DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendment received on 4/13/2026 is acknowledged and entered. Claims 2 has been canceled. Claims 1 and 3-4 have been amended. Claims 1 and 3-5 are currently pending in the application.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1 and 3-5 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over LONGINOTTI-BUITONI et al. (US 2021/0195732 A1) in view of HEIKKINEN et al. (US 2019/0069403 A1).
Claim 1. LONGINOTTI-BUITONI et al. (LONGINOTTI-BUITONI) calling system that allows a first person to call a second person, the calling system comprising:
a capacitive contact sensor which has fibrous electric conductors and which is to be operated by the first person, the mutual capacitive contact sensor being formable integrally with a garment to be worn by the first person or being attachable to the garment; Figs. 1A-1B, 2, 6A-6E, 8B, 9B; [0019]; [0025]; [0028] – [0030]; [0066]; [0067]; [0334]; [0335]
LONGINOTTI-BUITONI does not specifically teach that said capacitive contact sensor is a mutual capacitive contact sensor, which is disclosed in HEIKKINEN et al. (HEIKKINEN). (an intelligent garment comprising a multilayer structure incorporating a mutual capacitive sensor) [0055]; cl.2.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LONGINOTTI-BUITONI to include the recited limitations, as disclosed in HEIKKINEN, for the benefit of protecting and concealing electronics from the environment and environmental conditions, e. g. moisture, dust; and aesthetically avoiding unnecessary thickness of the garment, as specifically stated in HEIKKINEN. [0006]; [0007]
Alternatively, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LONGINOTTI-BUITONI to include the recited limitations, as disclosed in HEIKKINEN, since the claimed invention is merely a combination of old elements, and in the combination each element merely would have performed the same function as it did separately, and one of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the results of the combination were predictable. The rationale to support a conclusion that the claim would have been obvious is that all the claimed elements were known in the prior art and one skilled in the art could have combined the elements as claimed by known methods with no change in their respective functions, and the combination yielded nothing more than predictable results to one of ordinary skill in the art. KSR, 550 U.S. at, 82 USPQ2d at 1395; Sakraida v. AG Pro, Inc., 425 U.S. 273, 282, 189 USPQ 449, 453 (1976); Anderson's-Black Rock, Inc. v. Pavement Salvage Co., 396 U.S. 57, 62-63, 163 USPQ 673, 675 (1969); Great Atlantic & P. Tea Co. v. Supermarket Equipment Corp., 340 U.S. 147, 152, 87 USPQ 303, 306 (1950).
LONGINOTTI-BUITONI, as modified by HEIKKINEN, further teaches:
a first information provision section configured to provide the first person with first information for assisting the first person in operating the mutual capacitive contact sensor; Fig. 1B; [0254] (the intelligent user can work in conjunction with a networking device 45 (e.g., such as, a computer, a smart phone (their own smart phone)); [0304]; [0339](an interactive sensor on the garment configured to transmit an interactive sensor signal to the sensor module when the user's hand activates the interactive sensor wherein the sensor module is configured to control an audio output and/or a visual output in response to the interactive sensor signal); [0362] (a wearable intelligent platform);
a second information provision section configured to provide the second person with second information for calling the second person; Fig. 1B, 2; [0254]; (the intelligent user can work in conjunction with a networking device 45 (e.g., such as, a computer, a smart phone (their own smart phone)), or another cell phone 39); [0258] (activate a call, answer a call, end a call, etc.); [0320] (users offer content to one another; display messages or face images); and
a control section, wherein the control section is configured to:
execute a first acceptance process of, in accordance with a first operation by the first person for the mutual capacitive contact sensor, accepting selection of a calling process of calling the second person; LONGINOTTI-BUITONI; Fig. 1B; [0254] (the intelligent user can work in conjunction with a networking device 45 (e.g., such as, a computer, a smart phone (their own smart phone)) or another cell phone 39); [0258] (activate a call, answer a call, end a call, etc.); [0304]; [0339](an interactive sensor on the garment configured to transmit an interactive sensor signal to the sensor module when the user's hand activates the interactive sensor wherein the sensor module is configured to control an audio output and/or a visual output in response to the interactive sensor signal); [0362] (a wearable intelligent platform);
