DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6-8, 14-16 and 18 are objected to because of the following informalities:
In claim 6 line 2, claim 14 line 2, and claim 18 line 5, “circumventing” would be clearer if written as --circumscribing--.
In claim 6 line 5 and claim 18 line 7, “the plurality of coupler rods” would be clearer if written as --a plurality of coupler rods--.
In claim 7 lines 6 and 7, and claim 15 lines 12 and 13, “end and” would be clearer if written as --end of the suction manifold--.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4-6, 9, 10, 12-14 and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by WIPO Patent Publication WO2022/103563A1 to Harris.
Referring to claim 1, Harris discloses a system for distributing a fluid flow across multiple inlet passages of a reciprocating pump, the system comprising:
an auger (110) configured to be positioned into a suction manifold (102) fluidly coupled with the multiple inlet passages (passages leading form the manifold 102 into the fluid end 100) of the reciprocating pump, the auger (110) defining an axis, a first axial end (near 120), a second axial end (near 122), and a helical body (116) extending between the first axial end (near 120) and the second axial end (near 122), wherein the auger (110) is receivable into the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated below; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30) such that:
the first axial end (near 120) is positioned to receive the fluid flow and force the fluid to move along a helical path defined by the helical body (116) to introduce an angular momentum into the fluid flow (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated below; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30), and
the second axial end (near 122) is positioned towards an opening of the suction manifold (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated below; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30);
an end flange fixedly coupled to the second axial end (near 122) proximate the opening (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated below; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30); and
a clamp arrangement (140) for the auger (110), the clamp arrangement (140) movable between a clamped state and an unclamped state (the clamp is disclosed as removable) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated below; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30), wherein
in the clamped state, the clamp arrangement (140) engages the end flange with an end of the suction manifold (102) defining the opening to removably and immovably retain the auger (110) within the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated below; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30), and
in the unclamped state, the auger (110) is removable from the suction manifold (102) through the opening (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated below; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
[AltContent: textbox (Inlet Passages)][AltContent: textbox (Coupler Rod)][AltContent: textbox (Suction Manifold Opening)]
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Axial End)][AltContent: textbox (Coupler Rod)][AltContent: textbox (Coupler Rod)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (End Flange)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Axial End)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotation of Harris Figure 6.
[AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Void)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (First Axial End)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Gap)][AltContent: textbox (Hub)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Spoke)][AltContent: textbox (Coupler Rod)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Coupler Rod)][AltContent: textbox (Outer Ring)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow]
Annotation of Harris Figure 7.
[AltContent: textbox (Coupler Rod)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Coupler Rod)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (End Flange Base)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (End Flange Stepped Surface)][AltContent: textbox (Suction Manifold End)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (End Flange)][AltContent: textbox (Suction Manifold Opening)][AltContent: arrow][AltContent: textbox (Second Axial End)][AltContent: arrow]
Annotation of Harris Figure 8.
Referring to claim 4, Harris discloses a system comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and further discloses a system wherein:
the end flange defines a base and a stepped surface extending from the base, the stepped surface is insertable into the suction manifold (102) through the opening to center the second axial end of the auger (110) relative to the suction manifold (102), and the base is configured to rest against the end of the suction manifold (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Referring to claim 5, Harris discloses a system comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and further discloses a system comprising:
an end support (120) fixedly coupled to the first axial end, wherein the end support (120) is engageable with the suction manifold (102) to center the first axial end of the auger (110) relative to the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Referring to claim 6, Harris discloses a system comprising all the limitations of claim 5, as detailed above, and further discloses a system wherein:
the end support (120) includes a hub, an outer ring circumscribing the hub and abuttable with an inner wall of the suction manifold (102), and a plurality of spokes coupling the hub with the outer ring, and wherein a plurality of coupler rods is fixedly connected to the hub, and gaps are defined between consecutive spokes of the plurality of spokes to provide passage to the fluid flow across the end support (120) and allow the first axial end to receive the fluid flow (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Referring to claim 9, Harris discloses a system comprising:
an auger (110) configured to be positioned into a suction manifold (102) that is fluidly coupled with multiple inlet passages (passages leading form the manifold 102 into the fluid end 100) of a reciprocating pump, the auger (110) defining an axis, a first axial end (near 120), a second axial end (near 122), and a helical body (116) extending between the first axial end (near 120) and the second axial end (near 122) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30);
an end flange fixedly coupled to the second axial end (near 122) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30);
an end support (120) fixedly coupled to the first axial end (near 120) and configured to fit with the suction manifold (102) to center the first axial end of the auger (110) relative to the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30); and
a plurality of coupler rods fixedly connected to the helical body (116) and fixedly connected between the end support (120) and the end flange to fixedly retain the end support (120) and the end flange with the helical body (116) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30, wherein the coupler rods are connected to the helical body and the end supports 120 and 122, with end support 122 being fixed together with the end flange whereby by being fixed to the end support 122, the coupler rods are also fixed to the end flange such that the end support the end flange and the helical body are secured/retained together as claimed).
