DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are presented for examination.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 10/02/2025 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings were received on 06/11/2024. These drawings are acceptable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shrestha et al., (hereinafter Shrestha), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0403586, in view of Medeiros de Amorim et al., (hereinafter Medeiros), U.S. Publication No. 2023/0118153.
As per claim 1, Shrestha discloses a method, comprising:
facilitating, by a terrestrial radio network node comprising at least one processor [fig. 10, 13, paragraphs 0149, 0157, 0166, 0181, a terrestrial radio network node comprising at least one processor (device 1005 may be an example of aspects of a network entity 105; device 1005 may include a receiver 1010, a transmitter 1015, and a communications manager 1020, may also include a processor)], receiving, from at least one user equipment, a reduced-capability connection establishment request message [fig. 2, 5, 15, paragraphs 0079, 0090, 0091, 0113, 0196, 0213, receiving, from at least one user equipment, a reduced-capability connection establishment request message (a UE 115 may establish a communication session with a network entity 105 that is associated with an NTN; enable a UE to perform NTN cell measurements with greater efficiency and reduced power consumption)] comprising a non-terrestrial radio network node identifier corresponding to a non-terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0008, 0021, 0052, 0091, 0094, 0096, 0097, 0113, a non-terrestrial radio network node identifier corresponding to a non-terrestrial radio network node (establish a communication session with a network via a NTN entity, receive control signaling identifying one or more measurement trigger criteria for measurements of NTN cells); the UE 115-a may transmit assistance information)] that is configured to broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message [paragraphs 0067, 0077, 0101, configured to broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message (broadcasted in a system information block (SIB) such that the network and the UE are in-sync)];
responsive to the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, establishing, with the at least one user equipment, a reduced-capability connection [fig. 2, 5, 15, paragraphs 0079, 0090, 0091, 0113, 0196, 0213, responsive to the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, establishing, with the at least one user equipment, a reduced-capability connection (a UE 115 may establish a communication session with a network entity 105 that is associated with an NTN; enable a UE to perform NTN cell measurements with greater efficiency and reduced power consumption)];
facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, to at least one network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, a minimum system information fetch request requesting the system information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node [fig. 2, 5, paragraphs 0074, 0091, 0093, 0094, 0113-0116, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, to at least one network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, a minimum system information fetch request requesting the system information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node (the UE 115-b to perform NTN cell measurements with greater efficiency and reduced power consumption during a time period, time period may be based on an offset parameter indicated by a SIB; the UE 115-a may still be able to transmit scheduling requests within the measurement window; small cell may be associated with a lower-powered network entity 105 (e.g., a lower-powered base station 140) may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115)];
responsive to transmitting the minimum system information fetch request, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, receiving, from the at least one network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, minimum system information, comprising master information block information or system information block information, corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node [fig. 2, 5, paragraphs 0074, 0091, 0093, 0097, 0113-0116, responsive to transmitting the minimum system information fetch request, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, receiving, from the at least one network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, minimum system information, comprising master information block information or system information block information, corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node (the UE 115-a may still be able to transmit scheduling requests within the measurement window; the network entities 105 may provide assistance information to the UE 115-a (to assist the UE 115-a with cell measurements); assistance information provided by the network entities 105 may indicate a list of candidate cells or frequencies, a possible measurement time window, etc.; small cell may be associated with a lower-powered network entity 105 (e.g., a lower-powered base station 140) may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115)]; and
facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, to the at least one user equipment according to the reduced-capability connection, the minimum system information to be usable by the at least one user equipment to establish a connection with the non-terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0094, 0096, 0113, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, to the at least one user equipment according to the reduced-capability connection, the minimum system information to be usable by the at least one user equipment to establish a connection with the non-terrestrial radio network node (the UE 115-a may still be able to transmit scheduling requests within the measurement window; the network entities 105 may provide assistance information to the UE 115-a (to assist the UE 115-a with cell measurements); assistance information provided by the network entities 105 may indicate a list of candidate cells or frequencies, a possible measurement time window, etc.; enable the UE 115-a to determine when cell coverage is likely to be in the vicinity of the UE)].
Shrestha does not explicitly discloses broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message in which master information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node is absent; and facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, to at least one network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, a minimum system information fetch request requesting the master information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node and system information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node.
