DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of Group I, drawn to claims 21-48 and 50 in the reply filed on 09/01/2026 is acknowledged. Additionally, Applicant’s election without traverse of compound 3-25’, drawn to claims 21-23, 26-28, 30-32, 37-42, and 45-47 is acknowledged.
Claims 24-25, 29, 33-36, 43-44, and 48-50 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected Group and species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on 09/01/2026.
After careful review of the prior art, the elected species 3-25’ is free of the prior art. A claim directed to compound 3-25’ in independent form would be allowable over the prior art. The Examiner has expanded the search to include Formula I. Subsequent examination is based on this species expansion.
Status of the Claims
The status of the claims are as follows.
Claims 21-50 are pending.
Claims 24-25, 29, 33-36, 43-44, and 48-50 are withdrawn
Claims 21-23, 26-28, 37-42, 45, and 47 are rejected.
Claims 30-32 and 46 are objected to.
Priority
Acknowledgement is made that Instant Application 18/741,208, filed on 06/12/2024, is a Continuation of PCT/KR2022/020310, filed on 12/14/2022, which claims Foreign Priority from KR10-2022-0067712, filed on 06/02/2022, which claims Foreign Priority from KR10-2021-0178569, filed on 12/14/2021.
Should applicant desire to obtain the benefit of foreign priority under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d) prior to declaration of an interference, a certified English translation of the foreign application must be submitted in reply to this action. 37 CFR 41.154(b) and 41.202(e).
Failure to provide a certified translation may result in no benefit being accorded for the non-English application.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 06/12/2024, 06/18/2025, and 05/27/2026 is/are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Interpretation
Claim 47 is directed to compounds of claim 1. However, claim 1 is canceled. This claim will be interpreted as being dependent off independent claim 21.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 21 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(a) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), first paragraph, as failing to comply with the written description requirement. The claim(s) contains subject matter which was not described in the specification in such a way as to reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor or a joint inventor, or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the claimed invention. Specifically, the claim is directed to compound of formula TBM-UBM, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein:
TBM is a target binding moiety capable of binding to a target protein; and
UBM is a ubiquitin binding moiety comprising a moiety of Formula I:
.
There is insufficient written description for the TBM claim limitation in the disclosure. M.P.E.P. § 2163 states:
"An applicant shows possession of the claimed invention by describing the claimed invention with all of its limitations using such descriptive means as words, structures, figures, diagrams, and formulas that fully set forth the claimed invention...one must define a compound by 'whatever characteristics sufficiently distinguish it'. A lack of adequate written description issue also arises if the knowledge and level of skill in the art would not permit one skilled in the art to immediately envisage the product claimed from the disclosed process."
To provide adequate written description of a claimed genus, the specification must describe sufficient distinguishing identifying characteristics of the TBM genus. The factors to be considered include disclosure of complete or partial structure, physical and/or chemical properties, structure/function correlation, methods of making the claimed compounds or any combination thereof.
While it is recognized that adequate written description of a limitation is not required to be stated in haec verba in the specification or claims as originally filed, adequate written support for all claim limitations must arise from either an explicit or an implicit suggestion by the disclosure to show that such a concept as now claimed was actually in possession of the Applicant at the time of the invention.
It is generally accepted in the art that PROTAC design is unpredictable. For example, Bonderson (Lessons in PROTAC Design from Selective Degradation with a Promiscuous Warhead. Cell Chem. Biol. 2018, 25(1), 78-87. doi.org/10.1016/j.chembiol.2017.09.010) developed CRBN- and VHL-recruiting PROTACs using a promiscuous kinase inhibitor that is potentially capable of degrading more than 100 substrate proteins to determine how many kinases were degraded by each (page 79, left column, paragraph 2). It was found CRBN-recruiting PROTAC degraded 14 kinases while the VHL-recruiting PROTAC degraded only 9 (page 79, left column, paragraph 2). The selectivity of the PROTAC relies on protein-protein interactions between the E3 ubiquitin ligase and the target protein, as illustrated by engaged proteins that are not degraded as a result of unstable ternary complexes with PROTAC-recruited E3 ligases (abstract). Additionally, binding affinity was not found to correlate with degradation efficiency, while the formation of a stable ternary complex was a robust predictor of degradation efficiency (page 82, Fig 3). Steric clashes likely explain the lack of degradation of those kinases that bind PROTACs but do not form a stable ternary complex with VHL. Bonderson posits that longer linker geometries will access those proteins for PROTAC-mediated degradation (page 83, right column, paragraph 2). As such, a person of ordinary skill in the art could not predict with reasonable certainty whether a particular combination of ligand/ubiquitin recruiter would form a stable ternary complex, thus resulting in degradation.
