DETAILED ACTION
Claim Interpretation
This application includes one or more claim limitations that do not use the word “means,” but are nonetheless being interpreted under 35 U.S.C. 112(f) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, sixth paragraph, because the claim limitation(s) uses a generic placeholder that is coupled with functional language without reciting sufficient structure to perform the recited function and the generic placeholder is not preceded by a structural modifier. Such claim limitation(s) is/are:
moving mechanism in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 2, 4, and 6-8 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by KR100750309 to Yoo et al.
In re claim 1, Yoo teaches a power tool system, comprising:
a base (see Annotated Figure 1, below) having a top surface (see Annotated Figure 1, below), a bottom surface (see Annotated Figure 1, below), and an opening (see Annotated Figure 1, there is an opening between the top and bottom surface divided by a linear surface) between the top surface and the bottom surface;
a support structure (34) passing through the opening in the base, the support structure having a first end (see Annotated Figure 1, the first end of the support structure is opposite to the second end) and a second end (see Annotated Figure 1);
a power-driven tool (100) positioned above the top surface of the base and mounted to the first end of the support structure; and
a moving mechanism (20,35) disposed below the top surface of the base and coupled to the second end of the support structure.
In re claim 2, wherein the power-driven tool and the support structure are movable along the opening (see Annotated Figure 1) in the base to engage a workpiece positioned on the top surface of the base.
In re claim 4, wherein the moving mechanism comprises:
a rail system (20) fixed to the base below the top surface; and
a carrier (22) having an opening (as shown in at least Figure 2b, there is an opening (screw hole) to receive and secure the second end of the support structure (via screws), the carrier (22) movable along the rail system.
In re claim 6, wherein the power-driven tool comprises a saw configured to rotatably drive a blade (120).
In re claim 7, wherein the blade (120) is coplanar with the support structure (34).
Examiner’s note, the blade is coplanar with the support structure in a horizontal plane (which extends in and out of the paper as shown in at least Figures 1 and 2b). A portion of the blade is also coplanar with the support structure as shown in at least Annotated Figure 2, below.
In re claim 8, wherein:
the saw comprises a handle (see Annotated Figure 2); and
a center plane of the handle is coplanar with the blade and the support structure (34).
Claims 1-3 and 6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by US Patent No. 8,302,518 to Rybka et al.
In re claim 1, Rybka teaches a power tool system, comprising:
a base (see Annotated Figure 3, below) having a top surface (see Annotated Figure 3, below), a bottom surface (see Annotated Figure 3, below), and an opening (the opening is the area defined between the top and bottom surfaces of the base) between the top surface and the bottom surface;
a support structure (Fig. 13. 226) passing through the opening in the base, the support structure having a first end (as shown in Figure 13) and a second end (as shown in at least Figure 13);
a power-driven tool (108) positioned above the top surface of the base and mounted to the first end of the support structure; and
a moving mechanism (188,190,232) disposed below the top surface of the base and coupled to the second end of the support structure.
In re claim 2, wherein the power-driven tool (108) and the support structure (Fig. 13, 226) are movable along the opening (see Annotated Figure 1) in the base to engage a workpiece positioned on the top surface of the base.
In re claim 3, a support structure (Fig. 13, 226) comprising a riving knife (256,258).
Note, the support structure is coupled to and therefore comprises a riving knife.
In re claim 6, wherein the power-driven tool comprises a saw configured to rotatably drive a blade (Col. 5, lines 1-2).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 3 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. in view of US Patent No. 8,302,518 to Rybka et al.
In re claim 3, Yoo teaches a support structure, but does not teach the support structure comprising a riving knife.
Rybka teaches a support structure (224) comprising a riving knife (256,258).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the support structure of Yoo with a riving knife as taught by Rybka so as the workpiece passes the saw blade, the riving knife spreads the cut portions of the workpiece to prevents binding of the saw blade by the workpiece (Col. 6, lines 50-54).
Claim 5 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yoo et al. in view of US Patent No. 11,628,587 to Kinnison et al.
In re claim 5, Yoo teaches wherein:
the rail system comprises a first rail (20, Yoo) and a second rail (20, Yoo), but does not teach the carrier comprises at least one roller to roll along the first rail and at least one roller to roll along the second rail.
