DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1, 6, 9, 15 & 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Pronto et al. (U.S. 2017/0097915 A1) in view of Eller et al. (U.S. 6,450,822 B1).
Regarding claim 1, Pronto et al. disclose in Fig. 3, a rackmount enclosure (monitoring device 10 arranged in rack 20, see [0029]); a rackmount enclosure lid coupled to the rackmount enclosure, the rackmount enclosure and the rackmount enclosure lid defining a shape of the signal access extender apparatus (device housing occupying rack space, see [0053]); a printed circuit board inserted into a front end of the rackmount enclosure (acquisition boards 121 to 12n inserted into slots, see [0033]); a circuit function board included in the rackmount enclosure and coupled at one end of the circuit function board to a harness and at another end of the circuit function board to the printed circuit board (wires 101 linked to bus 40 and routed to acquisition boards 121 to 12n, see [0033]); wherein the signal access extender apparatus being insertable into a compartment of a rack system to replace a unit in the compartment (device 10 plugged into connector 21 and arranged in rack 20, see [0029]); and the signal access extender apparatus electronically coupling to the harness and to the printed circuit board (see [0033]).
Pronto et al. do not explicitly disclose the shape of the signal access extender apparatus being substantially the same as the unit being replaced and being such that the signal access extender apparatus fits within and substantially fills the compartment.
Eller discloses shape of the signal access extender apparatus being substantially the same as the unit being replaced and being such that the signal access extender apparatus fits within and substantially fills the compartment (see Fig. 3, wherein an aircraft on-board avionics rack 104 having an unoccupied slot 108 with an on-board rack mounted rack/LRU connector interface 109 at the inside end, and an avionics line replaceable unit 112 configured to be removed from and inserted into the slot for coupling with the rack connector interface, see column 2, lines 45–67; Eller further discloses a TUA 2220 having an LRU front 2226 and an avionics line replaceable unit TUA/LRU connector 124 disposed on floating connector plate 2227, thereby showing a front structure and connector arrangement for interfacing with an LRU in the rack/test environment (column 3, lines 23–60).
It would have been obvious to modify Pronto et al. in view of Eller to configure the monitoring device to conform to the rack slot form factor of the replaceable unit so that the device can be inserted into the same compartment as the replaced unit, because Eller teaches a rack slot receiving a removable and insertable LRU through a front connector structure and teaches mating/insertion of an interfacing device in that same rack/LRU environment, which would have suggested using a compatible form factor and connector arrangement to maintain rack compatibility and facilitate testing and monitoring within the existing avionics rack system (column 2, lines 45–67; column 3, lines 23–60 & column 4, lines 10–47).
Regarding claim 6, Pronto et al. & Eller disclose the signal access extender apparatus of claim 1, wherein Pronto et al. further disclose the rackmount enclosure lid is coupled to the rackmount enclosure by fasteners and inserts located on either side of the rackmount enclosure (see Fig. 3, wherein lid 10 fixed to rackmount enclosure 12 by fasteners 16 through inserts 20; fasteners 16 placed on each parallel side of rackmount enclosure 12 with at least one on a front side and at least one on a rear side; see [0033]).
Regarding claim 9, Pronto et al. disclose a testing system for aircraft electronics comprising a monitoring device arranged between a rack and an LRU unit (see [0025]); a rackmount enclosure (see Fig. 1, device 10 arranged in rack 20, see [0029]); a rackmount enclosure lid coupled to the rackmount enclosure, the rackmount enclosure and the rackmount enclosure lid defining a shape of the testing system (device housing occupying rack space, see [0053]); a printed circuit board inserted into a front end of the rackmount enclosure (acquisition boards 121 to 12n inserted into slots, see [0033]); a circuit function board included in the rackmount enclosure and coupled at one end of the circuit function board to a harness and at another end of the circuit function board to the printed circuit board (wires 101 linked to bus 40 and routed to boards, see [0033]); wherein the testing system is insertable into a compartment of a rack system to replace a unit in the compartment (device plugged into connector 21 and arranged in rack 20 see [0029]); and the testing system electronically coupling to the harness and to the printed circuit board (see [0033]).
Pronto et al. do not explicitly disclose the shape of the testing system being substantially the same as the unit being replaced and being such that the testing system fits within and substantially fills the compartment.
