DETAILED ACTIONThis action is in response to the application filed on 06/11/2024.Claims 1-20 have been examined.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 11-12, 15, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C.102(a) (2) as being anticipated by MAAREF et al. (US 2024/0056925).
As of claim 1, MAAREF discloses a method, comprising: receiving, by a user equipment comprising at least one processor from a non-terrestrial radio network node via at least one idle-mode beam, a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message comprising at least one first idle-mode beam preamble indication indicative of at least one first idle-mode beam preamble (para [0121] disclose the NTN BS 170B (=non-terrestrial radio network node) transmit a configuration message the UE that indicate intra-frequency measurements and inter-frequency measurements for the UE 110 to perform with respect to TN mobility. Upon receiving the configuration message, the UE 110 perform mobility measurements of SSBs and CSI-RSs (= reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message, the configuration message include an assignment of a dedicated preamble, the UE 110 rely on information received from the NTN BS to directly beamform preamble transmissions (=idle-mode beam preamble indication), and
comprising at least one second idle-mode beam preamble indication indicative of at least one second idle-mode beam preamble, wherein minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node is absent from the reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message (para [0103] discloses the UE receives the preamble, from the TN BS, para [0117] discloses the received TN SIB1 includes cell access related information);
determining, by the user equipment, at least one terrestrial connection capability with respect to the user equipment, corresponding to at least one terrestrial radio network node, to result in at least one determined terrestrial connection capability (para [0053] discloses TN systems and NTN systems are deployed independently and a given user equipment (UE) is either connected to a TN system or connected to a NTN system, but not connected to both. Para [0055] discloses UE connection state, measurement of signal quality for the preamble received, from the UE, by each NTN BS);
based on the at least one determined terrestrial connection capability, determining, by the user equipment, either the at least one first idle-mode beam preamble or the at least one second idle-mode beam preamble to result in a determined idle-mode beam preamble (para [0106] discloses the TN BS selects one of the NTN base stations, the selecting be based on comparing the measurement of preamble signal quality received from each of the NTN base stations for which a signal has been received, a particular NTN BS, the TN BS transmits an indication, to the particular NTN BS , where the indication specifies that the particular NTN BS has been selected); and
transmitting, by the user equipment to the non-terrestrial radio network node, the determined idle-mode beam preamble to facilitate establishing a non-terrestrial connection with the non-terrestrial radio network node (para [0060] discloses a UE switching between a connection to a BS in one subsystem to a connection to a BS in another subsystem, in a single, integrated terrestrial and non-terrestrial RAN. Para [0061] discloses the NTN BS communicate directly with the TN BS to enable a handover for a UE from a connection with the NTN BS to a connection with the TN BS, Para [0086] discloses the UE then transmit the preamble to each of the three NTN base stations, when transmitting a beam carrying the preamble in the direction of a particular one of the NTN base stations).
As of claim 15, MAAREF discloses a user equipment, comprising: at least one processor configured to process executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor ([FIG. 2] shows UE 110 comprises processing unit 200), facilitate performance of operations, comprising: receiving, from a non-terrestrial radio network node via at least one idle-mode beam, a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message comprising at least one first idle-mode beam preamble indication indicative of at least one first idle-mode beam preamble (para [0121] disclose the NTN BS 170B (=non-terrestrial radio network node) transmit a configuration message the UE that indicate intra-frequency measurements and inter-frequency measurements for the UE 110 to perform with respect to TN mobility. Upon receiving the configuration message, the UE 110 perform mobility measurements of SSBs and CSI-RSs (=reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message, the configuration message include an assignment of a dedicated preamble, the UE 110 rely on information received from the NTN BS to directly beamform preamble transmissions (=idle-mode beam preamble indication) and comprising at least one second idle-mode beam preamble indication indicative of at least one second idle-mode beam preamble, wherein the reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message comprises a primary synchronization signal block and a secondary synchronization signal block (para [0103] discloses the UE receives the preamble, from the TN BS [0115] a Primary Synchronization Signal (PSS) and a Secondary Synchronization Signal (SSS)), and
