DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-8, 11, 12, and 14-16, is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gao et al. (US Publication No. 20200065988) in view of Daoura et al. (US Patent No. 11043086).
As to claims 1, 15, and 16, Gao teaches a method comprising: at an electronic device in communication with one or more wireless antenna, a display generation component and one or more input devices, a non-transitory computer readable storage medium, and an electronic device, comprising: one or more processors; memory; and one or more programs, wherein the one or more programs are stored in the memory and configured to be executed by the one or more processors (fig. 1, fig. 4, and pp0035, wireless communications), the one or more programs including instructions for: displaying, via a display generation component, a first user interface (fig. 3A); while displaying the first user interface, receiving a request, via one or more input devices, to locate [an object] (fig. 3A, fig. 3F, fig. 3P, pp0038, scanning an object to perform object detection, and pp0045); and in response to receiving the request to locate the [an object], displaying, via the display generation component, a user interface for locating the [an object] (fig. 3A, fig. 3F, fig. 3J, scanning result), including: in accordance with a determination that one or more criteria are satisfied (fig. 3A, fig. 3M, pp0046, when scanning condition is not ideal, i.e. insufficient lighting) displaying, in the user interface, a selectable option that is selectable to emit light from a lighting element of the electronic device (fig. 3A, fig. 3M, pp0046, when scanning condition is not ideal, i.e. insufficient lighting, fig. 3P, include a flashlight toggle 385 to activate (or deactivate) a flashlight); and in accordance with a determination that the one or more criteria are not satisfied, forgoing displaying, in the user interface, the selectable option that is selectable to emit light from the lighting element of the electronic device (fig. 3F, fig. 3J, i.e. no flashlight (385) help needed during scanning). However, Gao fails to explicitly mention that [an object] is a remote locator object.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Daoura teaches the concept of finding personal object and that [an object] is a remote locator object (fig. 12, #1216, fig. 14, fig. 5, finder device typically attachable to a personal object). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Daoura to achieve the goal of efficiently, seamlessly, and easily finding object in a timely manner with a communication device (Daoura, col. 1, lines 46-47).
As to claim 2, Gao in view of Daoura teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Gao further teaches wherein the electronic device includes one or more cameras that are used to determine a location of the electronic device relative to the [object] (fig. 1, fig. 3E, fig. 4, pp0041, scanning may be triggered based on the distance between the image sensor and the object being scanned, and pp0038). However, Gao fails to explicitly mention that [an object] is a remote locator object.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Daoura teaches the concept of finding personal object and that [an object] is a remote locator object (fig. 12, #1216, fig. 14, fig. 5, finder device typically attachable to a personal object). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Daoura to achieve the goal of efficiently, seamlessly, and easily finding object in a timely manner with a communication device (Daoura, col. 1, lines 46-47).
As to claim 3, Gao in view of Daoura teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Gao further teaches wherein the lighting element of the electronic device, when emitting light, emits light onto a portion of a physical environment of the electronic device that is within a field of view of the one or more cameras (fig. 3M, fig. 3P, and pp0046, activate flashlight for providing enough light around the floor and object).
As to claim 4, Gao in view of Daoura teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Gao further teaches wherein the one or more cameras are located on a first side of the electronic device, and the lighting element is located on the first side of the electronic device (fig. 3B, fig. 3E, fig. 3P, and pp0046, activate flashlight for providing enough light around the floor and object).
As to claim 5, Gao in view of Daoura teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Gao further teaches wherein the lighting element is used as a flash for the one or more cameras when the electronic device is capturing media using the one or more cameras in a media capture application (fig. 3B, fig. 3E, fig. 3P, and pp0046, activate flashlight for providing enough light around the floor and object).
