DETAILED ACTION
Response to Amendment
1. Applicant’s amendment filed July 17, 2026 amends claims 1-3,6,8-11,13-14 and 29-46. Claims 4-5, 7, 12 and 15-28 are cancelled. Applicant’s amendment has been fully considered and entered.
Continued Examination Under 37 CFR 1.114
Response to Arguments
2. Claims 1-3,6,8-11,13-14 and 29-46 have been amended. Claim 4-5, 7,12 and 15-28 cancelled. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-11,13-14 and 29-46 are pending. Applicant's arguments with respect to claims 1-3, 6, 8-11,13-14 and 29-46 have been respectfully considered but are moot in view of the new ground(s) of rejection. THIS ACTION IS MADE NON-FINAL.
Information Disclosure Statement
3. The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/15/2026 has been considered. The submission is in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Form PTO-1449 is signed and attached hereto.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Regarding claims 1, 6 and 40, the phrase " if the current" renders the claim(s) indefinite because the claim(s) include(s) elements not actually disclosed (those encompassed by "or the like"), thereby rendering the scope of the claim(s) unascertainable. See MPEP § 2173.05(d).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
8. Claims 1-3, 6, 8-11, 13-14 and 29-46 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103(a) as being unpatentable over Rawls-Meehan (US 2012/0119886 A1) (hereinafter Rawls-Meehan) in view of Petrovski (US 20110115635 A1) (hereinafter Petrovski) and further in view of Kozlov (US 20110230790 A1) (hereinafter Kozlov).
Regarding claim 1, Rawls-Meehan discloses a system comprising:
a temperature control device (para 415, sensor 1810 to control zoned climate control system 164 or a heating device, para 407, user able to control vibration mode of multiple massage motors; mode include vibration setting for bed section, para 176, bed facility 102 include a sensor 108, actuators 120, mattresses 124, vibration motors 132, an electronic facility 140, zone climate control system 162), and
a biological sensor that is configured to detect a biological signal (para 168, The sensors may be mechanical sensors, electrical sensors, bio-sensors, and so on, para 423, monitor health conditions using a plurality of medical devices, for example, Electrocardiogram, glucose meter, pulse oximeter, and the like, para 415, sensor 1810 to control the zoned climate control system 164 or a heating device);
an environment sensor in communication with the bed device, wherein the environment sensor is configured to detect a current environment property associated with the bed device (para 388, sensors such as motion sensors, sound sensors, weight sensors, chemical sensors, smoke detectors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, or the like used to sense a condition of the environment associated with adjustable furniture or sense a condition, para 276, controlling environment within one or more zones of adjustable bed facility 102, zone climate control system 162 heat or cool zones of bed, circulate air to heat or cool a zone, zone climate control system 162 determine parameters such as airflow, thermal capacity, heating or cooling requirements, and the like by measurement);
one or more processor in communication with the temperature control device, the biological sensor, and the environment sensor (para 168, sensor layer 108 include plurality of sensors of various types, sensors electrical sensors, bio- sensors, and so on, sensors associated with mattress such that sleeping, resting, sitting, and other user conditions can be assessed and information from sensor fed back into a processor for processing and response control, para 373, processor 1508 communicate the instructions to the controller 1502 of the adjustable bed 1510, para 388, motion sensors, sound sensors, weight sensors, chemical sensors, smoke detectors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, or the like may be used to sense a condition of the environment associated with the adjustable furniture).
Rawls -Meehan fails to disclose temperature control device configured to change a temperature of a zone of a bed device;
a database configured to store one or more historical environment properties associated with at least one prior sleep session, wherein the one or more historical environment properties are associated with a sleep phase; and
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: identify a current sleep phase based on the biological signal, and retrieve a historical environment property of the one or more historical environment properties stored in the database, the historical environment property being associated with the current sleep phase;
cause the temperature control device to change the temperature of the zone of the bed device if the current environment property is different from the historical environment property .
