DETAILED ACTION
Priority
Receipt is acknowledged of papers submitted under 35 U.S.C. 119(a)-(d), which papers have been placed of record in the file.
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 11/14/2025 have been considered by the examiner and been placed of record in the file.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9 and 17are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-8, 10-16 and 18-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Luo et al. (WO 2023019716 A1 – English Translation).
Claim 1. Luo et al. disclose A sensing method (read as a wireless communication method… enabling sensing measurement… [0006]), comprising:
preprocessing (read as the parameters used by the second device to process the measurement results reported by the sensing response device [0116]), by a first device (read as the second device [0116]), a first sensing measurement result to obtain a second sensing measurement result (read as the parameters used by the second device to process the measurement results reported by the sensing response device [0116]), wherein the first sensing measurement result is a sensing measurement result corresponding to a sensing measurement quantity obtained by the first device based on a received first signal (read as he raw data reporting field is set to 1 to indicate that the second device forwards the raw measurement results reported by the sensing receiver, and set to 0 to indicate that the second device does not forward the raw measurement results reported by the sensing receiver [0213]); and
reporting, by the first device, the second sensing measurement result to a second device (read as the second device can forward measurement establishment response information from the sensing response device to the first device [0179]).
The combined teaching of multiple embodiments disclosed by Luo et al. was use in the rejection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the teaching of Luo et al. in order to realize all limitations of the claimed invention namely the idea of preprocessing received measurements of a signal before forwarding it to a different device. The motivation is related to providing a wireless communication method and apparatus, in which a site
device can establish a measurement process through an access point device agent, enabling sensing measurement when the sensing initiating device is a site device (Luo et al. [0006]).
Claim 2. The method according to claim 1, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the preprocessing, by a first device, a first sensing measurement result comprises:
obtaining, by the first device, preprocessing information of the first sensing measurement result indicated by the second device (read as the first request frame may further include measurement setup command information, which is used to indicate that the measurement setup information in the first request frame is configured in a forced or suggested manner [0157]); and
preprocessing, by the first device, the first sensing measurement result based on the preprocessing information (read as Reported data compression algorithm field: This field indicates the algorithm used by the second device to compress the measurement result data reported by the sensing receiver [0215]).
Claim 3. The method according to claim 2, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the obtaining, by the first device, preprocessing information of the first sensing measurement result indicated by the second device comprises:
obtaining, by the first device, the preprocessing information based on target indication information transmitted by the second device (read as the first request frame may further include measurement setup command information, which is used to indicate that the measurement setup information in the first request frame is configured in a forced or suggested manner [0157]), wherein
the target indication information comprises at least one of preprocessing indication information or sensing indication information (read as information on the reporting type of the measurement results by the sensing and response device, and measurement threshold information [0165]), the preprocessing indication information indicates the preprocessing information, and the sensing indication information is associated with the preprocessing information.
Claim 4. The method according to claim 2, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the preprocessing information comprises at least one of:
whether to preprocess the first sensing measurement result;
condition information for enabling preprocessing (read as if the measurement result processing field indicates no, the perception initiation request frame may not include the processing parameter field [0216]);
information regarding a requirement on a first parameter corresponding to the first sensing measurement result;
information regarding a requirement on a first parameter corresponding to the second sensing measurement result;
a preprocessing manner; or
preprocessing parameter information associated with the preprocessing manner, wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of information regarding a proportion of effective sample points or a sensing performance indicator.
Claim 5. The method according to claim 4, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the preprocessing manner comprises at least one of:
interpolation;
sample extraction;
clutter suppression;
noise suppression;
outlier removal;
filtering;
merging; or
compression (read as Reported data compression algorithm field: This field indicates the algorithm used by the second device to compress the measurement result data reported by the sensing receiver [0215])..
Claim 6. The method according to claim 4, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the preprocessing parameter information comprises at least one of:
time-domain resource information, frequency-domain resource information, or spatial resource information corresponding to the second sensing measurement result;
an interpolation manner;
an interpolation density;
an interpolation quantity;
an extraction manner;
an extraction density;
an extraction quantity;
a clutter suppression manner;
a window size for direct current removal;
information regarding an algorithm for noise suppression;
target signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) threshold information (read as Signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR), Reference signal receiving power (RSRP),
Reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ), Signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) [0135]);
an outlier removal manner;
an outlier processing manner;
a window size for outlier removal;
a filtering manner;
a filtering parameter;
filter information;
a merging manner;
a quantity of first sensing measurement results to be merged;
information regarding a requirement on the first sensing measurement results to be merged;
a merging dimension;
a compression manner (read as algorithm used by the second device to compress the measurement result data [0215]);
a compression ratio; or
data volume information after compression.
