DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
Amendments filed 06/23/2026 have been entered. Currently claims 1, 4-18 are pending.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 7 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 7, the limitation “a second side” renders the claim indefinite, as there no recitation of “a first side” and thus makes it unclear as to how there is a second side when there is not a first side. For examination purposes, it shall be considered as “a side”.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 4, and 7-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102 (a)(1) as being anticipated by Kinomoto (US20220409175A1).
Regarding claim 1, Kinomoto teaches a distal end component portion for use with an endoscope, the distal end component portion comprising (fig. 2 distal end portion 44 of an ultrasonic endoscope [0025]):
a distal end portion configured to be arranged at a distal end of an insertion portion of the endoscope (fig. 2 distal end portion 44 is at the distal end of the ultrasonic endoscope 10 [0025]); and
a channel communicating with a proximal end side of the distal end portion from an opening on an outer surface of the distal end portion (fig. 3 communication path 90 [0034]),
wherein the channel includes:
a transition portion (see annotated fig. 3);
a first portion extending distally from the transition portion along a first direction relative to the opening(see annotated fig. 3 the first portion extends distally from the transition portion); and
a second portion extending proximally directly from the transition portion along a longitudinal direction forming a first angle that is an obtuse angle to the first direction (see annotated fig. 3 the second portion extends proximally and is at an obtuse angle with the first direction), and
the first portion comprising a first recess having a first surface that recesses from the opening and the first surface has a slope that extends toward the distal end side in a third direction forming a second angle with respect to the first direction, the second angle being larger than the first angle; (see annotated fig. 3 the second angle forms a reflex angle) and
the first surface extends to the opening (see annotated fig. 3, the first surface extends to the opening).
Regarding claim 4, Kinomoto teaches the portion of claim 1, wherein Kinomoto further teaches wherein the opening has a circular shape (fig. 2 the opening 91 is circular), and the first surface increases a diameter of the circular shape (see annotated fig. 3 the first surface increases the diameter of the circular shape).
Regarding claim 7, Kinomoto teaches the portion of claim 1, wherein Kinomoto further teaches wherein the first portion further comprising a second recess having a second surface that recesses from the opening towards a second side in the direction in which the first direction extends (see annotated fig. 3 below, the second recess recessed towards a second side).
Regarding claim 8, Kinomoto teaches the portion of claim 1, wherein Kinomoto further teaches wherein the distal end portion has a distal end surface intersecting a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion (see annotated fig. 3, the distal end surface intersects the longitudinal direction (horizontal)) and a side surface along the longitudinal direction (see annotated fig. 3 the side surface is along the longitudinal direction), and the opening is in the distal end surface (see annotated fig. 3, the opening is in the distal end surface).
Regarding claim 9, Kinomoto teaches the portion of claim 8, wherein Kinomoto further teaches wherein the distal end portion includes a balloon groove for holding a balloon band (fig. 3 first balloon groove 154 [0032]), and the opening is located distally relative to the balloon groove (fig. 3 the opening of path 90 is distal to the first ballon groove 154).
Regarding claim 10, Kinomoto teaches the portion of claim 1, wherein Kinomoto further teaches wherein the distal end portion has a distal end surface intersecting a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion (see annotated fig. 3, the distal end surface intersects the longitudinal direction (horizontal)) and a side surface along the longitudinal direction (see annotated fig. 3 the side surface is along the longitudinal direction), and the opening is on the side surface (see annotated fig. 3, the opening is on the side surface).
Regarding claim 11, Kinomoto teaches the portion of claim 10, wherein Kinomoto further teaches wherein the distal end portion includes a balloon groove for holding a balloon band on the proximal end side (fig. 3 balloon groove 156 [0032]), and the opening is located distally relative to the balloon groove (fig. 3 the opening of path 90 is proximally to the ballon groove 156).
Regarding claim 12, Kinomoto teaches an endoscope insertion portion comprising (fig. 1 insertion portion 12 [0025]): the distal end component according to claim 1 (see above); and the insertion portion having the distal end at which the distal end component portion is arranged (fig. 1 the insertion portion 12 comprises the distal end portion [0025]).
Regarding claim 13, Kinomoto teaches an endoscope comprising (fig. 1 endoscope apparatus 1 [0025]): the distal end component according to claim 1 (see above); and the insertion portion having the distal end at which the distal end component portion is arranged (fig. 1 endoscope apparatus 1 comprises the distal end portion [0025]).
