CTNF 18/740,490 CTNF 98266 Notice of Pre-AIA or AIA Status 07-03-aia AIA 15-10-aia The present application, filed on or after March 16, 2013, is being examined under the first inventor to file provisions of the AIA. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112 07-30-02 AIA The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112(b): (b) CONCLUSION.—The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor regards as the invention. The following is a quotation of 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph: The specification shall conclude with one or more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claiming the subject matter which the applicant regards as his invention. 07-34-01 Claims 11-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Claim 11 recites the limitation "the connection pattern" which lacks antecedent basis. For examination purposes, “the connection pattern” is interpreted as a part of the plurality of connection patterns corresponding to the first sub pixel. Claim 12 cites “a connection pattern is insulated from the reflection plate and overlaps the reflection plate, in the second sub pixel.” It is unclear whether “a connection pattern” is intended to be distinct from the plurality of connection patterns introduced in claim 1 or a part of the connection patterns introduced in claim 1. For examination purposes, “a connection pattern” is interpreted as “a connection pattern of the plurality of connection patterns” being disposed in the second sub pixel. Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102 07-06 AIA 15-10-15 In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis (i.e., changing from AIA to pre-AIA) for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status. 07-07-aia AIA 07-07 The following is a quotation of the appropriate paragraphs of 35 U.S.C. 102 that form the basis for the rejections under this section made in this Office action: A person shall be entitled to a patent unless – 07-08-aia AIA (a)(1) the claimed invention was patented, described in a printed publication, or in public use, on sale, or otherwise available to the public before the effective filing date of the claimed invention. 07-15 AIA Claim (s) 1-10 and 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102( a)(1 ) as being anticipated by Wang (US 20210343230 A1) and further evidenced by Kim (US 20190181301 A1) . Regarding Claim 1, Wang teaches a display device (shown Fig. 1), comprising: a substrate (10) including a plurality of sub pixels (20) including a first sub pixel (21, shown Fig. 2), a second sub pixel (22), and a sharing sub pixel (60, a spare LED element setting region, see also [0013] which describes a spare LED element being disposed in the spare LED element setting region when an LED corresponding to a first or second sub pixel is damaged) disposed between the first sub pixel and the second sub pixel (shown Fig. 2); a plurality of transistors (30) disposed in the first sub pixel and the second sub pixel, among the plurality of sub pixels (shown Fig. 2); a common power line (see described in [0040], wherein a common power line is formed in the second metal layer 35. See also Kim: Figs. 2-3 which shows an exemplary common power line CPL disposed in a same metal layer as a pixel driving transistor T2 and electrically connected to a common electrode CE analogous to second electrode 52 of Wang) which is disposed at one side (corresponding to cross-section W-W’) of the first sub pixel, the second sub pixel, and the sharing sub pixel to apply a common power to the first sub pixel, the second sub pixel, and the sharing sub pixel; and a plurality of connection patterns (51) which is connected to the plurality of transistors (shown Fig. 2), respectively, to be disposed at the other side (corresponding to cross-section Q-Q’, a driving transistor side) of the first sub pixel and the second sub pixel and is spaced apart from each other (shown Figs. 1-2). Regarding Claim 2, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein the first sub pixel, the second sub pixel, and the sharing sub pixel emit light with a same color (see the second column from the left wherein each sub-pixel has a same color and [0043] which states that “a spare LED element having a same structure and luminous color as the damaged LED element is disposed in the spare LED element setting region”). Regarding Claim 3, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 1, further comprising: an intermediate electrode (source/drain electrodes of metal layer 35, see also Fig. 17 and [0082-0083]) which connects the plurality of transistors and the plurality of connection patterns (shown Fig. 2); and a plurality of reflection plates (82, formed of a same metal material as metal layer 35, see also [0083]) connected to the common power line (as evidenced by Kim, the metal layer 82 as shown in Fig. 3 of Wang would be electrically connected to the common power lien through electrode connecting piece 52), wherein the intermediate electrode and the plurality of reflection plates are disposed on a same layer and are formed of a same material (see [0083]). Regarding Claim 4, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 3, further comprising: a plurality of light emitting diodes (40) including a first light emitting diode disposed in the first sub pixel and a second light emitting diode disposed in the second sub pixel (shown Fig. 2), wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes is disposed on the plurality of reflection plates to be electrically connected to the plurality of reflection plates (shown Fig. 3), and the plurality of connection patterns includes: a first connection pattern (51, left) which connects a transistor disposed in the first sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors, and the first light emitting diode (shown Fig. 2); and a second connection pattern (51, right) which connects a transistor disposed in the second sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors, and