DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Species O(1) and Sub-species C (Figs. 11, 14) in the reply filed on 3/04/2026 is acknowledged.
Claims 2-4, 7, 14, 15 have withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 3/04/2026.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 634, 632, 630 [e.g. Fig. 11] and 1902 [Fig. 24] .
Additional replacement sheets may be necessary to show the renumbering of the remaining figures. Each drawing sheet submitted after the filing date of an application must be labeled in the top margin as either “Replacement Sheet” or “New Sheet” pursuant to 37 CFR 1.121(d). If the changes are not accepted by the examiner, the applicant will be notified and informed of any required corrective action in the next Office action. The objection to the drawings will not be held in abeyance.
The drawings were received on 6/12/2024 & 8/06/2024. These drawings are entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1, 5, 6, 8-13, 16-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 “the gas turbine engine defining a thrust to power airflow ratio between 3.5 and 100 and a core bypass ratio between 0.1 and 10, wherein the thrust to power airflow ratio is a ratio of an airflow through a bypass passage over the turbomachine plus an airflow through the fan duct to an airflow through the core duct, and wherein the core bypass ratio is a ratio of the airflow through the fan duct to the airflow through the core duct” does not clearly set forth the invention. The claim further defined as upper fan duct, lower fan duct, and it is unclear where the airflow through the fan duct is in relationship to these fan ducts. In the specification the thrust to power airflow ratio between 3.5 and 100 is described in ¶ 0090 as using the “third stream” which corresponds to the “an airflow through the fan duct” in the claim. However, different embodiments define the third stream differently, in Fig. 1, ¶ 0067 defines the third stream as the fan flow path 172 through the fan duct. In Figs. 6-9, the third stream is defined as the passage 524, see e.g. Fig. 7, where 524 is different from the fan duct 522. Accordingly, the claim is unclear as to what type of fan flow configuration utilized, since the airflow through the fan duct for the claimed ratio may be deemed either that of the entire fan duct or a small portion of it. In other words for the elected species, it is unclear what “third stream” / portion of airflow through the fan duct is utilized for the claimed range. The claim requires a booster and bypass passage, and it is unclear where the airflow through the fan duct is in relationship to these locations. See also claim 13 for an analogous issue.
Claims 2, 6, 8 appear redundant for claiming either or both of a booster rotor blade and/or booster cowl, when these elements are already in claim 1. Accordingly, redundant limitations should be deleted.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Giffin et al (20110120082). Giffin et al teach A gas turbine engine comprising: a turbomachine comprising a compressor section 13, a combustion section 15, and a turbine section 16, 18 arranged in serial flow order, the turbomachine defining an engine inlet to an inlet duct, a fan duct inlet to a fan duct 472, 471, and a core inlet [for air 5, Fig. 5] to a core duct for 5; a primary fan 418 driven by the turbomachine; a secondary fan 422 located downstream of the primary fan within the inlet duct; a booster 440 located downstream of the secondary fan and comprising a booster rotor blade 448 and booster cowl [leadlines for 445 and 465], the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade 448, 444 and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, the booster cowl separating an upstream portion of the fan duct into an upper fan duct having an upper fan duct inlet 456 and a lower fan duct [for flow 461, 477] having a lower fan duct inlet, the upper fan duct inlet and lower fan duct inlet collectively forming the fan duct inlet; and a flow blocker [458 but also could be 454 as applicant does not precisely define the location of the lower fan duct inlet with any structure] located at the lower fan duct inlet 458 or 454 and movable from an open position to a closed position, wherein, in the closed position, the flow blocker blocks a flow through at least a portion of the lower fan duct inlet.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostdiek et al (2021/0108597) in view of Giffin et al (2011/0120082) and Orlando et al (6763654) and Frantz et al (2023/0019277) and Simmons “Design and control of a variable geometry turbofan with an independently modulated third stream” [Simmons paper] and optionally Zatorski et al (2022/0069688). Ostdiek et al teach (1) A gas turbine engine comprising: a turbomachine comprising a compressor section 27, a combustion section 28, and a turbine section 29, 50 arranged in serial flow order, the turbomachine defining an engine inlet 70 to an inlet duct, a fan duct inlet to a fan duct 73, and a core inlet to a core duct 72; a primary fan 21 driven by the turbomachine; a secondary fan 73 located downstream of the primary fan 21 within the inlet duct, the gas turbine engine defining a thrust to power airflow ratio and a core bypass ratio between 0.1 and 10 [¶ 0060], wherein the thrust to power airflow ratio is a ratio of an airflow through a bypass passage [about 77, e.g. downstream of 21] over the turbomachine 77 plus an airflow through the fan duct 73 to an airflow through the core duct 72, and wherein the core bypass ratio is a ratio of the airflow through the fan duct 73 to the airflow through the core duct 72; a booster located downstream of the secondary fan 73. (5) a core cowl 426, wherein the core cowl 426 defines a leading edge; (13) A method of operating a gas turbine engine, the method comprising: operating the gas turbine engine at a rated speed, wherein operating the gas turbine engine at the rated