As to claim 6, Gao in view of Daoura teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Gao further teaches wherein the user interface for locating the [an object] includes a representation of a portion of a physical environment of the electronic device that is within a field of view of the one or more cameras (fig. 3B, fig. 3E, fig. 3P, and pp0046, activate flashlight for providing enough light around the floor and object). However, Gao fails to explicitly mention that [an object] is a remote locator object.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Daoura teaches the concept of finding personal object and that [an object] is a remote locator object (fig. 12, #1216, fig. 14, fig. 5, finder device typically attachable to a personal object). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Daoura to achieve the goal of efficiently, seamlessly, and easily finding object in a timely manner with a communication device (Daoura, col. 1, lines 46-47).
As to claim 7, Gao in view of Daoura teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Gao further teaches further comprising: in accordance with the determination that the one or more criteria are satisfied, displaying, in the user interface, an indication that additional light is needed to locate the [an object] (fig. 3A, fig. 3M, pp0046, when scanning condition is not ideal, i.e. insufficient lighting, fig. 3P, include a flashlight toggle 385 to activate (or deactivate) a flashlight). However, Gao fails to explicitly mention that [an object] is a remote locator object.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Daoura teaches the concept of finding personal object and that [an object] is a remote locator object (fig. 12, #1216, fig. 14, fig. 5, finder device typically attachable to a personal object). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Daoura to achieve the goal of efficiently, seamlessly, and easily finding object in a timely manner with a communication device (Daoura, col. 1, lines 46-47).
As to claim 8, Gao in view of Daoura teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Gao further teaches wherein the user interface includes an indication of an identifier associated with the [an object] (fig. 3J). However, Gao fails to explicitly mention that [an object] is a remote locator object.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Daoura teaches the concept of finding personal object and that [an object] is a remote locator object (fig. 12, #1216, fig. 14, fig. 5, finder device typically attachable to a personal object). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Daoura to achieve the goal of efficiently, seamlessly, and easily finding object in a timely manner with a communication device (Daoura, col. 1, lines 46-47).
As to claim 11, Gao in view of Daoura teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Gao further teaches wherein the one or more criteria include one or more of a criterion that is satisfied when a level of ambient light in a physical environment of the electronic device is less than a threshold level (fig. 3A, fig. 3M, pp0046, when scanning condition is not ideal, i.e. insufficient lighting, fig. 3P, include a flashlight toggle 385 to activate (or deactivate) a flashlight), and a criterion that is satisfied when a distance between the electronic device and the [an object] is less than a threshold distance. However, Gao fails to explicitly mention that [an object] is a remote locator object.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Daoura teaches the concept of finding personal object and that [an object] is a remote locator object (fig. 12, #1216, fig. 14, fig. 5, finder device typically attachable to a personal object). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Daoura to achieve the goal of efficiently, seamlessly, and easily finding object in a timely manner with a communication device (Daoura, col. 1, lines 46-47).
As to claim 12, Gao in view of Daoura teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Gao further teaches further comprising: receiving, via the one or more input devices, selection of the selectable option to emit light from the lighting element of the electronic device; in response to receiving the selection of the selectable option: emitting light from the lighting element of the electronic device (fig. 3A, fig. 3M, pp0046, when scanning condition is not ideal, i.e. insufficient lighting, fig. 3P, include a flashlight toggle 385 to activate a flashlight); and updating the user interface to include a second selectable option that is selectable to cease emitting light from the lighting element of the electronic device (fig. 3A, fig. 3M, pp0046, when scanning condition is not ideal, i.e. insufficient lighting, fig. 3P, include a flashlight toggle 385 to deactivate a flashlight).
As to claim 14, Gao in view of Daoura teaches the limitations of the independent claims as discussed above. Gao further teaches wherein the first user interface is a user interface that includes information about the [an object]. (fig. 3J). However, Gao fails to explicitly mention that [an object] is a remote locator object.
In an analogous field of endeavor, Daoura teaches the concept of finding personal object and that [an object] is a remote locator object (fig. 12, #1216, fig. 14, fig. 5, finder device typically attachable to a personal object). Thus, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to combine the teachings of Gao with the teachings of Daoura to achieve the goal of efficiently, seamlessly, and easily finding object in a timely manner with a communication device (Daoura, col. 1, lines 46-47).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 9, 10, and 13, are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
/OMONIYI OBAYANJU/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2645