However, Medeiros teaches broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message in which master information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node is absent [paragraphs 0107, 0112, 0115, broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message in which master information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node is absent (a non-terrestrial network surrogate cell, is barred from user equipment connection, but typically transmits the master information block and system information block signals; explicit signalling provided by the surrogate nodeB 10, the absence of one or more SIBs)]; and facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, a request requesting the master information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node and system information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0107, 0112, 0115, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, a request requesting the master information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node and system information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node (a technique that reduces the power consumption of the user equipment when performing positioning for connecting to the non-terrestrial network; broadcasts the mater information block (MIB) and the essential system information blocks (SIBs))].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the method described in Shrestha by including a request requesting the master information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node and system information block information as taught by Medeiros because it would provide the Shrestha's method with the enhanced capability of enabling information to be updated dynamically [Medeiros, paragraphs 0111, 0117].
As per claim 2, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the at least one network element is a first network element, and wherein the method further comprises:
facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, receiving, from a second network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, a terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping configuration message comprising terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information indicative of association of at least one connected-mode non-terrestrial beam corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node with at least one connected mode terrestrial beam corresponding to the terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0049, 0063, 0085, 0094, 0145, 0156, 0180, 0189, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, receiving, from a second network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, a terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping configuration message comprising terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information indicative of association of at least one connected-mode non-terrestrial beam corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node with at least one connected mode terrestrial beam corresponding to the terrestrial radio network node (indicating a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with one of the NTN cells, a reference location, a location of the UE, a time duration in which at least one of the NTN cells can provide coverage to the UE; UE 115-a may perform the cell measurements in a connected mode within a possible measurement time window corresponding to a beam center)].
As per claim 3, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 2,
wherein the first network element and the second network element are the same [paragraphs 0074, 0076, 0095, wherein the first network element and the second network element are the same (the network entities 105 may indicate whether two cells are associated with the same satellite or different satellites)].
As per claim 4, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 2,
wherein the first network element and the second network element are different [paragraphs 0074, 0076, 0095, wherein the first network element and the second network element are different (the network entities 105 may indicate whether two cells are associated with the same satellite or different satellites)].
As per claim 5, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 2, wherein the first network element or the second network element comprise at least one of:
a non-terrestrial network gateway, a shared core network element, or a core network element [fig. 1, 2, paragraphs 0059, 0063, 0082, a non-terrestrial network gateway, a shared core network element, or a core network element (providing an IAB network architecture (e.g., to a core network 130); an IAB network, one or more network entities 105 (e.g., IAB nodes 104) may be partially controlled by each other)].
As per claim 6, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 2, further comprising:
based on the terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information, determining, by the terrestrial radio network node, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam, associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, corresponding to a first geographic coverage area that overlaps a second geographic coverage area, corresponding to a terrestrial beam via which the terrestrial radio network node received the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, to result in a determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam [paragraphs 0049, 0063, 0073, 0076, 0085, 0094, 0145, 0156, 0180, 0189, based on the terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information, determining, by the terrestrial radio network node, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam, associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, corresponding to a first geographic coverage area that overlaps a second geographic coverage area, corresponding to a terrestrial beam via which the terrestrial radio network node received the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, to result in a determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam (indicating a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with one of the NTN cells, a reference location, a location of the UE, a time duration in which at least one of the NTN cells can provide coverage to the UE; UE 115-a may perform the cell measurements in a connected mode within a possible measurement time window corresponding to a beam center; different coverage areas 110 associated with different technologies may overlap)].
As per claim 7, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 6, further comprising:
facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, to the at least one user equipment, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication indicative of the determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam [paragraphs 0049, 0063, 0085, 0094, 0145, 0156, 0180, 0189, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, to the at least one user equipment, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication indicative of the determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam (indicating a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with one of the NTN cells, a reference location, a location of the UE, a time duration in which at least one of the NTN cells can provide coverage to the UE; UE 115-a may perform the cell measurements in a connected mode within a possible measurement time window corresponding to a beam center)].
As per claim 8, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 7,
wherein the terrestrial radio network node transmits the minimum system information and the non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication via a non-terrestrial connection information message [paragraphs 0049, 0063, 0085, 0094, 0145, 0156, 0180, 0189, wherein the terrestrial radio network node transmits the minimum system information and the non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication via a non-terrestrial connection information message (indicating a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with one of the NTN cells, a reference location, a location of the UE, a time duration in which at least one of the NTN cells can provide coverage to the UE; UE 115-a may perform the cell measurements in a connected mode within a possible measurement time window corresponding to a beam center)].