Regarding claim 14, Kinomoto teaches an ultrasound endoscope comprising (fig. 1 endoscope apparatus 1 [0025]): the distal end component portion according to claim 1 (see above); and the insertion portion having the distal end at which the distal end component portion is arranged (fig. 1 endoscope apparatus comprises the distal end portion [0025]), wherein the distal end component further comprises an ultrasound transducer (fig. 2 ultrasonic transducers [0027]).
Regarding claim 15, Kinomoto teaches the portion according to claim 1, wherein Kinomoto further teaches the channel has a first dimension at the opening along a direction orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion, wherein the channel has a second dimension at a position located proximally relative to the opening along the direction, and wherein the first dimension is larger than the second dimension (see annotated fig. 3 below, the first dimension which corresponds to the depth of the opening is larger than the second dimension which corresponds to the radius of the path 90).
Regarding claim 16, Kinomoto teaches the portion according to claim 1, wherein Kinomoto further teaches the channel has a first dimension at the opening along a direction orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion, wherein the channel has a second dimension at the transition portion along the direction, and wherein the first dimension is larger than the second dimension (see annotated fig. 3 below, the first dimension which corresponds to the depth of the opening is larger than the second dimension which corresponds to the radius of the transition portion of the path 90).
Regarding claim 17, Kinomoto teaches the portion of claim 1, wherein Kinomoto further teaches wherein the channel has a dimension along a direction orthogonal to a longitudinal direction of the insertion portion, the dimension decreasing toward the proximal end side (see annotated fig. 3 below the dimension (radius) becomes small towards the proximal end side).
Regarding claim 18, Kinomoto teaches the portion of claim 1, wherein Kinomoto further teaches wherein the second angle is reflex angle (see annotated fig. 3 the second angle is a reflex angle), and the first angle is minor angle (see annotated fig. 3 the first angle is a minor angle).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinomoto as applied to claim 1, and further in view of Fujii et al., (JP2002085339A) (Examiner Translation Provided).
Regarding claim 5, Kinomoto teaches the portion of claim 1, wherein Kinomoto further teaches wherein the opening has a circular shape (fig. 2 the opening 91 is circular), but fails to explicitly disclose wherein the first surface has a semicircular shape whose diameter is smaller than that of the circular shape
However, in the same endoscope field of endeavor, Fujii teaches wherein the first surface has a semicircular shape whose diameter is smaller than that of the circular shape (fig. 3 lines 100-101 the water nozzle 6 has a semicircular cross section).
It would be obvious to substitute the nozzle shape of Kinomoto with the semicircular shape taught by Fujii, as both inventions relate to endoscope with a channel, and would yield the predictable result of an endoscope with a channel that has a semicircular shape to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill in the art would be able to perform such a substitution, and the results of Kinomoto having a channel with a semicircular shape are reasonably predictable.
Claim 6 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kinomoto in view of Nakamura et al., (US20110004063A1).
Regarding claim 6, Kinomoto teaches the portion of claim 1, wherein Kinomoto further teaches wherein a depth in which the first surface recesses from the opening (see annotated fig. 3 the first surface is recessed from the opening) but is silent regarding the .3 mm or larger.
In the same ultrasonic endoscopic field of endeavor, Nakamura teaches of a .8mm ([0033] the air supply tube is 1 mm in diameter).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill to substitute the diameter of the channel of Kinomoto with the diameter of Nakamura, as both inventions relate to endoscopes and would yield the predictable result of an endoscope with a 1mm diameter channel to one of ordinary skill in the art. One of ordinary skill would be able to perform such a substitution, and the results of Kinomoto having a channel that is 1mm diameter are reasonably predictable. One of ordinary skill would understand that if the diameter of the path of Kinomoto is 1mm, then the recess of figure 3 would have to be more than .3 mm deep since the recess is similar in depth as the diameter of the path 90.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 06/23/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant claims that the features of claim 1 are not taught by Kinomoto, and doesn’t result in the advantages that the Applicant’s invention has, such as snagging of a cleaning brush near the opening is suppressed
Examiner disagrees. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., “snagging of the brush near the opening is suppressed”) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993). Further, Examiner has now changed how fig. 3 of Kinomoto reads upon the limitations of amended claim 1, and thus teaches claim 1 based on the annotated figure (see annotated fig.3 above).
For these reasons above, claim 1 remains rejected by Kinomoto.
The remaining claims remain rejected for substantially the same reasons as above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/MICHAEL YIMING FANG/Examiner, Art Unit 3798
/PASCAL M BUI PHO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3798