Referring to claim 10, Harris discloses a system comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and further discloses a system wherein:
the auger (110) defines a void passing through the helical body (116) to define an inner helical periphery of the helical body (116) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Referring to claim 12, Harris discloses a system comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and further discloses a system wherein:
the end flange defines a base and a stepped surface extending from the base, the stepped surface is insertable into the suction manifold (102) through the opening to center the second axial end of the auger (110) relative to the suction manifold (102), and the base is configured to rest against the end of the suction manifold (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Referring to claim 13, Harris discloses a system comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and further discloses a system wherein:
the end support (120) defines gaps to provide passage to a fluid flow across the end support (120) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Referring to claim 14, Harris discloses a system comprising all the limitations of claim 13, as detailed above, and further discloses a system wherein:
the end support (120) includes a hub, an outer ring circumscribing the hub and abutted with an inner wall of the suction manifold (102), and a plurality of spokes coupling the hub with the outer ring, and wherein a plurality of coupler rods is fixedly connected to the hub, and the gaps are defined between consecutive spokes of the plurality of spokes to provide passage to the fluid flow across the end support (120) and allow the first axial end to receive the fluid flow (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Referring to claim 17, Harris discloses a method for distributing a fluid flow across multiple inlet passages of a reciprocating pump, the method comprising:
positioning an auger (110) into a suction manifold (102) fluidly coupled with the multiple inlet passages (passages leading form the manifold 102 into the fluid end 100) of the reciprocating pump, the auger (110) defining an axis, a first axial end (near 120), a second axial end (near 122), and a helical body (116) extending between the first axial end (near 120) and the second axial end (near 122), wherein the auger (110) is receivable into the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30) such that:
the first axial end (near 120) is positioned to receive the fluid flow and force the fluid to move along a helical path defined by the helical body (116) to introduce an angular momentum into the fluid flow (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30), and
the second axial end (near 122) is positioned towards an opening of the suction manifold (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30);
fixedly coupling an end flange to the second axial end (near 122) proximate the opening (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30); and
using a clamp arrangement (140) for the auger (110), the clamp arrangement (140) movable between a clamped state and an unclamped state (the clamp is disclosed as removable) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30), wherein
in the clamped state, the clamp arrangement (140) engages the end flange with an end of the suction manifold (102) defining the opening to removably and immovably retain the auger (110) within the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30), and
in the unclamped state, the auger (110) is removable from the suction manifold (102) through the opening (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Referring to claim 18, Harris discloses a method comprising all the limitations of claim 17, as detailed above, and further discloses a method comprising:
fixedly coupling an end support (120) to the first axial end, wherein the end support (120) is engageable with the suction manifold (102) to center the first axial end of the auger (110) relative to the suction manifold (102), the end support (120) includes a hub, an outer ring circumscribing the hub and abutted with an inner wall of the suction manifold (102), and a plurality of spokes coupling the hub with the outer ring, a plurality of coupler rods is fixedly connected to the hub, and gaps are defined between consecutive spokes of the plurality of spokes to provide passage to the fluid flow across the end support (120) and allow the first axial end to receive the fluid flow (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 3, 11, 18 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication WO2022/103563A1 to Harris in view of U.S. Patent 2,746,730 to Swenson.