speed comprises operating the gas turbine engine to define a thrust to power airflow ratio and a core bypass ratio between 0.1 and 5, wherein the thrust to power airflow ratio is a ratio of an airflow through a bypass passage [about 77, e.g. downstream of 21] over a turbomachine of the gas turbine engine plus an airflow through a fan duct 73 to an airflow through a core duct 72, and wherein the core bypass ratio is a ratio of the airflow through the fan duct 73 to the airflow through the core duct 72; and moving a flow blocker from an open position to a closed position to block a stream of air through at least a portion of a fan duct inlet and to direct the stream of air to a core inlet. (20) A gas turbine engine comprising: a turbomachine comprising a compressor section 27, a combustion section 28, and a turbine section 29, 50 arranged in serial flow order, the turbomachine defining an engine inlet 70 to an inlet duct, a fan duct inlet to a fan duct 73, and a core inlet to a core duct 72; a primary fan 21 driven by the turbomachine; a secondary fan 73 located downstream of the primary fan 21 within the inlet duct; a booster located downstream of the secondary fan and comprising a booster rotor blade and booster cowl, the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, the booster cowl separating an upstream portion of the fan duct into an upper fan duct having an upper fan duct inlet and a lower fan duct having a lower fan duct inlet, the upper fan duct inlet and lower fan duct inlet collectively forming the fan duct inlet; and a flow blocker located at the lower fan duct inlet and movable from an open position to a closed position, wherein, in the closed position, the flow blocker blocks a flow through at least a portion of the lower fan duct inlet.
Ostdiek et al teach a booster located downstream of the secondary fan but located in the core passage rather than in a fan passage and thus do not teach (1) a booster .. comprising a booster rotor blade and booster cowl, the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, the booster cowl separating an upstream portion of the fan duct into an upper fan duct having an upper fan duct inlet and a lower fan duct having a lower fan duct inlet, the upper fan duct inlet and lower fan duct inlet collectively forming the fan duct inlet; and a flow blocker located at the lower fan duct inlet and movable from an open position to a closed position, wherein, in the closed position, the flow blocker blocks a flow through at least a portion of the lower fan duct inlet. (5) a core cowl, wherein the core cowl defines a leading edge, and the flow blocker is a core flow splitter disposed at the leading edge of the core cowl. (6) wherein the booster comprises a booster rotor blade and booster cowl, the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, and wherein, when the core flow splitter is in the closed position, the core flow splitter extends across the lower fan duct inlet from the leading edge to the booster cowl. (8) wherein the booster comprises a booster rotor blade and booster cowl, the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, wherein the booster cowl is arranged to separate a stream of air between a first stream flowing through the upper fan duct and a second stream flowing toward the lower fan duct inlet and the core inlet. (9) a core cowl, wherein the first stream is a first fan stream, wherein the core cowl includes a leading edge arranged to separate the second stream into a second fan stream flowing into the lower fan duct inlet and a core stream flowing into the core inlet, wherein the flow blocker is arranged to block the second fan stream in the closed position. (10) wherein the booster defines a leading edge and includes a flow splitter disposed at the leading edge, wherein the flow splitter is arranged to separate the stream of air between the first stream and the second stream. (11) wherein the booster includes an inlet guide vane. (12) wherein the inlet guide vane is movable about a pitch axis to a specified pitch angle nor (13) moving a flow blocker from an open position to a closed position to block a stream of air through at least a portion of a fan duct inlet and to direct the stream of air to a core inlet. (16) wherein the flow blocker is a core flow splitter disposed at a leading edge of a core cowl, and wherein the method further comprises rotating the core flow splitter across the fan duct inlet from the leading edge to a booster. (17) separating the stream of air between an outer stream flowing toward the fan duct inlet and an inner stream flowing toward the core inlet, the outer stream being a first fan stream. (18) wherein a core cowl of the gas turbine engine includes a leading edge arranged to separate the inner stream into a second fan stream flowing into the fan duct inlet and a core stream flowing into the core inlet, and wherein the method further comprises blocking the second fan stream when the flow blocker is in the closed position. (19) wherein a booster disposed upstream of the fan duct inlet defines a leading edge and includes a flow splitter disposed at the leading edge, and wherein the method further comprises separating the inner stream between a second fan stream and a core stream with the flow splitter; nor (20) a booster located downstream of the secondary fan and comprising a booster rotor blade and booster cowl, the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, the booster cowl separating an upstream portion of the fan duct into an upper fan duct having an upper fan duct inlet and a lower fan duct having a lower fan duct inlet, the upper fan duct inlet and lower fan duct inlet collectively forming the fan duct inlet; and a flow blocker located at the lower fan duct inlet and movable from an open position to a closed position, wherein, in the closed position, the flow blocker blocks a flow through at least a portion of the lower fan duct inlet.