wherein minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node is absent from the reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message para [0117] discloses the received TN SIB1 includes cell access related information);
determining at least one terrestrial connection capability corresponding to at least one terrestrial radio network node to result in at least one determined terrestrial connection capability (para [0053] discloses TN systems and NTN systems are deployed independently and a given user equipment (UE) is either connected to a TN system or connected to a NTN system, but not connected to both. Para [0055] discloses UE connection state, measurement of signal quality for the preamble received, from the UE, by each NTN BS);
based on the at least one determined terrestrial connection capability being determined to correspond to the user equipment being located within at least one signal strength range that corresponds to at least one terrestrial radio network node and that is capable of facilitating connection establishment with the at least one terrestrial radio network node (para [0106] discloses the TN BS selects one of the NTN base stations, the selecting be based on comparing the measurement of preamble signal quality received from each of the NTN base stations for which a signal has been received, a particular NTN BS, the TN BS transmits an indication, to the particular NTN BS , where the indication specifies that the particular NTN BS has been selected),
obtaining, from the at least one terrestrial radio network node, the minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node (para [0117] discloses the UE receives from the TN BS, a system information message); and
based on the minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node and obtained from the at least one terrestrial radio network node, establishing a non-terrestrial connection with the non-terrestrial radio network node (para [0060] discloses a UE switching between a connection to a BS in one subsystem to a connection to a BS in another subsystem, in a single, integrated terrestrial and non-terrestrial RAN. Para [0061] discloses the NTN BS communicate directly with the TN BS to enable a handover for a UE from a connection with the NTN BS to a connection with the TN BS, Para [0086] discloses the UE then transmit the preamble to each of the three NTN base stations, when transmitting a beam carrying the preamble in the direction of a particular one of the NTN base stations).
As of claim 18, MAAREF discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by at least processor of a user equipment, facilitate performance of operations (para [0031] discloses device disclosed herein that executes instructions may include, or otherwise have access to, a non-transitory computer/processor readable storage medium or media for storage of information),
comprising: receiving, from a non-terrestrial radio network node via at least one idle-mode beam, a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message comprising at least one first idle-mode beam preamble indication indicative of at least one first idle-mode beam preamble and comprising at least one second idle-mode beam preamble indication indicative of at least one second idle-mode beam preamble, wherein the reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message comprises a primary synchronization signal block and a secondary synchronization signal block (para [0121] disclose the NTN BS 170B (=non-terrestrial radio network node) transmit a configuration message the UE that indicate intra-frequency measurements and inter-frequency measurements for the UE 110 to perform with respect to TN mobility. Upon receiving the configuration message, the UE 110 perform mobility measurements of SSBs and CSI-RSs (= reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message, the configuration message include an assignment of a dedicated preamble, the UE 110 rely on information received from the NTN BS to directly beamform preamble transmissions (=idle-mode beam preamble indication),
wherein minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node is absent from the reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message (para [0103] discloses the UE receives the preamble, from the TN BS, para [0117] discloses the received TN SIB1 includes cell access related information), and
wherein the reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message further comprises at least one idle-mode beam uplink resource indication indicative of at least one idle-mode beam uplink resource, corresponding to the at least one idle-mode beam (para [0098] discloses the signaling be in the form of resource sets and resources provided for each subsystem. That is, resource sets and resources be provided for the TN subsystem and resource sets and resources be provided for the NTN subsystem),