Referring to claim 2, Harris teaches a system comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and further teaches a system wherein:
the auger (110) defines a void passing through the helical body (116) to define an inner helical periphery of the helical body (116), the system further including a plurality of coupler rods fixedly connected to the helical body (116) and to the end flange to fixedly retain the end flange with the helical body (116) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Harris does not teach the coupler rods fixed to the inner helical periphery of the helical body. Swenson teaches a system comprising:
a plurality of coupler rods (37, 38) fixedly connected to an inner helical periphery of a helical body (36) and to an end flange (35) to fixedly retain the end flange (35) with the helical body (36) (Figures 1-9; col. 2 lines 36-45).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the system taught by Harris with the coupler rod location taught by Swenson in order to locate the coupler rods such that they will not contact the suction manifold or prevent the helical body from scraping material that is on the wall of the suction manifold, and since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the coupling rod location of Swenson, for another, the coupling rod location of Harris, to obtain predictable results, coupling together and supporting the helical body and end flange, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Referring to claim 3, Harris and Swenson teach a system comprising all the limitations of claim 2, as detailed above, and Harris further teaches a system wherein:
the plurality of coupler rods is arranged in a rotational array around the axis and is equidistantly spaced with respect to one another along the rotational array to rigidly support the helical body with the end flange (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Harris does not teach the coupler rods fixed to the inner helical periphery of the helical body. Swenson teaches a system comprising:
a plurality of coupler rods (37, 38) fixedly connected to an inner helical periphery of a helical body (36) and to an end flange (35) to fixedly retain the end flange (35) with the helical body (36) (Figures 1-9; col. 2 lines 36-45).
Referring to claim 11, Harris teaches a system comprising all the limitations of claim 10, as detailed above, and further discloses a system wherein:
the plurality of coupler rods is arranged in a rotational array around the axis and each coupler rod, of the plurality of coupler rods, is equidistantly spaced with respect to one another along the rotational array, and the plurality of coupler rods include three coupler rods separated by an angular offset of 120 degrees along the rotational array.
Harris does not teach the coupler rods fixed to the inner helical periphery of the helical body. Swenson teaches a system comprising:
a plurality of coupler rods (37, 38) fixedly connected to an inner helical periphery of a helical body (36) and to an end flange (35) to fixedly retain the end flange (35) with the helical body (36) (Figures 1-9; col. 2 lines 36-45).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the system taught by Harris with the coupler rod location taught by Swenson in order to locate the coupler rods such that they will not contact the suction manifold or prevent the helical body from scraping material that is on the wall of the suction manifold, and since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the coupling rod location of Swenson, for another, the coupling rod location of Harris, to obtain predictable results, coupling together and supporting the helical body and end flange, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Referring to claim 19, Harris teaches a method comprising all the limitations of claim 17, as detailed above, and further teaches a method wherein:
the auger (110) defines a void passing through the helical body (116) to define an inner helical periphery of the helical body (116), a plurality of coupler rods fixedly connected to the helical body (116) and to the end flange to fixedly retain the end flange with the helical body (116), and the end flange defines a base and a stepped surface extending from the base, the stepped surface is insertable into the suction manifold (102) through the opening to center the second axial end of the auger (110) relative to the suction manifold (102), and the base is configured to rest against the end of the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Harris does not teach the coupler rods fixed to the inner helical periphery of the helical body. Swenson teaches a system comprising:
a plurality of coupler rods (37, 38) fixedly connected to an inner helical periphery of a helical body (36) and to an end flange (35) to fixedly retain the end flange (35) with the helical body (36) (Figures 1-9; col. 2 lines 36-45).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the system taught by Harris with the coupler rod location taught by Swenson in order to locate the coupler rods such that they will not contact the suction manifold or prevent the helical body from scraping material that is on the wall of the suction manifold, and since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the coupling rod location of Swenson, for another, the coupling rod location of Harris, to obtain predictable results, coupling together and supporting the helical body and end flange, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Claims 7, 8, 15, 16 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over WIPO Patent Publication WO2022/103563A1 to Harris in view of U. S. Patent 4417755 to Gittleman.
Referring to claim 7, Harris teaches a system comprising all the limitations of claim 1, as detailed above, and further teaches a system wherein:
the clamp arrangement (140) removably and immovably retains the auger (110) within the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30), but is silent as to the details of the clamp arrangement. Gittleman teaches a system wherein:
a clamp arrangement includes a first clamping part (18) and a second clamping part (19) claspable with the first clamping part (18) to move the clamp arrangement to the clamped state, and the first clamping part (18) is configured to engage first portions of the end of a manifold (10) and an end flange (end of 11) with each other and the second clamping part (19) configured to engage second portions of the end of the manifold (10) and the end flange (end of 11) with each other when the first clamping part (18) is clasped with the second clamping part (19) (Figures 1-7; col. 2 line 22 - col. 5 line 26).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the system taught by Harris with the clamp taught by Gittleman since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the clamp of Gittleman, for another, the generic clamp of Harris, to obtain predictable results, clamping together the suction manifold and the end flange, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Referring to claim 8, Harris and Gittleman teach a system comprising all the limitations of claim 7, as detailed above, and Harris further teaches a system wherein:
the clamp arrangement (140) engages the end flange (end of 11) with the end of the manifold (end of 10) defining the opening to removably and immovably retain the auger (110) within the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30), but Harris is silent as to the details of the clamp arrangement. Gittleman further teaches a system wherein:
the first clamping part (18) and the second clamping part (19) include one or more bores (63) to receive one or more fasteners (26, 27) therein, wherein the one or more fasteners (26, 27) are configured to couple and clasp the first clamping part (18) with the second clamping part (19) to engage the end flange (end of 11) with the end of the manifold (end of 10) (Figures 1-7; col. 2 line 22 - col. 5 line 26).
