DETAILED ACTION
This Office Action is in response to the amendment filed 3/11/2026 for application 18/740,724.
Claims 1-20 have been examined and are pending. Claims 1 and 11 are independent claims. This Action is made FINAL.
Response to Arguments
The objections to claims 10 and 20 are removed in light of Applicant’s amendment of claims 10 and 20.
The rejection of claims 1-20 under 35 USC 101 as being directed to an abstract idea is withdrawn in light of Applicant’s amendment of the claims and Applicant’s persuasive arguments.
Applicants’ arguments in the instant Amendment, filed on 3/11/2026, with respect to limitations listed below, have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Applicant argues as follows: Rejections under 35 U.S.C. § 103 To establish prima facie obviousness of a claimed invention, all the claim limitations must be taught or suggested by the prior art. In re Royka, 490 F.2d 981, (CCPA 1974). Further, all the words in a claim must be considered in judging the patentability of that claim against the prior art. In re Wilson, 424 F.2d 1382, 1385 (CCPA 1970). When determining whether a claim is obvious, an Examiner must make a searching comparison of the claimed invention - including all its limitations - with the teaching of the prior art. See In re Wada and Murphy, Appeal 2007-3733, citing In re Ochiai, 71 F.3d 1565, 1572 (Fed. Cir. 1995) (emphasis added). The necessary presence of all claim features is axiomatic, since the Supreme Court has long held that obviousness is a question of law based on underlying factual inquiries, including ascertaining the differences between the claimed invention and the prior art. Graham v. John Deere Co., 383 U.S.1 (1966). Lastly, obviousness requires at least a suggestion of all of the features of a claim, since the Supreme Court in KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc. stated that "there must be some articulated reasoning with some rational underpinning to support the legal conclusion of obviousness." KSR Int'l v. Teleflex Inc., 127 S. Ct. 1727, 1741 (2007) (quoting In re Kahn, 441 F.3d 977,988 (Fed. Cir. 2006)). In proceedings before the Patent and Trademark Office, the Examiner bears the burden of establishing a prima facie case of obviousness based upon the prior art. See, e.g., In re Fritch, 972 F.2d 1260, 1265 (Fed. Cir. 1992). Further, if the Examiner does not establish a prima facie case, Applicants are under no obligation to submit evidence of non-obviousness. The initial evaluation of prima facie obviousness thus relieves both the Examiner and Applicant from evaluating evidence beyond the prior art and the evidence in the specification as filed until the art has been shown to render obvious the claimed invention. See MPEP § 2142.
Examiner respectfully submits Applicant's arguments fail to comply with 37 CFR 1.111(b) because they amount to a general allegation that the claims define a patentable invention without specifically pointing out how the language of the claims patentably distinguishes them from the references.
Applicant argues as follows: Claims 1 and 11 Claims 1 and 11 stand rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 103 as being unpatentable over U.S. Publication No. 2005/0154885 (hereinafter "Viscomi") in view of JP Publication No. 2013175071 (hereinafter "Kawazure"). To the extent that the rejection applies to the amended claims, for the reasons set forth below, this rejection is respectfully traversed. Amended independent claim 1 recites: iv. ...a minimum time interval stored in a storage; and v. , wherein the synchronization algorithm is a cryptographically secure pseudo-random number generator; and vi. wherein the seed and the device start time are transmitted to an air-gap device during the initialization such that the air-gap device independently computes matching pseudo-random open time intervals and wherein the air-gap device opens a network interface between the storage manager and a control manager only during the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals Amended claim 11 contains similar limitations. Viscomi and Kawazure fail to disclose or render obvious at least the above-referenced limitations of amended independent claims 1 and 11. Viscomi generally relates to a security system capable of providing seamless access to and encryption of electronic data. See Viscomi, Abstract. The reference is uniformly concerned with policy retrieval and enforcement in an always-connected environment and does not control network link state or teach cryptographic time-window generation. Viscomi fails to disclose or suggest the amended limitations, including generating a plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals using a cryptographically secure pseudorandom number generator (CSPRNG) seeded with a shared secret and device start time; transmitting those initialization values to an air-gap device configured to independently compute matching windows; using those cryptographically computed windows to open a network interface only during the open intervals and to keep the interface otherwise closed; and performing policy synchronization through the network interface opened by the air-gap device. These features are wholly absent from Viscomi, which does not disclose a CSPRNG, does not disclose independent interval computation by an air-gap device, does not disclose linked state gating tied to cryptographic windows, and does not disclose policy retrieval constrained to occur only through a temporarily opened, air-gapped interface. Further, Kawazure fails to provide what Viscomi lacks. Kawazure generally relates to managing a term of validity or the like at a server side in the case of achieving file withdrawal only in a fixed period such as a business trip for a task use, and that when a client side is allowed to have the setting and determining function of a term of validity and the setting function of a behavior when the term of validity is expired, alteration may occur.. See Kawazure, Abstract. Kawazure teaches time-bounded content access, not cryptographic generation of pseudo-random hardware connectivity windows. Furthermore, it does not teach or suggest independent computation of such windows by two devices from a shared secret. Kawazure contains no disclosure of a CSPRNG, no disclosure of linked state control across an air-gap, no disclosure of shared-secret interval generation for network gating, and no disclosure of the claimed workflow in which policy retrieval is technically enabled only when the cryptographically determined open interval is in effect.