As per claim 9, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 1,
wherein the minimum system information comprises master information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node or system information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node [fig. 2, 5, paragraphs 0074, 0091, 0093, 0097, 0113-0116, wherein the minimum system information comprises master information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node or system information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node (the UE 115-a may still be able to transmit scheduling requests within the measurement window; the network entities 105 may provide assistance information to the UE 115-a (to assist the UE 115-a with cell measurements); assistance information provided by the network entities 105 may indicate a list of candidate cells or frequencies, a possible measurement time window, etc.; small cell may be associated with a lower-powered network entity 105 (e.g., a lower-powered base station 140) may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115)].
As per claim 10, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the reduced-capability connection establishment request message comprises a control channel establishment request to establish a control channel between the at least one user equipment and the terrestrial radio network node,
wherein, responsive to the control channel establishment request, the establishing of the reduced-capability connection comprises: establishing, by the terrestrial radio network node, a control channel with respect to the at least one user equipment, and wherein the facilitating of the transmitting of the minimum system information is facilitated by the control channel [paragraphs 0093, 0101, 0116, 0120, establishing, by the terrestrial radio network node, a control channel with respect to the at least one user equipment, and wherein the facilitating of the transmitting of the minimum system information is facilitated by the control channel (the network configures the UE 115-a with a measurement window, the network may refrain from scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions within the measurement window; control channels related to techniques for performing non-terrestrial cell measurements)].
As per claim 11, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 10, further comprising:
avoiding, by the terrestrial radio network node in response to the control channel establishment request, establishing a data channel with respect to the at least one user equipment [paragraphs 0093, 0101, 0116, 0120, avoiding, by the terrestrial radio network node in response to the control channel establishment request, establishing a data channel with respect to the at least one user equipment (the network configures the UE 115-a with a measurement window, the network may refrain from scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions within the measurement window; control channels related to techniques for performing non-terrestrial cell measurements)].
As per claim 12, Shrestha discloses the method of claim 1, wherein the reduced-capability connection establishment request message comprises a service cause indication indicative that the reduced-capability connection establishment request message comprises a request for at least one of:
master information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node, system information block information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node, or a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication indicative of a beam corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0086, 0094, 0113, 0180, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication indicative of a beam corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node (the control signaling may indicate a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with an NTN cell)].
As per claim 13, Shrestha discloses a terrestrial radio network node, comprising at least one processor configured to process executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, facilitate performance of operations [paragraphs 0027, 0126, 0149, 0157, 0165, 0166, 0181, a terrestrial radio network node, comprising at least one processor configured to process executable instructions that, when executed by the at least one processor, facilitate performance of operations (apparatus may include a processor, memory coupled with the processor, and instructions stored in the memory; instructions may be executable to establish a communication session with a UE, for measurements of NTN cells)], comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment, a reduced-capability connection establishment request message [fig. 2, 5, 15, paragraphs 0079, 0090, 0091, 0113, 0196, 0213, receiving, from at least one user equipment, a reduced-capability connection establishment request message (a UE 115 may establish a communication session with a network entity 105 that is associated with an NTN; enable a UE to perform NTN cell measurements with greater efficiency and reduced power consumption)] comprising a non-terrestrial radio network node indication indicative of a non-terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0008, 0021, 0052, 0091, 0094, 0096, 0097, 0113, a non-terrestrial radio network node identifier corresponding to a non-terrestrial radio network node (establish a communication session with a network via a NTN entity, receive control signaling identifying one or more measurement trigger criteria for measurements of NTN cells); the UE 115-a may transmit assistance information)] that is configured to broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message [paragraphs 0067, 0077, 0101, configured to broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message (broadcasted in a system information block (SIB) such that the network and the UE are in-sync)];
responsive to the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, establishing a reduced-capability connection [fig. 2, 5, 15, paragraphs 0079, 0090, 0091, 0113, 0196, 0213, responsive to the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, establishing a reduced-capability connection (a UE 115 may establish a communication session with a network entity 105 that is associated with an NTN; enable a UE to perform NTN cell measurements with greater efficiency and reduced power consumption)];
transmitting, to a network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node via at least one backhaul link, a minimum system information request requesting the minimum system information [fig. 2, 5, paragraphs 0074, 0091, 0093, 0094, 0113-0116, transmitting, to a network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node via at least one backhaul link, a minimum system information request requesting the minimum system information (the UE 115-b to perform NTN cell measurements with greater efficiency and reduced power consumption during a time period, time period may be based on an offset parameter indicated by a SIB; the UE 115-a may still be able to transmit scheduling requests within the measurement window; small cell may be associated with a lower-powered network entity 105 (e.g., a lower-powered base station 140) may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115)];
