DETAILED ACTION
Claim Objections
Claims 6, 9, 18, and 24 are objected to because of the following informalities: “the lateral wellbore opening” in claim 6 lacks antecedent basis and will thus not be restricted to an intersection with a lateral wellbore from the main wellbore and instead will encompass any lateral wellbore opening such as a perforation. The phrase “the lateral opening in the barrel” in claim 9 also lacks antecedent basis. “the lateral wellbore opening” in claim 24 lacks antecedent basis. Claim 18 shown read “[[is]] fluidically isolates” Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-3, 5-12, and 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Harlan (US 3224267 A).
With respect to claim 1, Harlan discloses a system comprising: a pipeline (18) having a first section (upper instance of 18 fig. 5), a second section (lower instance of 18 fig. 5), and a mandrel section (generally indicated at 24 in fig. 5) between the first section and second section, a dual flow mandrel arranged in the mandrel section of the pipeline, the dual flow mandrel comprising: a cylindrical mandrel body (58) comprising: a first end, a second end, a mandrel axis defined by the first end and the second end of the mandrel body, a wall extending from a first end to a second end of the mandrel body (implicit in a tubing, shown in fig. 5), the wall having an interior surface defining an interior volume of the mandrel body (implicit in a tubing, shown in fig. 5), and a set of radial ports (70 and 72, or 70, 72, and 56) defined in the wall between the first end and the second end; and a mandrel partition arranged in the interior volume of the mandrel body, wherein the mandrel partition comprises: barrel (60) arranged on the mandrel axis and extending along the mandrel axis from the first end of the mandrel body to the second end of the mandrel body (shown in fig. 5), the barrel having an inner face and an outer face, wherein the inner face defines a central channel (shown in fig. 5), wherein the central channel fluidly connects to the first section of the pipeline (shown in fig. 5); and at least two flanges (two instances of 66 shown in fig. 6 or the two instances of 66 in addition to the two planar flanges flanking 32 in fig. 6) protruding radially from the barrel and extending longitudinally along the outer face of the barrel, wherein the flanges contact the interior surface of the body (shown in fig. 6); wherein the outer face of the barrel and the interior surface of the body define an annular space, wherein the at least two flanges partition the annular space into at least two annular channels (channel 68 and the two other channels surrounding it in fig. 6).
With respect to claim 2, Harlan further discloses wherein the at least two annular channels comprise a first annular channel (68) and a second annular channel (one of the other two channels) fluidically isolated from the first annular channel, wherein the first annular channel is aligned with the set of radial ports of the mandrel body and a second annular channel is isolated from the radial ports of the mandrel body by the at least two flanges (col. 4 ll. 43 – 54).
With respect to claim 3, Harlan further discloses wherein the contact between the at least to flanges of the mandrel partition and the interior surface of the mandrel body forms a fluid seal (col. 4 ll. 43 – 54, the formations would not be isolated if the fluid from them could comingle with the fluid from the formation adjacent the mandrel body so the flanges must form a seal to isolate the other formations from the instant formation).
With respect to claim 5, Harlan further discloses an installable assembly (32 or 36 or 32, 36, 48, 46) comprising an inflow control device (32 or 36 or 32, 36, 46, and 48) arranged in the central channel of the mandrel partition (shown in figs. 5, 6).
With respect to claim 6, Harlan further discloses wherein the inflow control device is operable to control the flow of a fluid from the lateral wellbore opening (col. 3 ll. 50-67, not restricted to an intersection with a lateral wellbore because of the lack of antecedent basis and the “operable to” language which does not expressly require a lateral wellbore).
With respect to claim 7, Harlan further discloses wherein the inflow control device comprises a seal arrangement (46, 48) and at least one inflow control valve (32).
With respect to claim 8, Harlan further discloses wherein the central channel of the mandrel partition has a proximal end and a distal end, wherein the inflow control device fluidically isolates proximal end of the central channel from the distal end of the central channel (shown in fig. 5).
With respect to claim 9, Harlan further discloses wherein the central channel comprises an inflow section (proximate 32) arranged between the proximal end and the distal end, wherein the radial opening defined in the barrel (opening admitting flow to 32) aligns with the inflow section of the central channel (fig. 5, col. 3 ll. 50-67).
With respect to claim 10, Harlan further discloses wherein the inflow control device fluidically isolates the inflow section of the central channel from the distal end of the central channel (via 46, 48).
With respect to claim 11, Harlan further discloses wherein the proximal end of the central channel fluidly connects to the first section of the pipeline (shown in fig. 5).
With respect to claim 12, Harlan further discloses a first packer and a second packer (instances of 22, fig. 5, alternatively, upper instance of 22 in fig. 1 and third packer from bottom in fig. 1 where the instant mandrel section is adjacent upper instance of 24 in fig. 1), wherein the mandrel section is defined between the first packer and second packer (shown in fig. 5 or fig. 1).
With respect to claim 14, Harlan further discloses wherein the at least two flanges comprise a first flange, a second flange (two instances of 66), a third flange and a fourth flange (two planar flanges flanking 32 in fig. 6) that each extend from the outer face of the barrel and extend longitudinally along the outer surface of the barrel from the first end to the second end of the barrel.
