Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 15 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claims 3 and 15 recite a triglyceride "with a carbon number of C12-C20". Although the meaning of this limitation is reasonably ascertainable when the claims are read in light of the specification, the wording could be more precise because the recited carbon number appears to refer to the carbon-chain length of the fatty-acid moieties of the triglyceride, rather than to the total number of carbon atoms of the triglyceride molecule. The specification consistently uses C12-C20 in this manner when describing medium-and long-chain triglycerides and further characterizes olive oil and coconut oil according to the chain lengths of their constituent fatty acids. For clarity and technical precision, Applicant is suggested to amend the claims to recite, for examples, "a triglyceride comprising fatty-acid chains having 12 to 20 carbon atoms" or equivalent language that clearly identifies the recited carbon number as referring to the fatty-acid chain length. Appropriate correction is required.
For purpose of examination, the phrase “triglyceride with a carbon number of C12-C20” is interpreted as referring to a triglyceride comprising fatty-acid chains having from 12 to 20 carbon atoms.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-2, 6-7 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka (JP-2001321792-A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) in view of Huynh-Ba (WO-2013087420-A2) and Schoerken (US-20080045606-A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kataoka discloses a method of converting waste into energy, comprising the following steps: (a) providing a lipid-containing substrate to react with a biocatalyst (Kataoka ¶[0026] teaches oil-and-fat-containing wastewater or waste comprising neutral fat that is reacted with an oil/fat-degrading enzyme, preferably lipase, to hydrolyze the neutral fat); (b) pretreating an organic waste with an emulsifying or dispersing material to produce a first organic liquid (Kataoka ¶¶[0026], [0046] teaches pretreating oil-and-fat-containing wastewater or waste and further teaches adding an emulsifier or dispersant to promote dispersion and decomposition of the fats and oils); (c) subjecting the first organic liquid to an ultrasonic treatment to produce a second organic liquid (Kataoka ¶¶[0047-0048] teaches that physical dispersion or crushing treatment including “ultrasonic crushing” may be applied to the pretreated wastewater and expressly teaches combining ultrasonic treatment with addition of an emulsifier); and (d) subjecting the second organic liquid to an anaerobic biological treatment for conversion to methane (Kataoka ¶¶[0026],[0048] teaches that wastewater treated in the pretreatment tank is thereafter sent to a methane fermentation tank containing methanogenic microorganisms, where methane fermentation is performed), wherein the biocatalyst comprises at least one lipase (Kataoka ¶[0026]).
Kataoka does not expressly teach that step (a) produces a surfactant molecular liquid that is subsequently used to pretreat the organic waste in step (b), that the surfactant molecular liquid comprises at least one of monoglyceride or diglyceride, or that the weight percentage (wt. %) of the biocatalyst to the lipid-containing substrate is 0.005 to 0.02:1.
Huynh-Ba teaches providing a lipid-containing substrate and reacting the lipid with a lipase to produce a surfactant/emulsifying composition comprising monoglycerides and diglycerides. Specifically, Huynh-Ba p. 5 teaches partial hydrolysis of triglycerides using a lipase, wherein the partial hydrolysis “results in a mixture of free fatty acids, monoglycerides, diglycerides and triglycerides” and expressly teaches that “An important advantage is that such a mixture has good emulsification properties”, such that there is no need to add separate exogenous emulsifier. Thus, Huynh-Ba teaches a known lipase-produced MG/DG-containing composition having the emulsifying/surfactant function desired by Kataoka.
Schoerken teaches reacting a triglyceride-containing lipid substrate with a lipase using a lipase-to-triglyceride amount overlapping the claimed 0.005-0.02:1 ratio. Specifically, Schoerken teaches that a commercially available liquid lipase preparation is preferably used “in a concentration of from 0.05 to 2%, based on the quantity of triglyceride used” (Schoerken ¶[0025]). The claimed ratio of 0.005-0.02:1 corresponds to 0.5-2% biocatalyst relative to lipid-containing substrate and therefore overlaps Schoerken’s disclosed lipase concentration range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the waste-treatment method of Kataoka by employing the lipase-generated, monoglyceride/diglyceride-containing emulsifying composition taught by Huynh-Ba as the emulsifier used to pretreat Kataoka’s organic waste prior to ultrasonic treatment, because Huynh-Ba teaches that partial lipase hydrolysis of a lipid substrate produces a composition having good emulsification properties, while Kataoka expressly teaches that emulsification improves dispersion and decomposition of fats and oils and is advantageously combined with ultrasonic treatment before methane fermentation. It would further have been obvious to employ the lipase in an amount within the overlapping range taught by Schoerken because Schoerken identifies that range as a suitable amount for enzymatic treatment of triglycerides, thereby predictably providing the claimed lipase-to-lipid substrate ratio.
