DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election of claims 1-42 in the reply filed on 8/14/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 43-90 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/14/26.
Applicant’s election of the species of Methanothermobacter thermautotrophicus, microfluidics device, subtilases, and centrifugation in the reply filed on 8/14/26 is acknowledged. Because applicant did not distinctly and specifically point out the supposed errors in the restriction requirement, the election has been treated as an election without traverse (MPEP § 818.01(a)).
Claims 5 and 12 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 8/14/26.
Priority
Application claims priority to 63/521, 323 provisional application with an effective filing date of 6/15/23. Claims of the instant application are supported by the provisional application and thus have a priority date of 6/15/23.
Information Disclosure Statement
The IDS has been considered except where references have been lined through.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because the figures are not properly labeled.
37 CFR 1.84 (u)(1) states “The different views must be numbered in consecutive Arabic numerals, starting with 1, independent of the numbering of the sheets and, if possible, in the order in which they appear on the drawing sheet(s). Partial views intended to form one complete view, on one or several sheets, must be identified by the same number followed by a capital letter. View numbers must be preceded by the abbreviation "FIG." Where only a single view is used in an application to illustrate the claimed invention, it must not be numbered and the abbreviation "FIG." must not appear.”
In the instant case, the view numbers for Figures are preceded by the word "Figure" instead of the abbreviation "FIG.".
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102((a)(2) as anticipated by or, in the alternative, under 35 U.S.C. 103 as obvious over Shaw (US20230340401A1) While Shaw was published after the effective filing date of instant application, Shaw claims priority to 12/6/21 and therefore is valid prior art under 102(a)(2).
Regarding claims 1, 6 Shaw teaches methods of combining methanotrophic bacterial biomass production with a methanation process (claim 1). Shaw teaches that the method comprises generating methane via a methanogenic biomethanation (fig 1 and [0003]). Shaw teaches the methane is produced using CO2 and H2 (fig 1). Shaw teaches the production of methane can be accomplished via Methanothermobacter thermautotrophicus (methanogenic archaea (claim 11). Shaw teaches that exemplary methanogenic species used can be Methanobacterium alcaliphilum ([0078]). Methanobacterium alcaliphilum is a methylotrophic bacteria as evidenced by instant claim 12. Shaw teaches that methane can be fermented in a single cell protein production bioreactor to produce a biomass and a CO2 gas (fig 1). Shaw teaches that liquid bioreactors are well known in the arts ([0101]). It would be obvious to one of ordinary skill in the arts to use the two claimed species as Shaw teaches both can be used in their invention.
Regarding claim 2, Shaw teaches that the CO2 from the single cell protein production bioreactor can be routed to the biomethanation bioreactor (fig 1).
Regarding claim 3, Shaw teaches that oxygen can be scrubbed (removed) to promote high levels of methane production ([0113]).
Claims 4, 7-11, 13-14, and 16-22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw (US20230340401A1), as applied to claims 1-3 and 6 above, and further in view of Dyson (WO2018144965A1).
Regarding claim 4, Shaw does not explicitly teach the ratio of CO2 to H2.
Dyson teaches microorganisms and bioprocesses are provided that convert gaseous substrates, such as renewable H2 and waste CO2 producer gas, or syngas into high-protein biomass that may be used directly for human nutrition, or as a nutrient for plants, fungi, or other microorganisms, or as a source of soil carbon, nitrogen, and other mineral nutrients (abstract). Dyson teaches the lysate can be further separated into a faction containing protein which can be used as a nutritional supplement ([377-378]). Dyson teaches the H2 can be 71% and the CO2 9% ([464]). Dyson further teaches the ratio of the gases can be adjusted before being delivered to the microorganisms ([70]). Therefore, this ratio is a result effective variable and one of ordinary skill in the arts would be motivated to experiment with this ratio.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to use the gas ratios of Dyson in the invention of Shaw One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because these gas ratios have been successfully used to culture microorganisms, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as both Shaw and Dyson are in the same field of endeavor of culturing microorganisms.
Regarding claims 7 and 8, Dyson teaches that the amount of H2 consumed alters the biomass (fig 4). As discussed above, the ratio of CO2 to H2 was a result effective variable, so to is the amount of CO2 or H2 consumed, so one of ordinary skill in the arts would be motivated to experiment with these variables.
