DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/11/24, 10/15/25 was acknowledged. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a) because they fail to show a virtual object 320, a virtual prop 1, a virtual prop 2, a virtual prop 3, a first interaction region 331, a second interaction region 332, a virtual object 620, a display interface 610, a picking control 630, a first interaction region 631, a second interaction region 632, a first virtual prop 011, a second virtual prop 021, a third virtual prop 031, a prop display region 032, a picking control 630, a display interface 710, a virtual object 720, a picking control 730, a first interaction region 731, a second interaction region 732 as described in the specification. Any structural detail that is essential for a proper understanding of the disclosed invention should be shown in the drawing. MPEP § 608.02(d). Corrected drawing sheets in compliance with 37 CFR 1.121(d) are required in reply to the Office action to avoid abandonment of the application. Any amended replacement drawing sheet should include all of the figures appearing on the immediate prior version of the sheet, even if only one figure is being amended. The figure or figure number of an amended drawing should not be labeled as “amended.” If a drawing figure is to be canceled, the appropriate figure must be removed from the replacement sheet, and where necessary, the remaining figures must be renumbered and appropriate changes made to the brief description of the several views of the drawings for consistency. Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-2, 12, 16 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Lu (2023/0080907).
Re Claim 1,
Lu discloses a method for controlling a virtual object (¶¶0001, 0007), the method comprising:
displaying, by processing circuitry of a terminal device, a picking control that includes at least two interaction regions, one of the interaction regions corresponding to a usage manner of a virtual prop (Fig 1a-2b, ¶¶0037, 0041; a weapons-display region included a plurality of selectable graphical elements, wherein the plurality of selectable graphical elements may be operated by the user to perform weapon switching function and/or weapon reloading function, i.e., each selectable graphical element represents an interaction region that provides a usage manner); and
controlling, in response to an operation performed on a reference interaction region of the at least two interaction regions, the virtual object to interact with a reference virtual prop in the reference interaction region of the at least two interaction regions (Fig 1a-2b, ¶¶0037, 0041, 0043-0046, 0052; the weapons-display region includes current weapon panel and spare weapon panels, the user can select on either the current weapon or the spare weapon to perform weapon switching function and/or weapon reloading function, i.e., the weapon panel selected by the user is considered as a reference interaction region).
Re Claim 2,
Lu discloses the one of the interaction regions corresponds to the usage manner of the virtual prop, and different interaction regions correspond to different usage manners (Fig 1a-2b, ¶¶0037, 0041, 0043-0046, 0052).
Re Claims 12, 16,
Claims describe an apparatus and a non-transitory CRM performed the method recited in claim 1. See claim 1 for rejection.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 3, 7-9, 13-15, 17-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (2023/0080907) in view of Tian et al. (2021/0291054).
Re Claims 3, 13, 17,
Lu discloses all limitations as set forth above including the picking region including at least one virtual prop and the reference virtual prop but is silent on displaying the picking control when the virtual object enters a picking region in a virtual environment. However, Tian teaches displaying the picking control when the virtual object enters a picking region in a virtual environment (¶¶0066-0067). Tian further teaches such a configuration provides a simplified operation to interact with the virtual item (¶0005). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Tian into the game of Lu in order to improve a player gameplay experience by providing a simplified operation to interact with the virtual item.
Re Claims 7, 14, 18,
Lu discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on a first candidate virtual prop and a second candidate virtual prop, the reference virtual prop is one of the first candidate virtual prop or the second candidate virtual prop; and displaying a first picking control and a second picking control in response to the virtual object entering the picking region in the virtual environment, the first picking control being a control corresponding to the first candidate virtual prop, the second picking control being a control corresponding to the second candidate virtual prop, and a display style of the first picking control being different from the second picking control. However, Tian teaches a first candidate virtual prop and a second candidate virtual prop, the reference virtual prop is one of the first candidate virtual prop or the second candidate virtual prop; and displaying a first picking control and a second picking control in response to the virtual object entering the picking region in the virtual environment, the first picking control being a control corresponding to the first candidate virtual prop, the second picking control being a control corresponding to the second candidate virtual prop, and a display style of the first picking control being different from the second picking control (Fig 8, ¶¶0107, 0127-0129, 0141-0144). See claim 3 for motivation.
Re Claims 8, 15, 19,
Lu discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on displaying the picking control when the virtual object enters the picking region and the reference virtual prop is of a same type as the at least one virtual prop used and/or reserved by the virtual object for entering the picking region. However, Tian teaches displaying the picking control when the virtual object enters the picking region and the reference virtual prop is of a same type as the at least one virtual prop used and/or reserved by the virtual object for entering the picking region (¶¶0066-0067). See claim 3 for motivation.