usable by the user equipment to transmit to the non-terrestrial radio network node at least one of the at least one first idle-mode beam preamble or the at least one second idle-mode beam preamble (para [0086] [0087] discloses a beam carrying the preamble in the direction of a particular one of the NTN base stations, the UE receive an RAR message from each of the NTN base stations to which the preamble was transmitted, para [0106] discloses the TN BS selects one of the NTN base stations, the selecting be based on comparing the measurement of preamble signal quality received from each of the NTN base stations for which a signal has been received, a particular NTN BS, the TN BS transmits an indication, to the particular NTN BS , where the indication specifies that the particular NTN BS has been selected);
determining at least one terrestrial connection capability corresponding to at least one terrestrial radio network node to result in at least one determined terrestrial connection capability (para [0053] discloses TN systems and NTN systems are deployed independently and a given user equipment (UE) is either connected to a TN system or connected to an NTN system, but not connected to both. Para [0055] discloses UE connection state, measurement of signal quality for the preamble received, from the UE, by each NTN BS);
based on the at least one determined terrestrial connection capability being determined to correspond to the user equipment not being located within at least one terrestrial signal strength range that is capable of facilitating connection establishment with at least one of the at least one terrestrial radio network node (para [0114] performing measurements on signals received from various TN BSs),
transmitting, to the non-terrestrial radio network node, at least one of the at least one second idle-mode beam preamble according to the at least one idle-mode beam uplink resource and via the at least one idle-mode beam (para [0086] [0087] discloses a beam carrying the preamble in the direction of a particular one of the NTN base stations, the UE receive an RAR message from each of the NTN base stations to which the preamble was transmitted, para [0106] discloses the TN BS selects one of the NTN base stations, the selecting be based on comparing the measurement of preamble signal quality received from each of the NTN base stations for which a signal has been received, a particular NTN BS, the TN BS transmits an indication, to the particular NTN BS , where the indication specifies that the particular NTN BS has been selected),
responsive to transmitting at least one of the at least one second idle-mode beam preamble, receiving, from the non-terrestrial radio network node via a non-reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message, the minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node; and establishing, with the non-terrestrial radio network node according to the minimum system information, a connection (para [0131] discloses the UE be dynamically switched between maintaining an active connection with the TN BS and maintaining an active connection with the NTN BS depending on RSRP measurements).
As of claim 2, rejection of claim 1 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MAAREF discloses the reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message (para [0058] discloses a given UE 110 is expected to perform measurements on synchronization signal blocks (SSBs)) further comprises at least one idle-mode beam uplink resource indication indicative of at least one idle-mode beam uplink resource, corresponding to the at least one idle-mode beam (para [0088] DL RSRP measurement of the RAR-carrying signal from each of the NTN base stations from which an RAR message has been received, the UE 110 transmits on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) the UE 110 use resources specified in the corresponding RAR message (=uplink resource)), usable by the user equipment to transmit the determined idle-mode beam preamble to the non-terrestrial radio network node (para [0086] [0087] discloses a beam carrying the preamble in the direction of a particular one of the NTN base stations, the UE receive an RAR message from each of the NTN base stations to which the preamble was transmitted, the TN BS transmits an indication, to the particular NTN BS , where the indication specifies that the particular NTN BS has been selected).
As of claim 3, rejection of claim 2 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MAAREF discloses the at least one terrestrial connection capability corresponds to the user equipment being located within a signal strength coverage range of at least one of the at least one terrestrial radio network node that satisfies a configured terrestrial connection establishment criterion (para [0050] [0064] discloses NTN BS and the TN BS to share configuration parameters useful for controlling a handover of a UE between, parameters useful for a handover, from an existing connection with a BS to a new connection with a distinct BS, include: beam direction; preamble assignment; Such sharing of configuration parameters to lead to improved overall spectral efficiency and reduced power use (=connection establishment criterion) for the two BSs and the UE).
