DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, & 17-20 are currently pending and have been examined.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. §101 because the claimed invention is directed to an abstract idea without significantly more.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Step 1:
Claims 1, 3-7, 15, & 17 20 are directed to a method (i.e., a process); Claims 8 & 10-14 are directed to a system (i.e., a machine). Accordingly, Claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, & 17-20 are all within at least one of the four statutory categories.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2A - Prong One:
Regarding Prong One of Step 2A, the claim limitations are to be analyzed to determine whether, under their broadest reasonable interpretation, they “recite” a judicial exception or in other words whether a judicial exception is “set forth” or “described” in the claims. MPEP 2106.04(II)(A)(1). An “abstract idea” judicial exception is subject matter that falls within at least one of the following groupings: a) certain methods of organizing human activity, b) mental processes, and/or c) mathematical concepts. MPEP 2106.04(a).
Representative independent claim 8 includes limitations that recite at least one abstract idea. Specifically, independent claim 8 recites:
8. A system comprising:
at least one computer processor; and
a memory containing instructions which, when executed by the at least one computer processor, cause the at least one computer processor to:
receive, from one or more of: a wearable device, a mobile device, and a mobile application, patient data of a patient, the patient data comprising a patient's location for the patient;
continuously retraining a trained neural network model regularly with newly collected patient data;
wherein the retraining comprises modifying one or more weights or biases associated with connections between neurons in the trained neural network model;
execute a neural network model trained on numerous examples of text data from recovering addicts to predict, based on the patient data, an addiction relapse risk in the patient; and
lock one or more functionalities on the mobile device based on: the predicted addiction relapse risk, and the patient's location.
The Examiner submits that the foregoing underlined limitations constitute “methods of organizing human activity” because sending healthcare data from various parties, detecting a medical condition, generating and sending a notification are associated with managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people. For example, but for the system, this claim encompasses a person facilitating data access, receiving data, and outputting data to prevent addiction relapse risk in the manner described in the identified abstract idea. The Examiner notes that “method of organizing human activity” includes a person’s interaction with a computer – see MPEP 2106.04(a)(2)(II)(C). If a claim limitation, under its broadest reasonable interpretation, covers managing personal behavior or interactions between people but for the recitation of generic computer components, then it falls within the “method of organizing human activity” grouping of abstract ideas. Furthermore, the underlined limitations of retraining a trained neural network model by modifying one or more weights or biases associated with connections between neurons in the trained neural network model amounts to mathematical concepts (mathematical relationships, mathematical formulas or equations, mathematical calculations). When given their broadest reasonable interpretation in light of the background, retraining a neural network by modifying weights or biases are mathematical calculations. The plain meaning of these terms are
optimization algorithms, which compute neural network parameters using a series of mathematical calculations. As explained in the MPEP, when a claim recites multiple abstract ideas that fall in the same or different groupings, examiners should consider the limitations together as a single abstract idea, rather than as a plurality of separate abstract ideas to be analyzed individually. Accordingly, independent claim 8 and analogous independent claims 1 & 15 recite at least one abstract idea.
Furthermore, dependent claims 3-7, 10-14, & 17-20 narrow the abstract idea described in the independent claims. Claims 3, 10, & 17 recites receiving different patient data from various sources; Claims 4, 11, & 18-19 recites preprocessing data; Claims 5, 12, & 20 recite generating and communicating a recommendation to a third party; Claims 6, 13 recites generating a recommendation; & Claim 7, 14 recites generating different outputs based on the determined relapse risk. These limitations only serve to further limit the abstract idea and hence, are directed towards fundamentally the same abstract idea as independent claim 8 and analogous independent claims 1 & 15, even when considered individually and as an ordered combination.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2A - Prong Two:
Regarding Prong Two of Step 2A of the Alice/Mayo test, it must be determined whether the claim as a whole integrates the abstract idea into a practical application. As noted at MPEP §2106.04(II)(A)(2), it must be determined whether any additional elements in the claim beyond the abstract idea integrate the exception into a practical application in a manner that imposes a meaningful limit on the judicial exception. The courts have indicated that additional elements merely using a computer to implement an abstract idea, adding insignificant extra solution activity, or generally linking use of a judicial exception to a particular technological environment or field of use do not integrate a judicial exception into a “practical application.” MPEP §2106.05(I)(A).