In the instant case, the broadest reasonable interpretation of the claim, TBM encompasses all moieties capable of binding a target protein; however, the specification positively recites only three target binding moieties: a BRD4 inhibitor of Formula 1; an Aurora kinase A inhibitor of Formula 2; and a p38 inhibitor of Formula 3 (page 67). The presented examples are not considered representative of the exceedingly vast number of possible target binding moieties capable of binding to a target protein that are encompassed by the claims.
The description requirement of the patent statue requires a description of an invention, not an indication of a result that one might achieve if one made that invention. See In re Wilder, 736, F.2d 1516, 1521, 222 USPQ 369, 372-73 (Fed. Cir. 1984) (affirming rejection because the specification does “little more than outlin[e] goals appellants hope the claimed invention achieves and the problems the invention will hopefully ameliorate.”) Accordingly, it is deemed that the specification fails to provide adequate written description for the genus of the claims and does not reasonably convey to one skilled in the relevant art that the inventor(s), at the time the application was filed, had possession of the entire scope of the claimed invention.
Claim 47 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention. Specifically, the claim is dependent off the canceled base claim, claim 1. As such, the scope of the claim is not properly defined.
Claim 47 is directed to the compound of claim 21, wherein the UBM linked to the TBM is a moiety of one of the following structures. There is insufficient antecedent basis for this limitation in the claim.
Claim 21 is directed to compounds of the formula TBM-UBM, wherein UBM is a ubiquitin binding moiety comprising a moiety of Formula I
wherein Ring A is selected from arylene, heteroarylene, cycloalkylene, heterocycloalkylene, and heterocycloalkeylene. It is noted that the limitations of Ring A do not allow for substitution beyond that of R1 and/or R2.
However, the claimed UBM structures include, for example,
(page 20). There is insufficient antecedent basis for at least this UBM moiety because Formula I does not allow for Ring A to be connected to TBM through a di-substituted cyclohexane.
Claims 38-42 and 45-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends.
The claims are dependent from claim 21, which is directed to compounds of formula TBM-UBM, wherein UBM is a ubiquitin binding moiety comprising a moiety of Formula I
wherein Ring A is selected from arylene, heteroarylene, cycloalkylene, heterocycloalkylene, and heterocycloalkeylene. It is noted that the limitations of Ring A do not allow for substitution beyond that of R1 and/or R2.
However, claim 38 is directed to compounds of claim 21, wherein the UBM comprises a moiety of any of Formula V, Formula VI, Formula VII, or Formula VIII:
,
,
, or
.
The new variables W2, Y1, Y2, X1, X2, X3, and Ring B introduce functional group substitutions on Ring A that fall outside of the limitations of Formula I. For example, X1 may be a -N(R’)SO2- group. Therefore, the scope of claim 38 broadens the scope of claim 21 by introducing new matter.
Claims 39-42 and 45-46, which depend from claim 38, require the same expanded limitations and are therefore rejected for at least the reasons above.
Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 21-23, 26-28, 37-42, and 45 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Blake (US 2021/0221821 A1. Published 07/22/2021) as evidenced by Li (Template-Assisted Covalent Modification Underlies Activity of Covalent Molecular Glues. Nat. Chem. Biol., 2024, 20, 1640-1649. doi.org/10.1038/s41589-024-01668-4).
Claim 21 is directed to a compound of the Formula TBM—UBM or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof, wherein:
TMB is a target-binding moiety capable of binding to a target protein; and
UBM is a ubiquitin-binding moiety comprising a moiety of Formula I:
.
Blake teaches compounds and salts thereof that are useful for inhibiting target polypeptides and proteins, in particular, bromodomain (e.g., BRD4) proteins (abstract). The disclosed compounds are JQ1 derivatives of Formula II (page 26, paragraph 0257)
.
As a specific embodiment, Blake teaches compound 1 (page 30, Table 1, entry 1). Compound 1 is known in the art today was GNE-0011 and will be referred to as such hereinafter.
GNE-0011 anticipates the Instant Formula I at least when:
Ring A is arylene;
R1 is hydrogen;
R2 is hydrogen; and
W1 is alkylene.
GNE-0011 is a monovalent ubiquitin recruiting agent for BRD4 degradation (see Li). Protein degradation, specifically of BRD4, is a technical effect of the Instant Invention, but recruiting ubiquitin for degradation is not the same as being a direct ubiquitin binding moiety, as recited by the Instant claim.
However, the instant specification provides evidence that Instant compound 4-288 is a ubiquitin binding moiety (page 313, paragraph 1414, Experimental Example 4 and page 314, paragraph 1419, Experimental Example 5)
.