In analogous art, Petrovski discloses temperature control device configured to change a temperature of a zone of a bed device (Abstract, setting or mode selected by an occupant using the at least one input device, and the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor, para 07, controlled bed comprises at one additional climate zone (e.g., third, fourth, etc.), subzones configured to be operated differently from each other, FIG. 4B controlled bed having subzones within separate climate zones, para 89, control one, two or climate zones generally located along one side (e.g., left side L, right side R, etc.) or any other region of the bed assembly 10); and
cause the temperature control device to change the temperature of the zone of the bed device if the current environment property is different from the historical environment property (para 12, bed configured to allow an occupant to select a desired environment control setting or mode associated with the first climate zone, environmental control setting or mode selected by an occupant, and/or (ii) a temperature associated with the at least first climate zone, para 06, input device is configured to receive instructions from an occupant regarding the desired climate controlled setting or mode, bed further includes one or more first temperature sensors configured to detect a first temperature associated with the first climate zone of the bed, para 26, control module configured to regulate the operation of modules associated with the first and second climate zones, para 72, FIG. 1, two of climate zones 11A, 11C are positioned along left side L of the bed 10, whereas two of the climate zones11B, para 87, control module 50, or any other component of the climate control system connect to a network (e.g., interne), connected to website, server, network and/or the like to receive the necessary updates).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Petrovski to improve user's sleep based on personal sleep data and controlling rates of the simulated breathing, heartbeat to induce, maintain sleep [Petrovski, Abstract].
Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski fails to disclose a database configured to store one or more historical environment properties associated with at least one prior sleep session, wherein the one or more historical environment properties are associated with a sleep phase; and
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: identify a current sleep phase based on the biological signal, and retrieve a historical environment property of the one or more historical environment properties stored in the database, the historical environment property being associated with the current sleep phase.
In analogous art, Kozlov discloses a database configured to store one or more historical environment properties associated with at least one prior sleep session, wherein the one or more historical environment properties are associated with a sleep phase (para 06, system detect different sleep phase, such as the deep sleep phase, REM phase, non-REM , para 29, database include data collected from users with physiological parameters, sleep settings, and actigraphy data, and uses information and parameters obtained from remote database to further improve REM sleep phase, para 51, sleep server will compare an individual user's data with a database comprised of individuals with similar parameters, and based upon comparison, as well as a record of the results of previous data obtained from the user, send sleep phase, para 113, information obtained for sleep environment (temperature, humidity, bed quality, presence of people in bed, room or house)); and
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: identify a current sleep phase based on the biological signal, and retrieve a historical environment property of the one or more historical environment properties stored in the database, the historical environment property being associated with the current sleep phase (para 03, measurements of human biometric data during sleep and biometric data used to detect phase of user's sleep cycle, para 07, Using actigraphy analysis determine person is in sleep phase, para 76, FIG. 6 , motion detector, processor, server, database of users sleep, software executed on the server, para 146, history data on user's sleep, factors and evaluation of feeling, para 44, IG. user analysis when REM phase is known for historical data on user's REM sleep patterns, para 51, system comprised microprocessor, input devices, transceiver, memory to stored programs and data and perform sleep phase calculations, para 75, server match users with other users with similar physiological or other parameters, and Identify appropriate "sleep group" to classify the user for Identifying individual characteristics of sleep for each user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Kozlov to detect user actigraphy (movement) sensor to measure user movements during sleep wherein these actigraphy sensor(s) will be movement sensors such as an arm or leg band equipped with accelerometer or other movement detecting sensor and transmitting user movements data to adjust sleep phase correction parameters [Kozlov, 53].
Regarding claim 2, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the historical environment property is an average historical environment property associated with the bed device (para 43, controlling the adjustable bed as result of events, states or attributes of the environment of the adjustable bed, para 338, determined bed position, an adjustable bed facility 102 historical setting, or the like, para 392, control 118, download usage history of the remote control 118, and the like, para 395, detect general usage history information that may be useful in investigating).
Regarding claim 3, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the one or more historical environment properties are associated with the bed device (para 43, controlling the adjustable bed as result of events, states or attributes of the environment of the adjustable bed., para 392, control 118, download usage history of the remote control 118, and the like, programming to the computing facility, para 395, detect general usage history information, para 338, memory locations used to maintain the user determined bed position, an adjustable bed facility 102 historical setting, or the like).
Regarding claim 6, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 5, wherein the one or more processors configured to generates a notification to a user device if the current environment property is different from the historical environment property (para 168, sensors may be associated with the mattress such that sleeping, resting, sitting, and other user conditions can be assessed, para 276, different users sleep in different environments or two users sleep in a single environment controlled by the zone, para 338, adjustable bed facility 102 user preferred settings to a plurality of memory locations that used to maintain user determined bed position, adjustable bed facility 102 historical setting, or the like).