the second light emitting diode (shown Fig. 2). Regarding Claim 5, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 4, further comprising: a dummy pattern (53, shown Fig. 3) which is disposed at the other side of the sharing sub pixel and is disposed on the same layer and is formed of the same material as the plurality of connection patterns (see [0057] and Figs. 2-3), and is spaced apart from the plurality of connection patterns (shown Fig. 1 being spaced apart from connection patterns 51), wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes further includes a sharing light emitting diode which is disposed on the sharing sub pixel and is connected to the dummy pattern (see [0035-0036] and Fig. 3). Regarding Claim 6, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 3, further comprising: a plurality of light emitting diodes (40) which includes a first light emitting diode disposed in the first sub pixel (shown Fig.2), a second light emitting diode disposed in the second sub pixel (shown Fig. 2), and a sharing light emitting diode disposed in the sharing sub pixel (see [0035-0036]), wherein the sharing light emitting diode is electrically connected to a transistor disposed in the first sub pixel or a transistor disposed in the second sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors (see [0035-0036] wherein the sharing light emitting diode is electrically connected to a damaged light emitting diode of either the first sub pixel or second sub pixel). Regarding Claim 7, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 6, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes is disposed on the plurality of reflection plates to be electrically connected to the plurality of reflection plates (shown Fig. 3), wherein the first light emitting diode, between the first light emitting diode and the second light emitting diode, is defective (see [0035-0036] and Fig. 2, wherein a first connection pattern corresponding to the first driving transistor electrically connects to a spare LED disposed in the spare LED element setting region when the first sub-pixel is damaged), and the plurality of connection patterns includes: a first connection pattern (51 left) which connects a transistor disposed in the first sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors and the sharing light emitting diode; and a second connection pattern (51 right) which connects a transistor disposed in the second sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors, and the second light emitting diode. Regarding Claim 8, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 6, wherein the plurality of light emitting diodes is disposed on the plurality of reflection plates to be electrically connected to the plurality of reflection plates (shown Fig. 3), wherein the second light emitting diode, between the first light emitting diode and the second light emitting diode, is defective (see [0035-0036] and Fig. 2, wherein a second connection pattern corresponding to the second driving transistor electrically connects to a spare LED disposed in the spare LED element setting region when the second sub-pixel is damaged), and the plurality of connection patterns includes: a first connection pattern (51 left) which connects the transistor disposed in the first sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors and the first light emitting diode (shown Fig .2); and a second connection pattern (51 right) which connects the transistor disposed in the second sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors, and the sharing light emitting diode. Regarding Claim 9, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 6, wherein the first light emitting diode is electrically insulated from at least one of the plurality of connection patterns and the plurality of reflection plates (shown Fig. 1), the second light emitting diode and the sharing light emitting diode are disposed on the plurality of reflection plates to be electrically connected to the plurality of reflection plates (shown Fig. 3), and the plurality of connection patterns includes: a first connection pattern (51 left, shown Fig. 2) which connects the transistor disposed in the first sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors and the sharing light emitting diode; and a second connection pattern (51 right, shown Fig. 2) which connects the transistor disposed in the second sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors and the second light emitting diode. Regarding Claim 10, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 6, wherein the second light emitting diode is electrically insulated from at least one of the plurality of connection patterns and the plurality of reflection plates (shown Fig. 1), the first light emitting diode and the sharing light emitting diode are disposed on the plurality of reflection plates to be electrically connected to the plurality of reflection plates (shown Fig.3), and the plurality of connection patterns includes: a first connection pattern (51 left, shown Fig. 2) which connects the transistor disposed in the first sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors and the first light emitting diode; and a second connection pattern (51 right) which connects the transistor disposed in the second sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors, and the sharing light emitting diode. Regarding Claim 13, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 1, wherein a length of the plurality of connection patterns is longer than a width of one sub pixel, among the plurality of sub pixels (shown Fig. 1). Regarding Claim 14, Wang teaches a display device (see Figs. 1-3), comprising: a substrate (10) including a plurality of sub pixels (20) including a first sub pixel (21), a second sub pixel (22), and an auxiliary sub pixel (60, a spare LED element setting region, see also [0013] which describes a spare LED element being disposed in the spare LED