The Instant Specification posits that ubiquitin binding is caused by a moiety that mimics lysine (page 2, paragraph 0005). A person of ordinary skill in the art would understand the lysine mimic of Instant Compound 4-288 causing the technical effect is the primary amine of the aryl propargyl amine.
GNE-0011 is structurally very similar to Instant Compound 4-288. GNE-0011 comprises the same technical feature of an aryl propargyl primary amine as Instant Compound 4-288. In addition, the aryl propargyl amine of both compounds are conjugated to a similar JQ1 core. Therefore, the ubiquitin binding capability of Instant Compound 4-288 must necessarily be inherent to GNE-0011.
It is noted that MPEP 2112 discusses the support of rejections wherein the prior art discloses subject matter which there is reason to believe inherently includes functions that are newly cited or is identical to a product instantly claimed. In such a situation the burden is shifted to the applicants to "prove that subject matter shown to be in the prior art does not possess characteristic relied on" (205 USPQ 594, second column, first full paragraph). In the present case the burden is shifted to Applicant to prove that GNE-0011 does not inherently possess the ability to bind to ubiquitin.
Applicant is reminded that “Products of identical chemical composition cannot have mutual exclusive properties.” Any properties exhibited by or benefits from are not given any patentable weight over the prior art provided the composition is inherent. A chemical composition and its properties are inseparable. Therefore, if the prior art teaches the identical chemical structure, the disclosed properties are necessarily present. In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 709, 15 USPQ 1655, 1658 (Fed. Cir. 1990). See MPEP 2112.01. The burden is shifted to the applicant to show that the prior art product does not inherently possess the same properties as the instantly claimed product.
Claim 22 is directed to the compound of claim 21, wherein A is arylene or heteroarylene, wherein A is phenylene.
GNE-0011 is comprised of Ring A as arylene.
Claim 23 is directed to the compound of claim 22, wherein A is phenylene
GNE-0011 is comprised of Ring A is phenylene.
Claim 26 is directed to the compound of claim 21, wherein W1 is selected from the provided list.
GNE-0011 is comprised of W1 as alkylene.
Claims 27 is directed to the compound of claim 26, wherein W1 is C1-C6 alkylene.
GNE-0011 is comprised of W1 as C1 alkylene.
Claim 28 is directed to the compound of claim 27, wherein W is -CH2-
GNE-0011 is comprised of W1 as -CH2-.
Claim 37 is directed to the compound of Claim 21 wherein R2 is hydrogen
GNE-0011 is comprised of R2 as hydrogen.
Claim 38 is directed to the compound of claim 21, wherein the UBM comprises a moiety of one of the given Formulae, or a pharmaceutically acceptable salt thereof.
GNE-0011 anticipates at least Formula V in the instance where:
W2 is a direct linkage;
Ring A is arylene;
R1 is hydrogen;
R2 is hydrogen; and
W1 is alkylene.
Claim 39-40 are directed to the compound of claim 38 and claim 39, respectively wherein, in the provided Formulae, each variable is independently selected from the provided list.
In addition to the above, GNE-0011 anticipates both Instant claims at least when the covalent bond site at which the TBM and the UBM are linked to each other is a direct linkage.
Claim 41 is directed to the compound of claim 39, wherein the UBM comprises a moiety of Formula V
.
GNE-0011 anticipates Formula V in at least the instance described above.
Claim 42 is directed to the compound of claim 39, wherein the UBM comprises a moiety of Formula VI
.
GNE anticipates Formula VI at least when:
Y1 is a direct linkage;
X1 is a direct linkage;
Ring A is arylene;
R1 is hydrogen;
R2 is hydrogen; and
W1 is alkylene.
Claim 45 is directed to the compound of claim 39, wherein:
Ring A is arylene or heteroarylene;
W1 is C1-6 alkene;
R1 is hydrogen, C(O)OR’, halogen, CN, heteroaryl, or heterocycloalkyl; and
R2 is halogen or hydrogen.
GNE-0011 is comprised of:
Ring A is arylene;
W1 is C1 alkene;
R1 is hydrogen; and
R2 is hydrogen.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 21-23, 26-28, 37-42, 45, and 47 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Blake as evidenced by Li in view of Sueoka (US 5,712,274. Published 01/27/1998), motivated by Miyoshi (US 9,125,915 B2. Published 09/08/2015), in view of Protein Data Bank (PDB ID: 5WMD. Released 08/01/2018).
The teachings of Blake as evidenced by Li are discussed above and incorporated herein by reference.
The difference between the teaching of Blake as evidenced by Li and the Instant Application is that the combined teachings fail to teach wherein the ubiquitin binding moiety is conjugated to the carboxyl group of JQ1.