execute a second acceptance process of, in accordance with a second operation by the first person for the mutual capacitive contact sensor, LONGINOTTI-BUITONI; Fig. 1B; [0254] (the intelligent user can work in conjunction with a networking device 45 (e.g., such as, a computer, a smart phone (their own smart phone)); [0304]; [0339](an interactive sensor on the garment configured to transmit an interactive sensor signal to the sensor module when the user's hand activates the interactive sensor wherein the sensor module is configured to control an audio output and/or a visual output in response to the interactive sensor signal); [0362] (a wearable intelligent platform);
accepting selection of execution of the calling process which has been selected in the first acceptance process; LONGINOTTI-BUITONI; Fig. 1B; [0254] (the intelligent user can work in conjunction with a networking device 45 (e.g., such as, a computer, a smart phone (their own smart phone)) or another cell phone 39); [0258] (activate a call, answer a call, end a call, etc.); [0304]; [0339](an interactive sensor on the garment configured to transmit an interactive sensor signal to the sensor module when the user's hand activates the interactive sensor wherein the sensor module is configured to control an audio output and/or a visual output in response to the interactive sensor signal); [0362] (a wearable intelligent platform); and
cause the second information provision section to provide the second information in accordance with the second acceptance process, so as to execute the calling process. LONGINOTTI-BUITONI; Fig. 1B; [0254] (the intelligent user can work in conjunction with a networking device 45 (e.g., such as, a computer, a smart phone (their own smart phone)) or another cell phone 39); [0258] (activate a call, answer a call, end a call, etc.); [0304]; [0339](an interactive sensor on the garment configured to transmit an interactive sensor signal to the sensor module when the user's hand activates the interactive sensor wherein the sensor module is configured to control an audio output and/or a visual output in response to the interactive sensor signal); [0362] (a wearable intelligent platform).
While LONGINOTTI-BUITONI does not explicitly teach “a first acceptance process” and “second acceptance process”, LONGINOTTI-BUITONI discloses that the user may touch an interactive sensor with his/her hand for a period of time (e.g., seconds) to send a signal from that touch point. The signal may be coordinated with one or more other volitional activations, from the same or additional interactive sensors.
Combinations of manual activation may be used to communicate or signal. [0019]. Thus, the user may activate a call, send a message, or receive a call through the intelligent wear platform. The garment communication platform 81 configured to control communications, such as internal communication (e.g. integral to or within any garment or accessory) and external communication to an xternal communication system 90 (e.g. with a computer, the cloud, etc.), and that said communication platform may be an electronic system, such as a phone that may be embedded in a garment, and may include an application (app) configured to process data [0362]. Accordingly, in LONGINOTTI-BUITONI a first touch pattern can be selecting a call function; a second touch pattern can be confirming or sending functions; then the wearable platform places the call, and a recipient receives the call. Therefore, said “select then confirm” sequence may be an obvious implementation of LONGINOTTI-BUITONI’s multiple-touch command architecture.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify LONGINOTTI-BUITONI to include the recited limitations, as suggested in LONGINOTTI-BUITONI, for the benefit of configuring the sensor manager to pre-process data by implementing functions that include but are not limited to digital filtering of analog and/or digital signals, coding of interactive sensor (touch point) signals, conversion of continuous data into time series data, etc., and to transmit and/or control a signal and to send appropriate feedback to the user based on the signal, such as via a haptic activator or actuator or touch pad on an intelligent wear item, an audio output, a visual interface, etc., as specifically stated in LONGINOTTI-BUITONI. [0363]
