DETAILED ACTION
Introduction
Claims 1-20 are currently pending in this application and are subject to examination herein.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/25/2024 is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they include the following reference character(s) not mentioned in the description: 138 (Fig. 1).
The drawings are objected to as failing to comply with 37 CFR 1.84(p)(5) because they do not include the following reference sign(s) mentioned in the description: 233 (Para. [0083]).
Specification
The disclosure is objected to because of the following informalities: knockdown rollers 118 appears to have been inadvertently recited as knockdown rollers 142 (Para. [0047]).
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Objections
Claim 1 is objected to because of the following informalities: Claim 1 recites “a base cutter assembly couple to the frame . . . .”, which it is believed should be “a base cutter assembly coupled to the frame . . . .” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 13-17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 13 is rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because the claim includes the recitation of “. . . includes an imaging device at the feed roller . . . .” (Claim 13 at line 2. However, Claim 13 depends from Claim 11 which recites “feed rollers”. As such, the metes and bounds of Claim 13 are unable to be determined because it is unclear which of the plurality of feed rollers has the imaging device. Applicant may wish to amend Claim 13 to recite “. . . includes an imaging device at one or more of the feed rollers . . . .” For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret Claim 13 to require the imaging device to be provided at any one or more of the feed rollers.
Claims 14-17 depend, either directly or ultimately, from Claim 13 and are, therefore, likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite.
Claim 16 is further rejected as indefinite under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) because the claim recites “. . . operatively connected to one of or both of the crop divider or the knockdown roller . . . .” (Claim 16 at lines 2-3). However, Claim 16 depends from Claim 11 which recites “. . . a first crop divider spaced from a second divider . . . .” As such, the metes and bounds of Claim 16 are unable to be determined because it is unclear whether one or both of first and second crop dividers is intended to be recited therein and whether the “one or both of” language refers to one or both of the first and second crop dividers or the knockdown roller or all of the above. Applicant may wish to amend Claim 16 to recite . . operatively connected to one of or both of the first or second crop dividers or to the knockdown roller . . . .” For purposes of examination, the Examiner will interpret Claim 16 as requiring operative connection to any one or more of first crop divider, second crop divider or the knockdown roller.
Claim 17 depends directly from Claim 16 and is, therefore, likewise rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) as indefinite.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 and 7-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by U.S. Pat. Pub. No. 2024/0065157 to Infantini et al. (hereinafter Infantini).
Regarding claim 1, Infantini discloses a sugarcane harvester (harvester 10) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0041], [0044], [0046]-[0051], [0055]-[0064], [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0075]-[0080], [0083]) for harvesting a sugarcane crop having cane stalks, the sugarcane harvester comprising:
a frame (frame 12) (Fig. 1; Para. [0035], [0047], [0060], [0067], [0103], [0107]);
a base cutter assembly (base cutter assembly 50) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0038]-[0039], [0044]-[0048], [0052]) couple to the frame (frame 12) (Fig. 1; Para. [0035], [0047], [0060], [0067], [0103], [0107]) and configured to cut the cane stalks at a base (Fig. 1; Paras. [0038]-[0039], [0044]-[0048], [0052]);
a header (harvested material divider 38) (Fig. 1; Para. [0037], [0044]) coupled to the frame (frame 12) (Fig. 1; Para. [0035], [0047], [0060], [0067], [0103], [0107]), the header (harvested material divider 38) (Fig. 1; Para. [0037], [0044]) including a crop divider (spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Para. [0037]) configured to position the cane stalks with respect to the header (harvested material divider 38) (Fig. 1; Para. [0037], [0044]), wherein the crop divider (spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) is rotatable about a divider rotational axis (axis of spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]);
a knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]), coupled to the frame (frame 12) (Fig. 1; Para. [0035], [0047], [0060], [0067], [0103], [0107]), wherein the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]) is configured to direct the positioned cane stalk to the base cutter assembly, wherein the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]) is rotatable about a roller rotational axis;
an imaging system (imaging system including vision-based sensor 108) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) configured to provide crop information of the sugarcane crop (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]);
a controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) operatively connected to the imaging system (imaging system including vision-based sensor 108) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) and configured to receive the crop information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]), wherein the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) transmits one or more control signals (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]) in response to the crop information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) to one or both of the crop divider (spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Para. [0037]) and the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claim 7, Infantini discloses the sugarcane harvester of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a sugarcane harvester (harvester 10) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0041], [0044], [0046]-[0051], [0055]-[0064], [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0075]-[0080], [0083]) wherein the crop information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) includes at least one of crop direction (Para. [0076]), alignment of the crop (Para. [0076]), and crop height.