Regarding claim 2, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the method of converting waste into energy as claimed in claim 1, wherein the lipid-containing substrate comprises food-industry wastewater, manufacturing wastewater, edible oil, feed oil, recycled oil of the aforementioned oils, or a combination thereof (Schoerken ¶[0027] teaches using triglycerides from fats and oils selected from “sunflower oil, rapeseed oil, thistle oil, soybean oil, linseed oil, peanut oil, tallows, olive oil, castor oil, palm oil and old oils, for example, used frying fat”, thereby expressly teaching at least the claimed edible-oil alternative, as well as recycled/used oil embodiments).
Regarding claim 6, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the method of converting waste into energy as claimed in claim 1, wherein the lipase comprises triglyceride lipase (EC 3.1.1.3) (Schoerken ¶¶[0003-0005] teaches that “lipases (EC 3.1.1.3)” are used for lipolysis in industrial processes and further discusses their enzymatic hydrolysis or alcoholysis of triglycerides to partial glycerides).
Regarding claim 7, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the method of converting waste into energy as claimed in claim 6, wherein the lipase is derived from at least one of Aspergillus niger, Yarrowia lipolytica, and Bacillus subtilis (Schoerken Example 1 ¶¶[0044-0045] expressly employs Lipase AMP 1000 derived from Apergillus niger).
Regarding claim 11, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the method of converting waste into energy as claimed in claim 1, wherein in step (b), the volume percentage of the surfactant molecular liquid to the organic waste is 0.005 to 0.05:1 (Kataoka ¶[0046] teaches adding an emulsifier to oil-fat-containing wastewater to promote dispersion and decomposition of the fats and oils and teaches an emulsifier amount of “0.01 to 10% by volume ratio of waste water”. Volume percentage of 0.005 to 0.05:1 corresponds to 0.5-5 vol% relative to the organic waste and is therefore encompassed by Kataoka’s disclosed 0.01-10 vol% range).
Claims 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka (JP-2001321792-A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) in view of Huynh-Ba (WO-2013087420-A2) and Schoerken (US-20080045606-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Mazur (US5116745).
Regarding claim 3, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the method of converting waste into energy as claimed in claim 1.
Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken does not expressly disclose that the lipid-containing substrate comprises a medium-and-long chain triglyceride (MLCT) with a carbon number of C12-C20.
Mazur teaches lipase-catalyzed hydrolysis of triglyceride substrates and teaches that “Triglycerides which can be utilized in the hydrolysis reaction include triglycerides having C4 to C26 hydrocarbon chains with three fatty acid moieties” including triglycerides derived from plants, animals, and edible fats or oils (Mazur col. 5). Mazur further specifically teaches fatty-acid triglycerides wherein the fatty acids have 8 to 24 carbon atoms (Mazur, claim 5), a range that encompasses the claimed C12-C20 range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a triglyceride having a carbon number within the claimed C12-C20 range as the lipid-containing substrate in the method of Kataoka as modified by Huynh-Ba and Schoerken because Mazur expressly teaches triglycerides having overlapping carbon-chain lengths as suitable substrates for lipase-catalyzed hydrolysis. Selection of a triglyceride within Mazur's disclosed range would therefore have amounted to the predictable use of a known triglyceride substrate for its established lipase-hydrolysis function.
Regarding claim 4, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba, Schoerken, and Mazur discloses or renders obvious the method of claim 1, wherein step (a) further comprises adjusting the lipid content of the lipid-containing substrate to 30 wt. % to 50 wt. %, wherein Mazur teaches a lipase-catalyzed triglyceride hydrolysis reaction mixture containing “3% to 40% of a triglyceride” by weight (Mazur claim 1-2).