Claim 3. The calling system according to claim 1, wherein: the mutual capacitive contact sensor has a contact surface with which the first person is able to make a direct or indirect contact; the calling system includes a storage section that stores a table indicative of a correspondence between a plurality of positions on the contact surface and a plurality of options; the plurality of options include a first option for selecting the calling process and a second option for selecting execution of the calling process; and the control section executes the first acceptance process and the second acceptance process in accordance with a position on the contact surface with which position the first person has made contact and the table. Fig. 1B, 2; [0254]; (the intelligent user can work in conjunction with a networking device 45 (e.g., such as, a computer, a smart phone (their own smart phone)), or another cell phone 39); [0258] (activate a call, answer a call, end a call, etc.); [0320] (users offer content to one another; display messages or face images); [0339] (an interactive sensor on the garment configured to transmit an interactive sensor signal to the sensor module when the user's hand activates the interactive sensor wherein the sensor module is configured to control an audio output and/or a visual output in response to the interactive sensor signal); [0362] (a wearable intelligent platform). Same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claim 4. The calling system according to claim 1, wherein: after the control section has executed a third acceptance process of, in accordance with a third operation by the first person for the mutual capacitive contact sensor, accepting selection of a calling reason for calling the second person, the control section executes the calling process; and the second information provided in the calling process includes information on the calling reason which has been selected in the third acceptance process. Fig. 1B, 2; [0254]; (the intelligent user can work in conjunction with a networking device 45 (e.g., such as, a computer, a smart phone (their own smart phone)), or another cell phone 39); [0258] (activate a call, answer a call, end a call, etc.); [0320] (users offer content to one another; display messages or face images); [0339] (an interactive sensor on the garment configured to transmit an interactive sensor signal to the sensor module when the user's hand activates the interactive sensor wherein the sensor module is configured to control an audio output and/or a visual output in response to the interactive sensor signal); [0362] (a wearable intelligent platform). Same rationale as applied to claim 2.
Claim 5. The calling system according to claim 1, wherein the mutual capacitive contact sensor is attached to or is formed integrally with at least one selected from the group consisting of a left sleeve and a right sleeve of the garment. LONGINOTTI-BUITONI; Fig. 1A; “41”
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/13/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues that the prior art of record fails to disclose or suggest the first and second acceptance processes as recited in the amended claim 1.
The Examiner respectfully disagrees and notes that while LONGINOTTI-BUITONI does not explicitly teach “a first acceptance process” and “second acceptance process”, LONGINOTTI-BUITONI discloses that the user may touch an interactive sensor with his/her hand for a period of time (e.g., seconds) to send a signal from that touch point. The signal may be coordinated with one or more other volitional activations, from the same or additional interactive sensors. Combinations of manual activation may be used to communicate or signal. [0019]. Thus, the user may activate a call, send a message, or receive a call through the intelligent wear platform. The garment communication platform 81 configured to control communications, such as internal communication (e.g. integral to or within any garment or accessory) and external communication to an xternal communication system 90 (e.g. with a computer, the cloud, etc.), and that said communication platform may be an electronic system, such as a phone that may be embedded in a garment, and may include an application (app) configured to process data [0362]. Accordingly, in LONGINOTTI-BUITONI a first touch pattern can be selecting a call function; a second touch pattern can be confirming or sending functions; then the wearable platform places the call, and a recipient receives the call. Therefore, said “select then confirm” sequence may be an obvious implementation of LONGINOTTI-BUITONI’s multiple-touch command architecture.
Citations of pertinent art
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Salvana et al. – US 12,010,256 B2 – discloses a wearable device comprising an interface configured to receive contact selection of functions from a user followed by a separate call-initiation actions.
Jung-Sim Roh “Textile touch sensors for wearable and ubiquitous interfaces” Textile Research Journal 2014, Vol. 84(7) p. 739–750, discloses textile touch sensors integrated into garments, textile switches, and wearable interfaces configured to accept user input commands.
Conclusion
THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/IGOR N BORISSOV/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3685 6/18/2026