Claim 7. The method according to claim 3, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the sensing indication information comprises at least one of:
sensing requirement information;
a sensing measurement quantity (read as on the reporting type of the measurement results by the sensing and response device, and measurement threshold information [0165]);
information regarding an algorithm for obtaining a sensing result based on a sensing measurement; or
sensing performance indicator information.
Claim 8. The method according to claim 1, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the sensing measurement quantity comprises at least one of:
original channel information;
signal strength information (read as Signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR), Reference signal receiving power (RSRP), Reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ), Signal-to-noise ratio (SNR), and Channel State Information Matrix (CSI Matrix) [0135]);
spectral information;
multi-path information;
angle information;
information regarding differences between signals corresponding to different antennas; or
target parameter information determined based on the original channel information.
Claim 10. The method according to claim 2, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein before the obtaining, by the first device, preprocessing information of the first sensing measurement result indicated by the second device (read as The sixth instruction information is used to instruct the device on the compression algorithm used to compress the raw measurement results reported by the sensing device [0885]), the method further comprises:
transmitting, by the first device, preprocessing capability information to the second device, wherein the preprocessing capability information indicates a preprocessing capability supported by the first device, and the preprocessing capability information is used for determining the preprocessing information (read as The sixth instruction information is used to instruct the device on the compression algorithm used to compress the raw measurement results reported by the sensing device [0885]).
Claim 11. The method according to claim 1, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the first signal comprises a signal of at least one of the following signal types:
a sensing signal;
a communication signal (read as Reference signal receiving power (RSRP), Reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ) and Channel State Information Matrix (CSI Matrix) [0135]); or
an integrated sensing and communication signal.
Claim 12. Luo et al. disclose A sensing method (read as a wireless communication method… enabling sensing measurement… [0006]), comprising:
obtaining, by a second device, a second sensing measurement result transmitted by a first device (read as the second device can forward measurement establishment response information from the sensing response device to the first device [0179]), wherein the second sensing measurement result is a sensing measurement result obtained by preprocessing a first sensing measurement result (read as the second device can forward measurement establishment response information from the sensing response device to the first device [0179]), and the first sensing measurement result is a sensing measurement result corresponding to a sensing measurement quantity obtained by the first device based on a received first signal (read as Signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR), Reference signal receiving power (RSRP), Reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ), Signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) [0135]).
The combined teaching of multiple embodiments disclosed by Luo et al. was use in the rejection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the teaching of Luo et al. in order to realize all limitations of the claimed invention namely the idea of preprocessing received measurements of a signal before forwarding it to a different device. The motivation is related to providing a wireless communication method and apparatus, in which a site
device can establish a measurement process through an access point device agent, enabling sensing measurement when the sensing initiating device is a site device (Luo et al. [0006]).
Claim 13. The method according to claim 12, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein before the obtaining, by a second device, a second sensing measurement result transmitted by a first device (read as the second device can forward measurement establishment response information from the sensing response device to the first device [0179]), the method further comprises:
indicating, by the second device, preprocessing information of the first sensing measurement result (read as The sixth instruction information is used to instruct the device on the compression algorithm used to compress the raw measurement results reported by the sensing device [0885]).
Claim 14. The method according to claim 13, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the indicating, by the second device, preprocessing information of the first sensing measurement result comprises:
transmitting, by the second device, at least one of preprocessing indication information or sensing indication information (read as The sixth instruction information is used to instruct the device on the compression algorithm used to compress the raw measurement results reported by the sensing device [0885]), wherein
the preprocessing indication information indicates the preprocessing information, and the sensing indication information is associated with the preprocessing information (read as The sixth instruction information is used to instruct the device on the compression algorithm used to compress the raw measurement results reported by the sensing device [0885]).