Regarding claim 8, Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski fails to disclose the system of claim 7, wherein the one or more historical environmental property comprises a first historical environment property value associated with a first type of sleep phase and a second historical environment property value associated with a second type of sleep phase.
In analogous art, Kozlov discloses the system of claim 7, wherein the one or more historical environmental property comprises a first historical environment property value associated with a first type of sleep phase and a second historical environment property value associated with a second type of sleep phase (para 06, system detect different sleep phase, such as the deep sleep phase, REM phase, non-REM , para 29, database include data collected from users with physiological parameters, sleep settings, and actigraphy data, and uses information and parameters obtained from remote database to further improve REM sleep phase, para 51, sleep server will compare an individual user's data with a database comprised of individuals with similar parameters, and based upon comparison, as well as a record of the results of previous data obtained from the user, send sleep phase, para 113, information obtained for sleep environment (temperature, humidity, bed quality, presence of people in bed, room or house, para 146, history data on user's sleep, factors and evaluation of feeling, para 44, IG. user analysis when REM phase is known for historical data on user's REM sleep patterns, para 51, system comprised microprocessor, input devices, transceiver, memory to stored programs and data and perform sleep phase calculations, para 75, server match users with other users with similar physiological or other parameters, and Identify appropriate "sleep group" to classify the user for Identifying individual characteristics of sleep for each user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Kozlov to detect user actigraphy (movement) sensor to measure user movements during sleep wherein these actigraphy sensor(s) will be movement sensors such as an arm or leg band equipped with accelerometer or other movement detecting sensor and transmitting user movements data to adjust sleep phase correction parameters [Kozlov, 53].
Regarding claim 9, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the current environment property is selected from the group consisting of humidity, temperature, and light (para 388, adjusting entertainment content in response to a state (turning off system or turning down volume upon detecting snoring, turning down lights on detecting sleep, detecting presence of user), adjusting comfort-based factors based on state detection (adjusting position, temperature, volume, content or the like based on detection of user's presence, para 339, provide information relating to temperature, humidity, weather, and contact personnel's lists, to-do lists, navigating maps or the like).
Regarding claim 10, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the environment sensor and a processor of the one or more processors are in communication via a wired connection (para 70, The transmitter may be electrically coupled to a processor that receive input from the touch sensor, for communication control signals to the adjustable bed in accordance with the input received from the touch sensor, para 170-171, control functions of the adjustable bed facility 102 using a wired technology, communicate with the control box using wired communication).
Regarding claim 11, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the temperature control device is disposed within the zone (para 388, control facility for the adjustable bed facility 102, such as state information about on/off condition, operational levels such as volume control, temperature control, and the like, state information about users, state information about the environment).
Regarding claim 13, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the biological sensor and the environment sensor are disposed at different positions with respect to the bed device (para 405, many different adjustable bed 1720 frame positions, which the user may change based on his requirements, para 123, FIG. 2 shows an embodiment of two methods of maintaining user memory for storing user preferred adjustable bed positions, para 333, zone climate control system 162 may be any type of device or facility that may be capable of controlling the environment within one or more zones of the adjustable bed facility 102).
Regarding claim 14, Rawls-Meehan fails to discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the current environment property comprises a first temperature and the historical environment property comprises a second temperature, and wherein the temperature control device is configured to increase the temperature of the zone of the bed device if the first temperature is less than the second temperature.
In analogous art, Petrovski discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the current environment property comprises a first temperature and the historical environment property comprises a second temperature, and wherein the temperature control device is configured to increase the temperature of the zone of the bed device if the first temperature is less than the second temperature (Abstract, The bed includes control modules configured to regulate operation and allow occupant to select a setting or mode associated with climate zone and temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with climate zone of thermally-conditioned bed, para 15, control module regulate to adjust temperature, para 89, FIG. 1, regulate climate zones and/or other devices or components of a climate controlled bed assembly 10, bed occupant selectively regulate heating, cooling, ventilation and/or other climate control of the bed 10, para 07, bed comprises second temperature sensor to detect a second temperature associated with the second climate zone, first climate zone is located along a left side of the bed, and the second climate zone is located along a right side of the bed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Petrovski to allow an occupant to select a setting or mode associated with the climate zone and temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with the climate zone of the thermally-conditioned bed [Petrovski, Abstract].