Regarding claim 9, Dyson teaches that the cells can grow from 9-30 hours before collection (example 2).
Regarding claim 10 While Shaw and Dyson does not measure methane production, the cited combination teaches essentially the same fermentation using the same microorganisms as in the claimed method and it would have been obvious to use routine experimentation to discover the optimal/workable range of methane productivity (see MPEP 2144.05).
Regarding claim 11, Dyson teaches less than 10% of the input carbon is lost as CO2 (>90% conversion rate) ([423]).
Regarding claim 13, Shaw teaches the biomass can be separated via centrifugation to a liquid and a cell precipitate (cell free permeate and cell containing suspension) ([0044]). Shaw teaches the cell precipitate can be further processed including lysis (rupturing cell membrane) ([0045]).
Shaw does not explicitly teach fractionating the first homogenate.
Dyson teaches microorganisms and bioprocesses are provided that convert gaseous substrates, such as renewable H2 and waste CO2 producer gas, or syngas into high-protein biomass that may be used directly for human nutrition, or as a nutrient for plants, fungi, or other microorganisms, or as a source of soil carbon, nitrogen, and other mineral nutrients (abstract). Dyson teaches the lysate can be further separated into a faction containing protein which can be used as a nutritional supplement ([377-378]).
Regarding claim 14, Dyson teaches the cells can be grown to 38 g dry mass/L ([449]). This falls within the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is obvious.
Regarding claim 16, Shaw teaches the cultures are maintained at a pH of 6-8 ([0027]) This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Regarding claim 17-19, Dyson teaches subtilsin (subtilase) can be added at 55 oC for 24 hours ([561]). This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Regarding claim 20, Dyson teaches cellular fractions can be separated via centrifugation ([377]).
Regarding claim 21, Dyson teaches the nucleic acid concentration can be 0.5% -9% ([396]). This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Regarding claim 22, Dyson teaches the concentrate protein can be dryed to 55% or higher (412). Dyson teaches the protein can be concentrated to 90% or more (413). This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Claim 15 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Shaw and Dyson as applied to claims 1-4, 7-11, 13-14, and 16-22 above, and further in view of Lu, Haiwei, et al. "Rapid additive-free bacteria lysis using traveling surface acoustic waves in microfluidic channels." Lab on a Chip 19.24 (2019): 4064-4070.
Regarding claim 15, Shaw teaches a wide range of possible methods for cell lysis ([0046]), but Shaw and Dyson do not explicitly teach microfluidics for cell lysis.
Lu teaches microfluidics for cell lysis (title). Lu teaches the method is rapid and applicable to all bacterial types (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the lysis methods of Shaw and Dyson with the microfluidics of Lu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because these microfluidics have been successfully used to lyse cells, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, Lu teaches the method is rapid and effective against all bacterial types. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as Shaw, Dyson, and Lu are in the same field of endeavor of cell lysis.
Claims 23-42 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Dyson and Shaw and Lu, as applied to claims 1-4, 7-11 and 13-22 above, and further in view of Nandy (US20250066830A1.) while Nandy was published after the effective filing date of instant application it claims priority to 1/7/22 and therefore is valid prior art under 35 USC 102(a)(2).
Regarding claim 23, Shaw teaches the biomass can be separated via centrifugation to a liquid and a cell precipitate (cell free permeate and cell containing suspension) ([0044]). Shaw teaches the cell precipitate can be further processed including lysis (rupturing cell membrane) ([0045]).
Shaw does not explicitly teach fractionating the first homogenate or explicitly teach the processing of the methanogenic archae.
Dyson teaches microorganisms and bioprocesses are provided that convert gaseous substrates, such as renewable H2 and waste CO2 producer gas, or syngas into high-protein biomass that may be used directly for human nutrition, or as a nutrient for plants, fungi, or other microorganisms, or as a source of soil carbon, nitrogen, and other mineral nutrients (abstract). Dyson teaches the lysate can be further separated into a faction containing protein which can be used as a nutritional supplement ([377-378]).
Dyson and Shaw does not explicitly teach the processing of the methanogenic archaea. Nandy teaches methods of producing single cell protein from gas and carbon (abstract). Nandy teaches that the biomass can be collected from methanogenic microorganisms (claim 24). Nandy teaches their method meets the need for increased protein demand ([0005-0007]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to process the methanogenic archaea of Dyson and Shaw as taught by Nandy. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because Nandy teaches this meets the need of increased protein demand. Further, One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because these processing steps have been successfully used to generate protein, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as Dyson, Shaw and Nandy are in the same field of endeavor of protein production from microorganisms.