As of claim 11, rejection of claim 2 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MAAREF discloses the at least one terrestrial connection capability corresponds to the user equipment failing to be located within a signal strength coverage range of at least one of the at least one terrestrial radio network node that satisfies a configured terrestrial connection establishment criterion, [0027][0036] a terrestrial network base station defining terrestrial network coverage and a non-terrestrial network base station defining non-terrestrial network coverage, each base station 170 transmits and/or receives wireless signals within a particular geographic region or area, [0067] the UE 110 perform mobility measurements with respect to only TN base stations , [0070] the UE select, during a beam-based cell search in an initial access procedure, a serving NTN BS based on downlink (DL) RSRP measurements which implies one terrestrial connection capability corresponds to the to user equipment failing to be located within a signal strength coverage range),
wherein the determined idle-mode beam preamble comprises at least one of the at least one second idle-mode beam preamble, wherein the determined idle-mode beam preamble is transmitted according to the at least one idle-mode beam uplink resource (para [0088] DL RSRP measurement of the RAR-carrying signal from each of the NTN base stations from which an RAR message has been received, the UE 110 transmits on a physical uplink shared channel (PUSCH) the UE 110 use resources specified in the corresponding RAR message (=uplink resource)), and wherein the method further comprises: responsive to transmitting the determined idle-mode beam preamble, receiving, by the user equipment from the non-terrestrial radio network node, minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node (para [0117] the UE receive from the TN BS , a system information message that implemented as a TN system information block (SIB1), and facilitating, by the user equipment, establishing, with the non-terrestrial radio network node according to the minimum system information, a connection (Para [0061] discloses the NTN BS communicate directly with the TN BS to enable a handover for a UE from a connection with the NTN BS to a connection with the TN BS, para [0131] discloses the UE be dynamically switched between maintaining an active connection with the TN BS and maintaining an active connection with the NTN BS depending on RSRP measurements).
As of claim 12, rejection of claim 11 cited above incorporated herein, in addition MAAREF discloses the minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node is received by the user equipment from the non-terrestrial radio network node via the at least one idle-mode beam (Para [0070] discloses UE select a beam-based cell search in an initial access procedure, a serving airborne NTN BS based on downlink (DL) RSRP measurements of a received Random Access Response (RAR) message).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 4-10, 13-14, 16-17, and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if the Applicant rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
As to claim 4, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “transmitting, by the user equipment to the determined terrestrial radio network node, a reduced-capability connection request indicative of a request for minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node; based on the reduced-capability connection request, facilitating, by the user equipment, establishing, with the determined terrestrial radio network node, a reduced-capability connection; and responsive to transmitting the reduced-capability connection request, receiving, by the user equipment from the determined terrestrial radio network node via the reduced-capability connection, the minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node” with the claimed invention as a whole.
Accordingly claims 5-8 are also objected as being dependent upon claim 4.
As to claim 9, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “the reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message further comprises a synchronization signal block detection priority indication indicative of a detection order according to which the user equipment is to attempt to obtain, from the non-terrestrial radio network node or the at least one terrestrial radio network node, the minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node” with the claim invention as a whole.
Accordingly claim 10 is also objected as being dependent upon claim 9.
As to claim 13, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “the minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node is received by the user equipment from the non-terrestrial radio network node via a non-idle-mode beam geographically corresponding to the at least one idle-mode beam” with the claimed invention as a whole.
As to claim 14, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “receiving a refined beam indication indicative of a refined beam corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node, wherein the connection is established via the refined beam” with the claimed invention as a whole.
As to claim 16, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “a synchronization signal block detection priority indication indicative of a detection order according to which the user equipment is to attempt to obtain, from the at least one terrestrial radio network node, the minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node before attempting to obtain the minimum system information from the non-terrestrial radio network node” with the claim invention as a whole.
As to claim 17, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “transmitting, to the at least one terrestrial radio network node, a reduced-capability connection request indicative of a request for minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node; based on the reduced-capability connection request, establishing, by the user equipment with the at least one terrestrial radio network node, a reduced-capability connection; and responsive to transmitting the reduced-capability connection request, receiving, by the user equipment from the at least one terrestrial radio network node via the reduced-capability connection, the minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node, and wherein the operations further comprise: responsive to transmitting the reduced-capability connection request, receiving, from the at least one terrestrial radio network node, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication indicative of a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node, wherein the connection established by the user equipment with the non-terrestrial radio network node is established via the non-terrestrial connected-mode beam” with the claim invention as a whole.
As to claim 19, the prior arts of record do not teach or reasonably suggest the limitation “the at least one idle-mode beam is formed based on at least one non-refined beam function, and wherein the non-reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message is broadcast by the non-terrestrial radio network node via at least one non-idle-mode beam that is formed based on the at least one non-refined beam function.
Accordingly claim 20 is also objected as being dependent upon claim19.
Conclusion
/FAHMIDA S CHOWDHURY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2471