Regarding claim 5, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba, Schoerken, and Mazur discloses or renders obvious the method of claim 1, wherein step (a) is performed at a temperature from 25°C to 45°C and a pH from pH 6.5 to pH 7.5 for one hour to 9 hours (Mazur (Summary of the Invention) teaches enzymatic hydrolysis of triglycerides using an aqueous lipase solution having " a pH of four to about 8” and mixing the reaction at “about 20°C to about 50°C for at least one hour”, and further teaches that the hydrolysis reaction may be carried out at about 20°C to 50°C for about 0.5 to 8 hours. Mazur’s disclosed temperature and pH ranges encompass the claimed 25-45°C and pH 6.5-7.5 ranges, while its disclosed reaction duration overlaps the claimed 1–9-hour range. Accordingly, selection of reaction conditions within the claimed ranges would have been an obvious selection of known operating conditions for lipase-catalyzed triglyceride hydrolysis).
Claims 8 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka (JP-2001321792-A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) in view of Huynh-Ba (WO-2013087420-A2) and Schoerken (US-20080045606-A1) as applied to claim 7 above, and further in view of Dicosomo (US-20140256020-A1) and Alves (“Combi-lipase for heterogeneous substrates: a new approach for hydrolysis of soybean oil using mixtures of biocatalysts”).
Regarding claim 8, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the method of converting waste into energy as claimed in claim 7.
Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken does not expressly disclose wherein the lipase is from Aspergillus niger, Yarrowia lipolytica, and Bacillus subtilis, and the weight percentage of the lipases respectively derived from Aspergillus niger, Yarrowia lipolytica, and Bacillus subtilis is 1 to 3:1 to 3:1 to 3.
The Dicosimo teaches that suitable sources of lipase include each of the three organisms recited in claim 8, namely Aspergillus niger Bacillus subtilis and Yarrowia lipolytica. Specifically, to Dicosimo identifies as Aspergillus niger and Bacillus subtilis among the group of organisms from which the source of the lipase may be selected, And the same disclosure further identifies Yarrowia lipolytica as a suitable lipase source (Dicosimo ¶[0114]). Dicosimo additionally provides specific example lipase polypeptides derived from Aspergillus Niger and Yarrowia lipolytica. Dicosimo therefore establishes that all three of the recited organisms were known sources from which lipases could be selected.
Alves teaches combining multiple lipases having different specificities and activities to hydrolyze heterogeneous triglyceride containing substrates and optimizing the relative proportions of the lipases in the combination. Alves p. 6863 explains that vegetable oils are heterogeneous mixtures of triglycerides and teaches that hydrolysis of such complex substrates may be better performed using “a mixture of biocatalysts made-up of different enzymes, with different specificities and activities.” Alves accordingly evaluates a ”combi-lipase biocatalyst” comprising 3 different lipases and uses a three-factor mixture design to determine the relative proportions of those lipases. The mixture design expressly includes the three-lipase composition having proportions of 0.333:0.333:0.333, corresponding to a 1:1:1 relative proportion, which falls within the claimed 1 to 3:1 to 3:1 to 3 range (Alves p. 6864 Table 1). Alves further teaches experimentally varying the relative proportions of the three lipases to identify a suitable combination for soybean oil hydrolysis.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the lipase biocatalyst of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken by employing lipases derived from the known lipase producing organism Aspergillus niger Yarrowia lipolytica and Bacillus subtilis as taught by Dicosimo and to employ those lipases as a multi lipase mixture having relative amounts within the claimed range as taught by Alves. Dicosimo identifies each of the claimed organisms as a suitable lipase source, while Alves provides an express reason to combine lipases having different specificities for hydrolysis of heterogeneous triglyceride substrates and demonstrates that the relative amounts of the lipases were conventionally varied and optimized including use of an equal 1:1:1 three-lipase mixture. One of ordinary skill would therefore have been motivated to combine the known lipases and optimize their relative proportions in order to obtain broader and more effective hydrolysis of heterogeneous lipid substrate, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka (JP-2001321792-A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) in view of Huynh-Ba (WO-2013087420-A2) and Schoerken (US-20080045606-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Kawamura (JPH11164687A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below).