Regarding claim 29, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the current environment property comprises an ambient temperature (para 388, adjustable bed facility 102, any of the types of sensors such as motion sensors, smoke detectors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, or the like may be used to sense a condition of the environment associated with the adjustable furniture, adjusting comfort-based factors based on state detection (adjusting position, vibration, temperature, volume, content or the like based on detection of user's presence, para 415, user may be intimated of, for example, the current room temperature, increase/decrease in the room temperature, and the like (i.e. ambient temperature)).
Regarding claim 30, Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski fails to discloses the system of claim 29, wherein the current sleep phase is selected from the group consisting of a light sleep phase, a deep sleep phase, and a rapid eye movement (REM) sleep phase.
In analogous art, Kozlov discloses the system of claim 29, wherein the current sleep phase is selected from the group consisting of a light sleep phase, a deep sleep phase, and a rapid eye movement (REM) sleep phase (para 06, system detect different sleep phase, such as the deep sleep phase, REM phase, non-REM , para 44, IG. user analysis when REM phase is known for historical data on user's REM sleep patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Kozlov to detect user movement sensor to measure user movements during sleep wherein these actigraphy sensor(s) will be movement sensors to adjust sleep phase correction parameters [Kozlov, 53].
Regarding claim 31, Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski faisl to discloses the system of claim 29, wherein the database is configured to store a first historical environment property associated with a light sleep phase, a second historical environment property associated with a deep sleep phase, and a third historical environment property associated with a REM sleep phase.
In analogous art, Kozlov discloses the system of claim 29, wherein the database is configured to store a first historical environment property associated with a light sleep phase, a second historical environment property associated with a deep sleep phase, and a third historical environment property associated with a REM sleep phase (para 06, system detect different sleep phase, such as the deep sleep phase, REM phase, non-REM , para 44, IG. user analysis when REM phase is known for historical data on user's REM sleep patterns, para 146, History data on sleep characteristics and change Data impacting sleep Feedback communication: Data which requires availability of History data on user's sleep, factors and evaluation of feeling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Kozlov to transmit information, such as the record of user movement during the night obtained from the various movement sensors, which can be used to determine REM sleep stages [Kozlov, 148].
Regarding claim 32, Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski faisl to discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the database is configured to store information corresponding to an amount of time associated with the current sleep phase and the at least one prior sleep session.
In analogous art, Kozlov discloses the system of claim 1, wherein the database is configured to store information corresponding to an amount of time associated with the current sleep phase and the at least one prior sleep session (para 06, system detect different sleep phase, such as the deep sleep phase, REM phase, non-REM , para 29, database include data collected from users with physiological parameters, sleep settings, and actigraphy data, and uses information and parameters obtained from remote database to further improve REM sleep phase, para 51, sleep server will compare an individual user's data with a database comprised of individuals with similar parameters, and based upon comparison, as well as a record of the results of previous data obtained from the user, send sleep phase).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Kozlov to use supervised learning algorithms to analyze the database, producing sleep phase correction data which can be uploaded and be used to further improve its REM sleep phase prediction accuracy [Kozlov, Abstract].
Regarding claim 33, Rawls-Meehan discloses a system comprising: a temperature control device, configured to change a temperature of a zone of a bed device (para 415, sensor 1810 to control zoned climate control system 164 or a heating device, para 407, user able to control vibration mode of multiple massage motors; mode include vibration setting for bed section, para 176, bed facility 102 include a sensor 108, actuators 120, mattresses 124, vibration motors 132, an electronic facility 140, zone climate control system 162, Abstract, adjustable bed controller is adapted to, in response to a receipt of a motion command, adjust, with feedback, a portion of an adjustable bed and based on a comparison of sensor feedback and a predetermined position stored in a memory of the adjustable bed controller);
an environment sensor in communication with the bed device, wherein the environment sensor is configured to detect a current environment property associated with the bed device (para 388, sensors such as motion sensors, sound sensors, weight sensors, chemical sensors, smoke detectors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, or the like used to sense a condition of the environment associated with adjustable furniture or sense a condition, para 276, controlling environment within one or more zones of adjustable bed facility 102, zone climate control system 162 heat or cool zones of bed, circulate air to heat or cool a zone, zone climate control system 162 determine parameters such as airflow, thermal capacity, heating or cooling requirements, and the like by measurement);
one or more processors in communication with the temperature control device and the environment sensor (para 168, sensor layer 108 include plurality of sensors of various types, sensors electrical sensors, bio- sensors, and so on, sensors associated with mattress such that sleeping, resting, sitting, and other user conditions can be assessed and information from sensor fed back into a processor for processing and response control, para 373, processor 1508 communicate the instructions to the controller 1502 of the adjustable bed 1510, para 388, motion sensors, sound sensors, weight sensors, chemical sensors, smoke detectors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, or the like may be used to sense a condition of the environment associated with the adjustable furniture).
