Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 2, 4, 5, and 7-12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019/189092, US 2021/0023828 relied upon for citations) in view of Yamashita (JP 2021-001650, machine translation relied upon).
Yamada (WO 2019/189092, US 2021/0023828 relied upon for citations) teaches a laminate and pouch comprising the laminate. The laminate (10) is formed from a substrate (20), a heat seal (30), and an interlayer (40). An adhesive (50) may be included between any of the layers (¶43-47). The amount of olefin in the laminate is 90% by mass or more (claim 6).
The substrate, heat seal, and interlayer can be a polyethylene (¶58) with the substrate stretched (¶14) and the heat seal un-stretched (¶135). The adhesive may be polyurethane (¶172).
As such Yamada teaches (see Figs) a laminate with an un-stretched polyethylene layer (30) (claim 1—thermoplastic, claim 2—polyethylene, claim 7—sealant film) bonded to a stretched second polyethylene layer (20) (claim 1—thermoplastic, claim 2—polyethylene, claim 7—other thermoplastic, claim 8/10—stretched film), with a PE interlayer (40) between the two (claim 9—intermediate thermoplastic), where the interlayer and/or substrate can be provided with an inorganic coating or organic coating (¶166) (claim 8/11—coating).
Yamada differs from claim 1 in that it does not teach the adhesive incorporates polyrotaxane.
Yamashita teaches a vacuum insulation formed of two exterior materials heat sealed together (¶4). The bag can also include adhesive (¶5) in particular polyurethane adhesive with 0.1-10% polyrotaxane added to allow for the adhesive to expand and contract (¶¶9,39).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to includes in the polyurethane adhesive of Yamada 0.1-10% polyrotaxane as taught by Yamashita for the benefit of an adhesive which can expand and contract without delamination. In so far as both are directed to heat sealed materials using polyurethane adhesives there would be a reasonable expectation of success in combining the two.
Yamada in view of Yamashita renders obvious claims 1, 2, 4, 5, 7-12.
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019/189092, US 2021/0023828 relied upon for citations) in view of Yamashita (JP 2021-001650, machine translation relied upon) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Tau (US 2003/0216518).
With respect to claim 3, Yamada teaches polyethylene-based resins but not both polyethylene and polypropylene.
Tau teaches a blend composition comprising at least one coupled propylene polymer and at least 55 weight percent of at least one ethylene polymer, based on the total weight of the coupled propylene polymer and the ethylene polymer (abstract). Tau teaches blending a minor proportion of a rheology modified (also known as “coupled”) PP resin into a major proportion of an LLDPE resin yields a film with a high modulus and which also maintains good toughness (¶6). Tau teaches the films can be used in packaging substrates and multi-wall bags (¶81).
It would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the invention to incorporate the coupled propylene polymer taught by Tau into the polyethylene resin compositions of Yamada. This modification would allow the artisan to achieve a film with an increased modulus while retaining good toughness, directly following Tau's teachings.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yamada (WO 2019/189092, US 2021/0023828 relied upon for citations) in view of Yamashita (JP 2021-001650, machine translation relied upon) as applied to claim 1 above and further in view of Oomori (US 2015/0094463).
With respect to claim 6, Yamashita teaches the polyrotaxane-containing resin is a polyrotaxane compound having a cyclic molecule having a reactive hydroxyl group in its molecule, a linear molecule that pierces the cyclic molecule in a skewer-like manner, and sealing groups positioned at both ends of the linear molecule that prevent the cyclic molecule from detaching (¶38) but fails to explicitly teaches the functional group at a terminal of a side chain of a cyclic molecule is a hydroxyl group.
Oomori is directed to a polyrotaxane which includes hydroxyl group-containing cyclic molecules, a linear molecule threaded through the cyclic molecules to form a clathrate, and blocking groups at both ends of the linear molecule to prevent the separation of the cyclic molecules from the linear molecule (abstract). Oomori teaches the polyrotaxane is a hydroxypropylated polyrotaxane (¶167) and give polyrotaxane with advantageous properties (¶169) and may be used in adhesives (¶197).
It would have been obvious to a person having ordinary skill in the art to use as the polyrotaxane a hydroxypropylated polyrotaxane as taught in Oomori for the benefit of the advantageous properties disclosed therein. A person would have a reasonable expectation of success in that Oomori specifically teaches the use of the polyrotaxane in adhesives.
Conclusion
/FRANK J VINEIS/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1781