Griffin et al teach (1) a booster located downstream of the secondary fan and comprising a booster rotor blade 448 and booster cowl [leadlines for 445 and 465], the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade 448 and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, the booster cowl separating an upstream portion of the fan duct into an upper fan duct having an upper fan duct inlet 456 and a lower fan duct [for flow 461, 477] having a lower fan duct inlet, the upper fan duct inlet 456 and lower fan duct inlet collectively forming the fan duct inlet; and a flow blocker [458 but also could be 454 as applicant does not precisely define the location of the lower fan duct inlet with any structure] located at the lower fan duct inlet and movable from an open position to a closed position, wherein, in the closed position, the flow blocker 458 or 454 blocks a flow through at least a portion of the lower fan duct inlet. (5) a core cowl 426, wherein the core cowl 426 defines a leading edge, and the flow blocker 458 or 454 is a core flow splitter disposed at the leading edge of the core cowl 426. (6) wherein the booster comprises a booster rotor blade 448 and booster cowl [leadlines for 445 and 465], the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade 448 and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, and wherein, when the core flow splitter is in the closed position, the core flow splitter extends across the lower fan duct inlet from the leading edge to the booster cowl [leadlines for 445 and 465]. (8) wherein the booster 440 comprises a booster rotor blade 448 and booster cowl [leadlines for 445 and 465], the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade 448 and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, wherein the booster cowl is arranged to separate a stream of air between a first stream flowing through the upper fan duct and a second stream flowing toward the lower fan duct inlet and the core inlet. (9) a core cowl 426, wherein the first stream is a first fan stream, wherein the core cowl 426 includes a leading edge arranged to separate the second stream into a second fan stream flowing into the lower fan duct inlet and a core stream flowing into the core inlet, wherein the flow blocker 458 or 454 is arranged to block the second fan stream in the closed position. (10) wherein the booster 440 defines a leading edge and includes a flow splitter [see annotations] disposed at the leading edge, wherein the flow splitter is arranged to separate the stream of air between the first stream and the second stream. (11) wherein the booster 440 includes an inlet guide vane 54. (12) wherein the inlet guide vane 454 is movable about a pitch axis to a specified pitch angle [¶ 0019]. (13) moving a flow blocker [458 but also could be 454 as applicant does not precisely define the location of the lower fan duct inlet with any structure] from an open position to a closed position to block a stream of air through at least a portion of a fan duct inlet and to direct the stream of air to a core inlet. (16) wherein the flow blocker 458 or 454 is a core flow splitter disposed at a leading edge of a core cowl 426, and wherein the method further comprises rotating [dashed lines] the core flow splitter 458 across the fan duct inlet from the leading edge to a booster 440. (17) separating the stream of air between an outer stream 462 flowing toward the fan duct inlet and an inner stream 463 flowing toward the core inlet 5, the outer stream 462 being a first fan stream. (18) wherein a core cowl 426 of the gas turbine engine includes a leading edge arranged to separate the inner stream 463 into a second fan stream flowing into the fan duct inlet [via 458, dashed lines] and a core stream 5 flowing into the core inlet, and wherein the method further comprises blocking 458 the second fan stream when the flow blocker 458 or 454 is in the closed position. (19) wherein a booster 440 disposed upstream of the fan duct inlet defines a leading edge and includes a flow splitter disposed at the leading edge, and wherein the method further comprises separating the inner stream 463 between a second fan stream and a core stream with the flow splitter; nor (20) a secondary fan 422 located downstream of the primary fan within the inlet duct; a booster 440 located downstream of the secondary fan and comprising a booster rotor blade 448 and booster cowl [leadlines for 445 and 465], the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade 448, 444 and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, the booster cowl separating an upstream portion of the fan duct into an upper fan duct having an upper fan duct inlet 456 and a lower fan duct [for flow 461, 477] having a lower fan duct inlet, the upper fan duct inlet and lower fan duct inlet collectively forming the fan duct inlet; and a flow blocker [458 but also could be 454 as applicant does not precisely define the location of the lower fan duct inlet with any structure] located at the lower fan duct inlet 458 or 454 and movable from an open position to a closed position, wherein, in the closed position, the flow blocker blocks a flow through at least a portion of the lower fan duct inlet.
