DETAILED ACTION
The present application is being examined under the AIA first to file provisions. In the event the determination of the status of the application as subject to AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103 (or as subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 102 and 103) is incorrect, any correction of the statutory basis for the rejection will not be considered a new ground of rejection if the prior art relied upon, and the rationale supporting the rejection, would be the same under either status.
Application Status
This office action is in response to the claims filed 6/12/2024.
Claims 1-9 are currently pending and being examined.
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of certified copies of papers required by 37 CFR 1.55.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS filed on 6/12/2024 has been considered. See the attached PTO 1449 forms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hashimoto et al. US 5,871,121.
Regarding claim 1:
Hashimoto teaches a carbon dioxide gas supply apparatus comprising:
a pressure adjuster (51a/51b) including a primary-side port and a secondary-side port and configured to adjust a pressure of a carbon dioxide gas supplied from a carbon dioxide gas supply source (1) to the primary-side port and send the carbon dioxide gas from the secondary-side port (shown in FIG. 1);
a relief valve (10a/10b) connected to a first channel configured to connect the secondary-side port and a beverage barrel (7a/7b); and
a controller (90) configured to control the pressure adjuster and the relief valve, wherein the controller controls the relief valve such that a pressure in the first channel is reduced in accordance with an output of a temperature sensor (81) configured to detect a temperature of a beverage sent from the beverage barrel to a beverage server (col. 4, lines 38-63).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto, as applied above.
Regarding claim 7:
Hashimoto teaches the carbon dioxide gas supply apparatus according to claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach further comprising a safety valve connected to a position between the pressure adjuster and a connecting portion of the relief valve in the first channel.
However, Examiner takes official notice that safety valves are old and well-known in the art for providing means to maintain pressures at safe operating conditions, and it would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Hashimoto by providing a safety valve connected to a position between the pressure adjuster and a connecting portion of the relief valve in the first channel, in order to have increased control over the optimal pressure in the apparatus.
Claims 8 and 9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Hashimoto, as applied above, and further in view of Tomohiro JP 2014201333 (provided in IDS).
Regarding claim 8:
Hashimoto teaches the carbon dioxide gas supply apparatus according to claim 1, as discussed above, but does not teach wherein the pressure adjuster includes: a pressure intensifying valve configured to increase the pressure in the first channel; and a pressure reducing valve configured to reduce the pressure in the first channel.
Tomohiro discloses a pressure adjuster for a related beverage server apparatus also utilizing a temperature sensor, wherein the pressure adjuster includes: a pressure intensifying valve (1) configured to increase the pressure in the first channel; and a pressure reducing valve (2) configured to reduce the pressure in the first channel, teaching “[t]he control device 4 decides the optimal pressurizing pressure supplied from the gas cylinder to the [beverage] barrel on the basis of a detection signal of the temperature sensor, and controls the opening/closing of the pressurizing solenoid valve and the decompressing solenoid valve according to the pressure value to supply the gas of the optimal pressurizing pressure to the [beverage] barrel” (abstract).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art, at the effective filing date of the invention, to modify the apparatus of Hashimoto by replacing the pressure adjuster with the pressure adjuster of Tomohiro, having a pressure intensifying valve configured to increase the pressure in the first channel and a pressure reducing valve configured to reduce the pressure in the first channel, since Tomohiro discloses doing so can help to control the pressure to be optimal for the beverage to be dispensed.
Regarding claim 9:
The combination of Hashimoto and Tomohiro teaches the carbon dioxide gas supply apparatus according to claim 8, as discussed above, wherein when reducing the pressure in the first channel to reduce the pressure in the beverage barrel, the controller opens the relief valve in accordance with a target pressure in a state in which the pressure reducing valve is closed (Tomohiro’s modification of Hashimoto is capable of being controlled in this manner, according to Hashimoto’s overall design utilizing Tomohiro’s pressure adjuster).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-6 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims. The prior art does not teach or render obvious providing a second channel configured to supply the carbon dioxide gas supplied from the carbon dioxide gas supply source to the relief valve to supply, to the relief valve, a force for maintaining the relief valve in a closed state.
Conclusion
/DARIUSH SEIF/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3731