Eller discloses shape of the signal access extender apparatus being substantially the same as the unit being replaced and being such that the signal access extender apparatus fits within and substantially fills the compartment (see Fig. 3, wherein an aircraft on-board avionics rack 104 having an unoccupied slot 108 with an on-board rack mounted rack/LRU connector interface 109 at the inside end, and an avionics line replaceable unit 112 configured to be removed from and inserted into the slot for coupling with the rack connector interface, see column 2, lines 45–67; Eller further discloses a TUA 2220 having an LRU front 2226 and an avionics line replaceable unit TUA/LRU connector 124 disposed on floating connector plate 2227, thereby showing a front structure and connector arrangement for interfacing with an LRU in the rack/test environment (column 3, lines 23–60).
It would have been obvious to modify Pronto et al. in view of Eller to configure the monitoring device to conform to the rack slot form factor of the replaceable unit so that the device can be inserted into the same compartment as the replaced unit, because Eller teaches a rack slot receiving a removable and insertable LRU through a front connector structure and teaches mating/insertion of an interfacing device in that same rack/LRU environment, which would have suggested using a compatible form factor and connector arrangement to maintain rack compatibility and facilitate testing and monitoring within the existing avionics rack system (column 2, lines 45–67; column 3, lines 23–60 & column 4, lines 10–47).
Regarding claim 15, Pronto et al. disclose the testing system of claim 9, wherein the rackmount enclosure lid is coupled to the rackmount enclosure by fasteners and inserts located on either side of the rackmount enclosure (see Fig. 1, lid 14 fixed to rackmount enclosure 12 by fasteners 16 through inserts 20 on each parallel side; see [0025] & [0033]).
Regarding claim 18, Pronto et al. disclose a system comprising a first signal access extender apparatus (monitoring device 10 arranged between rack 20 and LRU unit 30 [0025]); a rackmount enclosure (device 10 housed in rack 20 [0029]); a rackmount enclosure lid coupled to the rackmount enclosure, the rackmount enclosure and the rackmount enclosure lid defining a shape (device housing occupying rack space [0053]); a printed circuit board inserted into a front end of the rackmount enclosure (acquisition boards 121–12n inserted into slots of the device [0033]); a circuit function board included in the rackmount enclosure and coupled at one end to a harness and at another end to the printed circuit board (wires 101 linked to bus 40 routed to acquisition boards [0033]); wherein the first signal access extender apparatus being insertable into a compartment of a rack system to replace a unit in the compartment (device 10 plugged into connector 21 and positioned within rack 20 [0029]); the first signal access extender apparatus electronically coupling to the harness and to the printed circuit board (signal routing from bus to acquisition boards [0033]); and a second signal access extender apparatus (additional monitoring devices used within the same avionics rack environment comprising multiple LRUs, see [0024]).
Pronto et al. do not disclose: the shape of the first signal access extender apparatus being substantially the same as the unit being replaced and fitting within and substantially filling the compartment; the shape of the second signal access extender apparatus being substantially the same as the unit being replaced and fitting within and substantially filling the compartment; the shape of the first signal access extender apparatus being different than the shape of the second signal access extender apparatus.
Eller discloses the shape of the first signal access extender apparatus being substantially the same as the unit being replaced and fitting within and substantially filling the compartment; the shape of the second signal access extender apparatus being substantially the same as the unit being replaced and fitting within and substantially filling the compartment; the shape of the first signal access extender apparatus being different than the shape of the second signal access extender apparatus (see Fig. 3, an aircraft avionics rack 104 having several line replaceable units 106 disposed therein and an unoccupied slot 108 configured to receive a removed LRU 112 via a rack/LRU connector interface 109, thereby showing multiple replaceable units installed and removed from corresponding rack compartments, see column 2, lines 45–67; a TUA 2220 including an LRU front 2226 and a TUA/LRU connector 124 disposed on a floating connector plate 2227, thereby showing an interfacing structure having a defined front geometry corresponding to an LRU interface, see column 3, lines 23–60; and that the TUA/LRU connector 124 is configured to receive the LRU connector interface and allow insertion and mating of the LRU into the rack/test environment, including alignment and accommodation during insertion (column 4, lines 10–47).
