Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, see remarks , filed 12/23/2025, with respect to the 102 exceptions against Bouazizi have been fully considered and are persuasive. The Non-Final Action of 09/29/2025 has been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5, 8, 12-15, 17, 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) and/or(a)(2) as being anticipated by Xue, USPG_Pub. 20200098186.
Regarding claim 1, Xue discloses a method of retrieving media data, the method comprising:
receiving, by a streaming unit (fig. 2, 48; Para. 55 (transmits and receive so it equates to streaming unit)) of a client device (fig. 2, 16) that also executes a media application(fig. 2, 10; Para. 51 (media player application executed by the processor 50 meets media application)), a rendered frame of media data from a source device in a media stream (fig. 2. 16; Abstract; Para. 6, 51(the method includes receiving a rendered frame from the server over the wireless connection, the rendered frame rendered for display based on the transmitted pose information));
receiving, by the streaming unit of the client device, system metadata to be passed to the media application, wherein the system metadata is included in the media stream (fig. 2; Para. 62); and
providing, by the streaming unit (fig. 2, 48) of the client device, the rendered frame (Para. 6 (frame received from server is rendered frame)) and the system metadata to the media application (Para. 51, 61-62 (controller 50 executes media player application and controls rendering of the received generated image (Para. 6 (rendered frame)) based on pose together with pose information and other metadata and provides it to the multimedia processor which is the media application for reproducing and displaying the image at the client device 16)).
Regarding claim 2, Xue discloses the method, wherein the system metadata represents split rendering data for the media application, the split rendering data including a timestamp for the rendered frame, a rendered pose for the rendered frame, and one or more previously executed rendering operations for the rendered frame (fig. 2; Para. 27, 63).
Regarding claim 3, Xue discloses the method, wherein receiving the system metadata comprises receiving a set of system metadata including extended reality (XR) pose information(XRPI) including one or more of an syntax element, an syntax element, an xrpi timestamp syntax element, an xrpi_ x syntax element, an xrpi_y syntax element, an xrpi_z syntax element, an xrpi_rx syntax element, an xrpi_ry syntax element, an xrpir_z syntax element, an xrpi_ rw syntax element, an actions_count syntax element, or an xrpi_action_id syntax element (Para. 27, 63 (angles and coordinates of pose information represented in syntax form are equivalents of the pitch roll and yaw of the head mount display (HMD) device)).
Regarding claim 5, Xue discloses the method, wherein receiving the system metadata includes receiving at least a portion of the system metadata in an audio stream of the media stream associated with a video stream including the rendered frame (Para. 6, 26, 32 (any information about the audio data is audio metadata)).
Regarding claim 8, Xue discloses the method, wherein the system metadata includes a pose of a user for which the frame of media data was rendered, the method further comprising modifying, by the client device, the rendered frame according to an actual pose of the user to form a modified rendered frame, wherein presenting the frame comprises presenting the modified rendered frame (ATW results in a modified rendered frame).
Regarding claim 12, Xue discloses a device for retrieving media data (fig. 10, 200), the device comprising:
a memory configured to store media data (Para. 86 (Pose buffer storing pose information)); and
a processing system (fig. 2, 16 (processing components of the client device meets processing system)) comprising one or more processors implemented in circuitry, the processing system being configured to execute a media application, and configured to execute a streaming unit (Para. 51 (controller 50 executes software applications like media player application and controls the operations of the client device including the connection processor (streaming unit))) to:
receive a rendered frame of media data from a source device in a media stream (fig. 2. 16; Abstract; Para. 6, 51(the method includes receiving a rendered frame from the server over the wireless connection, the rendered frame rendered for display based on the transmitted pose information));
receive system metadata to be passed to the media application, wherein the system metadata is included in the media stream (Para. 62 (image information received by client includes pose information-pose information is system metadata)); and
provide the rendered frame and the system metadata to the media application (Para. 51, 61-62 (controller 50 executes media player application and controls rendering of the received generated image (Para. 6 (rendered frame)) based on pose together with pose information and other metadata and provides it to the multimedia processor which is the media application for reproducing and displaying the image at the client device 16)).
Regarding claim 13, Xue discloses a method of rendering media data, the method comprising:
receiving, by a source device, data representing a user pose for which to render media data from a client device (Abstract; Para. 6);
rendering, by the source device, a rendered frame of media data according to the user pose (Para. 6);
generating, by the source device, system metadata to be passed to a media application, the system metadata including pose data representing the user pose (Para. 6, 51, 62); and
sending, by the source device, a media stream including the rendered frame and the system metadata to the client device (Para. 61-62).
Regarding claim 14, Xue discloses the method, wherein generating the system metadata comprises generating a set of system metadata including one or more of an indication of whether a list of actions is present, a wall clock timestamp for the pose of the user (Para. 63), coordinates of a position of the pose of the user, components of a quaternion representing a rotation of the pose of the user, a number of the actions processed prior to rendering the frame with the pose of the user, or an identifier of an action that was processed prior to rendering the frame with the pose of the user (Para. 27, 63 (angles and coordinates of pose information represented in syntax form are equivalents of the pitch roll and yaw of the head mount display (HMD) device)).