Regarding claim 8, Infantini discloses the sugarcane harvester of claim 7 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a sugarcane harvester (harvester 10) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0041], [0044], [0046]-[0051], [0055]-[0064], [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0075]-[0080], [0083]) further comprising a machine speed sensor (one or more of speed sensors 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0057], [0060], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) coupled to the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]), wherein the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) receives a speed signal provided by the machine speed sensor (one or more of speed sensors 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0057], [0060], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) and the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) adjusts a speed of the crop divider (spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Para. [0037]) in response to the speed signal (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 9, Infantini discloses the sugarcane harvester of claim 8 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a sugarcane harvester (harvester 10) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0041], [0044], [0046]-[0051], [0055]-[0064], [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0075]-[0080], [0083]) further comprising a crop feed flow sensor (Paras. [0031], [0050]) coupled to the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]), wherein the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) receives a crop feed flow signal provided by the crop feed flow sensor (Paras. [0031], [0050]) and the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) adjusts a speed of the crop divider (spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Para. [0037]) in response to the crop feed flow signal (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 10, Infantini discloses the sugarcane harvester of claim 8 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a sugarcane harvester (harvester 10) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0041], [0044], [0046]-[0051], [0055]-[0064], [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0075]-[0080], [0083]) further comprising a crop feed flow sensor (Paras. [0031], [0050]) coupled to the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]), wherein the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) receives a crop feed flow signal provided by the crop feed flow sensor (Paras. [0031], [0050]) and the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) adjusts a speed of the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]) in response to the crop feed flow signal (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 11, Infantini discloses a crop flow system for a sugarcane harvester (harvester 10) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0041], [0044], [0046]-[0051], [0055]-[0064], [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0075]-[0080], [0083]) harvesting a sugarcane crop having cane stalks, the crop flow system comprising:
a base cutter assembly (base cutter assembly 50) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0038]-[0039], [0044]-[0048], [0052]) configured to cut the cane stalks at a base of the cane stalks;
a header (harvested material divider 38 and/or topper assembly 30 of harvested material processing system 28) (Fig. 1; Para. [0036], [0037], [0044]) coupled to the frame (frame 12) (Fig. 1; Para. [0035], [0047], [0060], [0067], [0103], [0107]) including a cane topper (topper assembly 30 of harvested material processing system 28) (Fig. 1; Para. [0036], [0037], [0044]), and a first crop divider (first spiral feed roller 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) spaced from a second divider (second spiral feed roller 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]), wherein each of the first crop divider (first spiral feed roller 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) and the second crop divider (second spiral feed roller 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) are driven about a respective rotational axis by crop divider drivers (Paras. [0037], [0044]);
a knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]) configured to direct the cane stalk to the base cutter assembly (base cutter assembly 50) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0038]-[0039], [0044]-[0048], [0052]), wherein the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]) is located downstream of the crop dividers (spiral feed rollers 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) along a flow path and is rotatable about a roller rotational axis;
feed rollers (bottom roller(s) 54 and/or top roller(s) 56 of food roller assembly 52) (Fig. 1; Para. [0039]) located downstream of the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]) along the flow path;
an imaging system (imaging system including vision-based sensor 108) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) configured to provide crop information of the sugarcane crop (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]);
a controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) operatively connected to the imaging system (imaging system including vision-based sensor 108) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) and configured to receive the crop information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]), wherein the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) transmits one or more control signals (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]) in response to the crop information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) to a divider driver of the first crop divider (first spiral feed roller 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) or the second crop divider (second spiral feed roller 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) to adjust a rotational speed thereof (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]), and to a roller driver of the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]) to adjust a roller speed thereof (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]).
Regarding claim 12, Infantini discloses the crop flow system of claim 11 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a crop flow system wherein the imaging system includes an on-board imaging device (vision-based sensor(s) 108) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) to provide on-board image information of the sugarcane crop (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]), wherein the on-board image information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) is received by the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) to adjust the rotational speed of the first and second crop divider (first and second spiral feed rollers 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) and the roller speed of the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claim 13, Infantini discloses the crop flow system of claim 12 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a crop flow system wherein the on-board imaging system (imaging system including vision-based sensor 108) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) includes an imaging device at the feed roller (e.g., “proximate to the elevator housing 72” could be considered at the feed roller (i.e., near the rearward-most bottom roller 54 or top roller 56 because the claim limitation does not identify which feed roller)) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) configured to transmit a feed roller imaging signal to the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) to identify a flow rate of sugarcane stalk along the flow path (Para. [0050]).