Rawls -Meehan fails to disclose a database configured to store one or more historical environment properties from at least one prior sleep session; and
wherein the one or more processors are configured to:
retrieve a historical environment property of the one or more historical environment properties stored in the database; and
direct cause the temperature control device to change the temperature of the zone of the bed device based on a comparison of the current environment property and the historical environment property.
In analogous art, Petrovski discloses direct cause the temperature control device to change the temperature of the zone of the bed device based on a comparison of the current environment property and the historical environment property (Abstract, setting or mode selected by an occupant using the at least one input device, and the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor, para 07, controlled bed comprises at one additional climate zone (e.g., third, fourth, etc.), subzones configured to be operated differently from each other, FIG. 4B controlled bed having subzones within separate climate zones, para 89, control one, two or climate zones generally located along one side (e.g., left side L, right side R, etc.) or any other region of the bed assembly 10, para 12, bed configured to allow an occupant to select a desired environment control setting or mode associated with the first climate zone, environmental control setting or mode selected by an occupant).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Petrovski to improve user's sleep based on personal sleep data and controlling rates of the simulated breathing, heartbeat to induce, maintain sleep [Petrovski, Abstract].
Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski fails to disclose a database configured to store one or more historical environment properties from at least one prior sleep session; and
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: retrieve a historical environment property of the one or more historical environment properties stored in the database.
In analogous art, Kozlov discloses a database configured to store one or more historical environment properties from at least one prior sleep session (para 06, system detect different sleep phase, such as the deep sleep phase, REM phase, non-REM , para 29, database include data collected from users with physiological parameters, sleep settings, and actigraphy data, and uses information and parameters obtained from remote database to further improve REM sleep phase, para 51, sleep server will compare an individual user's data with a database comprised of individuals with similar parameters, and based upon comparison, as well as a record of the results of previous data obtained from the user, send sleep phase, para 113, information obtained for sleep environment (temperature, humidity, bed quality, presence of people in bed, room or house)); and
wherein the one or more processors are configured to: retrieve a historical environment property of the one or more historical environment properties stored in the database (para 03, measurements of human biometric data during sleep and biometric data used to detect phase of user's sleep cycle, para 07, Using actigraphy analysis determine person is in sleep phase, para 76, FIG. 6 , motion detector, processor, server, database of users sleep, software executed on the server, para 146, history data on user's sleep, factors and evaluation of feeling, para 44, IG. user analysis when REM phase is known for historical data on user's REM sleep patterns, para 51, system comprised microprocessor, input devices, transceiver, memory to stored programs and data and perform sleep phase calculations, para 75, server match users with other users with similar physiological or other parameters, and Identify "sleep group" to classify the user for Identifying individual characteristics of sleep for each user).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Kozlov to detect user actigraphy (movement) sensor to measure user movements during sleep wherein these actigraphy sensor(s) will be movement sensors such as an arm or leg band equipped with accelerometer or other movement detecting sensor and transmitting user movements data to adjust sleep phase correction parameters [Kozlov, 53].
Regarding claim 34, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the current environment property is selected from the group consisting of humidity, temperature, and light (para 388, adjusting entertainment content in response to a state (turning off system or turning down volume upon detecting snoring, turning down lights on detecting sleep, detecting presence of user), adjusting comfort-based factors based on state detection (adjusting position, temperature, volume, content or the like based on detection of user's presence, para 339, provide information relating to temperature, humidity, weather, and contact personnel's lists, to-do lists, navigating maps or the like).
Regarding claim 35, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the current environment property comprises an ambient temperature (para 388, adjustable bed facility 102, any of the types of sensors such as motion sensors, smoke detectors, temperature sensors, pressure sensors, or the like may be used to sense a condition of the environment associated with the adjustable furniture, adjusting comfort-based factors based on state detection (adjusting position, vibration, temperature, volume, content or the like based on detection of user's presence, para 415, user may be intimated of, for example, the current room temperature, increase/decrease in the room temperature, and the like (i.e. ambient temperature)).