Kinnison teaches a carrier (160) comprising rollers to roll along the guide (152) to facilitate translation of the saw unit (Col. 3, lines 33-35).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Yoo with a first and second roller to engage the guide rails as taught by Kinnison which is an obvious (mechanical) design choice to maintain facilitation of translation of linear movement of the saw unit (Col. 3, lines 33-35). Maintaining translation is advantageous for moving the saw to perform cutting to obtain the desired finished work product. One having ordinary skill in the art would recognize there are various mechanical structures, which are obvious variants, permitting translation of the saw unit.
Claims 9, 10, and 15-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Rybka et al. in view of US Patent No. 8,424,213 to Fukinuki.
In re claim 9, Rybka teaches wherein the support structure (Fig. 13, 226) defines a longitudinal plane (as shown in at least Figure 13).
In re claim 10, wherein the power-driven tool (108) comprises a saw having a handle (238), the aw configured to drive a blade (Col. 5, lines 1-2).
In re claim 15, Rybka teaches a power tool system, comprising:
a base having a top surface (see Annotated Figure 3, Pg. 7, above), a bottom surface ((see Annotated Figure 3, Pg. 7, above), and an opening (the opening is the area defined between the top and bottom surfaces of the base) between the top surface and the bottom surface;
a support structure (Fig. 13. 226) passing through the opening in the base, the support structure having a first end (as shown in Figure 13) and a second end (as shown in at least Figure 13);
a power-driven tool (108) positioned above the top surface of the base and mounted to the first end of the support structure, the power-driven tool including a blade (Col. 5, lines 1-2) aligned along a plane defined by the support structure; and
a moving mechanism (188,190,232) disposed below the top surface of the base and coupled to the second end of the support structure.
In re claim 18, wherein the power-driven tool includes a saw (Col. 5, lines 1-2).
Regarding claims 9, 10, 15-17, Rybka teaches a circular saw, but does not teach a center of gravity of the power-driven saw is aligned along the longitudinal plane, the center of gravity is aligned along a center plane of the handle, and the center of gravity is located in an approximate middle of the power-driven tool.
Fukinuki teaches in the art of circular saws, a saw having a motor (12) being distributed on both sides of the blade. Fukinuki teaches laterally adjusting the position of the motor with respect to the blade of the plane to allow the user to position the center of gravity of the motor as close as possible to the plane of the circular saw blade. Fukinuki further teaches aligning the handle with the circular saw blade and distributing the motor on both sides of the blade improves balance of the saw and operability during the cutting operation is improved (Col. 3, lines 36-63).
It would have been obvious to having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (when building the circular saw of Rybka from the ground up) to position the motor of Rybka on both sides of the blade and align the handle with the blade as taught by Fukinuki to position the center of gravity with respect to the plane of the circular saw blade which is advantageous for improving balance of the saw and operability during the cutting operation (Col. 3, lines 36-63). The modification would lead to the center of gravity being aligned along the longitudinal plane of the support structure, the center of gravity of the saw being aligned along a center plane of the handle (as shown in at least Figure 1 of Fukinuki), and the center of gravity being located in an approximate middle of the power-driven tool (as shown in at least Figure 1 of Fukinuki).
Claims 11-14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Rybka et al. in view of US Patent No. 5,090,283 to Nobel.
In re claim 11, Rybka teaches wherein the base comprises:
a first fence (106) that is parallel to the opening in the base (as shown in at least Figure 16); but does not teach a second fence having a first position that is parallel to the opening in the base and a second position that is perpendicular to the opening in the base.
Nobel teaches a miter fence (80) having a first position that is parallel to the base (as shown in at least Figure 7) and a second position (as shown in Figure 8) that is perpendicular to the base.
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide the base of Rybka with a second (miter) fence rotatable between a first position and a second position (which is 90 degrees relative to the first position) as taught by Nobel which is advantageous to provide accurate and repeatable angle to accomplish high precision cuts.
In re claim 12, modified Rybka teaches wherein: the first fence (106, Rybka) is movable across the top surface of the base in a position parallel to the opening in the base (Col. 4, lines 24-26); and
the second fence pivots (via 94, Nobel) about a point from the first position to the second position.
In re claim 13, modified Rybka teaches, wherein: an end of the base includes a cavity (112) between the top surface and the bottom surface, the cavity is sized to receive the second fence (94, Novel); and
the second fence (94, Nobel) is (capable of being) rotatable and movable from the top surface of the base into the cavity (112) between the top surface and the bottom surface.
In re claim 14, modified Rybka teaches, wherein: the top surface of the base includes a cavity (112), wherein the cavity is sized to receive the second fence (34, Nobel); and
the second fence is rotatable and movable into the cavity (34, Nobel).