Regarding claim 14, Infantini discloses the crop flow system of claim 13 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a crop flow system wherein the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]), in response to the identified flow rate, adjusts (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]) the rotational speed of the first (first spiral feed roller 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) and second crop divider (second spiral feed roller 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) and the roller speed of the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claim 15, Infantini discloses the crop flow system of claim 13 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a crop flow system wherein the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]), in response to the identified flow rate, adjusts (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]) a position of the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claim 16, Infantini discloses the crop flow system of claim 15 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a crop flow system further comprising one or more pressure sensors (pressure sensor(s) 104) (Fig. 1; Para. [0048], [0056], [0064], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) or one or more speed sensors (speed sensors 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0057], [0060], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) operatively connected to one of or both of the crop divider (first and/or second spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) or the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]), wherein each of the one or more pressure sensors (pressure sensor(s) 104) (Fig. 1; Para. [0048], [0056], [0064], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) provides pressure information and each the one or more speed sensors (speed sensors 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0057], [0060], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) provides speed information.
Regarding claim 17, Infantini discloses the crop flow system of claim 16 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a crop flow system wherein the pressure information (pressure information from one or more of pressure sensor(s) 104) (Fig. 1; Para. [0048], [0056], [0064], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) and the speed information (speed information from one or more of speed sensors 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0057], [0060], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) is fused with the on-board image information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]), and the fused information is transmitted to the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) to adjust an operating condition (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]) of the crop divider (first and/or second spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) or the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-6 and 18-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Infantini in view of German Pat. Pub. No. DE 102021124212 A1 to Greuel et al. (hereinafter Greuel).
Regarding claim 2, Infantini discloses the sugarcane harvester of claim 1 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a sugarcane harvester (harvester 10) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0041], [0044], [0046]-[0051], [0055]-[0064], [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0075]-[0080], [0083]) wherein the imaging system (imaging system including vision-based sensor 108) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) includes an on-board imaging device (vision-based sensor 108) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) to provide on-board image information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) of the sugarcane crop (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]), wherein the on-board image information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) provides the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) with a crop density.
However, Infantini discloses only an on-board imaging device and fails to does not expressly disclose an off-board imaging device configured to provide off-board image information of the sugarcane crop and fusing the off-board image information with the on-board image information to provide the controller with a crop density. Nevertheless, Greuel teaches a sugarcane harvester (P. 4 at lines 15-24) comprising an off-board imaging device (UAV sensors 224) (P. 7 at lines 16-37; p. 8 at lines 16-23; p. 12 at lines 1-7) configured to provide off-board image information of the sugarcane crop and fusing the off-board image information with the on-board image information to provide the controller with a crop density. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sugarcane harvester disclosed in Infantini with the remote, off-board, UAV sensor taught in Greuel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a greater amount of sugarcane crop information to the processor to more precisely control and automate the sugarcane harvesting process of the sugarcane harvester. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sugarcane harvester disclosed in Infantini with the remote, off-board, UAV sensor taught in Greuel with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 3, the combination of Infantini and Greuel teaches the sugarcane harvester of claim 2 (see above). Furthermore, the combination of Infantini and Greuel teaches a sugarcane harvester wherein the off-board image information and the on-board image information are fused to provide the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) with conditions of the cane stalk (Para. [0076]) prior to being positioned by the crop divider (spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Para. [0037]).
Regarding claim 4, the combination of Infantini and Greuel teaches the sugarcane harvester of claim 2 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a sugarcane harvester further comprising one or more pressure sensors (pressure sensor(s) 104) (Fig. 1; Para. [0048], [0056], [0064], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) or one or more speed sensors (speed sensors 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0057], [0060], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) operatively connected to one of or both of the crop divider (spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) or the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]), wherein each of the one or more pressure sensors (pressure sensor(s) 104) (Fig. 1; Para. [0048], [0056], [0064], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) provides pressure information and each the one or more speed sensors (speed sensors 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0057], [0060], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) provides speed information.
Regarding claim 5, the combination of Infantini and Greuel teaches the sugarcane harvester of claim 4 (see above). Furthermore, the combination of Infantini and Greuel teaches a sugarcane harvester wherein the pressure information (from one or more of pressure sensor(s) 104) (Fig. 1; Para. [0048], [0056], [0064], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) and the speed information (from one or more of speed sensors 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0057], [0060], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) is fused with the off-board image information (information from UAV sensors 224) (P. 7 at lines 16-37; p. 8 at lines 16-23; p. 12 at lines 1-7) and the on-board image information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]), and the fused information is transmitted to the controller (processor 210) (Fig. 3; Para. [0065], [0074]-[0075], [0087]-[0088]) to adjust operating conditions (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]) of the crop divider (spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044]) or the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]).