responsive to transmitting the minimum system information request, receiving, from the network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node via the at least one backhaul link, minimum system information, comprising master information block information or system information block information, corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node [fig. 2, 5, paragraphs 0074, 0091, 0093, 0097, 0113-0116, responsive to transmitting the minimum system information request, receiving, from the network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node via the at least one backhaul link, minimum system information, comprising master information block information or system information block information, corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node (the UE 115-a may still be able to transmit scheduling requests within the measurement window; the network entities 105 may provide assistance information to the UE 115-a (to assist the UE 115-a with cell measurements); assistance information provided by the network entities 105 may indicate a list of candidate cells or frequencies, a possible measurement time window, etc.; small cell may be associated with a lower-powered network entity 105 (e.g., a lower-powered base station 140) may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115)]; and
transmitting, to the user equipment according to the reduced-capability connection, the minimum system information to be usable by the user equipment to establish a connection with the non-terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0094, 0096, 0113, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, to the at least one user equipment according to the reduced-capability connection, the minimum system information to be usable by the at least one user equipment to establish a connection with the non-terrestrial radio network node (the UE 115-a may still be able to transmit scheduling requests within the measurement window; the network entities 105 may provide assistance information to the UE 115-a (to assist the UE 115-a with cell measurements); assistance information provided by the network entities 105 may indicate a list of candidate cells or frequencies, a possible measurement time window, etc.; enable the UE 115-a to determine when cell coverage is likely to be in the vicinity of the UE)].
Shrestha does not explicitly discloses broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message that does not comprise minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node.
However, Medeiros teaches broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message that does not comprise minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0107, 0112, 0115, broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message that does not comprise minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node (a non-terrestrial network surrogate cell, is barred from user equipment connection, but typically transmits the master information block and system information block signals; explicit signalling provided by the surrogate nodeB 10, the absence of one or more SIBs)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the node described in Shrestha by including minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node as taught by Medeiros because it would provide the Shrestha's node with the enhanced capability of enabling information to be updated dynamically [Medeiros, paragraphs 0111, 0117].
As per claim 14, Shrestha discloses the terrestrial radio network node of claim 13, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving, from the network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, a terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping configuration message comprising terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information indicative of association of at least one connected-mode non-terrestrial beams corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node with at least one connected mode terrestrial beam corresponding to the terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0049, 0063, 0085, 0094, 0145, 0156, 0180, 0189, receiving, from the network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, a terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping configuration message comprising terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information indicative of association of at least one connected-mode non-terrestrial beams corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node with at least one connected mode terrestrial beam corresponding to the terrestrial radio network node (indicating a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with one of the NTN cells, a reference location, a location of the UE, a time duration in which at least one of the NTN cells can provide coverage to the UE; UE 115-a may perform the cell measurements in a connected mode within a possible measurement time window corresponding to a beam center)].
As per claim 15, Shrestha discloses the terrestrial radio network node of claim 14, wherein the operations further comprise:
based on the terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information, determining a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam, associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, corresponding to a first geographic coverage area that overlaps a second geographic coverage area, corresponding to a terrestrial beam via which the terrestrial radio network node received the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, to result in a determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam [paragraphs 0049, 0063, 0073, 0076, 0085, 0094, 0145, 0156, 0180, 0189, based on the terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information, determining a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam, associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, corresponding to a first geographic coverage area that overlaps a second geographic coverage area, corresponding to a terrestrial beam via which the terrestrial radio network node received the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, to result in a determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam (indicating a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with one of the NTN cells, a reference location, a location of the UE, a time duration in which at least one of the NTN cells can provide coverage to the UE; UE 115-a may perform the cell measurements in a connected mode within a possible measurement time window corresponding to a beam center; different coverage areas 110 associated with different technologies may overlap)]; and
transmitting, to the user equipment via the reduced-capability connection, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication indicative of the determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam [paragraphs 0049, 0063, 0085, 0094, 0145, 0156, 0180, 0189, transmitting, to the user equipment via the reduced-capability connection, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication indicative of the determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam (indicating a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with one of the NTN cells, a reference location, a location of the UE, a time duration in which at least one of the NTN cells can provide coverage to the UE; UE 115-a may perform the cell measurements in a connected mode within a possible measurement time window corresponding to a beam center)].
