DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on 07/12/2024 has been considered by the examiner.
Specification
The specification is objected to as failing to provide proper antecedent basis for the claimed subject matter. See 37 CFR 1.75(d)(1) and MPEP § 608.01(o). Correction of the following is required: While the first ram and second ram are identified in part of the descriptive portion of the specification; the first ram and second ram are not by reference to the drawings, designating the part or parts therein to which the terms applies.
Drawings
The drawings are objected to under 37 CFR 1.83(a). The drawings must show every feature of the invention specified in the claims. Therefore, the first ram and second ram must be shown or the features canceled from the claims. No new matter should be entered.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-2 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Thorson et al. (US 2013/0341831 A1 – of record).
Regarding claim 1, Thorson discloses a method of automatically rotating a plurality of jaws about a longitudinal axis to expand an end of a pipe. The method includes moving a spindle 8 – (construed as advancing a ram) to a position towards a set of jaws 24 and cap 20 assembly – (the set of jaws and cap are construed as an expander head) where at this position the jaws are rotated, see at least FIG. 4 and [0037] – (construed as a first distance to rotate an expander head in a first rotational direction); and moving the spindle axially further towards the set of jaws causes the jaws to expand radially, see at least FIG. 5, [0038] – (construed as advancing the ram a second distance so that the ram causes head segments of the expander head to expand radially).
Regarding claim 2, Thorson discloses the jaws/cap assembly/expander head rotates in the first rotational direction, the jaws 24 – (construed as head segments) are in a closed position where each one of the jaws/head segments contacts an adjacent one of the jaws/head segments, see at least FIG 4.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 12-13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Thorson et al. (US 2013/0341831 A1 – of record).
Regarding claim 12, Thorson discloses a method of automatically rotating a plurality of jaws about a longitudinal axis to expand an end of a pipe. The method includes a set of jaws 24 disposed in a retracted position where adjacent segments thereof contact each other, see at least FIG. 2 – (construed as radially retracting the head segments to a closed position where each one of the head segments contacts an adjacent one of the head segments); moving a spindle 8 – (construed as advancing a ram) to a position towards the set of jaws 24 and cap 20 assembly – (the set of jaws and cap are construed as an expander head) where at this position the jaws are rotated, see at least FIG. 4 and [0037] – (construed as a first distance to rotate an expander head in a first rotational direction a predetermined amount to rotate the head segments the predetermined amount); and moving the spindle axially further towards the set of jaws causes the jaws to expand radially, see at least FIG. 5, [0038] – (construed as advancing the ram a second distance that radially expands the head segments).
Thorson does not explicitly disclose a technique of stopping rotation of the expander head beyond the predetermined amount. However, as Thorson discloses rotating the jaws and cap assembly it is considered that stopping rotation of the expander head beyond the predetermined amount, involves only routine skill in the art. Accordingly, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Thorson’s rotation scheme to include stopping rotation of the expander head beyond the predetermined amount; as it has been held that where the general conditions of a claim are disclosed in the prior art, it is not inventive to discover the optimum or workable ranges by routine experimentation, see MPEP 2144.05.
Regarding claim 13, Thorson discloses driving an expander to contact the head segments to radially expand the head segments, the expander moving past a distal end of each of the head segments, see at least FIG. 5.
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 3-11, 14-20 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
The following is a statement of reasons for the indication of allowable subject matter:
The closest prior art of record Thorson does teach or reasonably suggest the use of a drive collar having lugs, and the expander head includes slots; a first ram and a second ram; a shuttle cam, the method further comprising: rotating the shuttle cam that transmits torque to the drive collar and rotates the expander head in the first rotational direction; starting a motor based on a user input from a trigger to pump hydraulic fluid into an actuator of the expanding tool; actuating the motor to continue pumping the hydraulic fluid based on the user input from the trigger exceeding a predetermined time period; and advancing the ram coupled to an expander using the hydraulic fluid to radially expand the head segments; sensing a pressure with a pressure transducer that is in communication with a cavity that receives the ram; moving a cam roller along a groove defined by a shuttle cam with the second ram to rotated the shuttle cam and transmit a torque from the shuttle cam to a drive collar; determining the ram is in the home position using a position sensor; and reenabling a motor and a user input for a subsequent extension of the ram; extending a ram away from a home position to rotate an expander head from a first rotational position to a second rotational position; continuing to extend the ram to cause the expander head to expand while the expander head is in the second rotational position; and retracting the ram to the home position while the expander head remains in the second rotational position; extending the ram away from the home position to rotate the expander head from the second rotational position to a third rotational position; and continuing to extend the ram to cause the expander head to expand while the expander head is in the third rotational position.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
/CEDRICK S WILLIAMS/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1749