DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 8-12, & 16-19 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Saffell (GB473690).
Regarding claims 1, 10, & 17, Saffell teaches an enclosure (24-25) comprising: a chassis (24) having an opening therein (Fig. 2); a plurality of hinge pins (15) coupled to the chassis adjacent the opening, with at least one first hinge pin (15 in A) positioned adjacent a first side of the opening (Fig. 2) and at least one second hinge pin (15 in A’) positioned adjacent a second side of the opening opposite the first side (Fig. 2); a cover (25) for the opening (Fig. 4); and a plurality of bolts (26) rotatably carried by the cover, each bolt being aligned with a respective hinge pin when the cover is positioned over the opening in the chassis (Figs. 2-4), and each bolt being rotatable between locked and unlocked positions with respect to its corresponding hinge pin such that when the bolt corresponding to the at least one first hinge pin is in the locked position and the bolt corresponding to the at least one second hinge pin is in the unlocked position, the cover is rotatable about the at least one first hinge pin (p. 2, lines 24-50), when the bolt corresponding to the at least one second hinge pin is in the locked position and the bolt corresponding to the at least one first hinge pin is in the unlocked position, the cover is rotatable about the at least one second hinge pin (p. 2, lines 24-50), and when the bolts corresponding to the at least one first hinge pin and the at least one second hinge pin are in the unlocked position, the cover is removable from the chassis (Fig. 2 & p. 2, lines 24-50).
Regarding claims 2, 11, & 18, Saffell teaches bolts (26) each having a slot (i.e., groove between threads of 26) therein configured to engage the corresponding hinge pin when the bolt is rotated to the locked position (Fig. 2), and to release the corresponding hinge pin when the bolt is rotated to the unlocked position (p. 2, lines 24-50).
Regarding claims 3, 12, & 19, Saffell teaches a plurality of bolt capture blocks (B, B’) removably attached (see Figs. 3-4 & p. 1, lines 81-87, which teach the use of screws to secure B & B’ to the cover (25) - note that, since screws are reversible, the bolt capture blocks (B, B’) would therefore be removable) to the cover (25) and each for receiving a respective bolt (26) therein (Figs. 1-2).
Regarding claims 8 & 16, Saffell teaches a plurality of hinge pin bases (A, A’) each coupling (Fig. 2) a respective hinge pin (15) to the chassis (24).
Regarding claim 9, Saffell teaches at least one rack mount fixture (10, 13) carried within the chassis (24) and configured to receive at least one electronic component (e.g., a smartphone or thumbdrive, which could be placed thereupon).
Regarding claim 10, Saffell teaches a hinge system (A, A’, B, B’, 15, 26) for an enclosure (24-25) comprising a chassis (24) and a cover (25), the hinge assembly comprising: a plurality of hinge pins (15) to be coupled to the chassis (Figs. 2-4); and a plurality of bolts (26) to be rotatably carried by the cover (Figs. 2-4).
Regarding claim 17, Saffell teaches a method for making an enclosure comprising: coupling a plurality of hinge pins (15) to a chassis (24) adjacent an opening thereof (Figs. 2-4); and attaching a plurality of bolts (26) to a cover (25) for the opening of the chassis (Figs. 2-4).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 4-5, 13, & 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saffell (GB473690) in view of Chalfant (1255291).
Regarding claims 4, 13, & 20, Saffell teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including bolts (26) & bolt capture blocks (B, B’); but fail(s) to teach a locking pin, locking pin hole, or locking pin groove. However, Chalfant teaches securing means (22; and holes in 13 & 21 through which 22 extends) comprising a locking pin hole (i.e., hole in 13 through which 22 extends) in a bolt (13), a locking pin groove (i.e., hole in 21 through which 22 extends) in a bolt capture block (21) for inserting a locking pin (22) into the locking pin hole of the corresponding bolt (Fig. 3). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add securing means, as taught by Chalfant, to each of the bolts & bolt capture blocks of Saffell, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to prevent accidental disengagement of the bolts from the bolt capture blocks.
Regarding claim 5, Chalfant teaches a locking pin groove (i.e., hole in 21 through which 22 extends) configured to allow rotation of the locking pin (22) between first and second and second stop positions (note that 22 could rotate around its longitudinal axis between two distinct positions).
Claims 6, 14, & 21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saffell (GB473690) in view of McAdoo (20140252935). Saffell teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including hinge pins (15); but fail(s) to teach rounded tips. However, McAdoo teaches the inclusion, on a hinge pin (56), of a rounded tip (i.e., at top end of 56 in Fig. 3B). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add a rounded tip, as taught by McAdoo, to each of the hinge pins of Saffell, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to facilitate insertion of the hinge pins into the hinge pin bases.
Claims 7, 15, & 22 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Saffell (GB473690). Saffell teaches the structure substantially as claimed, including first & second hinge pins (15) and hinge pin bases (A, A’); but fail(s) to teach pairs of first & second hinge pins. However, mere duplication of parts has been held to involve only routine skill in the art (MPEP 2144.04). It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the claimed invention, to add additional first & second hinge pins & hinge pin bases to the structure of Saffell, with a reasonable expectation of success, in order to provide a stronger connection between the cover and the chassis. Hence, Saffell as modified would teach at least one first hinge pin (both of 15 in A) that comprises at least two first hinge pins (each of 15 in A), and the at least one second hinge pin (both of 15 in A’) that comprises at least two second hinge pins (each of 15 in A’).
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments with respect to claim(s) 1, 10, & 17 have been considered but are moot because the new ground of rejection does not rely on any reference applied in the prior rejection of record for any teaching or matter specifically challenged in the argument.
Conclusion
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to MATTHEW ING whose telephone number is (571)272-6536. The examiner can normally be reached M-F 8:30 a.m. - 5 p.m.. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Daniel Troy can be reached at (571) 270-3742. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/MATTHEW W ING/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3637