As per claim 16, Shrestha discloses the terrestrial radio network node of claim 13, wherein the reduced-capability connection establishment request message comprises a control channel connection establishment request to establish a control channel connection between the user equipment and the terrestrial radio network node, and wherein the operations further comprise;
responsive to the control channel connection establishment request, establishing a control channel connection with the user equipment, wherein the transmitting of the minimum system information is facilitated by the control channel connection [paragraphs 0093, 0101, 0116, 0120, responsive to the control channel connection establishment request, establishing a control channel connection with the user equipment, wherein the transmitting of the minimum system information is facilitated by the control channel connection (the network configures the UE 115-a with a measurement window, the network may refrain from scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions within the measurement window; control channels related to techniques for performing non-terrestrial cell measurements)]; and
avoiding, in response to the control channel connection establishment request, establishing a data channel with respect to the user equipment [paragraphs 0093, 0101, 0116, 0120, avoiding, in response to the control channel connection establishment request, establishing a data channel with respect to the user equipment (the network configures the UE 115-a with a measurement window, the network may refrain from scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions within the measurement window; control channels related to techniques for performing non-terrestrial cell measurements)].
As per claim 17, Shrestha discloses a non-transitory machine-readable medium, comprising executable instructions that, when executed by at least one processor of a terrestrial radio network node, facilitate performance of operations, comprising:
receiving, from a user equipment, a reduced-capability connection establishment request message [fig. 2, 5, 15, paragraphs 0079, 0090, 0091, 0113, 0196, 0213, receiving, from at least one user equipment, a reduced-capability connection establishment request message (a UE 115 may establish a communication session with a network entity 105 that is associated with an NTN; enable a UE to perform NTN cell measurements with greater efficiency and reduced power consumption)] comprising a non-terrestrial radio network node indication indicative of a non-terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0008, 0021, 0052, 0091, 0094, 0096, 0097, 0113, a non-terrestrial radio network node identifier corresponding to a non-terrestrial radio network node (establish a communication session with a network via a NTN entity, receive control signaling identifying one or more measurement trigger criteria for measurements of NTN cells); the UE 115-a may transmit assistance information)] that is configured to broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message [paragraphs 0067, 0077, 0101, configured to broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message (broadcasted in a system information block (SIB) such that the network and the UE are in-sync)];
responsive to the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, establishing a reduced-capability connection with the user equipment [fig. 2, 5, 15, paragraphs 0079, 0090, 0091, 0113, 0196, 0213, responsive to the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, establishing a reduced-capability connection (a UE 115 may establish a communication session with a network entity 105 that is associated with an NTN; enable a UE to perform NTN cell measurements with greater efficiency and reduced power consumption)];
transmitting, to a network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, a minimum system information request requesting the minimum system information [fig. 2, 5, paragraphs 0074, 0091, 0093, 0094, 0113-0116, transmitting, to a network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node via at least one backhaul link, a minimum system information request requesting the minimum system information (the UE 115-b to perform NTN cell measurements with greater efficiency and reduced power consumption during a time period, time period may be based on an offset parameter indicated by a SIB; the UE 115-a may still be able to transmit scheduling requests within the measurement window; small cell may be associated with a lower-powered network entity 105 (e.g., a lower-powered base station 140) may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115)];
responsive to transmitting the minimum system information fetch request, receiving, from the network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, minimum system information, comprising the minimum system information [fig. 2, 5, paragraphs 0074, 0091, 0093, 0097, 0113-0116, responsive to transmitting the minimum system information fetch request, receiving, from the network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, minimum system information, comprising the minimum system information (the UE 115-a may still be able to transmit scheduling requests within the measurement window; the network entities 105 may provide assistance information to the UE 115-a (to assist the UE 115-a with cell measurements); assistance information provided by the network entities 105 may indicate a list of candidate cells or frequencies, a possible measurement time window, etc.; small cell may be associated with a lower-powered network entity 105 (e.g., a lower-powered base station 140) may provide unrestricted access to the UEs 115 with service subscriptions with the network provider or may provide restricted access to the UEs 115)]; and
transmitting, to the user equipment according to the reduced-capability connection, the minimum system information to be usable by the user equipment to establish a connection with the non-terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0094, 0096, 0113, facilitating, by the terrestrial radio network node, transmitting, to the at least one user equipment according to the reduced-capability connection, the minimum system information to be usable by the at least one user equipment to establish a connection with the non-terrestrial radio network node (the UE 115-a may still be able to transmit scheduling requests within the measurement window; the network entities 105 may provide assistance information to the UE 115-a (to assist the UE 115-a with cell measurements); assistance information provided by the network entities 105 may indicate a list of candidate cells or frequencies, a possible measurement time window, etc.; enable the UE 115-a to determine when cell coverage is likely to be in the vicinity of the UE)].