It would have been obvious to modify Pronto et al. in view of Eller to provide multiple signal access extender apparatuses with shapes corresponding to different replaceable units and rack compartments, because Eller teaches that an avionics rack includes multiple LRU units installed in respective slots and that each unit is inserted and removed through a defined rack slot using compatible connector interfaces and front structures, thereby suggesting that interfacing or monitoring devices should adopt form factors corresponding to the specific LRU configurations to ensure proper insertion, alignment, and electrical coupling within the rack system while enabling flexibility to accommodate different unit types (column 2, lines 45–67; column 3, lines 23–60; column 4, lines 10–47).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 2-5,7-8,11-14,16-17 and 19-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is an examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance:
In term of claim 2, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “wherein the circuit function board comprising: an adapter board coupled to the harness; a first DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter coupled to the harness through the adapter board; a second DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter coupled to the adapter board; and a ribbon cable extending between the first DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter and to the second DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter” in combination with all other elements in claim 1.
In term of claim 11, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “wherein the circuit function board comprising: an adapter board coupled to the harness; a first DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter coupled to the harness through the adapter board; a second DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter coupled to the adapter board; and a ribbon cable extending between the first DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter and to the second DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter” in combination with all other elements in claim 9.
In term of claim 19, the prior art of record does not teach alone or in combination of “wherein each circuit function board comprising: an adapter board coupled to the harness; a first DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter coupled to the harness through the adapter board; a second DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter coupled to the adapter board; and a ribbon cable extending between the first DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter and to the second DSUB connector-to-circuit board-to ribbon cable adapter” in combination with all other elements in claim 18.
Claims 3-5, 7-8, 12-14,16-17 and 20 variously depending from claims 2, 9 & 11 are allowable for the same above reasons.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
U.S. 9,137,038 B1 to Mazuk et al. disclose a node communication controller (NCC) suitable for use in a line-replaceable unit (LRU) of a modular avionics system may include one or more embedded processors configured to host one or more functions associated with at least one avionics module of an avionics system, an input/output (I/O) controller, and one or more I/O ports, wherein the I/O controller is configured to route data between the one or more embedded processors and the at least one avionics module via the one or more I/O ports and a network communication bus, wherein the I/O controller is further configured to route data between a host processor of the LRU and an additional avionics module via the one or more I/O ports and the network communication bus.
U.S. 5,947,753 to Chapman et al. disclose a circuit board module includes a plurality of high density edge connectors in which the contacts are arranged in rows, with contact tails extending from the connectors for electrical connection to a circuit board carrying electrical components. Instead of terminating the contacts directly to pads or terminals on the principal surface of the circuit board on which the electrical components are situated, however, the contact tails are terminated to pads or terminals on pairs of intermediate circuit boards connected to the main boards, the intermediate circuit boards each providing two termination surfaces rather than one, thereby effectively doubling the space available for termination. The intermediate circuit boards are connected to the main circuit board by a rigid-flex interconnection, thus facilitating assembly of the connectors to a heatsink or frame of the circuit board following termination of the contact tails to the intermediate circuit boards.
U.S. 5,930,428 to Irwin et al. disclose a connected fiber optic electrical or avionics system is disclosed. The system includes a line replaceable unit (LRU), such as an avionics primary flight display LRU, adapted for insertion into a chassis such as an airframe. An LRU connector coupled to the LRU and adapted for mating with a chassis connector plug includes an active optoelectronic device mounted therein for operatively coupling to an optical termination in the chassis connector plug. Inclusion of the active optoelectronic device in the LRU connector eliminates the need for the active optoelectronic device to be mounted on a printed circuit board, as well as the need for a fiber pigtail connecting the connector and the printed circuit board.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRUNG NGUYEN whose telephone number is (571)272-1966. The examiner can normally be reached on Mon- Friday 8AM - 4:00PM Eastern Time. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Huy Phan can be reached on 571-272-7924. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300. Information regarding the status of an application may be obtained from the Patent Application Information Retrieval (PAIR) system. Status information for published applications may be obtained from either Private PAIR or Public PAIR. Status information for unpublished applications is available through Private PAIR only. For more information about the PAIR system, see http://pair-direct.uspto.gov. Should you have questions on access to the Private PAIR system, contact the Electronic Business Center (EBC) at 866-217-9197 (toll-free). If you would like assistance from a USPTO Customer Service Representative or access to the automated information system, call 800-786-9199 (IN USA OR CANADA) or 571-272-1000.
Examiner: /Trung Q. Nguyen/- Art 2858
April 21, 2026
/GIOVANNI ASTACIO-OQUENDO/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2858 4/24/2026