Regarding claim 9, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the method of converting waste into energy as claimed in claim 1, wherein the lipase is immobilized on a carrier.
Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken does not expressly disclose wherein the base material of the carrier comprises chitosan.
Kawamura teaches immobilizing lipase on a carrier having a chitosan base material. Specifically, Kawamura teaches preparing an activated regenerated granular porous chitosan carrier and contacting the carrier with an aqueous solution containing lipase T-01 to thereby “immobilize the enzyme lipase on the activated regenerated granular porous chitosan carrier” (Kawamura ¶[0028]). Kawamura further reports that the resulting chitosan supported immobilized lipase exhibited a high immobilization rate and expression activity with an extremely small amount of lipase released, including in a polar solvent containing water (Kawamura ¶[0030]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ the chitosan carrier taught by Kawamura as the carrier for the immobilized lipase of Schoerken in the method of Kataoka as modified by Hua Yun BA and Schoerken, because Kawamura expressly teaches chitosan as a suitable carrier material for immobilizing lipase and teaches that such immobilized lipase provides high immobilization and expression activity with reduced enzyme release. The use of Kawamura’s known chitosan carrier would therefore have amounted to the predictable use of a known lipase-immobilization material for its established function of supporting and retaining the lipase.
Claims 10 and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka (JP-2001321792-A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) in view of Huynh-Ba (WO-2013087420-A2) and Schoerken (US-20080045606-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of ITRI (CN102417283A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below).
Regarding claim 10, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the method of converting waste into energy as claimed in claim 1.
Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken does not expressly disclose wherein the organic waste comprises manufacturing waste, petrochemical industry waste, agricultural waste, animal husbandry waste, food waste or a combination thereof.
ITRI teaches treating organic waste using ultrasonic pretreatment followed by biological digestion and expressly teaches that the organic waste may comprise agricultural waste or food waste. Specifically, ITRI Teaches mixing organic solids with a liquid, subjecting the resulting organic liquid to ultrasonic treatment to improve hydrolysis, and states that the organic solid matter may be “fibrous material, agricultural waste, sludge, or food waste”. ITRI further teaches transferring the ultrasonically treated organic liquid to an anaerobic treatment tank to increase subsequent anaerobic digestion and production of biogas. Thus, ITRI expressly teaches at least the claimed agricultural waste and food waste alternatives.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ agricultural waste or food waste as the organic waste treated in the method of Kataoka as modified by Huynh-Ba and Schoerken, because ITRI expressly identifies such materials as suitable organic wastes for ultrasonic pretreatment followed by anaerobic biological digestion. Substitution of these known organic waste feedstocks into the established retreatment and anaerobic conversion process would therefore have amounted to the predictable use of known waste materials for their established purpose, with a reasonable expectation of successful biological digestion and energy recovery.
Regarding claim 13, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken and further in view of ITRI discloses or renders obvious the method of converting waste into energy as claimed in claim 1, wherein in step (c), the output power of the ultrasonic treatment is from 300 watts to 1200 watts, and the frequency is from 20 kHz to 100 kHz (ITRI p. 6 of the translated PDF “In an embodiment, the output power range of the ultrasonic wave described in step 11 may be, but not limited to, 300 to 1200 watts, and its frequency may be between 20 kilohertz (kHz) to 100 kHz”).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kataoka (JP-2001321792-A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) in view of Huynh-Ba (WO-2013087420-A2) and Schoerken (US-20080045606-A1) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Shen (CN112520848A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below).
Regarding claim 12, Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the method of converting waste into energy as claimed in claim 1.
Kataoka in view of Huynh-Ba and Schoerken does not expressly disclose wherein step (b) is a continuous reaction performed at a temperature from 20°C to 60°C and a pH from pH 5 to pH 8.
