DETAILED ACTION
Claims 1-20 are currently being examined.
Claim Objections
Claims 1-2 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 1: in line 4, “first outer lateral side” should read as – first outer side --.
Claim 2: in line 2, “a second base assembly” should read as – the [[a]] second base assembly --.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 6-11, 13-16 and 19-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Buxton 4585189.
Regarding independent claim 1, Buxton teaches a mounting assembly (Fig. 3) to support a thrust reverser (col 3 lines 32-34 describe thrust reversers incorporated into first and second cowling sections 18 and 19 which are shown in Fig. 3 and shown in open position as 18’, 19’ in Fig. 3A) that is mounted to an engine mount (pylon 16, i.e., an engine mount, in Fig. 3; engine 12 is shown mounted to engine mount 16 via the mounting assembly in Fig. 3 which is described in col 3 lines 10-16) of an aircraft (10 in Figs. 1-2; col 3 lines 12-13 describe 10 is an aircraft with fuselage 15), the mounting assembly comprising:
a support assembly (40, 54A, 54B, 42, 44A, 44B, 48A, 48B in Fig. 3A) configured to connect to the engine mount of the aircraft (40 is configured to connect to 16 as shown in Fig. 3), the support assembly comprising a first base assembly (44A,44B) with a first lateral inner side (45A, 45B) and a first outer lateral side (60A,60B) opposite the first lateral inner side (60A,60B is opposite 45A,45B in Figs. 3A and 4), and a second base assembly (48A,48B) with a second lateral inner side (50A,50B) and a second lateral outer side (64A,64B) opposite the second lateral inner side (64A,64B is opposite 50A,50B in Figs. 3A and 4);
wherein the first base assembly is mounted adjacent the second base assembly (as seen in Figs. 3A and 4, 44A,44B is mounted adjacent 48A,48B) with the first lateral inner side positioned at the second lateral inner side (as seen in Figs. 3A and 4, 45A,45B is positioned at 50A,50B between rollers 52A,52B respectively in parallel guide tracks 54A and 54B);
a first arm (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A) pivotally connected to the first lateral outer side of the first base assembly (as seen in annotated Fig. 3A first arm is pivotally connected to 60A,60B at pivot axis point 62 per col 4 lines 3-8) and configured to connect to a first section of the thrust reverser (first arm is configured to connect to 18’ in Fig. 3A);
a second arm (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A) pivotally connected to the second lateral outer side of the second base assembly (as seen in annotated Fig. 3A second arm is pivotally connected to 64A,64B at pivot axis point 66 per col 4 lines 3-8) and configured to connect to a second section of the thrust reverser (second arm is configured to connect to 19’ in Fig. 3A); and
wherein the first arm and the second arm support the first section and the second section of the thrust reverser at different angular positions (Fig. 3 shows 18 and 19 supported respectively by first arm and second arm at one angular position which is partially open and Figs. 2 and 3A show 18’ and 19’ supported at another angular position which is fully open).
Regarding claim 2, Buxton further teaches the first base assembly (44A,44B Fig. 4) and a second base assembly (48A,48B Fig. 4) are mounted adjacent to each other (44A,44B and 48A,48B are mounted adjacent each other) and with the first lateral inner side and the second lateral inner side abutting together (45A abuts 50A and 45B abuts 50B in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 3, Buxton further teaches the first base assembly and the second base assembly are aligned in a common plane (44A and 48A are aligned in plane of Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 6, Buxton further teaches the support assembly, the first arm, and the second arm are aligned in a common plane (in the plane of the section shown in Fig. 4 which is taken through line 4-4 in Fig. 1, the first arm, second arm and 44A, 44B, 48A, 48B of support assembly are aligned).
Regarding claim 7, Buxton further teaches the first arm pivots about a first pivot axis (axis through pivot axis point 62 in Fig. 4; first arm pivots about axis through 62) and the second arm pivots about a second pivot axis (axis through pivot axis point 66 in Fig. 4; second arm pivots about axis through 66) wherein the first pivot axis and the second pivot axis are spaced apart and parallel (axis through 62 and axis through 66 in Fig. 4 are spaced apart and parallel).