In the present case, the additional limitations beyond the above-noted at least one abstract idea recited in the claim are as follows (where the bolded portions are the “additional limitations” while the underlined portions continue to represent the at least one “abstract idea”):
8. A system comprising:
at least one computer processor; and
a memory containing instructions which, when executed by the at least one computer processor, cause the at least one computer processor to:
receive, from one or more of: a wearable device, a mobile device, and a mobile application, patient data of a patient, the patient data comprising a patient's location for the patient;
continuously retraining a trained neural network model regularly with newly collected patient data;
wherein the retraining comprises modifying one or more weights or biases associated with connections between neurons in the trained neural network model;
execute a neural network model trained on numerous examples of text data from recovering addicts to predict, based on the patient data, an addiction relapse risk in the patient; and
lock one or more functionalities on the mobile device based on: the predicted addiction relapse risk, and the patient's location.
For the following reasons, the Examiner submits that the above identified additional limitations do not integrate the above-noted at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Regarding the additional limitations of the processor, memory, mobile device; the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using computers as tools to perform the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitations of a trained neural network model that is continuously trained via modifying weights/biases associated with connections between neurons, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Regarding the additional limitations of lock one or more functionalities on the mobile device based on: the predicted addiction relapse risk, and the patient's location, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). These limitations are an attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result.
Thus, taken alone, the additional elements do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Looking at the additional limitations as an ordered combination adds nothing that is not already present when looking at the elements taken individually. For instance, there is no indication that the additional elements, when considered as a whole with the abstract idea, reflect an improvement in the functioning of a computer or an improvement to another technology or technical field, apply or use the above-noted judicial exception to effect a particular treatment or prophylaxis for a disease or medical condition, implement/use the above-noted judicial exception with a particular machine or manufacture that is integral to the claim, effect a transformation or reduction of a particular article to a different state or thing, or apply or use the judicial exception in some other meaningful way beyond generally linking the use of the judicial exception to a particular technological environment, such that the claim as a whole does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application of the abstract idea. MPEP §2106.05(I)(A) and §2106.04(II)(A)(2).
For these reasons, independent claim 8 and analogous independent claims 1 & 15 do not recite additional elements that integrate the judicial exception into a practical application.
Accordingly, the claims recites at least one abstract idea.
The remaining dependent claim limitations not addressed above fail to integrate the abstract idea into a practical application as set forth below:
Claims 4, 11, & 18: These claims recite preprocessing data using various techniques including NLP, NER, and tokenization and amount to no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Claims 5, 12, & 20: These claims recite using generative AI to recommend an action and amount to no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)).
Thus, taken alone, any additional elements do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application. Therefore, the claims are directed to at least one abstract idea.
Subject Matter Eligibility Criteria - Alice/Mayo Test: Step 2B:
Regarding Step 2B of the Alice/Mayo test, representative independent claim 10 does not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for reasons the same as those discussed above with respect to determining that the claim does not integrate the abstract idea into a practical application.
As discussed above, regarding the additional limitations of the processor, memory, mobile device; the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to merely using computers as tools to perform the above-noted at least one abstract idea (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Regarding the additional limitations of a trained neural network model that is continuously trained via modifying weights/biases associated with connections between neurons, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). Regarding the additional limitations of lock one or more functionalities on the mobile device based on: the predicted addiction relapse risk, and the patient's location, the Examiner submits that these limitations amount to no more than a recitation of the words “apply it” (or an equivalent), such as mere instructions to implement an abstract idea on a computer (see MPEP § 2106.05(f)). These limitations are an attempt to cover any solution to an identified problem with no restriction on how the result is accomplished and no description of the mechanism for accomplishing the result.
The dependent claims also do not include additional elements (considered both individually and as an ordered combination) that are sufficient to amount to significantly more than the judicial exception for the same reasons to those discussed above with respect to determining that the dependent claims do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Therefore, claims 1-20 are ineligible under 35 USC §101.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3-6, 8, 10-13, 15, & 17-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US20200107155) in view of Troy (WO2024216072A1).
As per claim 1, Williams teaches a method comprising:
receiving from one or more of: a wearable device, a mobile device, and a mobile application, patient data of a patient (Fig. 12; para. 36: user devices, sensors, and other technology to: determine, through one or more communications networks, the location of an addict and the context of the addict at the location);
continuously retraining a trained neural network model regularly with newly collected patient data (para. 97: learning system updates a previously trained model with new data);
predicting, by the trained neural network model trained on previous data, based on the patient data, an addiction relapse risk in the patient (para. 37, 97: learning engine is provided that utilizes artificial intelligence and other learning algorithms and methods to learn from an addict's behavior and to refine various systems, algorithms, and processes, such as an addict's likelihood of relapse, effectiveness of actions taken, and types and frequency of data collected);
lock one or more functionalities on the mobile device based on: the predicted addiction relapse risk, and the patient's location (para. 37, 150: evaluating a risk of relapse by the addict in relation to the location and/or the context; and facilitating one or more actions and/or activities to mitigate the risk, if any, and/or react to a relapse, if any, by the addict; disable the usage of other electronic or computerized payment mechanisms such as mobile wallet technologies).