Claim(s) 1-3, 12, and 25 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102a1 as being anticipated by Yeh (US 20110192602 A1).
With respect to claim 1, Yeh discloses a system comprising: a pipeline (128) having a first section, a second section (above and below flow control devices 138, fig. 2, 300, figs. 6E, 6F, 7B), and a mandrel section (300) between the first section and second section, a dual flow mandrel arranged in the mandrel section of the pipeline, the dual flow mandrel comprising: a cylindrical mandrel body (302) comprising: a first end, a second end, a mandrel axis defined by the first end and the second end of the mandrel body (fig. 6F shows this), a wall extending from a first end to a second end of the mandrel body (fig. 6F, 7B shows this), the wall having an interior surface defining an interior volume of the mandrel body (body (fig. 6F, 7B shows this), and a set of radial ports (328) defined in the wall between the first end and the second end; and a mandrel partition (312, fig. 7B) arranged in the interior volume of the mandrel body, wherein the mandrel partition comprises: a barrel (cylindrical portion of 312, fig. 7B) arranged on the mandrel axis and extending along the mandrel axis from the first end of the mandrel body to the second end of the mandrel body, the barrel having an inner face and an outer face, wherein the inner face defines a central channel, wherein the central channel fluidly connects to the first section of the pipeline (fig. 6F, 7B); and at least two flanges (364) protruding radially from the barrel and extending longitudinally along the outer face of the barrel, wherein the flanges contact the interior surface of the body; wherein the outer face of the barrel and the interior surface of the body define an annular space, wherein the at least two flanges partition the annular space into at least two annular channels (shown in fig. 7B, 314a).
With respect to claim 2, Yeh further discloses wherein the at least two annular channels comprise a first annular channel and a second annular channel (instances of 314a) fluidically isolated from the first annular channel (solid panels, pgph. 83), wherein the first annular channel is aligned with the set of radial ports (aligned with the ports that are adjacent that channel) of the mandrel body and a second annular channel is isolated from the radial ports (by the solid partitions 364, pgph. 83) of the mandrel body by the at least two flanges.
With respect to claim 3, Yeh further discloses wherein the contact between the at least to flanges of the mandrel partition and the interior surface of the mandrel body forms a fluid seal (the flow conduit would not be partitioned if the partitions did not form seals, pgph. 83).
With respect to claim 12, Yeh further discloses a first packer (134) and a second packer (135), wherein the mandrel section is defined between the first packer and second packer (shown in fig. 1).
With respect to claim 25, Yeh further discloses wherein at least two flanges are arranged equidistant around the outer face of the barrel (shown in fig. 7B)
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 14-17, 19-21 and 23 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeh.
With respect to claim 14, Yeh further discloses wherein the at least two flanges comprise a first flange, a second flange, and a third flange and a fourth flange that each extend from the outer face of the barrel and extend longitudinally along the outer surface of the barrel from the first end to the second end of the barrel (fig. 6F, 7B), but fials to disclose a fourth flange.
Nevertheless, Yeh discloses segmenting into more than three sections in pgph. 82.
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date to have included a fourth flange in the embodiment of fig. 7B since Yeh discloses segmenting into “two or more” sections which makes four sections a obvious modification to three sections since this is merely duplication of parts and Applicant has not provided criticality for this limitation as evidenced in pgphs. 10, 40, and 42 of the spec.
With respect to claim 15, Yeh further discloses wherein the first flange, second flange, third flange, and fourth flange, form at least four annular channels in the annular space of the dual flow mandrel (shown in fig. 7B)
With respect to claim 16, Yeh further discloses wherein the at least four channels include a lateral flow channel (one of 314a) and a bypass flow channel (another of 314a), wherein the set of radial ports in the wall of the mandrel body (the set adjacent to one of the instances of 314a) fluidly connect the lateral flow channels to the environment external to the dual flow mandrel (shown in fig. 6F).
With respect to claim 17, Yeh further discloses wherein the lateral flow channel is fluidly connected to the central channel by the radial opening (generally indicated at 320, 322 in fig. 6F) defined in the barrel.
With respect to claim 19, Yeh further discloses wherein the outer face of the barrel at least partially defining the bypass channel fluidically isolates the bypass channel from the central channel (pgph. 73).
With respect to claim 20, Yeh further discloses wherein the at least two flanges fluidically isolate the bypass channel from the lateral flow channel (solid panels pgph. 83).
With respect to claim 21, Yeh further discloses wherein the set of radial ports is a first set of radial ports, further comprising a second set of radial ports defined in the wall of the mandrel body (set of ports 328 can be divided up into any numbers of sets of ports which are equidistant from eachother), wherein the first set and second set of radial ports are equidistant on the mandrel body, relative to each other.
With respect to claim 23, Yeh further discloses wherein the second set of radial ports is fluidly connected to the central channel (shown in figs. 6B-6F).
Allowable Subject Matter
Claims 4, 13, 18, 22, and 24 are objected to as being dependent upon a rejected base claim, but would be allowable if rewritten in independent form including all of the limitations of the base claim and any intervening claims.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. US 20150240598 A1 also discloses many of the limitations of the claims herein, as does US 20230012112 A1.
/KIPP C WALLACE/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3674 01/08/2026