DETAILED ACTION
Election/Restrictions
Claims 5 and 7-10 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected species, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on July 28, 2026.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-4, 6, 11-13, and 15-17 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Nagano et al. (U.S. Patent No.: 5,012,264).
Regarding claim 1, Nagano discloses an image capture system (FIG. 1) comprising: an image capture apparatus including: a body ((1), C. 3 L. 66); and a mounting member ((3), C. 3 L. 68 to C. 4 L. 1) connected to the body (FIG. 1); and an accessory ((2), C. 3 L. 67-68) configured for releasable connection to the mounting member (FIG. 1, C. 3 L. 67-68), wherein the accessory includes at least one haptic component (FIGS. 4, 5, (P) or (3c), see the following explanation) configured to provide an indication of positive connection of the accessory to the mounting member ((P): when “bayonet mount member” (16) is moved from a disengaged position as shown in FIG. 5 to an engaged position as shown in FIG. 4, “lock pin” (P) moves along an incline (3a1) while “spring member” (10) gathers energy until (P) reaches (3c) and drops into (3c) due to the release of energy by “spring member” (10), generating a haptic experience, C. 6 L. 50 to C. 8 L. 9; or (3c): Nagano discloses in C. 8 L. 9-21 that (P) or (3c) may be disposed in either one of the camera side bayonet mount or the accessory side bayonet mount, therefore, (3c) may be disposed on (16) and be the haptic component on (16)).
NOTE: To expedite the prosecution, also see In re Einstein, 8 USPQ 167 for reversal of parts.
Regarding claim 2, Nagano further discloses the image capture system of claim 1, wherein the accessory includes at least one optical element (FIG. 1, “lens unit” (2), C. 3 L. 67-68).
Regarding claim 3, Nagano further discloses the image capture system of claim 1, wherein the at least one haptic component defines a pocket ((3c), C. 6 L. 66 to C. 7 L. 2; when (3c) is disposed on (16), C. 8 L. 9-21) configured to receive the mounting member (FIG. 4, when (10) is disposed on (3), C. 8 L. 9-21).
Regarding claim 4, Nagano further discloses the image capture system of claim 3, wherein the pocket extends in generally parallel relation to an optical axis of the image capture apparatus (illustrated below).
Regarding claim 6, Nagano further discloses the image capture system of claim 1, wherein the at least one haptic component includes a static configuration (FIGS. 4, 5, wherein (3c) is static, C. 6 L. 66 to C. 7 L. 2; when (3c) is disposed on (16), C. 8 L. 9-21).
Regarding claim 11, Nagano discloses an accessory (FIG. 1, (2), C. 3 L. 67-68) configured for use with an image capture apparatus (FIG. 1, (1), C. 3 L. 66) including a mounting member ((3), C. 3 L. 68 to C. 4 L. 1), the accessory comprising: a frame ((16), C. 7 L. 3-6) including: slots ((3b), C. 7 L. 18-31; Nagano discloses in C. 8 L. 9-21 that (P) or (3c) may be disposed in either one of the camera side bayonet mount or the accessory side bayonet mount, therefore, (3a1)/(3a2)/(3a3)/(3b)/(3c) may be disposed on (16)) configured to receive radial mounts (indicated below) on the mounting member (FIGS. 4, 5);
ramped sections (indicated below) in communication with the slots (FIGS. 1, 4, 5);
and haptic components ((3c), C. 6 L. 66 to C. 7 L. 2; when (3c) is disposed on (16), C. 8 L. 9-21) in communication with the ramped sections such that rotation of the accessory causes the radial mounts to engage the ramped sections and, thereafter, the haptic components to thereby provide an indication of positive connection of the accessory to the mounting member (when “lock pin” (P) is moved from a disengaged position as shown in FIG. 5 to an engaged position as shown in FIG. 4, “lock pin” (P) moves along an incline (3a1) while “spring member” (10) gathers energy until (P) reaches (3c) and drops into (3c) due to the release of energy by “spring member” (10), generating a haptic experience indicative of a positive connection, C. 6 L. 50 to C. 8 L. 9).
Regarding claim 12, Nagano further discloses the accessory of claim 11, wherein the frame further includes: stops ((3a2), C. 6 L. 50-65; when (3a2) is disposed on (16), C. 8 L. 9-21) configured for engagement with the mounting member ((16a1), C. 6 L. 50-65; when (16a1) is disposed on (3), C. 8 L. 9-21) to thereby inhibit continued rotation of the accessory (C. 7 L. 18-30), wherein the stops are positioned adjacent to the haptic components (FIGS. 4, 5, wherein (3a2) is adjacent to (3c)).
Regarding claim 13, Nagano further discloses the accessory of claim 11, wherein the ramped sections are configured such that rotation of the accessory causes axial displacement thereof in relation to the mounting member (FIGS. 4, 5, (16a) is inserted into (3b), as the lens is rotated in a direction to couple moving through 3a3, 3a1, and eventually 3a2 to complete the engagement, the wedging effect of (16) and (3) results in tightening in the axial direction, C. 7 L. 17-30).
Regarding claim 15, Nagano further discloses the accessory of claim 13, wherein the haptic components define pockets ((3c), C. 6 L. 66 to C. 7 L. 2; when (3c) is disposed on (16), C. 8 L. 9-21) configured to receive the radial mounts (FIG. 4, when (P) is disposed on (3), C. 8 L. 9-21).
Regarding claim 16, Nagano further discloses the accessory of claim 15, wherein the pockets are axially offset in relation to the ramped sections along an optical axis of the image capture apparatus (wherein the pawl width of (3a1) gradually increases from its first portion to its last portion, C. 7 L. 31-37; with the largest width at (3a2), C. 6 L. 51-65; as indicated below, the width of (3c) differs from the width of the ramped/inclined section and are offset in an optical axis direction).