Williams does not expressly teach a neural network model trained on numerous examples of text data from recovering addicts; wherein the retraining comprises modifying one or more weights or biases associated with connections between neurons in the trained neural network model.
Troy, however, teaches to training a neural network model with training data including user health conditions or symptoms, types of addition, severity of addition, acceptable treatment options, user health history, steps of a recovery program, coaching skills, or the like (para. 42). Troy also teaches to where each layer is comprised of a plurality of neurons that take a plurality of inputs, weight the inputs, input the weighted inputs into an activation function to produce an output which may then be sent to another layer (para. 45). Weightings and/or network structure learned by the training module may be executed on the vector by applying vector to a first layer of the model to produce inputs to a second layer of the model, and so on until the prediction is output (para. 46).
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the aforementioned features in Troy with Williams based on the motivation of promote healthier lifestyles, utilizing the power of Al to help individuals improve their health outcomes (Troy - para. 13).
As per claim 3, Williams and Troy teach the method of claim 1. Williams teaches wherein the patient data comprises one or more of:
heart rate; heart rate variability; skin conductance; blood pressure; sleep patterns; activity level; mood; stress level; a therapy session transcript; textual patient assessment; qualitative patient assessment; and quantitative patient assessment (Fig. 12; para. 36: user devices, sensors, and other technology to: determine, through one or more communications networks, the location of an addict and the context of the addict at the location).
As per claim 4, Williams and Troy teach the method of claim 1. Williams teaches comprising preprocessing the patient data, wherein the preprocessing comprises one or more of:
natural language; named entity detection (NER); and tokenization (para. 132: data received from user via natural-language interfaces).
Williams does not expressly teach to natural language processing.
Troy, however, teaches to an Al chatbot may use a text-to-speech mechanism to provide voice-based responses to queries or other user inputs to the Al chatbot using NLP (para. 18).
The motivations to combine the above mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 5, Williams and Troy the method of claim 1. Williams teaches comprising generating a recommendation based on the predicted relapse risk; and communicating the recommendation to a relevant party, wherein generating the recommendation based on the predicted addiction relapse risk (para. 42, 136: providing, recommending, and/or injecting actions, activities, resources, recommendations, directions, and/or elements of control into the addict's life; providing information/output to the addict in the ways most receptive to the addict).
Williams does not expressly teach generating the recommendation using generative artificial intelligence.
Troy, however, teaches to using a coaching system for users rehabilitating from addiction or mental health where the coaching system can use generative AI (para. 22, 39).
The motivations to combine the above mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
As per claim 6, Williams and Troy teach the method of claim 1. Williams teaches wherein the recommendation comprises one or more of:
a request for additional patient data; an intervention; a stress management technique; and a personalized message (para. 42, 136: providing, recommending, and/or injecting actions, activities, resources, recommendations, directions, and/or elements of control into the addict's life; providing information/output to the addict in the ways most receptive to the addict).
Claims 8 & 10-13 recite substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claims 1 & 3-6, and, as such, are rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claims 15 & 17-18 recite substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claims 1 & 3-4, and, as such, are rejected for similar reasons as given above.
As per claim 19, Williams and Troy teach the method of claim 18. Williams teaches wherein the preprocessing is used to extract features relevant to relapse risk contexts (para. 174: location(s)/context(s) for the addict may be extracted, such as from computers, phones, social media (including location and time stamp).
Williams does not expressly teach to correspondingly label the patient data relating to the plurality of patients for training the neural network model.
Troy, however, teaches to data standardization, cleanup, or other tasks such as encoding non numerical features and where training vector may be utilized (along with any applicable labels) by the machine learning algorithm to produce a model (para. 44-45).
The motivations to combine the above mentioned references are discussed in the rejection of claim 1, and incorporated herein.
Claim 20 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claims 5-6, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Claims 7 & 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Williams (US20200107155) & Troy (WO2024216072A1) as applied to claims 5 and 12 above, and in further view of Hamalainen (US20180140241).