Regarding claim 15, Xue discloses the method, wherein generating the system metadata comprises generating a set of system metadata including extended reality (XR) pose information (XRPI) including one or more of an syntax element, an syntax element, an xrpi timestamp syntax element, an xrpi_ x syntax element, an xrpi_y syntax element, an xrpi_z syntax element, an xrpi_rx syntax element, an xrpi_ry syntax element, an xrpir_z syntax element, an xrpi_ rw syntax element, an actions_count syntax element, or an xrpi_action_id syntax element (Para. 27, 63 (angles and coordinates of pose information represented in syntax form are equivalents of the pitch roll and yaw of the head mount display (HMD) device)).
Regarding claim 17, Xue discloses the method, wherein generating the system metadata includes generating an audio stream of the media stream associated with a video stream including the rendered frame, the audio stream including at least a portion of the system metadata. (Para. 16, 32 (the image or frame data sent from server 10 to client 16 is rendered and it includes audio and video data)).
Regarding claim 19, Xue discloses the method, further comprising sending a session description protocol (SDP) attribute indicating that the system metadata is included in the media stream to the client device (Para. 30 (SDP is essentially built into how RTSP sessions are setup-making SDP inherent)).
Regarding claim 20, Xue discloses a device for rendering media data, the device comprising:
a memory configured to store media data (Para. 6, 70, 86); and
a processing system comprising one or more processors implemented in circuitry, the processing system being configured to:
receive data representing a user pose for which to render media data from a client device (Abstract; Para. 6);
render a rendered frame of media data according to the user pose (Para. 6);
generate system metadata to be passed to a media application, the system metadata including pose data representing the user pose (Para. 6, 62); and
send a media stream including the rendered frame and the system metadata to the client device (Para. 6, 61-62).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim 9 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, USPG_Pub. 20200098186, in view of Van Rossum, USPG_Pub. 20060029093.
Regarding claim 9, Xue does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein receiving the system metadata includes receiving at least a portion of the system metadata as a watermark included in the rendered frame.
Van Rossum discloses frame watermarking for the purpose of allowing content creators to track legitimate copies of content that may be recorded during broadcast (Para. 113).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method of Xue to include the method, wherein receiving the system metadata includes receiving at least a portion of the system metadata as a watermark included in the rendered frame as disclose by Van Rossum in order to allow for authentication of the legitimacy of a media content.
Claims 4, 10, 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, USPG_Pub. 20200098186, in view of Graziosi, US Pat. 10,964,089.
Regarding claims 4, 10, 16, Xue does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein generating the system metadata includes generating a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message including at least a portion of the system metadata.
Graziosi discloses using SEI information is used in split rendering systems to indicate (indication via metadata) the point at with the source device (here cloud system) stopped at processing the image data so that the client device can fill in the missing process/steps (col. 7, ll. 17-25) which meets “the method, wherein generating the system metadata includes generating a supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message including at least a portion of the system metadata.”
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method of Xue to include supplemental enhancement information (SEI) message as metadata to indicate to client asynchronous time warping may be needed for a received rendered frame by the client device 16 as disclose by Graziosi in order to allow the client device to fill in the missing steps performed by the server.
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, USPG_Pub. 20200098186, in view of Graziosi, US Pat. 10,964,089 and further in view of Klemenz, USPG_Pub. 20200272489.
Regarding claim 11, Xue and Graziosi do not explicitly disclose discloses the method, further comprising registering for a metadata callback for one or more streams of the metadata media stream that indicate the presence of the system metadata.
Klemenz discloses a registration process that in volves registration of metadata callback in a metadata module to support a service runtime environment (Para. 90).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention the method of Xue and Graziosi to include method, further comprising registering for a metadata callback for one or more streams of the metadata media stream that indicate the presence of the system metadata as disclose by Klemenz in order to allow for object specific annotation in a media content.
Claims 6-7, and 18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xue, USPG_Pub. 20200098186, in view of Murtaza, USPG_Pub. 20200245032.
Regarding claims 6,18, Xue does not explicitly disclose the method, wherein generating the audio stream including the at least portion of the system metadata includes generating an MPEG-H audio stream (MHAS) packet including a payload type value indicating that the MHAS packet includes the at least portion of the system metadata.
Murtaza discloses the method, wherein generating the audio stream including the at least portion of the system metadata includes generating an MPEG-H audio stream (MHAS) packet including a payload type value indicating that the MHAS packet includes the at least portion of the system metadata (Para. 338-339 (the metadata filed of the MHAS packet indicates that metadata is included in the payload of the MHAS packet)).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method of Xue to the method, wherein generating the audio stream including the at least portion of the system metadata includes generating an MPEG-H audio stream (MHAS) packet including a payload type value indicating that the MHAS packet includes the at least portion of the system metadata as disclosed by Murtaza in order to selective request audio streams related to a clients region of interest (ROI).
Regarding claim 7, Xue in view of Murtaza discloses the method, wherein the payload type value comprises PACTYP_XRRENDERPOSE (Murtaza: Para. 338,352 (PACTYP_XRRENDERPOSE is equivalent to the PACTYP_EARCON since the Earcon stream is selected based on ROI which is a pose information-Para. 352)).
Conclusion
/ANTHONY BANTAMOI/Examiner, Art Unit 2422