Shrestha does not explicitly discloses broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message that does not comprise minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node.
However, Medeiros teaches broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message that does not comprise minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0107, 0112, 0115, broadcast a reduced-content synchronization signal block signal message that does not comprise minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node (a non-terrestrial network surrogate cell, is barred from user equipment connection, but typically transmits the master information block and system information block signals; explicit signalling provided by the surrogate nodeB 10, the absence of one or more SIBs)].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention was made to improve upon the medium described in Shrestha by including minimum system information corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node as taught by Medeiros because it would provide the Shrestha's medium with the enhanced capability of enabling information to be updated dynamically [Medeiros, paragraphs 0111, 0117].
As per claim 18, Shrestha discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise:
receiving, from the network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, a terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping configuration message comprising terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information indicative of at least one connected-mode non-terrestrial beams corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node being associated with at least one connected mode terrestrial beam corresponding to the terrestrial radio network node [paragraphs 0049, 0063, 0085, 0094, 0145, 0156, 0180, 0189, receiving, from the network element associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, a terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping configuration message comprising terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information indicative of association of at least one connected-mode non-terrestrial beams corresponding to the non-terrestrial radio network node with at least one connected mode terrestrial beam corresponding to the terrestrial radio network node (indicating a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with one of the NTN cells, a reference location, a location of the UE, a time duration in which at least one of the NTN cells can provide coverage to the UE; UE 115-a may perform the cell measurements in a connected mode within a possible measurement time window corresponding to a beam center)].
As per claim 19, Shrestha discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 18, wherein the operations further comprise:
based on the terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information, determining, by the terrestrial radio network node, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam, associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, corresponding to a geographic coverage area that overlaps a location corresponding to the terrestrial radio network node, to result in a determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam [paragraphs 0049, 0063, 0073, 0076, 0085, 0094, 0145, 0156, 0180, 0189, based on the terrestrial-to-non-terrestrial connected-mode downlink beam mapping information, determining, by the terrestrial radio network node, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam, associated with the non-terrestrial radio network node, corresponding to a geographic coverage area that overlaps a location corresponding to the terrestrial radio network node, to result in a determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam (indicating a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with one of the NTN cells, a reference location, a location of the UE, a time duration in which at least one of the NTN cells can provide coverage to the UE; UE 115-a may perform the cell measurements in a connected mode within a possible measurement time window corresponding to a beam center; different coverage areas 110 associated with different technologies may overlap)]; and
transmitting, to the user equipment according to the reduced-capability connection, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication indicative of the determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam [paragraphs 0049, 0063, 0085, 0094, 0145, 0156, 0180, 0189, transmitting, to the user equipment according to the reduced-capability connection, a non-terrestrial connected-mode beam indication indicative of the determined non-terrestrial connected-mode beam (indicating a measurement time window corresponding to a beam center associated with one of the NTN cells, a reference location, a location of the UE, a time duration in which at least one of the NTN cells can provide coverage to the UE; UE 115-a may perform the cell measurements in a connected mode within a possible measurement time window corresponding to a beam center)].
As per claim 20, Shrestha discloses the non-transitory machine-readable medium of claim 17, wherein the operations further comprise:
responsive to the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, scheduling, with respect to the user equipment, control channel resources associated with the reduced-capability connection [paragraphs 0093, 0101, 0116, 0120, responsive to the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, scheduling, with respect to the user equipment, control channel resources associated with the reduced-capability connection (the network configures the UE 115-a with a measurement window, the network may refrain from scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions within the measurement window; control channels related to techniques for performing non-terrestrial cell measurements)]; and
responsive to the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, avoiding scheduling, with respect to the user equipment, data channel resources associated with the reduced-capability connection [paragraphs 0093, 0101, 0116, 0120, responsive to the reduced-capability connection establishment request message, avoiding scheduling, with respect to the user equipment, data channel resources associated with the reduced-capability connection (the network configures the UE 115-a with a measurement window, the network may refrain from scheduling physical downlink control channel (PDCCH) transmissions within the measurement window; control channels related to techniques for performing non-terrestrial cell measurements)].
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Deogun et al., U.S. Publication No. 2025/0261242 discloses wherein the cells share SSB transmissions/remaining minimum system information (RMSI).
Ji et al., U.S. Publication No. 2024/0080800 discloses wherein in an NTN, a cell may be served by a moving network entity.
/JACKIE ZUNIGA ABAD/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2469