Regarding claim 36, Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski fails to discloses the system of claim 35, wherein the historical environment property is associated with a sleep phase.
In analogous art, Kozlov discloses the system of claim 35, wherein the historical environment property is associated with a sleep phase (para 06, system detect different sleep phase, such as the deep sleep phase, REM phase, non-REM , para 44, IG. user analysis when REM phase is known for historical data on user's REM sleep patterns).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Kozlov to detect user movement sensor to measure user movements during sleep wherein these actigraphy sensor(s) will be movement sensors to adjust sleep phase correction parameters [Kozlov, 53].
Regarding claim 37, Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski faisl to discloses the system of claim 36, wherein the database is configured to store a first historical environment property associated with a light sleep phase, a second historical environment property associated with a deep sleep phase, and a third historical environment property associated with a REM sleep phase.
In analogous art, Kozlov discloses the system of claim 36, wherein the database is configured to store a first historical environment property associated with a light sleep phase, a second historical environment property associated with a deep sleep phase, and a third historical environment property associated with a REM sleep phase (para 06, system detect different sleep phase, such as the deep sleep phase, REM phase, non-REM , para 44, IG. user analysis when REM phase is known for historical data on user's REM sleep patterns, para 146, History data on sleep characteristics and change Data impacting sleep Feedback communication: Data which requires availability of History data on user's sleep, factors and evaluation of feeling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Kozlov to transmit information, such as the record of user movement during the night obtained from the various movement sensors, which can be used to determine REM sleep stages [Kozlov, 148].
Regarding claim 38, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the historical environment property is an average historical environment property (para 43, controlling the adjustable bed as result of events, states or attributes of the environment of the adjustable bed, para 338, determined bed position, an adjustable bed facility 102 historical setting, or the like, para 392, control 118, download usage history of the remote control 118, and the like, para 395, detect general usage history information that may be useful in investigating).
Regarding claim 39, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the one or more historical environment properties are associated with the bed device (para 43, controlling the adjustable bed as result of events, states or attributes of the environment of the adjustable bed., para 392, control 118, download usage history of the remote control 118, and the like, programming to the computing facility, para 395, detect general usage history information, para 338, memory locations used to maintain the user determined bed position, an adjustable bed facility 102 historical setting, or the like).
Regarding claim 40, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the one or more processors are configured to generate a notification if the current environment property is different from the historical environment property (para 168, sensors may be associated with the mattress such that sleeping, resting, sitting, and other user conditions can be assessed, para 276, different users sleep in different environments or two users sleep in a single environment controlled by the zone, para 338, adjustable bed facility 102 user preferred settings to a plurality of memory locations that used to maintain user determined bed position, adjustable bed facility 102 historical setting, or the like).
Regarding claim 41, Rawls-Meehan fails to discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the current environment property comprises a first temperature and the historical environment property comprises a second temperature, and wherein the temperature control device is configured to increase the temperature of the zone of the bed device if the first temperature is less than the second temperature.
In analogous art, Petrovski discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the current environment property comprises a first temperature and the historical environment property comprises a second temperature, and wherein the temperature control device is configured to increase the temperature of the zone of the bed device if the first temperature is less than the second temperature (Abstract, The bed includes control modules configured to regulate operation and allow occupant to select a setting or mode associated with climate zone and temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with climate zone of thermally-conditioned bed, para 15, control module regulate to adjust temperature, para 89, FIG. 1, regulate climate zones and/or other devices or components of a climate controlled bed assembly 10, bed occupant selectively regulate heating, cooling, ventilation and/or other climate control of the bed 10, para 07, bed comprises second temperature sensor to detect a second temperature associated with the second climate zone, first climate zone is located along a left side of the bed, and the second climate zone is located along a right side of the bed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Petrovski to allow an occupant to select a setting or mode associated with the climate zone and temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with the climate zone of the thermally-conditioned bed [Petrovski, Abstract].
Regarding claim 42, Rawls-Meehan fails to discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the current environment property comprises a first temperature and the historical environment property comprises a second temperature, and wherein the temperature control device is configured to decrease the temperature of the zone of the bed device if the first temperature is greater than the second temperature.