Griffin et al teach the booster compressor 440 with blocker door allows for varying the flow through the fan ducts and enhancing the operability and control of the fan system [¶ 0020]. Orlando et al teach the equivalence of the booster 16 used in the inlet 39 of the core engine [Fig. 1, which is analogous to the arrangement of Ostdiek et al] to the booster 16 with booster cowl 17 at the fan inlet with fan flows 37, 137 and core inlet 135 flow [Fig. 2, which is analogous to the arrangement of Griffin et al]. Moreover, the arrangement of Fig. 2 of Orlando provides an additional boost to the fan flow to provide additional thrust to the engine [col. 5, lines 30-50]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ the booster, with booster cowl, flow blocker, booster rotor blade, core flow spitter, etc, i.e.
(1) a booster located downstream of the secondary fan and comprising a booster rotor blade and booster cowl, the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, the booster cowl separating an upstream portion of the fan duct into an upper fan duct having an upper fan duct inlet and a lower fan duct having a lower fan duct inlet, the upper fan duct inlet and lower fan duct inlet collectively forming the fan duct inlet; and a flow blocker located at the lower fan duct inlet and movable from an open position to a closed position, wherein, in the closed position, the flow blocker blocks a flow through at least a portion of the lower fan duct inlet. (5) a core cowl, wherein the core cowl defines a leading edge, and the flow blocker is a core flow splitter disposed at the leading edge of the core cowl. (6) wherein the booster comprises a booster rotor blade and booster cowl, the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, and wherein, when the core flow splitter is in the closed position, the core flow splitter extends across the lower fan duct inlet from the leading edge to the booster cowl. (8) wherein the booster comprises a booster rotor blade and booster cowl, the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, wherein the booster cowl is arranged to separate a stream of air between a first stream flowing through the upper fan duct and a second stream flowing toward the lower fan duct inlet and the core inlet. (9) a core cowl, wherein the first stream is a first fan stream, wherein the core cowl includes a leading edge arranged to separate the second stream into a second fan stream flowing into the lower fan duct inlet and a core stream flowing into the core inlet, wherein the flow blocker is arranged to block the second fan stream in the closed position. (10) wherein the booster defines a leading edge and includes a flow splitter disposed at the leading edge, wherein the flow splitter is arranged to separate the stream of air between the first stream and the second stream. (11) wherein the booster includes an inlet guide vane. (12) wherein the inlet guide vane is movable about a pitch axis to a specified pitch angle; (13) moving a flow blocker from an open position to a closed position to block a stream of air through at least a portion of a fan duct inlet and to direct the stream of air to a core inlet. (16) wherein the flow blocker is a core flow splitter disposed at a leading edge of a core cowl, and wherein the method further comprises rotating the core flow splitter across the fan duct inlet from the leading edge to a booster. (17) separating the stream of air between an outer stream flowing toward the fan duct inlet and an inner stream flowing toward the core inlet, the outer stream being a first fan stream. (18) wherein a core cowl of the gas turbine engine includes a leading edge arranged to separate the inner stream into a second fan stream flowing into the fan duct inlet and a core stream flowing into the core inlet, and wherein the method further comprises blocking the second fan stream when the flow blocker is in the closed position. (19) wherein a booster disposed upstream of the fan duct inlet defines a leading edge and includes a flow splitter disposed at the leading edge, and wherein the method further comprises separating the inner stream between a second fan stream and a core stream with the flow splitter; (20) a booster located downstream of the secondary fan and comprising a booster rotor blade and booster cowl, the booster cowl located outward of the booster rotor blade and within the fan duct at the fan duct inlet, the booster cowl separating an upstream portion of the fan duct into an upper fan duct having an upper fan duct inlet and a lower fan duct having a lower fan duct inlet, the upper fan duct inlet and lower fan duct inlet collectively forming the fan duct inlet; and a flow blocker located at the lower fan duct inlet and movable from an open position to a closed position, wherein, in the closed position, the flow blocker blocks a flow through at least a portion of the lower fan duct inlet,
as taught by Griffin et al, as the booster compressor with blocker door allows for varying the flow through the fan ducts and enhancing the operability and control of the fan system [¶ 0020], where Orlando may be used to teach the equivalence of the booster in the core engine alone [Fig. 1 of Orlando, which is analogous to Ostdiek et al], and the booster in both the fan and core inlet [Fig. 2 of Orlando, which is analogous to Griffin et al], in order to provide additional fan flow which produces additional thrust.
