DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a) as being anticipated by Kado et al. (US20120115022).
As to claim 1, Kado et al. discloses an electricity storage device (figure 1) comprising: an electrode body (20) including a positive electrode and a negative electrode; an exterior body (30) having an opening and housing the electrode body therein; a closing plate (32) having a terminal insertion hole and closing the opening; an electrode terminal (figure 2 number 41) having one end electrically connected to the electrode body inside the exterior body and another end inserted into the terminal insertion hole and exposed outside the closing plate; and an insulating member (50) made of resin and insulating the electrode terminal from an outer surface of the closing plate (32), wherein the closing plate, the electrode terminal (34a), and the insulating member are insert-molded, the closing plate has a groove (34a) at a boundary portion with the insulating member on the outer surface side, and the groove is provided over an entire periphery of the electrode terminal.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kado et al. (US20120115022)..
Kado et al. discloses the electricity storage device described above. Kado et al. fail to disclose wherein, when a groove width is X mm and a groove depth is Y mm, the groove has a sum of the groove width X and the groove depth Y of 1 mm or more and wherein, the groove depth Y is 0.1 mm or more. It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to provide Kado et al. with wherein, when a groove width is X mm and a groove depth is Y mm, the groove has a sum of the groove width X and the groove depth Y of 1 mm or more and wherein, the groove depth Y is 0.1 mm or more in order to provide optimal results in absence of unexpected results.
Claim(s) 4-5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Kado et al. in view of Kohno et al. (US20130260212).
Kado et al. discloses the electricity storage device described above. Kado et al. fail to disclose wherein the closing plate has a roughened portion in at least a part of the boundary portion with the insulating member and wherein the electrode terminal has a roughened portion in at least a part of a boundary portion with the insulating member. Kohno et al. teaches wherein the closing plate has a roughened portion in at least a part of the boundary portion with the insulating member and wherein the electrode terminal has a roughened portion in at least a part of a boundary portion with the insulating member for the purpose of ensuring closer contact with the insulating base material (paragraph 0105).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art at the time applicant's invention was made to Kado et al. with wherein the closing plate has a roughened portion in at least a part of the boundary portion with the insulating member and wherein the electrode terminal has a roughened portion in at least a part of a boundary portion with the insulating member for the purpose of ensuring closer contact with the insulating base material (paragraph 0105).
Conclusion
/JANE J RHEE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1724