DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
2. This office action is in response to the amendment filed on 07/09/2026. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, and 16-24 are pending in this application and have been considered below. Claims 2, 4-5, 7, 9-10, 12 and 14-15 are canceled by applicant.
3. Applicant’s arguments with respect to claims 1, 6 and 11 have been considered but are moot in view of new ground(s) of rejection because of the amendments.
Please note: Examiner has cited particular columns, line numbers, and figures in the references as applied to the claims below for the convenience of the applicant. Although the specified citations are representative of the teaching of the art and are applied to the specific limitations within the individual claim, other passages and figures may apply as well. Applicants are reminded that MPEP 2141.02 states:
A prior art reference must be considered in its entirety, i.e., as a whole, including portions that would lead away from the claimed invention. W.L. Gore & Associates, Inc. v. Garlock, Inc., 721 F.2d 1540, 220 USPQ 303 (Fed. Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 851 (1984).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
7. Claims 1, 3, 6, 8, 11, 13, 16, 19 and 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN et al. (US 20230042138) (hereinafter Shin) in view of Rao et al. (US 20240192304) (hereinafter Rao).
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 11:
As shown in figures 1-9, Shin discloses an apparatus (see figure 8) for wireless communication (see wireless communication figures 1-2, 4-7), comprising a processor (806 in figure 8) that when configured implements a method that causes the apparatus (par 0135) to:
communicate a configuration information for a sidelink positioning (see figure 2) (par 0009-0010, 0047),
wherein the communicating is from a first wireless communication device (UE-1 in figure 1) to a second wireless communication device (UE-2 in figure 1) (par 0047), and
wherein the configuration information is transmitted through at least one controlling signaling information (see PC5-RRC control signaling in par 0047).
Shin also teaches “a non-transitory computer-readable storage medium having code stored thereupon” as recited in claim 11 (par 0027).
Shin discloses all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the configuration information comprising resource ID, and a list of sorted resources.
However, Rao in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the configuration information comprising resource ID, and a list of sorted resources (par 0122-0123).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use resource ID as taught by Rao to modify the system and method of Shin in order to determine positioning uncertainty (par 0072) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claims 3, 8 and 13:
Shin further discloses wherein the at least one controlling signaling information is transmitted using a higher layer signaling, a radio resource control (RRC) signaling, or sidelink control information (SCI) (par 0108).
Regarding claims 16, 19 and 22:
Shin further discloses retransmitting a sidelink positioning reference signal (SL-PRS) sequence information, based on a request from the second wireless communication device (par 0034) or from a third wireless communication device, or based on a threshold time range.
8. Claims 17-18, 20-21 and 23-24 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over SHIN in view of Rao as applied to claims 16, 19 and 22 above and further in view of BAO et al. (US 20240365278) (hereinafter Bao).
Regarding claims 17, 20 and 23:
Shin and Rao disclose all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the retransmitting is based on an SL-PRS sequence attempt corresponding to a first transmission SL-PRS sequence.
However, Bao in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the retransmitting is based on an SL-PRS sequence attempt corresponding to a first transmission SL-PRS sequence (par 0014, 0339, 0419).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use resource ID as taught by Rao to modify the system and method of Shin in order to detect a PRS sequence collision associated with the transmitted sidelink PRS and select a different PRS sequence for PRS retransmission in response to the detected PRS sequence collision (par 0369) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Regarding claims 18, 21 and 24:
Shin and Rao disclose all of the subject matter as described above except for specifically teaching wherein the retransmitting is based on an SL-PRS sequence attempt corresponding to a first transmission group identification.
However, Bao in the same field of endeavor teaches wherein the retransmitting is based on an SL-PRS sequence attempt corresponding to a first transmission group identification (selecting different PRS sequence for PRS retransmission interpreted to be SL-PRS sequence attempt corresponding to a first transmission group identification. See par 0339, 0419).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use resource ID as taught by Rao to modify the system and method of Shin in order to detect a PRS sequence collision associated with the transmitted sidelink PRS and select a different PRS sequence for PRS retransmission in response to the detected PRS sequence collision (par 0369) (See KSR Rationale: Combining prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results).
Conclusion
9. The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Oteri et al. (US 20260052503) disclose a method for round trip time (RTT) sidelink positioning in 5G NR systems.
10. Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/KABIR A TIMORY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2631