Examiner respectfully submits that claim 1 is properly rejected by the combination of Viscomi, Kawazure, newly cited reference Naguib, and Chatterjee. Regarding claim 1, Viscomi discloses, paragraphs 0010 and 0046, a method for performing policy synchronizations, comprising: by disclosing ROM, computer, synchronization; paragraphs 0050, 0046, 0072, 0082, 0091, identifying, by a storage manager, a policy retrieval synchronization generation event by disclosing current file policy, synchronization, policy server, synchronization with the policy server, returns a current file policy; determines effective policy to be applied; paragraphs 0050, 0046, 0072, 0082, 0091, in response to the identifying by disclosing current file policy, synchronization, policy server, synchronization with the policy server, returns a current file policy; determines effective policy to be applied; paragraph 0068, identifying , by the storage manager, a maximum time interval and a minimum time interval stored in a storage by disclosing start time, end time access limits, File Authority (FA) component; paragraphs 0046 and 0072, generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm by disclosing processed to synchronize; scheduled for synchronization, paragraphs 0050, 0046, 0072, 0082, 0091,performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager by disclosing current file policy, synchronization, policy server, synchronization with the policy server, returns a current file policy; determines effective policy to be applied. Kawazure discloses, 2nd page, lines 4-10, 3rd page, line 45, generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm a seed for the synchronization algorithm, a device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval, wherein the seed and the device start time were generated during initialization prior to identifying the policy retrieval synchronization generation event by disclosing synchronizes time, unlock server to make file available, end time, start time, policy information locked, a seed is generated. Naguib discloses, paragraph 0048, wherein the synchronization algorithm is a cryptographically secure pseudo-random number generator by disclosing random, algorithm, synchronized; paragraph 0025, wherein the seed and the device start time are transmitted to an air-gap device during the initialization such that the air-gap device independently computes matching pseudo-random open time intervals by disclosing seed number , time slots, central wireless device, peripheral wireless devices, random time slot, pseudo-random number generation; paragraph 0054, wherein the air-gap device opens a network interface between the storage manager and a control manager only during the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals by disclosing interface 1011 includes a wireless transceiver because wireless devices communicate over the air; paragraph 0025, performing policy synchronizations using the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager, performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager by disclosing seed number , time slots, central wireless device, peripheral wireless devices, random time slot, pseudo-random number generation. Chatterjee discloses, paragraphs 0004 and 0351 and FIG. 3, wherein the obtaining is performed by the storage manager sending a retrieval request through the network interface opened by the air-gap device by disclosing air-gapped data storage management; air-gapped data storage 360, data storage management system 310; storage manager 440, air gap.
The Examiner respectfully suggests that the claim be further amended and details in the specification be incorporated to distinguish the claimed invention over prior art of record. Should the Applicant desire an interview to further clarify the claim interpretation/rejections, please contact the Examiner at (571) 272-5368 to schedule an interview.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 5, 9-11, 15, 19, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viscomi (US20050154885), filed December 3, 2004, in view of Kawazure (JP2013175071), published September 5, 2013, Naguib (US20200100283), filed September 25, 2018, and Chatterjee (US20220012134), filed December 14,. 2020.