Regarding independent claim 8, Buxton teaches a mounting assembly (Fig. 3) to support a thrust reverser (col 3 lines 32-34 describe thrust reversers incorporated into first and second cowling sections 18 and 19 which are shown in Fig. 3 and shown in open position as 18’, 19’ in Fig. 3A) that is mounted to an engine mount (pylon 16, i.e., an engine mount, in Fig. 3; engine 12 is shown mounted to engine mount 16 via the mounting assembly in Fig. 3 which is described in col 3 lines 10-16) of an aircraft (10 in Figs. 1-2; col 3 lines 12-13 describe 10 is an aircraft with fuselage 15), the mounting assembly comprising:
a beam assembly (16, 40, 54A, 54B, 42 in Fig. 3A) configured to connect to the engine mount (40 of beam assembly is configured to connect to 16 as shown in Fig. 3);
a first base assembly (44A, 44B in Fig. 3A) and a second base assembly (48A, 48B in Fig. 3A) each connected to the beam assembly (44A, 44B and 48A, 48B are each connected to 42 of beam assembly in Fig. 3A), the first base assembly and the second base assembly aligned in a common plane (44A, 44B and 48A, 48B are aligned in plane of the section shown in Fig. 4 which is taken through line 4-4 in Fig. 1);
wherein the first base assembly comprises a first inner edge (45A, 45B) and a first outer edge (60A,60B) opposite the first inner edge (60A,60B is opposite 45A,45B in Figs. 3A and 4), and the second base assembly comprises a second inner edge (50A,50B) and a second outer edge (64A,64B) opposite the second inner edge (64A,64B is opposite 48A,48B in Figs. 3A and 4), and the first outer edge and the second outer edge face outward in opposing lateral directions (60A,60B and 64A,64B face outward away from 46 in opposing lateral directions in Figs. 3A and 4);
a first arm (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A) pivotally connected to the first outer edge of the first base assembly (as shown in Fig. 3 and in Fig. 3A, the first arm is pivotally connected to 60A,60B at pivot axis point 62 per col 4 lines 3-8) and comprising a first mount (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A) configured to connect to a first section (18, 18’) of the thrust reverser (as shown in Fig. 3A, first mount is configured to connect to 18’);
a second arm (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A) pivotally connected to the second outer edge of the second base assembly (as shown in Fig. 3 and in Fig. 3A, the second arm is pivotally connected to 64A,64B at pivot axis point 66 per col 4 lines 3-8) and comprising a second mount (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A) configured to connect to a second section (19, 19’) of the thrust reverser (as shown in Fig. 3A, second mount is configured to connect to 19’); and
wherein the first arm and the second arm pivot between first and second positions to selectively position the first section and the second section of the thrust reverser at different angular positions (as shown in Figs. 2-3A, first arm and the second arm pivot between first and second positions which positions 18 and 19 of the thrust reverser in different angular positions; Fig. 3 shows 18 and 19 at one angular position which is partially open and Figs. 2 and 3A show 18’ and 19’ at another angular position which is fully open).
Regarding claim 9, Buxton further teaches each of the first inner edge and the second inner edge abut together (45A abuts 50A and 45B abuts 50B in Fig. 4).
Regarding claim 10, Buxton further teaches the beam assembly comprises: a beam (16 is a beam as shown in Fig. 3A); and clevis joints (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A) that extend outward from the beam (the clevis joints extend outward from 16 in Fig. 3A) and are configured to connect to the first base assembly and the second base assembly (one of the clevis joints is configured to connect to 44A, 44B via the first mount and the first arm, and the other clevis joint is configured to connect to the 48A, 48B via the second mount and the second arm in annotated Fig. 3A).