Examiner’s note, for the sake of claim 14, it has been interpreted, the “top surface” of Rybka as shown in Annotated Figure 3 on Page 7 above can be interchangeable with the “bottom surface.” Based on this interpretation, the cavity would be disposed in the “top surface” and the cavity is capable of being size to receive the second fence (94, Nobel).
Claims 19-21 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Rybka et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20080127795 to Fukinuki (hereinafter Fukinuki ‘795).
In re claim 19, Rybka teaches a power tool system, comprising:
a base having a top surface (see Annotated Figure 3, Pg. 7, above), a bottom surface ((see Annotated Figure 3, Pg. 7, above), and an opening (the opening is the area defined between the top and bottom surfaces of the base) between the top surface and the bottom surface;
a support structure (Fig. 13. 226) passing through the opening in the base, the support structure having a first end (as shown in Figure 13) and a second end (as shown in at least Figure 13);
a power-driven tool (108) positioned above the top surface of the base and mounted to the first end of the support structure, the power-driven tool including a motor housing (220);
a motor drive unit disposed in the motor housing to drive the power-driven tool’ and
a moving mechanism (188,190,232) disposed below the top surface of the base and coupled to the second end of the support structure.
In re claim 20, wherein the power-driven tool (108) comprises a saw (Col. 5, lines 1-2) configured to rotatably drive a blade using the motor drive unit.
In re claim 21, wherein the blade (Col. 5, lines 1-2) is coplanar with the support structure.
Regarding claims 19-21, Rybka teaches a power tool having a motor drive unit, but does not teach a multi-motor drive unit.
Fukinuki ‘795 teaches a power tool having a multi-motor drive unit (13, 13a). The dual motors reduces size of the motor in the radial direction which provides a more compact tool and more comfortable to handle (Para 0008).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention to provide Rybka with a multi-motor drive unit as taught by Fukinuki ‘795 to reduce size of the motor in the radial direction which provides a more compact tool and more comfortable to handle (Para 0008). Fukinuki ‘795 provides a teaching that the driving power would be satisfied as long as the sum of the output power of the multiple motors is equal to the desired output power (Para 0008). The court held that mere duplication of parts has no patentable significance unless a new and unexpected result is produced. In re Harza, 274 F.2d 669, 124 USPQ 378 (CCPA 1960). See MPEP 2144.044, Section VI, Part B.
Claims 22-23 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable Rybka et al. in view of US Patent Application Publication No. 20080127795 to Fukinuki (hereinafter Fukinuki ‘795) and in further view of 8,424,213 to Fukinuki (hereinafter Fukinuki ‘213).
In re claim 22, modified Rybka teaches wherein: the saw comprises a handle (238) and a center plane of the handle (238) is coplanar with the blade and the support structure (Fig. 13, 226), but does not teach a center of gravity of the saw aligned with the center plane of the handle, the blade, and the support structure, and wherein the center of gravity is located in an approximate middle of the saw.
Fukinuki ‘213 teaches in the art of circular saws, a saw having a motor (12) being distributed on both sides of the blade. Fukinuki ‘213 teaches laterally adjusting the position of the motor with respect to the blade of the plane to allow the user to position the center of gravity of the motor as close as possible to the plane of the circular saw blade. Fukinuki ‘213 further teaches aligning the handle with the circular saw blade and distributing the motor on both sides of the blade improves balance of the saw and operability during the cutting operation is improved (Col. 3, lines 36-63).
It would have been obvious to having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the invention (when building the circular saw of Rybka from the ground up) to position the motors of Rybka on both sides of the blade and align the handle with the blade as taught by Fukinuki ‘213 to position the center of gravity with respect to the plane of the circular saw blade which is advantageous for improving balance of the saw and operability during the cutting operation (Col. 3, lines 36-63). The modification would lead to the center of gravity being aligned along the longitudinal plane of the support structure, the center of gravity of the saw being aligned along a center plane of the handle (as shown in at least Figure 1 of Fukinuki ‘213), and the center of gravity being located in an approximate middle of the power-driven tool (as shown in at least Figure 1 of Fukinuki ‘213).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. DE10305035 teaches a circular saw having a handle plane between the plane of rotation and the center of gravity. WO9825723 teaches orienting the handle and center of gravity of the circular saw proximate the plane of the circular saw blade.US Patent No. 2601878 teaches a saw table with rotatable fences.
/JENNIFER S MATTHEWS/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3724