In analogous art, Petrovski discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the current environment property comprises a first temperature and the historical environment property comprises a second temperature, and wherein the temperature control device is configured to decrease the temperature of the zone of the bed device if the first temperature is greater than the second temperature (Abstract, The bed includes control modules configured to regulate operation and allow occupant to select a setting or mode associated with climate zone and temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with climate zone of thermally-conditioned bed, para 15, control module regulate to adjust temperature, para 07, bed comprises second temperature sensor to detect a second temperature associated with the second climate zone, first climate zone is located along a left side of the bed, and the second climate zone is located along a right side of the bed).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Petrovski to allow an occupant to select a setting or mode associated with the climate zone and temperature sensor configured to detect a temperature associated with the climate zone of the thermally-conditioned bed [Petrovski, Abstract].
Regarding claim 43, Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski faisl to discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the one or more historical environment properties comprise (i) a first historical environment property value associated with a first type of sleep phase and (ii) a second historical environment property value associated with a second type of sleep phase.
In analogous art, Kozlov discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the one or more historical environment properties comprise (i) a first historical environment property value associated with a first type of sleep phase and (ii) a second historical environment property value associated with a second type of sleep phase (para 06, system detect different sleep phase, such as the deep sleep phase, REM phase, non-REM , para 44, IG. user analysis when REM phase is known for historical data on user's REM sleep patterns, para 146, History data on sleep characteristics and change Data impacting sleep Feedback communication: Data which requires availability of History data on user's sleep, factors and evaluation of feeling).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan and Petrovski to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Kozlov to transmit information, such as the record of user movement during the night obtained from the various movement sensors, which can be used to determine REM sleep stages [Kozlov, 148].
Regarding claim 44, Rawls-Meehan disclose the system of claim 33, wherein the environment sensor and a processor of the one or more processors are in communication via a wireless connection of the bed device and based on a comparison of the current environment property and the historical environment property.
para 43, controlling the adjustable bed as result of events, states or attributes of the environment of the adjustable bed, para 338, determined bed position, an adjustable bed facility 102 historical setting, or the like, para 392, control 118, download usage history of the remote control 118, and the like, para 395, detect general usage history information that may be useful in investigating, para 43, controlling the adjustable bed as result of events, states or attributes of the environment of the adjustable bed., para 392, control 118, download usage history of the remote control 118, and the like, programming to the computing facility, para 395, detect general usage history information, para 338, memory locations used to maintain the user determined bed position, an adjustable bed facility 102 historical setting, or the like)
Regarding claim 45, Rawls-Meehan fails to disclose the system of claim 33, wherein the temperature control device is configured to change the temperature of the zone of the bed device based on a temperature.
In analogous art, Petrovski discloses the system of claim 33, wherein the temperature control device is configured to change the temperature of the zone of the bed device based on a temperature (Abstract, setting or mode selected by an occupant using the at least one input device, and the temperature detected by the first temperature sensor, para 07, controlled bed comprises at one additional climate zone (e.g., third, fourth, etc.), subzones configured to be operated differently from each other, FIG. 4B controlled bed having subzones within separate climate zones, para 89, control one, two or climate zones generally located along one side (e.g., left side L, right side R, etc.) or any other region of the bed assembly 10, para 06, one or more first temperature sensors configured to detect a first temperature associated with the first climate zone of the bed, para 26, control module configured to regulate the operation of modules associated with the first and second climate zones).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify teaching of sleep sensor signals for sleep state transition, determines type of sleep state transition and sends control signals to electronic device disclosed by Rawls-Meehan to use adjustable beds to monitor environmental conditions corresponding to sleep sessions as taught by Petrovski to improve user's sleep based on personal sleep data and controlling rates of the simulated breathing, heartbeat to induce, maintain sleep [Petrovski, Abstract].
Regarding claim 46, Rawls-Meehan discloses the system of claim 33, further comprising a biological sensor disposed within the bed device (para 168, The sensors may be mechanical sensors, electrical sensors, bio-sensors, and so on, para 423, monitor health conditions using a plurality of medical devices, Electrocardiogram, glucose meter, pulse oximeter, and the like, para 415, sensor 1810 to control the zoned climate control system 164 or a heating device).
Response to Arguments
8. Applicant’s arguments/amendments regarding the rejection of claim 1-3, 6, 8-11, 13-14 and 29-46, filed on July 17, 2026, have been fully considered but arguments are moot because newly added limitation to the claim requires a new ground of rejection necessitated by amendments.
Conclusion
/MIRZA F ALAM/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2688