Regarding claim 11, Buxton further teaches the beam assembly, the first base assembly, the second base assembly, the first arm, and the second arm are aligned in a common plane (end 46 of 42, 54A, 54B, 44A, 44B, 48A, 48B, first arm and second arm are aligned in plane of the section shown in Fig. 4 which is taken through line 4-4 in Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 13, Buxton further teaches a first block positioned between the first base assembly and the first arm (a first pin or fastener, i.e., a first block, extending through and between the first arm and 44A, 44B at 60A, 60B about which the first arm and 44A, 44B pivot) to support the first arm in the first position (the first block supports the first arm in first position) and a second block positioned between the second base assembly and the second arm (a second pin or fastener, i.e., a second block, extending through and between the second arm and 48A, 48B at 64A, 64B about which the second arm and 48A, 48B pivot) to support the second arm in the first position (the second block supports the second arm in first position).
Regarding independent claim 14, Buxton teaches a method of supporting a thrust reverser (col 3 lines 32-34 describe thrust reversers incorporated into first and second cowling sections 18 and 19 which are shown in Fig. 3 and shown in open position as 18’, 19’ in Fig. 3A) on an engine mount (pylon 16, i.e., an engine mount, in Fig. 3; engine 12 is shown mounted to engine mount 16 via the mounting assembly in Fig. 3 which is described in col 3 lines 10-16) of an aircraft (10 in Figs. 1-2; col 3 lines 12-13 describe 10 is an aircraft with fuselage 15), the method comprising:
connecting a support assembly (40, 54A, 54B, 42, 44A, 44B, 48A, 48B in Fig. 3A) to the engine mount (40 is connected to 16 as shown in Fig. 3);
wherein the support assembly comprises a first base assembly (44A,44B) with a first lateral inner side (45A, 45B) and a first lateral outer side (60A,60B) opposite the first lateral inner side (60A,60B is opposite 45A,45B in Figs. 3A and 4), and a second base assembly (48A,48B) with a second lateral inner side (50A,50B) and a second lateral outer side (64A,64B) opposite the second lateral inner side (64A,64B is opposite 50A,50B in Figs. 3A and 4);
mounting the first base assembly adjacent the second base assembly (44A,44B is mounted adjacent 48A,48B in Figs. 3A and 4);
connecting a first arm (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A) that extends from the first lateral outer side (60A,60B) to a first section of the thrust reverser (18’; first arm is connected to and extends from 60A,60B to first section 18’ of thrust reverser in Fig. 3A);
connecting a second arm (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A) that extends from the second lateral outer side (64A,64B) to a second section of the thrust reverser (19’; second arm is connected to and extends from 64A,64B to second section 19’ of thrust reverser in Fig. 3A);
wherein the first arm is pivotally connected to the first lateral outer side (as shown in Fig. 3 and in Fig. 3A, the first arm is pivotally connected to 60A,60B at pivot axis point 62 per col 4 lines 3-8) and the second arm is pivotally connected to the second lateral outer side (as shown in Fig. 3 and in Fig. 3A, the second arm is pivotally connected to 64A,64B at pivot axis point 66 per col 4 lines 3-8);
positioning the first arm and the second arm at a first angular position relative to the support assembly (Figs. 2 and 3A show the first arm and the second arm at a first angular position relative to the support assembly) and supporting the first section and the second section of the thrust reverser in a first position (in Figs. 2 and 3A 18’ and 19’ are supported in a first position); and
positioning the first arm and the second arm at a second angular position relative to the support assembly (Fig. 3 shows the first arm and the second arm at a second angular position relative to the support assembly) and supporting the first section and the second section of the thrust reverser in a second position (in Fig. 3 18 and 19 are supported in a second position).
