DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the claims have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on the combination of references applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Applicant has amended the claims to require both cellulose nanofibrils as well as cellulose nanocrystals to be present in the production, removed the bleaching step, and added a thermal treating or digesting step that occurs before the reefing step.
Applicant also argues that the previously cited references fail to teach nanocrystals.
The Examiner finds this argument to be persuasive in view of the amendments and a new reference will be presented below. It is noted that none of the references teach away form the production of cellulose nanocrystals, all three are simply silent to their presence or production through the production steps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-4 and 7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blum et al, USP 8,999,491 in view of Heiskanen et al, US Patent Publication 2015/0337493 in further view of Salam et al, US Patent Publication 2015/0361618.
Regarding claims 1-4 and 7, Blum teaches a method for making a corrugated paper board by recycling old corrugated containers through a process of repulping the corrugated paper, deinking (reads on cleaning) screened to remove unwanted non cellulose materials, pulped in an alkaline medium in a chemical thermo mechanical pulping method (reads on thermal treating with a solution including water), adding enzymes, and refined to produce the pulp that is then formed into a new corrugated board (column 2 and claim 1).
Blum teaches all of the claimed steps but is silent on the production of cellulose nanofibrils but instead stops at pulp production through a CTMP process and then reuses that pulp to make a new corrugated board. Blum is simply silent on the production of cellulose nanofibrils or nanocrystals, but does teach the same claimed steps of cleaning, thermal treating, and refining.
In the same field of endeavor, Heiskanen teaches a method of making nanofibriliated [0001] cellulose from a CTMP pulp [0056]. They teach that the collection of the NFC is useful as an additive in papermaking as a strength additive for papers and boards. This is preferably in medium consistency as known in the art [0020]. Heiskanen further teaches the use of enzymes for cellulose degradation of the material [0055] at the claimed points. Heiskanen further teaches the use of chemicals to loosen the structure of the lignocellulose (reads on the solvent for lignin [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the NFC recovery aspect of the refining of the CTMP pulp that is created in the Blum reference for the benefit of gaining all value added components that can be recovered from the same process of recycling OCC as stated in the primary reference.
Heiskanen teaches the act of producing recoverable strength agents form the pulp to be added but simply doesn’t mention the production of cellulose nanocrystals. Just like in the Blum reference all the claimed steps occur but it just fails to address the creation of nanocrystals.
To show that the production of cellulose nanocrystals is conventional in collection of strength agents from recovered pulp, Salam is presented.
Salam teaches that recovering cellulose nanocrystals from a pulp is commonly used as a strengthening agent when added to a pulp made up of OCC [0093-0095].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the creation of nanocrystals in conjunction with the nanofibrils would be utilized as known strength agents when added back to the OCC pulp in a conventional manner.
The references all teach the same active steps to produce the nanofibrils and nanocrystals, and the secondary references show the known advantageous of utilizing these recovered material as known strength agents in the production of new materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to generate the nanofibrils and nanocrystals in the same refining step of Blum for the known benefit of increasing the strength of the pulp that is then utilized to make new corrugated containers in a conventional manner.
Claims 1-7 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Klyosov et al, USP 5,777,086 in view of Heiskanen et al, US Patent Publication 2015/0337493 in further view of Salam et al, US Patent Publication 2015/0361618.
Regarding claims 1-6, Klyosov teaches a method of recovering material from old corrugated cardboard (OCC, see claim 10) through a CTMP process that includes the addition of sodium sulfate solution during the steaming stage (reads on thermally treating with a solution including water). The feedstock is screened, cleaned, processed, and repulped in order to recover the materials. Klyosov further teaches acidifying the process at multiple points for removal of unwanted components (See examples)
In the seam field of endeavor, Heiskanen teaches a method of making nanofibriliated [0001] cellulose from a CTMP pulp [0056]. They teach that the collection of the NFC is useful as an additive in papermaking as a strength additive for papers and boards. This is preferably in medium consistency as known in the art [0020]. Heiskanen further teaches the use of enzymes for cellulose degradation of the material [0055] at the claimed points. Heiskanen further teaches the use of chemicals to loosen the structure of the lignocellulose (reads on the solvent for lignin [0055]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to utilize the NFC recovery aspect of the refining of the CTMP pulp that is created in the Klyosov reference for the benefit of gaining all value added components that can be recovered from the same process of recycling OCC as stated in the primary reference.
Heiskanen teaches the act of producing recoverable strength agents form the pulp to be added but simply doesn’t mention the production of cellulose nanocrystals. Just like in the Klyosov reference all the claimed steps occur but it just fails to address the creation of nanocrystals.
To show that the production of cellulose nanocrystals is conventional in collection of strength agents from recovered pulp, Salam is presented.
Salam teaches that recovering cellulose nanocrystals from a pulp is commonly used as a strengthening agent when added to a pulp made up of OCC [0093-0095].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention that the creation of nanocrystals in conjunction with the nanofibrils would be utilized as known strength agents when added back to the OCC pulp in a conventional manner.
The references all teach the same active steps to produce the nanofibrils and nanocrystals, and the secondary references show the known advantageous of utilizing these recovered material as known strength agents in the production of new materials.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to generate the nanofibrils and nanocrystals in the same refining step of Klyosov for the known benefit of increasing the strength of the pulp that is then utilized to make new corrugated containers in a conventional manner.
Double Patenting
Claims 1-7 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over the claims of U.S. Patent No. 12,018432 and 10,753,042. Although the claims at issue are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because the difference is the presence of optional limitations and the close ended transitional phrase, which would have been obvious in view of the open ended phrase of the instant application
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
JACOB T. MINSKEY
Examiner
Art Unit 1741
/JACOB T MINSKEY/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1748