DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments filed 28 September 2026 regarding claim 1 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that Umehara 252 does not explicitly disclose the vibration body as further defined in amended claim 1. However, as shown below, substrate 10 is both the substrate and the vibration body. In the instant invention, substrate 24 is part of vibration body 20. Substrate 10 of Umehara 252 appears to serve the same purpose. Thus, the rejection is maintained.
Regarding claim 6, it is agreed that paragraph 0016 of Umehara 252 does not mention an inner or outer ring. This was meant to reference Ueda paragraph 0016, which clearly teaches these components. However, it was stated last Office Action that Ueda is not combinable with Umehara 252. Therefore, even though Ueda teaches this limitation, as it cannot be combined with the rejection of claim 1, the claim is allowable.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-5, and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Umehara (“Umehara 252”; US 2014/0202252).
Regarding claim 1: Umehara 252 discloses a vibration module (Fig. 2), comprising:
a movable unit including a base plate (30), a magnet (60), and a back yoke (70);
a stationary unit including a frame (30), a substrate (10), a coil (40), and an insulator (paragraph 0050); and
an elastic member (53, Fig. 3) between the movable unit and the stationary unit (paragraph 0060),
wherein the movable unit, the stationary unit, and the elastic member are arranged in a first arrangement direction (in this case, the vertical or Z-axis direction, Fig. 2),
the frame (30) in the stationary unit has a first surface at one side of the frame (the top side in the Z-direction in Fig. 2) in the first arrangement direction and attached to the movable unit with the elastic member, and the frame has a second surface at the other side of the frame in the first arrangement direction (bottom side of 30) and attachable to a vibration body (also 10, as “vibration body” is not defined any further in the claim, it is simply a body) supported by a support (such as the side legs of 20), the vibration body having an operation surface operable by a user (such as when the vibrator is vibrated), and the support supporting the vibration body to allow vibration of the vibration body (as the legs of 20 lead to 10), and
the movable unit is movable relative to the stationary unit in a second arrangement direction intersecting with the first arrangement direction (paragraph 0063 “forward-and-rearward direction”).
Regarding claim 4: Umehara 252 discloses an attachment member (21, Fig. 2) to be located between the second surface of the frame (akin to 30) and the vibration body to attach the frame to the vibration body (80),
wherein the second surface of the frame includes a protrusion protruding toward the vibration body (33a-d), and the attachment member has an opening accommodating the protrusion (23a-d).
Regarding claim 5: Umehara 252 discloses the base plate includes an attachment protrusion protruding toward the back yoke (into holes 371a-b, not shown in FIG. 12, paragraph 0113), and
the attachment protrusion is placed in a through-hole (371a-b) in the back yoke (370).
Regarding claim 8: Umehara 252 discloses the frame (30) has a surface being plate-like (flat part of 30) and a side surface extending in the first arrangement direction (it bends 90 degrees on each side), and the side surface has one end face connecting to the surface of the frame (as it’s a single structure).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 2 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umehara 252, in view of Ueda et al. (“Ueda”; US 2012/0169153).
Regarding claim 2: Umehara 252 discloses the base plate, but does not explicitly disclose the base plate has a surface facing the first surface of the frame, and the surface of the base plate has a recess accommodating the elastic member.
However, Ueda discloses wherein the base plate (8) has a surface facing the first surface of the frame (up), and
the surface of the base plate has a recess accommodating the elastic member (shown by the notch in 8 in Fig. 3 right below the elastic member 7).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the base plate of Umehara 252 to include the recess of Ueda in order to allow for a more compact design.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Umehara 252 as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Zhang et al. (“Zhang”; US 2020/0044527).
Regarding claim 3: Umehara 252 discloses the base plate and the frame, and the magnet, the coil, and the elastic member, but does not explicitly disclose a protector between the base plate and the frame, the protector being frame-like and extending along a periphery of the base plate, wherein the magnet, the coil, and the elastic member are located inward from the protector.
However, Zhang discloses a protector (150) between the base plate (112) and the frame (111), the protector being frame-like and extending along a periphery of the base plate (Fig. 1),
wherein the magnet (131), the coil (120), and the elastic member (140) are located inward from the protector (as shown in Fig. 1).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the module of Umehara 252 to include the protector of Zhang in order to better protect the components from colliding (paragraph 0020).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 6 and 7 objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter.
The prior art of record, alone or in combination does not explicitly teach, suggest, or render obvious, at least to the skilled artisan the module of claim 6, specifically comprising:
a plurality of the magnets and a plurality of the coils are arranged in a second arrangement direction intersecting with the first arrangement direction, and the movable unit moves relative to the stationary unit in the second arrangement direction, in the context of the other components in the claim.
Claim 7 is allowable due to its dependency on claim 6.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/SEAN GUGGER/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834