Regarding claim 15, Buxton further teaches pivoting the first arm and the second arm about pivot axes that extend through the support assembly (as shown in Figs. 2-3A, first arm and second arm pivot about, respectively, axis of 62 extending through 44A, 44B and axis of 66 extending through 48A, 48B) and pivoting the first section and the second section of the thrust reverser about a thrust reverser axis (18 and 19 are pivoted about a thrust reverser axis, 18 is pivoted about axis of 34 and 19 is pivoted about axis of 36 in light of instant specification [0046] describing thrust reverser pivot axis A, B of Fig. 5A that each section pivots about a respective thrust reverser axis) with the pivot axes and the thrust reverser axis being coincident (coincident is interpreted per Merriam-Webster online dictionary of occupying the same space or time and per instant specification [0057] that pivoting about multiple axes is coincident, i.e., done at the same time: as shown in Figs. 2-3A, pivoting about axes 34, 62, 36, 66 and axis through rollers 52A, 52B is coincident, i.e., done at the same time, when moving 18 and 19 into different positions).
Regarding claim 16, Buxton further teaches connecting the first arm to a first Power Door Open System (PDOS) bracket (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A; first arm is connected to first PDOS bracket in Fig. 3A) on the first section (first PDOS bracket is on 18’) and the second arm to a second PDOS bracket (labeled in annotated Fig. 3A; second arm is connected to second PDOS bracket in Fig. 3A) on the second section (second PDOS bracket is on 19’). Buxton refers to a Power Door Open System of Crudden et al. 4399966 in col 1 lines 18-27 as a system in which each thrust reverser section is controlled by a separate hydraulic actuator, while an objective of Buxton’s invention per col 1 lines 67-68 to col 2 lines 1-2 is to keep the weight of the power system used to open and close the thrust reverser sections at a minimum. This is accomplished by having just one linear actuator 40 to move both 18 and 19 of the thrust reverser per col 3 lines 44-56. Therefore, Buxton teaches a Power Door Open System (PDOS) along with the first and second PDOS brackets as shown in annotated Fig. 3A.
Regarding claim 19, Buxton further teaches supporting the first section and the second section in a first position (position shown in Figs. 2 and 3A) comprises positioning the first section and the second section in a fully open position (per col 2 lines 67-68 to col 3 lines 1-2 Fig. 3A shows fully open position, and per col 4 lines 9-13 describe 18’ and 19’ being in an open position).
Regarding claim 20, Buxton further teaches supporting the first section and the second section in a second position (position shown in Fig. 3) comprises supporting the first section and the second section in a near closed position (18 and 19 are supported in a partially open position, i.e., a near closed position).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 4 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buxton 4585189 in view of Sosnosky et al. 20220177148.
Regarding claim 4, Buxton teaches all that is claimed above but does not explicitly teach the first base assembly and the first arm are mirror images of the second base assembly and the second arm.
Sosnosky teaches a mounting assembly to support a thrust reverser from a pylon extending from a fuselage of an aircraft in Fig. 1D which is similar to Buxton Fig. 2. Sosnosky teaches components of the lower cowl mechanism 102b are generally equivalent to corresponding components of the upper cowl mechanism, but that the shape of the lower inboard pylon forked link 308b may be different from a shape of the upper inboard pylon forked link 308a; the invention also encompasses arrangements in which the upper and lower links have the same shape/bend angle, and where the upper cowl mechanism 102a is a mirror image copy of the lower cowl mechanism 102b (per [0112]).
“When there is a design need or market pressure to solve a problem and there are a finite number of identified, predictable solutions, a person having ordinary skill has good reason to pursue the known options within his or her technical grasp. If this leads to the anticipated success, it is likely not the product of innovation, but of ordinary skill and common sense.” KSR at 1397.
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Buxton to have the first base assembly and the first arm be mirror images of the second base assembly and the second arm as taught by Sosnosky as obvious to try and have a reasonable expectation of success in supporting the first and second sections of the thrust reverser.
Claim(s) 5, 12 and 18 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buxton 4585189 in view of Joret et al. 20170174353.
Buxton teaches all that is claimed above but is silent regarding
Claim 5: the mounting assembly is configured to support the first section and the second section of the thrust reverser within an angular range of 6° to 47°.
Claim 12: the first arm and the second arm are configured to pivot within a range of 6° - 47° relative to respective pivot axes.
Claim 18: moving the first section and the second section of the thrust reverser through an angular range of 6° - 47°.
