DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of Group I, claims 1 – 18 in the reply filed on June 2, 2026 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 1 – 89 are pending; claims 19 – 89 are withdrawn; claims 1 – 18 have been considered on the merits.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on November 25, 2024 and March 11, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 – 3 and 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 and 102a2 as being anticipated by Krajete et al. (WO 2018/015393, cited on IDS 03.11.2025, FPD #3).
Regarding claim 1, Krajete teaches a method for producing and recovering methane, wherein the method comprises fermenting an educt (substrate) including gaseous CO2 and H2 with methanogenic archaea in a vessel, wherein the ratio of H2:CO2 is 3 or 4, or 1:3 or 1:4 CO2:H2, (p.36 - 37, example 4, claims 8, 11, 15, 20).
Regarding claims 2 - 3, the archaea include those selected from the claimed list, particularly Methanobacterium thermoautotrophicus (p.24 - 25).
Regarding claim 8, Krajete teaches the method will convert 85 - 99% of the CO2 (p.19).
Thus, the reference anticipates the claimed subject matter.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 – 8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krajete et al. (WO 2018/015393, cited on IDS 03.11.2025, FPD #3).
Regarding claim 1, Krajete teaches a method for producing and recovering methane, wherein the method comprises fermenting an educt (substrate) including gaseous CO2 and H2 with methanogenic archaea in a vessel, wherein the ratio of H2:CO2 is 3 or 4, or 1:3 or 1:4 CO2:H2, (p.36 - 37, example 4, claims 8, 11, 15, 20).
Regarding claims 2 - 3, the archaea include those selected from the claimed list, particularly Methanobacterium thermoautotrophicus (p.24 - 25).
Regarding claims 4 - 5, the reference does not specifically teach the claimed CO2 or H2 uptake rate. However, Krajete teaches the method is particularly suited for regulating biomass production and regulating use of the substrates, CO2 or H2, for either biomass production or product formation (page 6). In this regard, the method allows one practicing the method to “fine tune” educt consumption (or uptake) by the microorganisms. As such, in following the teachings of Krajete, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated by the teachings therein, and routine practice, to optimize the rate of uptake of CO2 or H2 and with a reasonable expectation for successfully converting CO2.
Regarding claim 6, the reference does not teach the claimed cell retention time. However, Krajete specifically states the method allows for adjusting fermentation conditions and to keep the cells in one of the states over a period of time which may be selected by the experimenter (p.50). Thus, in following the teachings of Krajete, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize retention times as directed and with a reasonable expectation for successfully converting CO2.
Regarding claim 7, the reference does not specifically teach method wherein methane productivity is as claimed. However, Krajete teaches the method provides methane at least 150 mmol/hour or about 2.5 mmol/min and provides the formula for which one can optimize the methane yield therein (page 4 - 5). As such, in following the teachings of Krajete, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to optimize the methane yield as directed and by routine practice and with a reasonable expectation for successfully converting CO2.
Regarding claim 8, Krajete teaches the method will convert 85 - 99% of the CO2 (p.19).
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
Claims 1 and 9 – 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Krajete et al. (WO 2018/015393, cited on IDS 03.11.2025, FPD #3) in view of Dyson et al. (WO 2018/144965, cited on IDS 03.11.2025, FPD #4).
Regarding claim 1, Krajete teaches a method for producing and recovering methane, wherein the method comprises fermenting an educt (substrate) including gaseous CO2 and H2 with methanogenic archaea in a vessel, wherein the ratio of H2:CO2 is 3 or 4, or 1:3 or 1:4 CO2:H2, (p.36 - 37, example 4, claims 8, 11, 15, 20).
Regarding claims 9 – 18, Krajete does not teach the claimed steps for further recovering a protein. However, Krajete teaches the methods may be used to produce biomass wherein proteins are recovered (p. 20 - 21). Dyson teaches methods for obtaining proteins from bacterial biomass wherein the method comprises harvesting biomass from the bioreactor, rupturing cells by homogenization (to obtain a homogenate) (88); fractionating (84, 86) to obtain the proteins. The biomass has dry weights of 6.7 – 7.2 grams of dry mass (example 1); rupturing cells is accomplished with homogenizers, fractionators (mechanical disruption device), French press, freezer, heaters, ultrasound, sonication, mills, to lyse biomass (363 - 370); additional steps include hydrolyzing the resulting homogenate with lysozyme (a hydrolase), neutral protease (or endopeptidase), trypsin (serine protease) or subtilase at pH 4 - 12 and 15 - 55C for 2 - 120 hours or at 10 - 80C (88, 373, 386, 388); centrifuging and filtering ruptured cells (377); removing nucleic acids by methods known in the art (377); and drying to 10 - 15% moisture, or 85 - 90% dry weight (417). At the time the claims were filed, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to further obtain proteins from the biomass of Krajete, and applying or utilizing the steps as claimed, as a matter of routine practice and procedure as evidenced by Dyson. One would have been further motivated to optimize the various specific parameters such as time, temperature, pH, and amount of starting dry cell material as a matter of routine practice, there being no indication of criticality (MPEP 2144.05 (II)(A)).
Thus, the invention as a whole is prima facie obvious over the references, especially in the absence of evidence to the contrary.
No claims are allowed.
/RUTH A DAVIS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1699