Referring to claim 15, Harris teaches a system comprising all the limitations of claim 9, as detailed above, and further teaches a system comprising:
a clamp arrangement (140) for the auger (110), the clamp arrangement movable between a clamped state and an unclamped state (inherent of a removable clamp), wherein in the clamped state, the clamp arrangement (140) engages the end flange with an end of the suction manifold (102) defining an opening to removably and immovably retain the auger (110) within the suction manifold (102), and in the unclamped state, the auger (110) is removable from the suction manifold (102) through the opening, wherein the clamp arrangement (140) removably and immovably retains the auger (110) within the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30).
Harris is silent as to the details of the clamp arrangement. Gittleman further teaches a system wherein:
a clamp arrangement includes a first clamping part (18) and a second clamping part (19) claspable with the first clamping part (18) to move the clamp arrangement to the clamped state, and the first clamping part (18) is configured to engage first portions of the end of a manifold (10) and an end flange (end of 11) with each other and the second clamping part (19) configured to engage second portions of the end of the manifold (10) and the end flange (end of 11) with each other when the first clamping part (18) is clasped with the second clamping part (19) (Figures 1-7; col. 2 line 22 - col. 5 line 26).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the system taught by Harris with the clamp taught by Gittleman since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the clamp of Gittleman, for another, the generic clamp of Harris, to obtain predictable results, clamping together the suction manifold and the end flange, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Referring to claim 16, Harris and Gittleman teach a system comprising all the limitations of claim 15, as detailed above, and Harris further teaches a system wherein:
the clamp arrangement (140) engages the end flange (end of 11) with the end of the manifold (end of 10) defining the opening to removably and immovably retain the auger (110) within the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30), but Harris is silent as to the details of the clamp arrangement. Gittleman further teaches a system wherein:
the first clamping part (18) and the second clamping part (19) include one or more bores (63) to receive one or more fasteners (26, 27) therein, wherein the one or more fasteners (26, 27) are configured to couple and clasp the first clamping part (18) with the second clamping part (19) to engage the end flange (end of 11) with the end of the manifold (end of 10) (Figures 1-7; col. 2 line 22 - col. 5 line 26).
Referring to claim 20, Harris teaches a system comprising all the limitations of claim 17, as detailed above, and further teaches a system wherein:
the clamp arrangement (140) removably and immovably retains the auger (110) within the suction manifold (102) (Figures 1-9, Figures 6-8 annotated above; page 3 line 4 - page 4 line 30), but is silent as to the details of the clamp arrangement. Gittleman teaches a system wherein:
a clamp arrangement includes a first clamping part (18) and a second clamping part (19) claspable with the first clamping part (18) to move the clamp arrangement to the clamped state, and the first clamping part (18) is configured to engage first portions of the end of a manifold (10) and an end flange (end of 11) with each other and the second clamping part (19) configured to engage second portions of the end of the manifold (10) and the end flange (end of 11) with each other when the first clamping part (18) is clasped with the second clamping part (19) (Figures 1-7; col. 2 line 22 - col. 5 line 26).
It would have been obvious before the invention was effectively filed, to a person having ordinary skill in the art, to modify the system taught by Harris with the clamp taught by Gittleman since it has been held that a simple substitution of one known element, the clamp of Gittleman, for another, the generic clamp of Harris, to obtain predictable results, clamping together the suction manifold and the end flange, was an obvious extension of prior art teachings, KSR, 550 U.S. at 419, 82 USPQ2d at 1396, MPEP 2141 III B.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Kugelev, Gaalswyk and Ricciardi teach similar systems/methods as claimed.
/BRYAN M LETTMAN/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3746