Joret teaches a propulsion unit for an aircraft and a method for opening a movable cowl of said propulsion unit per [0002]. Joret teaches
(claim 5) a mounting assembly is configured to support a first section and a second section of a thrust reverser within an angular range of 6° to 47° (per [0018] regular maintenance operations concern equipment of the propulsion unit generally positioned close to the gas generator of the turbojet engine, more generally in an area of the propulsion unit having an opening angle of each half-cowl, i.e., first and second sections, of thrust reverser comprised between about 30 and 45 degrees which is within the claimed angular range of 6° to 47°);
(claim 12) the first arm and the second arm are configured to pivot within a range of 6° - 47° relative to respective pivot axes (per [0089] FIG. 7 illustrates the half-cowl 109 in the regular maintenance position, the position in which the half-cowl 109 has pivoted at an angle comprised between about 30 and about 45 degrees relative to its operating position which is within the claimed angular range of 6° to 47°);
(claim 18) moving the first section and the second section of the thrust reverser through an angular range of 6° - 47° (per [0011] in order to carry out maintenance of the turbojet engine 5, it is known to access the suspension mast 3 by pivoting, i.e., moving, each half-cowl 9 of the thrust reverser about axes 19 substantially collinear with a longitudinal axis 21 of the propulsion unit, thanks to the hinges 17, as shown in FIG. 2 schematically illustrating the downstream portion of the propulsion unit 1 in the maintenance position; in this position, each half-cowl 9 of the thrust reverser has pivoted about the axes 19, and an operator can access the turbojet 5 to perform maintenance of the turbojet engine and per [0018] regular maintenance operations concern equipment of the propulsion unit generally positioned close to the gas generator of the turbojet engine, more generally in an area of the propulsion unit having an opening angle of each half-cowl, i.e., first and second sections, of thrust reverser comprised between about 30 and 45 degrees which is within the claimed angular range of 6° to 47°).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Buxton per each of the following limitations regarding claims 5, 12 and 18, respectively,
the mounting assembly configured to support the first section and the second section of the thrust reverser within an angular range of 6° to 47°
the first arm and the second arm are configured to pivot within a range of 6° - 47° relative to respective pivot axes
moving the first section and the second section of the thrust reverser through an angular range of 6° - 47°
as taught by Joret to enable performing regular maintenance operations concerning equipment of the engine of the aircraft generally positioned close to the gas generator of the engine.
Claim(s) 17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Buxton 4585189 in view of Stretton et al. 20210079810.
Regarding claim 17, Buxton teaches all that is claimed above but does not explicitly teach positioning the first arm and the second arm forward of a forward edge of the thrust reverser.
Stretton teaches a mounting assembly (60A Fig. 6) to support a thrust reverser (sections 65 in Fig. 6; [0009] describes thrust reverser outer cowl hinged opening for engine maintenance activities). Stretton teaches hinge structure 60A is at a forward location, i.e., the fore of the thrust reverser cowl doors per [0105].
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art prior to the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the invention of Buxton to include positioning the first arm and the second arm forward of a forward edge of the thrust reverser as taught by Stretton as forward of the forward edge being a location at which an internal height of the nacelle is sufficient to accommodate the first and second arms and other mounting structures of the mounting assembly.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 04/10/2026 have been fully considered but they are not persuasive. Applicant argues that prior art Buxton does not anticipate amended claims 1-2, 8-9 and 14 but as shown above, Buxton does disclose all of the limitations of those claims. Applicant does not argue the dependent claims.
Examiner suggests in a future amendment to clearly define the first base assembly and the second base assembly as separate structures, and have limitations that clearly define a first end surface of the first base assembly which abuts a second end surface of the second base assembly and clarifies that the extent of the first assembly does not overlap the extent of the second assembly such as shown in instant Figure 6 where 54a abuts 54b but 54a does not overlap 54b.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/A.J.H./ /GERALD L SUNG/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3741 Examiner, Art Unit 3741