Shen teaches pretreating organic wastewater with a surfactant and a continuous reaction. Specifically, Shen claim 1 teaches adding surfactants to industrial wastewater and then passing the surfactant containing industrial wastewater into a continuous reactor for treatment. Shen further teaches that the pH of the industrial wastewater containing surfactants is 6-8 and that the temperature of the continuous reactor is 20-35°C (Shen claims 7 and 9). Thus, Shen's disclosed pH range of 6-8 falls within the claimed pH 5-8 range, and its disclosed temperature range of 20-35°C falls entirely within the claimed 20-60°C range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to perform the surfactant pretreatment step of the method of Kataoka as modified by Huynh-Ba and Schoerken as a continuous reaction under the temperature and pH conditions taught by Shen, because Shen expressly teaches continuous surfactant assisted treatment of organic wastewater under overlapping temperature and pH conditions. Employing Shen's known continuous processing conditions would therefore have amounted to the predictable use of known operating conditions for surfactant assisted wastewater pretreatment, with a reasonable expectation of successfully promoting treatment of the organic waste.
Claims 14, 16-18 and 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITRI (CN102417283A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) in view of Kataoka (JP-2001321792-A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below), Huynh-Ba (WO-2013087420-A2), and Schoerken (US-20080045606-A1).
Regarding claim 14, ITRI discloses a waste treatment system, comprising: an upstream generator for producing a treatment liquid to be mixed with organic waste (ITRI claim 6 and p. 7 teaches a nano-water generator 31 that produces nano-water which is mixed with organic solids to form an organic liquid), an ultrasonic generator, connected to the upstream generator, to process an organic liquid produced by mixing an organic waste and the treatment liquid (ITRI claim 6 and p. 7 nano-water from generator 31 is supplied to reaction tank 32 or mixing tank 36, where it is mixed with organic solids, and ultrasonic generator 33 applies ultrasonic energy to the resulting organic liquid); and an anaerobic bioreactor, connected to the ultrasonic generator, to process the organic liquid to produce methane (ITRI claims 6, 8 and 16 the ultrasonically treated organic liquid is transferred to anaerobic treatment tank 35, which contains anaerobic organisms and produces combustible biogas including methane).
ITRI does not expressly disclose a surfactant molecular liquid generator comprising A biocatalyst for treating a lipid containing substrate to produce a surfactant molecular liquid, nor does ITRI expressly disclose wherein the biocatalyst comprises at least one lipase, the weight percentage (wt.%) of the biocatalyst to the lipid-containing substrate is 0.005 to 0.02:1, and the surfactant molecular liquid comprises at least one of monoglyceride and diglyceride.
Kataoka teaches modifying an upstream waste treatment stage to employ lipase treatment and an emulsifier prior to ultrasonic treatment and methane fermentation. Specifically, Kataoka teaches a pretreatment tank 3 in which oil/fat-containing wastewater is treated with an oil/fat-degrading enzyme or enzyme-producing microorganism, a storage tank 4 from which an emulsifier may be introduced, optional ultrasonic crushing in pretreatment tank 3, and subsequent transfer of the treated wastewater to methane fermentation tank 5 (Kataoka ¶[0048]). Kataoka further teaches that combining physical treatments such as ultrasonic crushing with addition of an emulsifier is effective for improving dispersion of fats and oils (Kataoka ¶[0047]).
Huynh-Ba teaches producing such an emulsifying composition from a lipid-containing substrate using a lipase biocatalyst. Huynh-Ba teaches treating animal lipid with a lipase to partially hydrolyze triglycerides to form free fatty acids, monoglycerides, diglycerides, and unhydrolyzed triglycerides (Huynh-Ba, p. 6 detailed description). Huynh-Ba further expressly teaches that this partially hydrolyzed mixture has “good emulsification properties” (Huynh-Ba pp. 6-7), thereby teaching a lipase generated emulsifying or surfactant composition comprising monoglyceride and diglyceride.