Regarding claim 1, Viscomi discloses a method for performing policy synchronizations, comprising: (Viscomi, paragraph 0010, ROM, computer, paragraph 0046, synchronization);
identifying, by a storage manager, a policy retrieval synchronization generation event (Viscomi, paragraph 0050, current file policy, paragraph 0046, synchronization, policy server, paragraph 0072, synchronization with the policy server, paragraph 0082, returns a current file policy; paragraph 0091, determines effective policy to be applied);
in response to the identifying (Viscomi, paragraph 0050, current file policy, paragraph 0046, synchronization, policy server, paragraph 0072, synchronization with the policy server, paragraph 0082, returns a current file policy; paragraph 0091, determines effective policy to be applied);
identifying , by the storage manager, a maximum time interval and a minimum time interval stored in a storage (Viscomi, paragraph 0068, start time, end time access limits, File Authority (FA) component);
generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm, (Viscomi, paragraph 0046, processed to synchronize; paragraph 0072, scheduled for synchronization),
performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager (Viscomi, paragraph 0050, current file policy, paragraph 0046, synchronization, policy server, paragraph 0072, synchronization with the policy server, paragraph 0082, returns a current file policy; paragraph 0091, determines effective policy to be applied).
Viscomi discloses generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm, but does not explicitly disclose generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm a seed for the synchronization algorithm, a device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval, wherein the seed and the device start time were generated during initialization prior to identifying the policy retrieval synchronization generation event.
However, in an analogous art, Kawazure discloses generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm a seed for the synchronization algorithm, a device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval, wherein the seed and the device start time were generated during initialization prior to identifying the policy retrieval synchronization generation event (Kawazure, 2nd page, lines 4-10, synchronizes time, unlock server to make file available, 3rd page, line 45, end time, start time, policy information locked, a seed is generated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kawazure with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi to include generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm a seed for the synchronization algorithm, a device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval, wherein the seed and the device start time were generated during initialization prior to identifying the policy retrieval synchronization generation event to provide users with the benefits of controlling access to a file using a tamper resistant device (Kawazure: technical field).
Viscomi and Kawazure disclose performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager, performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager; but does not explicitly disclose wherein the synchronization algorithm is a cryptographically secure pseudo-random number generator, and wherein the seed and the device start time are transmitted to an air-gap device during the initialization such that the air-gap device independently computes matching pseudo-random open time intervals; and wherein the air-gap device opens a network interface between the storage manager and a control manager only during the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals; performing policy synchronizations using the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager, performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager.
However, in an analogous art, Naguib discloses wherein the synchronization algorithm is a cryptographically secure pseudo-random number generator (Naguib, paragraph 0048, random, algorithm, synchronized);
and wherein the seed and the device start time are transmitted to an air-gap device during the initialization such that the air-gap device independently computes matching pseudo-random open time intervals (Naguib, paragraph 0025, seed number , time slots, central wireless device, peripheral wireless devices, random time slot, pseudo-random number generation);
and wherein the air-gap device opens a network interface between the storage manager and a control manager only during the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals (Naguib, paragraph 0054, interface 1011 includes a wireless transceiver);
performing policy synchronizations using the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager, performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager (Naguib, paragraph 0025, seed number , time slots, central wireless device, peripheral wireless devices, random time slot, pseudo-random number generation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Naguib with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi and Kawazure to include wherein the synchronization algorithm is a cryptographically secure pseudo-random number generator to provide users with the benefits of ranging to reduce or minimize interference (Naguib: paragraph 0003).
Viscomi, Kawazure, and Naguib do not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining is performed by the storage manager sending a retrieval request through the network interface opened by the air-gap device.