Regarding claim 24, Dyson teaches the cells can be grown to 38 g dry mass/L ([449]). This falls within the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is obvious.
Regarding claim 25, Shaw teaches a wide range of possible methods for cell lysis ([0046]), but Shaw and Dyson do not explicitly teach microfluidics for cell lysis.
Lu teaches microfluidics for cell lysis (title). Lu teaches the method is rapid and applicable to all bacterial types (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the lysis methods of Shaw and Dyson with the microfluidics of Lu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because these microfluidics have been successfully used to lyse cells, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, Lu teaches the method is rapid and effective against all bacterial types. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as Shaw, Dyson, and Lu are in the same field of endeavor of cell lysis.
Regarding claim 26, Shaw teaches the cultures are maintained at a pH of 6-8 ([0027]) This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Regarding claim 27-29, Dyson teaches subtilsin (subtilase) can be added at 55 oC for 24 hours ([561]). This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Regarding claim 30, Dyson teaches cellular fractions can be separated via centrifugation ([377]).
Regarding claim 31, Dyson teaches the nucleic acid concentration can be 0.5% -9% ([396]). This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Regarding claim 32, Dyson teaches the concentrate protein can be dried to 55% or higher (412). Dyson teaches the protein can be concentrated to 90% or more (413). This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Regarding claim 33, Shaw teaches the biomass can be separated via centrifugation to a liquid and a cell precipitate (cell free permeate and cell containing suspension) ([0044]). Shaw teaches the cell precipitate can be further processed including lysis (rupturing cell membrane) ([0045]).
Shaw does not explicitly teach fractionating the first homogenate or explicitly teach the processing combination of the methanogenic and methanotrophic microorganism.
Dyson teaches microorganisms and bioprocesses are provided that convert gaseous substrates, such as renewable H2 and waste CO2 producer gas, or syngas into high-protein biomass that may be used directly for human nutrition, or as a nutrient for plants, fungi, or other microorganisms, or as a source of soil carbon, nitrogen, and other mineral nutrients (abstract). Dyson teaches the lysate can be further separated into a faction containing protein which can be used as a nutritional supplement ([377-378]).
Dyson and Shaw does not explicitly teach the processing of the combination of the methanogenic and methanotrophic microorganism.
Nandy teaches methods of producing single cell protein from gas and carbon (abstract). Nandy teaches that the biomass can be collected from methanogenic microorganisms (claim 24). Nandy teaches their method meets the need for increased protein demand ([0005-0007]). Nandy teaches the protein can be a combination of the methanogenic and methanotrophic microorganism ([0171]).
Regarding claim 34, Dyson teaches the cells can be grown to 38 g dry mass/L ([449]). This falls within the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is obvious.
Regarding claim 35, Shaw teaches a wide range of possible methods for cell lysis ([0046]), but Shaw and Dyson do not explicitly teach microfluidics for cell lysis.
Lu teaches microfluidics for cell lysis (title). Lu teaches the method is rapid and applicable to all bacterial types (abstract).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to replace the lysis methods of Shaw and Dyson with the microfluidics of Lu. One of ordinary skill in the art would be motivated to do so because these microfluidics have been successfully used to lyse cells, and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. Further, Lu teaches the method is rapid and effective against all bacterial types. There would be a reasonable expectation of success as Shaw, Dyson, and Lu are in the same field of endeavor of cell lysis.
Regarding claim 36, Shaw teaches the cultures are maintained at a pH of 6-8 ([0027]) This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Regarding claim 37-39, Dyson teaches subtilsin (subtilase) can be added at 55 oC for 24 hours ([561]). This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Regarding claim 40, Dyson teaches cellular fractions can be separated via centrifugation ([377]).
Regarding claim 41, Dyson teaches the nucleic acid concentration can be 0.5% -9% ([396]). This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Regarding claim 42, Dyson teaches the concentrate protein can be dryed to 55% or higher (412). Dyson teaches the protein can be concentrated to 90% or more (413). This overlaps the claimed range and therefore the claimed range is prima facia obvious.
Conclusion
/TREVOR KANE/Examiner, Art Unit 1657
/ROBERT J YAMASAKI/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1657