Control Number: 18/740,354 Page 7 Art Unit: 2631