element setting region when an LED corresponding to a first or second sub pixel is damaged) disposed between the first sub pixel and the second sub pixel (shown Fig. 2); a first driving transistor (30) disposed in the first sub pixel (shown Fig. 2); a second driving transistor (30) disposed in the second sub pixel (shown Fig. 2); a common power line (see described in [0040], wherein a common power line is formed in the second metal layer 35. See also Kim: Figs. 2-3 which shows an exemplary common power line CPL disposed in a same metal layer as a pixel driving transistor T2 and electrically connected to a common electrode CE analogous to second electrode 52 of Wang) which is disposed at one side (corresponding to cross-section W-W’) of the first sub pixel, the second sub pixel, and the auxiliary sub pixel; and a connection pattern (51) electrically connecting the first driving transistor to the first sub pixel or the auxiliary sub pixel, and electrically connecting the second driving transistor to the second sub pixel or the auxiliary sub pixel (shown Fig. 2). Regarding Claim 15, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 14, wherein the connection pattern is patterned into a first connection pattern electrically connecting the first driving transistor to the auxiliary sub pixel, and a second connection pattern electrically connecting the second driving transistor to the second sub pixel, and wherein the first sub pixel is defective (see [0035-0036] and Fig. 2, wherein a first connection pattern corresponding to the first driving transistor electrically connects to a spare LED disposed in the spare LED element setting region when the first sub-pixel is damaged). Regarding Claim 16, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 14, wherein the connection pattern is patterned into a first connection pattern electrically connecting the first driving transistor to the first sub pixel, and a second connection pattern electrically connecting the second driving transistor to the auxiliary sub pixel, and wherein the second sub pixel is defective (see [0035-0036] and Fig. 2, wherein a second connection pattern corresponding to the second driving transistor electrically connects to a spare LED disposed in the spare LED element setting region when the second sub-pixel is damaged). Regarding Claim 17, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 14, wherein the first sub pixel, the second sub pixel, and the auxiliary sub pixel emit light with a same color (see the second column from the left wherein each sub-pixel has a same color and [0043] which states that “a spare LED element having a same structure and luminous color as the damaged LED element is disposed in the spare LED element setting region”) . Allowable Subject Matter 12-151-08 AIA 07-43 12-51-08 Claim s 11-12 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. 13-03-01 AIA The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter: Regarding Claims 11-12, Wang teaches the display device according to claim 3, further comprising: a plurality of light emitting diodes (40) which includes a light emitting diode disposed in a corresponding first sub pixel or second sub pixel and a sharing light emitting diode disposed in the sharing sub pixel (see [0035-0036], wherein the sharing light emitting diode is electrically connected to a transistor disposed in the first sub pixel or second sub pixel, among the plurality of transistors (shown Figs. 2-3). Wang further teaches that the plurality of connection patterns are electrically connected to the reflection plate. The prior art does not explicitly teach or suggest in any combination a connection pattern of the plurality of connection patterns (corresponding to a defective sub pixel) being insulated from the reflection plate and overlapping the reflection plate in the defective sub pixel area. As such, either claim 11 or claim 12 would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all limitations of the base claim 1 and intervening claim 3 . 07-43-03 AIA As allowable subject matter has been indicated, applicant's reply must either comply with all formal requirements or specifically traverse each requirement not complied with. See 37 CFR 1.111(b) and MPEP § 707.07(a). Conclusion 07-96 AIA The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure : Chen (US 20160351092 A1) teaches a display panel wherein a defect detecting and repair process of a pixel unit is described. Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to CASEY PAUL BOATMAN whose telephone number is (703)756-4778. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 7:30 AM - 5:30 PM ET. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Britt Hanley can be reached at (571)270-3042. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of published or unpublished applications may be obtained from Patent Center. Unpublished application information in Patent Center is available to registered users. To file and manage patent submissions in Patent Center, visit: https://patentcenter.uspto.gov. Visit https://www.uspto.gov/patents/apply/patent-center for more information about Patent Center and https://www.uspto.gov/patents/docx for information about filing in DOCX format. For additional questions, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000. /C.P.B./ Examiner, Art Unit 2893 /Britt Hanley/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 2 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 3 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 4 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 5 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 6 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 7 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 8 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 9 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 10 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 11 Art Unit: 2893 Application/Control Number: 18/740,490 Page 12 Art Unit: 2893