As for the thrust to power airflow ratio between 3.5 and 100 and a core bypass ratio between 0.1 and 5 which are set forth in claims 1 and 13, the core bypass ratio between 0.1 and 5 is already referenced by Ostdiek in ¶ 0060. The thrust to power airflow ratio is a ratio of an airflow through a bypass passage over a turbomachine of the gas turbine engine plus an airflow through a fan duct to an airflow through a core duct is understood from ¶ 0090 of the specification to be:
Restated, applicant’s TPAR in applicant’s Fig. 1 is the bypass ratio bypassing the core, when summing the massflow 194 from the unducted fan and the massflow from the fan duct 172 [3rd stream] / divided by the core flow. Note that this, by some definitions, is the “bypass ratio” since, the bypass ratio may define all the flows [unducted fan + fan duct flow] that bypass the core engine divided by the core flow. For this sum, it is understood that TPAR = core bypass ratio (CBR above) + unducted bypass ratio [AB /AC - referenced by Zatorski and Frantz since they don’t have an internal fan duct]. For applicant’s Fig. 11, 14 it is understood to be the massflow from the unducted fan + the massflow 626 or 710 (respectively) / divided by the core flow [compare with applicant’s Figs. 7-9 which established the third flow in an analogous region]. Zatorski et al teach the “bypass ratio” of an unducted fan is the unducted flow about the turbomachine 162 / core flow 160 [see ¶ 0028]. Frantz et al teach the “bypass ratio” of an unducted fan may be between 40 to 80 in an unducted fan [¶ 0078]. Accordingly, applicant’s TPAR, which when accounting for the claimed range of the core bypass ratio of Ostdiek et al [¶ 0060] range and unducted bypass ratio of Frantz et al / Zatorkski et al of between 40 to 80 [¶ 0078] overlaps the range of the claim [TPAR of 3.5-100]. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ applicant’s claimed range of TPAR, with the CBR of Ostdiek et al, as taught by Frantz / Zatorski as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art. Simmons paper teaches the core bypass ratio (CBR) corresponding to applicant’s third stream1 [Simmons’ second stream airflow] / core flow – which is BPR2 [see page x], these ranges are given e.g. on pages 38-39, Figs. 27-28 [from less than 1.5] and an Overall BPR, which appears to correspond to applicant’s TPAR as it encompasses all cold / bypass flows, includes a range above 3.5 and thus overlaps with applicant’s claimed range. Alternately, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to employ applicant’s claimed range of TPAR and / or CBR, as taught by Simmons paper, as an obvious matter of using the workable ranges in the art.
Claim(s) 1, 5-6, 8-13, 16-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Ostdiek et al (2021/0108597) in view of Giffin et al (2011/0120082) and Orlando et al (6763654) and Frantz et al (2023/0019277) and Simmons paper and optionally Zatorski et al (2022/0069688), as applied above, and further in view of Coffinberry (2006/0042227). The applied prior art have (5) a core cowl, wherein the core cowl defines a leading edge, and the flow blocker is a core flow splitter disposed at the leading edge of the core cowl. (16) wherein the flow blocker is a core flow splitter disposed at a leading edge of a core cowl, and wherein the method further comprises rotating the core flow splitter across the fan duct inlet from the leading edge to a booster. For an alternate treatment of the flow blocker, Coffinberry teach a core cowl 40, wherein the core cowl defines a leading edge, and the flow blocker is a core flow splitter 88 disposed at the leading edge of the core cowl, a flow blocker 88 wherein the flow blocker 88 is a core flow splitter disposed at a leading edge of a core cowl 40, and wherein the method further comprises rotating the core flow splitter 88 across the fan duct inlet from the leading edge; 16) wherein the flow blocker is a core flow splitter disposed at a leading edge of a core cowl, and wherein the method further comprises rotating the core flow splitter across the fan duct inlet from the leading edge. It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to utilize make the flow blocker a core flow splitter disposed at a leading edge of a core cowl, as taught by Coffinberry, as an equivalent type of flow blocker utilized in the art, to block the fan flows, by positioning them on the leading edge of the core cowl.
Contact Information
The fax number for the organization where this application is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/Ted Kim/
Telephone
571-272-4829
Primary Examiner
Fax
571-273-8300
April 17, 2026
1 Note Simmons paper uses the opposite designation as applicant. Simmons papers’ second stream corresponds to applicant’s third stream and Simmons papers’ third stream corresponds to flow through the bypass passage.