However, in an analogous art, Chatterjee discloses wherein the obtaining is performed by the storage manager sending a retrieval request through the network interface opened by the air-gap device (Chatterjee, paragraph 0004, air-gapped data storage management; FIG. 3, air-gapped data storage 360, data storage management system 310; paragraph 0351, storage manager 440, air gap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chatterjee with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, and Naguib to include wherein the obtaining is performed by the storage manager sending a retrieval request through the network interface opened by the air-gap device to provide users with the benefits of protecting data via an air gap (Chatterjee: paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 5, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the method of claim 1. Chatterjee discloses wherein the storage manager is operatively connected to the control manager through a network connection facilitated by an air gap device (Chatterjee, paragraph 0004, air-gapped data storage management; FIG. 3, air-gapped data storage 360, data storage management system 310; paragraph 0351, storage manager 440, air gap).
Regarding claim 9, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the method of claim 5. Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose wherein the network connection between the storage manager and the control manager is opened by the air gap device during an open time interval of the open time intervals (Chatterjee, FIG. 3, control manager 310, air gap device 360, storage 366, 390).
Regarding claim 10, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the method of claim 5. Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose wherein performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager comprises: making a determination that an open time interval of the open time intervals is occurring; (Chatterjee, paragraph 0201, occur at a particular interval);
in response to the determination: sending a policy retrieval request to the air gap device to pull the policy from the control manager (Chatterjee, paragraph 0004, air-gapped data storage management; FIG. 3, air-gapped data storage 360, data storage management system 310; paragraph 0351, storage manager 440, air gap);
obtaining, in response to the policy retrieval request, the policy from the control manager through the air gap device (Viscomi, paragraph 0050, current file policy, paragraph 0046, synchronization, policy server, paragraph 0072, synchronization with the policy server, paragraph 0082, returns a current file policy; paragraph 0091, determines effective policy to be applied);
updating a current policy with the policy (Chatterjee, paragraph 0254, storage policy can be modified);
initiating performance of storage management using the policy (Chatterjee, paragraph 0117, storing data as specified in policy).
Regarding claim 11, Viscomi discloses a non-transitory computer readable medium comprising computer readable program code, which when executed by a computer processor enables the computer processor to perform a method for performing policy synchronizations, the method comprising: (Viscomi, paragraph 0010, ROM, computer)
identifying, by a storage manager, a policy retrieval synchronization generation event (Viscomi, paragraph 0050, current file policy, paragraph 0046, synchronization, policy server, paragraph 0072, synchronization with the policy server, paragraph 0082, returns a current file policy; paragraph 0091, determines effective policy to be applied);
in response to the identifying (Viscomi, paragraph 0050, current file policy, paragraph 0046, synchronization, policy server, paragraph 0072, synchronization with the policy server, paragraph 0082, returns a current file policy; paragraph 0091, determines effective policy to be applied);
identifying , by the storage manager, a maximum time interval and a minimum time interval stored in a storage (Viscomi, paragraph 0068, start time, end time access limits);
generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm (Viscomi, paragraph 0046, processed to synchronize; paragraph 0072, scheduled for synchronization),
performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager (Viscomi, paragraph 0050, current file policy, paragraph 0046, synchronization, policy server, paragraph 0072, synchronization with the policy server, paragraph 0082, returns a current file policy; paragraph 0091, determines effective policy to be applied).
Viscomi discloses generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm, but does not explicitly disclose generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm, a seed for the synchronization algorithm, a device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval, wherein the seed and the device start time were generated during initialization prior to identifying the policy retrieval synchronization generation event.
However, in an analogous art, Kawazure discloses generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm a seed for the synchronization algorithm, a device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval, wherein the seed and the device start time were generated during initialization prior to identifying the policy retrieval synchronization generation event (Kawazure, 2nd page, lines 4-10, synchronizes time, unlock server to make file available, 3rd page, line 45, end time, start time, policy information locked, a seed is generated).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Kawazure with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi to include generating open time intervals using a synchronization algorithm a seed for the synchronization algorithm, a device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval, wherein the seed and the device start time were generated during initialization prior to identifying the policy retrieval synchronization generation event to provide users with the benefits of controlling access to a file using a tamper resistant device (Kawazure: technical field).
Viscomi and Kawazure disclose performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager, performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager; but does not explicitly disclose wherein the synchronization algorithm is a cryptographically secure pseudo-random number generator, and wherein the seed and the device start time are transmitted to an air-gap device during the initialization such that the air-gap device independently computes matching pseudo-random open time intervals; and wherein the air-gap device opens a network interface between the storage manager and a control manager only during the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals; performing policy synchronizations using the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager, performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager.