As per claim 7, Williams & Troy teach the method of claim 5,
wherein the addiction relapse risk is categorized as none, low, or high (Williams: 110: scores could be in the form of a number (like credit scores), a high/medium/low designation), and wherein if the addiction relapse risk is categorized as high, the method comprises communicating the recommendation to the patient and a therapist of the patient (Williams: para. 100-101: if risk assessment score reaches or exceeds a threshold, and/or falls within a certain range, the Action Coordination Engine will develop an action or course of action that will then be launched, such as contacting members of the addict's support network; engine directing the addict to move to a sanctuary location for example, such as a nearby AA meeting getting ready to start, in response to a high risk alert), wherein the recommendation comprises a suggested intervention generated by a generative artificial intelligence, and wherein the suggested intervention optionally comprises input from the therapist (Troy – para. 22, 39: using a coaching system for users rehabilitating from addiction or mental health where the coaching system can use generative AI).
Williams & Troy do not expressly teach wherein if the addiction relapse risk is categorized as low, the method comprises communicating the recommendation to the patient, wherein the recommendation comprises a request for additional patient data.
Hamalainen, however, teaches to determining a risk of relapse of addictive behavior of a user and where the system outputs a request for additional information via a questionnaire if the risk is below a threshold (para. 55, 63-71)
It would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the aforementioned features in Hamalainen with Williams & Troy based on the motivation of aid in determining if an individual is at risk for a relapse of an addictive behavior (Hamalainen - para. 33).
Claim 14 recites substantially similar limitations as those already addressed in claim 7, and, as such, is rejected for similar reasons as given above.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to the 35 U.S.C. § 101 rejection on pages 7-11 in regards to claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, & 17-20 have been considered but are not persuasive. Applicant argues that:
The claims are not directed to organizing human activity but are directed to a strictly-technological process.
See updated 101 rejection above.
Similar to Desjardins, the claims provide a technical improvement by improving a neural network model that updates over time.
The Examiner, however, asserts that Desjardins decision cited to specific recitations of a technical problem and a technical solution where the Specification recited that the claimed improvement allows artificial intelligence (AI) systems to ‘us[e] less of their storage capacity’ and enables ‘reduced system complexity.’… The same cannot be said here. The instant application fails to provide any description of a technical problem and a technical solution. Applicant’s specification presents a non-technical problem – predicting and preventing relapse in individuals undergoing addiction treatment (see the instant Specification in para. 1). Merely reciting applying a machine learning algorithm to solve a problem does not result in patent eligibility under Step 2A Prong 2. The instant claims and instant disclosure does not attempt to improve on or invent a new machine learning algorithm, but instead employs a known algorithm to solve a problem with the particular judicial exception of predicting and preventing relapse in individuals undergoing addiction treatment. The solution to the problem is rooted in an improvement to the abstract idea itself and not a technical failure of a computer system. The additional elements can best be characterized as tools to perform an existing process and only amounts to an instruction to implement the abstract idea using a computer (MPEP § 2106.05(f)(2) see case requiring the use of software to tailor information and provide it to the user on a generic computer within the ""Other examples., v."")."
The claims are not managing personal behavior or relationships or interactions between people.
The Examiner asserts that the claimed invention is defining a series of rules or steps for a human or humans to follow. Further, Applicant's Specification appears to contradict this assertion in several locations. Spec Para. 004 ("assist healthcare professionals in providing timely and effective support to individuals in addiction treatment."). Spec. Para. 312 (extend the capabilities of therapists, allowing therapists to handle more patients and reduce waiting times to see a therapist..")
The claims are not directed to mathematical concepts or mathematical calculations because there is some other inventive concept in its applications.
The Examiner, however, argues that this assertion is not valid as Example 41 from the 2019 PEG Training guidance was found eligible because the combination of additional elements use the mathematical formulas and calculations in a specific manner that sufficiently limits the use of the mathematical concepts to the practical application of transmitting the ciphertext word signal to a computer terminal over a communication channel and the claim as a whole integrates the mathematical concept into a practical application. The same cannot be said here – as stated above in the 101 rejection the additional elements do not integrate the at least one abstract idea into a practical application.
Applicant’s arguments on pages 11-15 regarding claims 1, 3-8, 10-15, & 17-20 being rejected under 35 USC § 102 & 103(a) have been fully considered but they are moot in view of the new grounds of rejection.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Williams (US20180176727) teaches determine, through one or more communications networks, the location of an addict and the context of the addict at the location; evaluate a risk of relapse by the addict in relation to the location and/or the context; facilitate one or more actions and/or activities to mitigate the risk.
Balian (US20200411191) teaches to predicting an individual's likelihood of addiction or relapse to pharmaceuticals that include controlled or addictive substances. The prediction can be used to generate an alert that, in some aspects, prevents care provider actions in an electronic health record system that are related to the addictive pharmaceutical until the prediction is acknowledged.
/Jonathan Ng/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3619