Regarding claim 17, Nagano further discloses the accessory of claim 16, wherein the pockets include base walls (indicated below) extending in generally orthogonal relation to the optical axis (FIGS. 4, 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14 and 18-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Nagano et al. (U.S. Patent No.: 5,012,264) as applied to claims 1-4, 6, 11-13, and 15-17 above, and further in view of Ito et al. (JP 2020060637).
Regarding claim 14:
Nagano discloses the accessory of claim 13.
Nagano does not specifically disclose a sleeve extending about the frame and including a compliant material such that axial displacement of the accessory causes compression and expansion of the sleeve.
Ito teaches an accessory and camera system, wherein the accessory (FIGS. 7-11) further includes: a sleeve ((321), [0018]) extending about the frame ((32)/(342), [0018]) and including a compliant material (“rubber”, [0018]) such that axial displacement of the accessory causes compression and expansion of the sleeve (when “camera side mount” (32) is attached to “camera mount” (11), [0018], (321) may press against (11) and compress; and decompresses when (32) is detached from (11)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Ito’s with the accessory taught by Nagano for the purpose of providing a waterproof connection between the accessory and the camera body.
Regarding claim 18:
Nagano discloses an accessory (FIG. 1, (2), C. 3 L. 67-68) configured for use with an image capture apparatus (FIG. 1, (1), C. 3 L. 66) including a mounting member ((3), C. 3 L. 68 to C. 4 L. 1), the accessory comprising: a barrel (FIG. 1, wherein “lens unit” (2) is shown as cylindrical and inherently contains a lens holder); a lens connected to the barrel (wherein “lens unit” (2) inherently contains at least one lens connected to the lens holder); a frame ((16), C. 7 L. 3-6) connected to the barrel (FIG. 1) and configured to interface with radial mounts (indicated below) on the mounting member
such that the accessory is rotatable in relation to the mounting member between a disengaged position (FIG. 5), in which the accessory is connectable to and disconnectable from the image capture apparatus (C. 7 L. 64 to C. 8 L. 2), and an engaged position (FIG. 4), in which the accessory is connected to the image capture apparatus via the mounting member (C. 7 L. 17-30), wherein the frame includes: slots ((3b), C. 7 L. 18-31; Nagano discloses in C. 8 L. 9-21 that (P) or (3c) may be disposed in either one of the camera side bayonet mount or the accessory side bayonet mount, therefore, (3a1)/(3a2)/(3a3)/(3b)/(3c) may be disposed on (16)) extending axially into the frame in generally parallel relation to an optical axis of the image capture apparatus (illustrated below),
wherein the slots are configured to receive the radial mounts (FIGS. 4, 5, C. 7 L. 18-31); ramped sections (indicated below) in communication with the slots (FIGS. 1, 4, 5)
and configured to engage the radial mounts such that the accessory is displaced axially during rotation between the disengaged position and the engaged position (FIGS. 4, 5, (16a) is inserted into (3b), as the lens is rotated in a direction to couple moving through 3a3, 3a1, and eventually 3a2 to complete the engagement, the wedging effect of (16) and (3) results in tightening in the axial direction, C. 7 L. 17-30); and haptic components ((3c), C. 6 L. 66 to C. 7 L. 2; when (3c) is disposed on (16), C. 8 L. 9-21) in communication with the ramped sections (FIGS. 4, 5), wherein the haptic components are configured to interface with the radial mounts to thereby provide an indication of positive connection of the accessory to the mounting member (when “lock pin” (P) is moved from a disengaged position as shown in FIG. 5 to an engaged position as shown in FIG. 4, “lock pin” (P) moves along an incline (3a1) while “spring member” (10) gathers energy until (P) reaches (3c) and drops into (3c) due to the release of energy by “spring member” (10), generating a haptic experience indicative of a positive connection, C. 6 L. 50 to C. 8 L. 9).
Nagano does not specifically disclose a sleeve extending about the frame and including a compliant material such that axial displacement of the accessory causes compression and expansion of the sleeve.
Ito teaches an accessory and camera system, wherein the accessory (FIGS. 7-11) further includes: a sleeve ((321), [0018]) extending about the frame ((32)/(342), [0018]) and including a compliant material (“rubber”, [0018]) such that axial displacement of the accessory causes compression and expansion of the sleeve (when “camera side mount” (32) is attached to “camera mount” (11), [0018], (321) may press against (11) and compress; and decompresses when (32) is detached from (11)).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the feature of Ito’s with the accessory taught by Nagano for the purpose of providing a waterproof connection between the accessory and the camera body.
Regarding claim 19:
Nagano and Ito disclose and teach of the accessory of claim 18, wherein Nagano further discloses that the haptic components define pockets ((3c), C. 6 L. 66 to C. 7 L. 2; when (3c) is disposed on (16), C. 8 L. 9-21) configured to receive the radial mounts (FIG. 4, when (P) is disposed on (3), C. 8 L. 9-21).
Regarding claim 20:
Nagano and Ito disclose and teach of the accessory of claim 18, wherein Nagano further discloses that the accessory is configured for rotation through an angular range of motion less than 90 degrees during rotation between the disengaged position and the engaged position (FIGS. 1, 4, 5, the rotation between FIG. 5 and FIG. 4 is less than 90 degrees).
Conclusion
/FANG-CHI CHANG/Examiner, Art Unit 2852
/STEPHANIE E BLOSS/Supervisory Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2852