However, in an analogous art, Naguib discloses wherein the synchronization algorithm is a cryptographically secure pseudo-random number generator (Naguib, paragraph 0048, random, algorithm, synchronized);
and wherein the seed and the device start time are transmitted to an air-gap device during the initialization such that the air-gap device independently computes matching pseudo-random open time intervals (Naguib, paragraph 0025, seed number , time slots, central wireless device, peripheral wireless devices, random time slot, pseudo-random number generation);
and wherein the air-gap device opens a network interface between the storage manager and a control manager only during the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals (Naguib, paragraph 0054, interface 1011 includes a wireless transceiver);
performing policy synchronizations using the plurality of pseudo-random open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager, performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager (Naguib, paragraph 0025, seed number , time slots, central wireless device, peripheral wireless devices, random time slot, pseudo-random number generation).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Naguib with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi and Kawazure to include wherein the synchronization algorithm is a cryptographically secure pseudo-random number generator to provide users with the benefits of ranging to reduce or minimize interference (Naguib: paragraph 0003).
Viscomi, Kawazure, and Naguib do not explicitly disclose wherein the obtaining is performed by the storage manager sending a retrieval request through the network interface opened by the air-gap device.
However, in an analogous art, Chatterjee discloses wherein the obtaining is performed by the storage manager sending a retrieval request through the network interface opened by the air-gap device (Chatterjee, paragraph 0004, air-gapped data storage management; FIG. 3, air-gapped data storage 360, data storage management system 310; paragraph 0351, storage manager 440, air gap).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Chatterjee with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, and Naguib to include wherein the obtaining is performed by the storage manager sending a retrieval request through the network interface opened by the air-gap device to provide users with the benefits of protecting data via an air gap (Chatterjee: paragraph 0004).
Regarding claim 15, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 11. Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose wherein the storage manager is operatively connected to the control manager through a network connection facilitated by an air gap device (Chatterjee, paragraph 0004, air-gapped data storage management; FIG. 3, air-gapped data storage 360, data storage management system 310; paragraph 0351, storage manager 440, air gap).
Regarding claim 19, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15. Viscomi, Kawazure, and Chatterjee disclose wherein the network connection between the storage manager and the control manager is opened by the air gap device during an open time interval of the open time intervals (Chatterjee, FIG. 3, control manager 310, air gap device 360, storage 366, 390).
Regarding claim 20, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15. Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose wherein performing policy synchronizations using the open time intervals by obtaining a policy from a control manager comprises: making a determination that an open time interval of the open time intervals is occurring; (Chatterjee, paragraph 0201, occur at a particular interval);
in response to the determination: sending a policy retrieval request to the air gap device to pull the policy from the control manager (Chatterjee, paragraph 0004, air-gapped data storage management; FIG. 3, air-gapped data storage 360, data storage management system 310; paragraph 0351, storage manager 440, air gap);
obtaining, in response to the policy retrieval request, the policy from the control manager through the air gap device (Viscomi, paragraph 0050, current file policy, paragraph 0046, synchronization, policy server, paragraph 0072, synchronization with the policy server, paragraph 0082, returns a current file policy; paragraph 0091, determines effective policy to be applied);
updating a current policy with the policy (Chatterjee, paragraph 0254, storage policy can be modified);
initiating performance of storage management using the policy (Chatterjee, paragraph 0117, storing data as specified in policy).
Claims 2 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viscomi (US20050154885), filed December 3, 2004, in view of Kawazure (JP2013175071), published September 5, 2013, Naguib (US20200100283), filed September 25, 2018, and Chatterjee (US20220012134), filed December 14,. 2020, and further in view of Du (US20140241384), filed November 27, 2013.
Regarding claim 2, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the method of claim 1.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose wherein the synchronization algorithm comprises a Blum-Blum-Shub generator or other cryptographic generator configured to produce non-repeating, unpredictable time intervals (Naguib, paragraph 0025, seed number , time slots, central wireless device, peripheral wireless devices, random time slot, pseudo-random number generation), but do not explicitly disclose wherein the seed initializes the synchronization algorithm, wherein the synchronization algorithm comprises a Blum-Blum-Shub generator or other cryptographic generator configured to produce non-repeating, unpredictable time intervals.