However, Sueoka teaches thienotriazolodiazepine compounds of Formula III (abstract)
Compounds of Formula III are taught to have superior inhibitory effect on cell adhesion, leading to their use as preventative and therapeutic drugs for inflammatory diseases and allergic diseases, in which cell adhesion is involved (abstract, column 1, lines 12-15). An example of a compound of Formula III is compound 3 (column 47, Table 10)
.
A person of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching of Sueoka with the combined teaching of Blake as evidenced by Li because they both teach analogues of the same thienotriazolodiazepine core. Said artisan would have been further motivated by Miyoshi, who discusses the known cell adhesion inhibitory action of compounds of Formula III (compound 3 in particular [column 12, line 35]) and teaches novel methods of their use in inhibiting the binding between acetylated histone and a bromodomain-containing protein (BRD2, BRD3, BRD4, and BRDt) (abstract, column 2 line 41-column 3, line 26). Thus, the compounds of Sueoka, especially compound 3, are linked to the field of endeavor of Blake. The p-hydroxy anilide ring of compound 3 is also taught Blake as compounds of Formula IV (page 13, paragraph 0138 and page 2, paragraphs 0014-0020)
,
wherein
R1 is -N(R8)(R9), wherein R8 and R9 are independently selected as H and phenyl, wherein phenyl is optionally substituted with R10, wherein R10 is hydroxy (this specific combination is explicitly listed in claim 21 and claims 25-26).
R2 is methyl;
R3 and R4 are selected from the group consisting of H, methyl, and methoxy; and
L and R5 is the propargyl amine moiety as above for GNE-0011.
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have been motivated to combine the teaching Sueoka with the combined teachings of Blake as evidenced by Li to produce, for example, compound I:
The difference between the combined teachings and the Instant Application is that compound I fails to teach where the propargyl amine is on the anilide ring.
However, Protein Data Bank teaches the X-ray crystal structure of compound 3 bound to BRD4, resolved at 1.27 Å (Fig 1). The bound structure shows the thienotriazolodiazepine core is responsible for most of the protein interaction and reveals two solvent-exposed regions: 1. The p-chlorophenyl ring, and 2. The anilide ring.
Fig 1. PDB ID 5WMD (left). Enhanced view of bound compound 3 (right).
Therefore, one of ordinary skill in the art would have had a reasonable expectation of success to preserve any technical effect (e.g., ubiquitin binding) produced by a substituent on one ring by repositioning the substituent to the other ring. Such an exchange would not have been expected to produce a deleterious effect on protein binding because the crystal structure establishes that neither ring plays a critical role with the binding pocket. Accordingly, said artisan would have found it prima facie obvious to modify compound I into at least compound II
.
Regarding claims 21-23, compound II reads on the limitations of Formula I at least when:
Ring A is arylene;
W1 is alkylene; and
R1 and R2 are independently selected as hydrogen.
Regarding claims 26-28, compound II is comprised of W1 as alkylene, wherein the alkylene is a C1-C6 alkene, wherein the C1-C6 alkylene is -CH2-.
Regarding claim 37, compound II is comprised of R2 as hydrogen.
Regarding claim 38, compound II is an embodiment of Formula V at least when:
W2 is a direct linkage;
Ring A is arylene;
R1 and R2 are independently hydrogen; and
W1 is alkylene.
Compound II is also an embodiment of Formula VI at least when:
Y1 is a direct linkage;
X1 is -N(R’)-, wherein R’ is hydrogen;
Ring A is arylene;
R1 and R2 are independently hydrogen;
W1 is alkylene.
Regarding claims 39-40, in addition to the above, compound II is an embodiment of both Formula V and Formula VI when the covalent bond site at which the TBM and UBM are linked to each other is a direct linkage.
Regarding claims 41-42, compound II is an embodiment of both Formula V and Formula VI, as discussed above.
Regarding claim 45, compound II comprises:
Ring A is arylene;
W1 is C1 alkylene; and
R1 and R2 are hydrogen.
Claim 47 is directed to the compound of claim 1, wherein the UBM linked to the TBM is a moiety of one of the provided structures.
Compound II is comprised of the UBM moiety
.
Claim Objections
Claim 30-32 and 46 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The claims are directed to UBMs comprised of at least a di-substituted phenyl ring, wherein one substituent is or comprises an aryl alkynyl amine and the other substituent is or comprises at least a carbonyl. Prior art teachings are rare wherein aryl alkynyl amines are the UBM and not used as a linker between UBM and TBM. The art is silent on aryl alkynyl amines as UBMs, wherein the aryl is substituted as claimed.
Conclusions
/P.A./Examiner, Art Unit 1621
/CLINTON A BROOKS/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1621