Claim 15. The method according to claim 14, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the preprocessing information comprises at least one of:
whether to preprocess the first sensing measurement result;
condition information for enabling preprocessing (read as The sixth instruction information is used to instruct the device on the compression algorithm used to compress the raw measurement results reported by the sensing device [0885]);
information regarding a requirement on a first parameter corresponding to the first sensing measurement result;
information regarding a requirement on a first parameter corresponding to the second sensing measurement result;
a preprocessing manner; or
preprocessing parameter information associated with the preprocessing manner, wherein the first parameter comprises at least one of information regarding a proportion of effective sample points or a sensing performance indicator;
wherein the preprocessing manner comprises at least one of:
interpolation;
sample extraction;
clutter suppression;
noise suppression;
outlier removal;
filtering;
merging; or
compression (read as algorithm used by the second device to compress the measurement result data [0215]).
Claim 16. The method according to claim 14, Luo et al. disclose,
wherein the sensing indication information comprises at least one of:
sensing requirement information;
a sensing measurement quantity (read as Signal-to-interference plus noise ratio (SINR), Reference signal receiving power (RSRP), Reference signal receiving quality (RSRQ), Signal-to-noise ratio (SNR) [0135]);
information regarding an algorithm for obtaining a sensing result based on a sensing measurement (read as algorithm used by the second device to compress the measurement result data [0215]); or
sensing performance indicator information.
Claim 18. Luo et al. disclose A communication device (read as a communication device [0017]), wherein the communication device is a first device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions executable by the processor (read as the parameters used by the second device to process the measurement results reported by the sensing response device [0116]), wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor (read as …a processor for calling and running a computer program from memory, causing a device equipped with the device to perform the method as described in any of the first to ninth aspects above or in their respective implementations [0018]), cause the communication device to perform:
preprocessing (read as the parameters used by the second device to process the measurement results reported by the sensing response device [0116]) a first sensing measurement result to obtain a second sensing measurement result (read as the parameters used by the second device to process the measurement results reported by the sensing response device [0116]), wherein the first sensing measurement result is a sensing measurement result corresponding to a sensing measurement quantity obtained by the first device based on a received first signal (read as he raw data reporting field is set to 1 to indicate that the second device forwards the raw measurement results reported by the sensing receiver, and set to 0 to indicate that the second device does not forward the raw measurement results reported by the sensing receiver [0213]); and
reporting the second sensing measurement result to a second device (read as the second device can forward measurement establishment response information from the sensing response device to the first device [0179]).
The combined teaching of multiple embodiments disclosed by Luo et al. was use in the rejection.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to a person of ordinary skill in the art, at the time the invention was filed, to use the teaching of Luo et al. in order to realize all limitations of the claimed invention namely the idea of preprocessing received measurements of a signal before forwarding it to a different device. The motivation is related to providing a wireless communication method and apparatus, in which a site
device can establish a measurement process through an access point device agent, enabling sensing measurement when the sensing initiating device is a site device (Luo et al. [0006]).
Claim 19. Luo et al. disclose A communication device, comprising a processor and a memory, wherein the memory stores a program or instructions executable by the processor, and the program or the instructions, when executed by the processor, implement the steps of the sensing method according to claim 12 (read as a communication device is provided, including a processor and a memory. The memory is used to store computer programs, and the processor is used to call and run the computer programs stored in the memory to perform the methods in any of the first to ninth aspects or their respective implementations [0017]).
Claim 20. Luo et al. disclose A non-transitory readable storage medium, storing a program or instructions, wherein the program or the instructions, when executed by a processor, implement the steps of the sensing method according to claim 1 (read as a communication device is provided, including a processor and a memory. The memory is used to store computer programs, and the processor is used to call and run the computer programs stored in the memory to perform the methods in any of the first to ninth aspects or their respective implementations [0017]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. Refer to PTO-892.
Additional prior art is included in PTO-892. In this regard, Cheng et al. (US 20230370820 A) disclose the idea of a sensing device sending signal measurements to a sensing management application server (SMAS). SMAS 530 may use the sensing report, along with other sensing reports, to determine a more comprehensive geographical map and/or other contextual information based on the RF sensing applications and the sensing results to a user equipment [00156-0157]. (FIG. 4-7).
Yang et al. (US 20220352967 A1) disclose the idea of a user equipment measuring signal quality and forwarding the results to a base station (FIG. 6-7).
MOHAMMED . RACHEDINE
Examiner
Art Unit 2649
/MOHAMMED RACHEDINE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2646