However, in an analogous art, Du discloses wherein the seed initializes the synchronization algorithm, wherein the synchronization algorithm comprises a Blum-Blum-Shub generator or other cryptographic generator configured to produce non-repeating, unpredictable time intervals (Du, paragraph 0029, seeds; paragraph 0030, synchronization algorithms; paragraph 0024, initializing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Du with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the seed initializes the synchronization algorithm, wherein the synchronization algorithm comprises a Blum-Blum-Shub generator or other cryptographic generator configured to produce non-repeating, unpredictable time intervals to provide users with the benefits of synchronization of communication systems (Du: paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 12, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 11.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose wherein the synchronization algorithm comprises a Blum-Blum-Shub generator or other cryptographic generator configured to produce non-repeating, unpredictable time intervals (Naguib, paragraph 0025, seed number , time slots, central wireless device, peripheral wireless devices, random time slot, pseudo-random number generation), but do not explicitly disclose wherein the seed initializes the synchronization algorithm, wherein the synchronization algorithm comprises a Blum-Blum-Shub generator or other cryptographic generator configured to produce non-repeating, unpredictable time intervals.
However, in an analogous art, Du discloses wherein the seed initializes the synchronization algorithm, wherein the synchronization algorithm comprises a Blum-Blum-Shub generator or other cryptographic generator configured to produce non-repeating, unpredictable time intervals (Du, paragraph 0029, seeds; paragraph 0030, synchronization algorithms; paragraph 0024, initializing).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Du with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the seed initializes the synchronization algorithm, wherein the synchronization algorithm comprises a Blum-Blum-Shub generator or other cryptographic generator configured to produce non-repeating, unpredictable time intervals to provide users with the benefits of synchronization of communication systems (Du: paragraph 0005).
Claims 3, 4, 13, and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viscomi (US20050154885), filed December 3, 2004, in view of Kawazure (JP2013175071), published September 5, 2013, Naguib (US20200100283), filed September 25, 2018, and Chatterjee (US20220012134), filed December 14,. 2020, and further in view of Park (US20060094450), filed January 11, 2005.
Regarding claim 3, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the method of claim 1.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee do not explicitly disclose wherein the maximum time interval specifies a maximum allowable time that an open interval of the open intervals lasts.
However, in an analogous art, Park discloses wherein the maximum time interval specifies a maximum allowable time that an open interval of the open intervals lasts (Park, paragraph 0011, minimum time slot, maximum time slot, interval; paragraph 0050, synchronization).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the maximum time interval specifies a maximum allowable time that an open interval of the open intervals lasts to provide users with the benefits of effectively reducing power consumption (Park: abstract).
Regarding claim 4, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the method of claim 1.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee do not explicitly disclose wherein the minimum time interval specifies a minimum allowable time that an open interval of the open interval lasts.
However, in an analogous art, Park discloses wherein the minimum time interval specifies a minimum allowable time that an open interval of the open interval lasts (Park, paragraph 0011, minimum time slot, maximum time slot, interval; paragraph 0050, synchronization).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the minimum time interval specifies a minimum allowable time that an open interval of the open interval lasts to provide users with the benefits of effectively reducing power consumption (Park: abstract).
Regarding claim 13, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 11.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee do not explicitly disclose wherein the maximum time interval specifies a maximum allowable time that an open interval of the open intervals lasts.
However, in an analogous art, Park discloses wherein the maximum time interval specifies a maximum allowable time that an open interval of the open intervals lasts (Park, paragraph 0011, minimum time slot, maximum time slot, interval; paragraph 0050, synchronization).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the maximum time interval specifies a maximum allowable time that an open interval of the open intervals lasts to provide users with the benefits of effectively reducing power consumption (Park: abstract).
Regarding claim 14, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 11.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee do not explicitly disclose wherein the minimum time interval specifies a minimum allowable time that an open interval of the open interval lasts.