Re Claim 9,
Lu discloses all limitations as set forth above displaying the picking control when the virtual object enters the picking region and the reference virtual prop is of a same type with a different display style as the at least one virtual prop used and/or reserved by the virtual object for entering the picking region. However, Tian teaches displaying the picking control when the virtual object enters the picking region and the reference virtual prop is of a same type with a different display style as the at least one virtual prop used and/or reserved by the virtual object for entering the picking region (Fig 8, ¶¶0107, 0127-0129, 0141-0144).
Claim(s) 4-5, 10-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (2023/0080907) in view of Skovos (NPL: Youtube video: Escape From Tarkov: Stash / Inventory Management).
Re Claim 4,
Lu discloses all limitations as set forth above including controlling the virtual object to replace a first virtual prop used by the virtual object with a virtual fighting prop or controlling the virtual object to be equipped with the virtual fighting prop in response to the operation performed on a first interaction region of the at least two interaction regions, the first virtual prop being a same type as the virtual fighting prop; and controlling the virtual object to replace a second virtual prop reserved by the virtual object with the virtual fighting prop (Fig 1a-2b, ¶¶0037, 0041, 0043-0046, 0052) but does not explicitly disclose putting the virtual fighting prop into a virtual backpack in response to the operation performed on the second interaction region of the two interaction regions, the second virtual prop being a same type as the virtual fighting prop. However, Skovos teaches putting the virtual fighting prop into a virtual backpack in response to the operation performed on the second interaction region of the two interaction regions, the second virtual prop being a same type as the virtual fighting prop (youtube video). Skovos further teaches such a configuration makes a player’s life easier (youtube video description section). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Skovos into the game of Lu in order to make a player’s life easier.
Re Claim 5,
Lu discloses all limitations as set forth above including controlling the virtual object to update a third virtual prop used by the virtual object to a virtual accessory of a virtual fighting prop in response to the operation performed on a first interaction region of the at least two interaction regions, the third virtual prop being a same type as the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop with a different display style; controlling the virtual object to replace a fourth virtual prop reserved by the virtual object with the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop; and controlling the virtual object to upgrade a fifth virtual prop of the virtual object to the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop, the fourth virtual prop being the same type as the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop with a different display style, and the fifth virtual prop being a same type as the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop (Fig 1a-2b, ¶¶0037, 0041, 0043-0046, 0052) but is silent on or controlling the virtual object to put the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop into a virtual backpack in response to the operation performed on a second interaction region of the at least two interaction regions. However, Skovos teaches controlling the virtual object to update a third virtual prop used by the virtual object to a virtual accessory of a virtual fighting prop in response to the operation performed on a first interaction region of the at least two interaction regions, the third virtual prop being a same type as the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop with a different display style; controlling the virtual object to replace a fourth virtual prop reserved by the virtual object with the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop; and controlling the virtual object to upgrade a fifth virtual prop of the virtual object to the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop, the fourth virtual prop being the same type as the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop with a different display style, and the fifth virtual prop being a same type as the virtual accessory of the virtual fighting prop (youtube video). See claim 4 for motivation.
Re Claim 10,
Lu discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on a display style of the picking control is determined based on a type of the virtual prop. However, Skovos teaches a display style of the picking control is determined based on a type of the virtual prop (youtube video). See claim 4 for motivation.
Re Claim 11,
Lu discloses all limitations as set forth above but is silent on the display style of the picking control comprises: frame colors of the at least two interaction regions; marks of the at least two interaction regions; brightness of the at least two interaction regions; shapes of the at least two interaction regions; transparencies of the at least two interaction regions; pattern styles in the at least two interaction regions; or text styles in the at least two interaction regions. However, it would have been an obvious matter of design choice for changing the display style of the interaction regions, since Applicant has not disclosed that changing the display style of the interaction regions solves any stated problem or is for any particular purpose.
Claim(s) 6 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Lu (2023/0080907) in view of Tian et al. (2021/0291054), further in view of Rogers et al. (2005/0137015).
Re Claim 6,
Lu discloses all limitations as set forth above including controlling the virtual object to replace a first virtual prop used by the virtual object in response to the operation performed on a first interaction region of the at least two interaction regions, the first virtual prop being a same type as the virtual decorative prop but is silent on a virtual decorative prop, and putting the virtual decorative prop into a virtual backpack, controlling the virtual object to give the virtual decorative prop to another virtual object, or controlling the virtual object to exchange the virtual decorative props into virtual currency in response to the operation performed on a second interaction region of the at least two interaction regions. However, Rogers teaches a virtual decorative prop, and putting the virtual decorative prop into a virtual backpack, controlling the virtual object to give the virtual decorative prop to another virtual object, or controlling the virtual object to exchange the virtual decorative props into virtual currency in response to the operation performed on a second interaction region of the at least two interaction regions (Fig 6, 8-9, ¶¶0163, 0169, 0173-0174, 0180). Rogers further teaches such a configuration allows the game developer to generate additional revenue (¶0022). Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to utilize the teaching of Rogers into the game of Lu as modified by Tian in order to generate additional revenue for the game operators.
Conclusion
/JASON T YEN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3715