Schoerken further teaches the claimed relative amount of lipase. Specifically, Schoerken teaches use of a commercially available liquid lipase preparation at 0.05 to 2% based on the quantity of triglyceride used (Schoerken ¶[0025], p.3). Thus, for a triglyceride-containing lipid substrate, Schoerken teaches a lipase concentration range that overlaps the claimed numerical ratio of 0.005 to 0.02:1, corresponding to 0.5 to 2 wt.% relative to the lipid substrate.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the upstream treatment portion of ITRI’s waste treatment system to provide the lipase-generated monoglyceride diglyceride emulsifying liquid taught by Huynh-Ba and to employ that liquid in the pretreatment arrangement taught by Kataoka because Kataoka expressly teaches that an emulsifier used together with ultrasonic treatment improves dispersion and decomposition of oil/fat-containing organic waste before methane fermentation, while Huynh-Ba teaches a known means of producing such an emulsifying composition by lipase treatment of a lipid substrate. It would further have been obvious to employ the overlapping lipase amount taught by shuriken as a known suitable enzyme concentration for treating triglyceride substrates. The resulting modified system would therefore comprise a surfactant molecular liquid generator producing a lipase derived monoglyceride/diglyceride surfactant liquid, followed by ultrasonic treatment and anaerobic methane production, with the claimed biocatalyst to lipid ratio, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Regarding claim 16, ITRI in view of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the waste treatment system as claimed in claim 14, wherein the surfactant molecular liquid generator performs reactions at a temperature from 25°C to 45°C and a pH from pH 6.5 to pH 7.5 (Kataoka ¶[0027-0028] teaches lipase treatment at a pH of 6 to 8.5 and preferably 30-45°C directly overlapping these ranges).
Regarding claim 17, ITRI in view of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the waste treatment system as claimed in claim 14, wherein the lipase comprises triglyceride lipase (EC 3.1.1.3)(Schoerken ¶[0003]).
Regarding claim 18, ITRI in view of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the waste treatment system as claimed in claim 17, wherein the lipase is derived from at least one of Aspergillus niger, Yarrowia lipolytica, and Bacillus subtilis (Schoerken Example 1 ¶¶[0044-0045] expressly employs Lipase AMP 1000 derived from Apergillus niger).
Regarding claim 21, ITRI in view of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the waste treatment system as claimed in claim 14, wherein the output power of the ultrasonic treatment is from 300 watts to 1200 watts, and the frequency is from 20 kHz to 100 kHz (ITRI p. 6 of the translated PDF “In an embodiment, the output power range of the ultrasonic wave described in step 11 may be, but not limited to, 300 to 1200 watts, and its frequency may be between 20 kilohertz (kHz) to 100 kHz”).
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITRI (CN102417283A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) in view of Kataoka (JP-2001321792-A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below), Huynh-Ba (WO-2013087420-A2), and Schoerken (US-20080045606-A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Mazur (US5116745).
Regarding claim 15, ITRI in view of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the waste treatment system as claimed in claim 14.
ITRI in view of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken does not expressly disclose wherein the lipid-containing substrate comprises a triglyceride with a carbon number of C12-C20.
Mazur teaches lipase-catalyzed hydrolysis of triglyceride substrates and teaches that “Triglycerides which can be utilized in the hydrolysis reaction include triglycerides having C4 to C26 hydrocarbon chains with three fatty acid moieties” including triglycerides derived from plants, animals, and edible fats or oils (Mazur col. 5). Mazur further specifically teaches fatty-acid triglycerides wherein the fatty acids have 8 to 24 carbon atoms (Mazur, claim 5), a range that encompasses the claimed C12-C20 range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ a triglyceride having a C12-C20 carbon-chain length as the lipid-containing substrate in the surfactant molecular liquid generator of the system of ITRI as modified by Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken because Mazur expressly teaches triglycerides having overlapping carbon chain lengths as suitable substrates for lipase-catalyzed hydrolysis. Selection of a triglyceride within Mazur's expressly disclosed range, including the claimed C12-C20 subrange, would therefore have amounted to the predictable selection of a known triglyceride substrate for its established lipase hydrolysis function, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 19 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITRI (CN102417283A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) in view of Kataoka (JP-2001321792-A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below), Huynh-Ba (WO-2013087420-A2), and Schoerken (US-20080045606-A1) as applied to claim 18 above, and further in view of Dicosimo (US-20140256020-A1) and Alves ("Combi-lipase for heterogeneous substrates: a new approach for hydrolysis of soybean oil using mixtures of biocatalysts").
Regarding claim 19, ITRI in view of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the waste treatment system as claimed in claim 18.
ITRI in view of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken does not expressly disclose wherein the lipase is derived from Aspergillus niger, Yarrowia lipolytica, and Bacillus subtilis, and the weight percentage of the lipases respectively derived from Aspergillus niger, Yarrowia lipolytica, and Bacillus subtilis is 1 to 3:1 to 3:1 to 3.