However, in an analogous art, Park discloses wherein the minimum time interval specifies a minimum allowable time that an open interval of the open interval lasts (Park, paragraph 0011, minimum time slot, maximum time slot, interval; paragraph 0050, synchronization).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Park with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the minimum time interval specifies a minimum allowable time that an open interval of the open interval lasts to provide users with the benefits of effectively reducing power consumption (Park: abstract).
Claims 6, 7, 16, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viscomi (US20050154885), filed December 3, 2004, in view of Kawazure (JP2013175071), published September 5, 2013, Naguib (US20200100283), filed September 25, 2018, and Chatterjee (US20220012134), filed December 14,. 2020, and further in view of Du (US20140241384), filed November 27, 2013.
Regarding claim 6, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the method of claim 5.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee do not explicitly disclose wherein the open time intervals specify periods of time from the device start time where the network connection is open.
However, in an analogous art, Du discloses wherein the open time intervals specify periods of time from the device start time where the network connection is open (Du, paragraph 0029, seeds, synchronization, time slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Du with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the open time intervals specify periods of time from the device start time where the network connection is open to provide users with the benefits of synchronization of communication systems (Du: paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 7, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the method of claim 5.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee do not explicitly disclose wherein the air gap device generates the open time intervals using the synchronization algorithm, the seed, the device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval.
However, in an analogous art, Du discloses wherein the air gap device generates the open time intervals using the synchronization algorithm, the seed, the device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval (Du, paragraph 0029, seeds, synchronization, time slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Du with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the air gap device generates the open time intervals using the synchronization algorithm, the seed, the device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval to provide users with the benefits of synchronization of communication systems (Du: paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 16, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee do not explicitly disclose wherein the open time intervals specify periods of time from the device start time where the network connection is open.
However, in an analogous art, Du discloses wherein the open time intervals specify periods of time from the device start time where the network connection is open (Du, paragraph 0029, seeds, synchronization, time slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Du with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the open time intervals specify periods of time from the device start time where the network connection is open to provide users with the benefits of synchronization of communication systems (Du: paragraph 0005).
Regarding claim 17, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee do not explicitly disclose wherein the air gap device generates the open time intervals using the synchronization algorithm, the seed, the device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval.
However, in an analogous art, Du discloses wherein the air gap device generates the open time intervals using the synchronization algorithm, the seed, the device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval (Du, paragraph 0029, seeds, synchronization, time slots).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Du with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the air gap device generates the open time intervals using the synchronization algorithm, the seed, the device start time, the maximum time interval, and the minimum time interval to provide users with the benefits of synchronization of communication systems (Du: paragraph 0005).
Claims 8 and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Viscomi (US20050154885), filed December 3, 2004, in view of Kawazure (JP2013175071), published September 5, 2013, Naguib (US20200100283), filed September 25, 2018, and Chatterjee (US20220012134), filed December 14,. 2020, and further in view of Hasek (US20220191204), filed March 8, 2022.
Regarding claim 8, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the method of claim 5.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee do not explicitly disclose wherein the network connection between the storage manager and the control manager is closed by the air gap device during a closed time interval.
However, in an analogous art, Hasek discloses wherein the network connection between the storage manager and the control manager is closed by the air gap device during a closed time interval (Hasek, paragraph 0101, connected and disconnected via an air gap that is opened and closed through control of the air gap device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hasek with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the network connection between the storage manager and the control manager is closed by the air gap device during a closed time interval to provide users with the benefits of protecting sensitive data (Hasek: paragraph 0003).
Regarding claim 18, Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee disclose the non-transitory computer readable medium of claim 15.
Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee do not explicitly disclose wherein the network connection between the storage manager and the control manager is closed by the air gap device during a closed time interval.
However, in an analogous art, Hasek discloses wherein the network connection between the storage manager and the control manager is closed by the air gap device during a closed time interval (Hasek, paragraph 0101, connected and disconnected via an air gap that is opened and closed through control of the air gap device).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Hasek with the method/ non-transitory computer readable medium of Viscomi, Kawazure, Naguib, and Chatterjee to include wherein the network connection between the storage manager and the control manager is closed by the air gap device during a closed time interval to provide users with the benefits of protecting sensitive data (Hasek: paragraph 0003).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/W.J.M/Examiner, Art Unit 2439
/LUU T PHAM/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 2439