Regarding claim 6, the combination of Infantini and Greuel teaches the sugarcane harvester of claim 5 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a sugarcane harvester (harvester 10) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0041], [0044], [0046]-[0051], [0055]-[0064], [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0075]-[0080], [0083]) wherein the one or more pressure sensors (pressure sensor(s) 104) (Fig. 1; Para. [0048], [0056], [0064], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) or one or more speed sensors (speed sensors 100) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0057], [0060], [0066]-[0067], [0103], [0107]) are operatively connected to one of the basecutter (base cutter assembly 50) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0048]) or a chopper (Fig. 1; Paras. [0046], [0048]) configured to cut the cane stalks into billets (Fig. 1; Para. [0048]).
Regarding claim 18, Infantini discloses a method of adjusting a flow rate of harvested sugarcane crop moving through a sugarcane harvester (harvester 10) (Abstract; Fig. 1; Paras. [0034]-[0036], [0041], [0044], [0046]-[0051], [0055]-[0064], [0066]-[0067], [0069]-[0070], [0073], [0075]-[0080], [0083]) during a harvesting operation of a sugarcane crop, the method comprising:
imaging the sugarcane crop with an onboard imaging system (imaging system including vision-based sensor 108) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) to provide sugarcane crop condition information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) of the sugarcane crop to be harvested, wherein the sugarcane crop information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) includes at least one of sugarcane crop density (Para. [0076]), sugarcane crop alignment (Para. [0076]), and sugarcane height information;
identifying a divider rotational speed of a crop divider (spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Para. [0037]) as the harvester harvests the sugarcane crop;
identifying a roller rotational speed of a knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]) as the harvester harvests the sugarcane crop;
identifying a crop flow of the harvested sugarcane along a crop flow path from the crop divider (spiral feed roller(s) 40) (Fig. 1; Para. [0037]), to the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]), and to a feed roller (bottom roller(s) 54 and/or top roller(s) 56 of food roller assembly 52) (Fig. 1; Para. [0039]); and
adjusting (Fig. 3; Para. [0075]) at least one of the identified divider rotational speed or the identified roller rotational speed based on the sugarcane crop information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) and the identified crop flow.
However, Infantini discloses only an on-board imaging device and fails to does not expressly disclose an off-board imaging device configured to provide off-board image information of the sugarcane crop. Nevertheless, Greuel teaches a sugarcane harvester (P. 4 at lines 15-24) comprising an off-board imaging device (UAV sensors 224) (P. 7 at lines 16-37; p. 8 at lines 16-23; p. 12 at lines 1-7) configured to provide off-board image information of the sugarcane crop. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sugarcane harvester disclosed in Infantini with the remote, off-board, UAV sensor taught in Greuel with a reasonable expectation of success in order to provide a greater amount of sugarcane crop information to the processor to more precisely control and automate the sugarcane harvesting process of the sugarcane harvester. Furthermore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the sugarcane harvester disclosed in Infantini with the remote, off-board, UAV sensor taught in Greuel with a reasonable expectation of success, since it has been held to be within the general skill of a worker in the art to combine prior art elements according to known methods to yield predictable results is obvious. KSR International Co. v Teleflex Inc., 550 U.S. 398, 416, 82 USPQ2d 1385, 1395-97 (2007).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of Infantini and Greuel teaches the method of clam 18 (see above). Furthermore, Infantini discloses a method further comprising identifying a roller position of the knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]) and adjusting the roller position of the identified knockdown roller (knockdown roller 44) (Fig. 1; Paras. [0037], [0044], [0050]) based on the sugarcane crop information (upcoming harvested material mass within field 24) (Fig. 1; Para. [0050]) and the identified crop flow.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claim 20 is objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. U.S. Pat. No. 9,788,485 to Craig et al. relates to a variable speed elevator control system for a sugarcane harvester. Int’l. Pat. Pub. No. WO 2024/044830 to Lucca et al. relates to a system and method for control of a sugarcane harvester. Int’l. Pat. Pub. No. WO 2019/173256 A1 to CNH Industrial Brasil LTDA relates to a sensor for detecting crop fill level in a sugarcane harvester. Chinese Pat. Pub. No. CN 114303608 A to Van Dyk et al. relates to machine control of a harvester, such as a sugarcane harvester, using a prediction map and utilizing on-board and off-board sensors.
/CLAUDE J BROWN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3671