Dicosimo teaches that suitable lipases may be derived from each of the three organisms recited in claim 19. Specifically, to Dicosimo identifies Aspergillus niger, Bacillus subtilis, and Yarrowia lipolytica Among suitable sources of lipase activity (Dicosimo ¶[0114]); Dicosimo further identifies specific lipase polypeptides derived from Aspergillus niger and Yarrowia lipolytica in table 4 (Dicosimo Table 4 ¶[0114]). Thus, Dicosimo establishes that lipases derived from each of the three recited organisms were known and suitable lipase biocatalysts.
Alves teaches combining multiple lipases and varying their relative proportions for hydrolysis of heterogeneous triglyceride-containing substrates. Alves explains that complex vegetable oils are heterogeneous substrates and that improved hydrolysis may be obtained using mixtures of enzymes having different specificities and activities (Alves p. 6863). Alves therefore employs a three-lipase " combi-lipase” biocatalyst and performs a three-factor mixture design to determine suitable relative amounts of the individual lipases (Alves §2.2.2 p. 6864). In particular, Table 1 expressly includes a three-lipase composition of 0.333:0.333:0.333, corresponding to a 1:1:1 relative proportion, which falls within the claimed 1 to 3:1 to 3:1 to 3 range (Alves, Table 1 p. 6864).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to employ, in the system of ITRI as modified by Kataoka, Huynh-Ba, and Schoerken, a combination of lipases derived from the known lipase-producing organisms of Aspergillus niger, Yarrowia lipolytica, And Bacillus subtilis as taught by Dicosimo, and to select their relative proportions within the claimed range as taught by Alves. Dicosimo establishes each claimed organism as a known lipase source, while Alves provides an express reason to combine multiple lipases having different specificities for hydrolysis of heterogeneous lipid substrates and demonstrates routine variation and optimization of their relative proportions, including an equal 1:1:1 three-lipase mixture. One of ordinary skill therefore would have been motivated to combine the known lipases and optimize their relative proportions to obtain broader and more effective hydrolysis of the lipid containing substrate, with a reasonable expectation of success.
Claim 20 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over ITRI (CN102417283A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below) in view of Kataoka (JP-2001321792-A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below), Huynh-Ba (WO-2013087420-A2), and Schoerken (US-20080045606-A1) as applied to claim 14 above, and further in view of Shen (CN112520848A: An English machine translation is provided with this office action and is used for claim mapping in the prior art rejection below).
Regarding claim 20, ITRI in view of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken discloses or renders obvious the waste treatment system as claimed in claim 14.
ITRI in view of Kataoka, Huynh-Ba and Schoerken does not expressly disclose wherein the surfactant molecular liquid pretreats the organic waste to produce the organic liquid, and the pretreatment is performed in a continuous reaction at a temperature from 20°C to 60°C and a pH from pH 5 to pH 8.
Shen teaches continuous surfactant-assisted pretreatment of organic wastewater under temperature and pH conditions falling within the claimed ranges. Specifically, Shen teaches adding a surfactant to industrial wastewater and then passing the surfactant-containing wastewater into a continuous reactor for treatment (Shen, claim 1 p. 2). Shen further teaches that the surfactant-containing wastewater has a pH of 6-8 and that the continuous reactor operates at a temperature of 20-35°C (Shen claims 7-9, pp. 2-4). Thus, Shen’s disclosed pH range of 6-8 lies within the claimed pH 5-8 range, and Shen’s disclosed temperature range of 20-35°C lies directly within the claimed 20-60°C range.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to operate the surfactant-assisted organic-waste pretreatment of the system of ITRI as modified by Kataoka, Huynh-Ba, and Schoerken as a continuous reaction under the temperature and pH conditions taught by Shen, because Shen expressly teaches continuous surfactant treatment of organic wastewater at overlapping temperature and pH conditions. Employing Shen’s known continuous-processing conditions would therefore have amounted to the predictable use of known operating parameters for surfactant-assisted wastewater pretreatment, with a reasonable expectation of successfully treating the organic waste prior to the downstream ultrasonic and anaerobic treatment stages.
Conclusion
/W.A.G./ Examiner, Art Unit 1779
/Bobby Ramdhanie/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1779