DETAILED ACTION
Claim 1 is pending and currently under prosecution.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kaplan et al (US 2019/0085080 A1; claiming priority date: 08/25/2017).
The applied reference has a common Applicant with the instant application. Based upon the earlier effectively filed date of the reference, it constitutes prior art under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2). This rejection under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) might be overcome by: (1) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(a) that the subject matter disclosed in the reference was obtained directly or indirectly from the inventor or a joint inventor of this application and is thus not prior art in accordance with 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(A); (2) a showing under 37 CFR 1.130(b) of a prior public disclosure under 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(B) if the same invention is not being claimed; or (3) a statement pursuant to 35 U.S.C. 102(b)(2)(C) establishing that, not later than the effective filing date of the claimed invention, the subject matter disclosed in the reference and the claimed invention were either owned by the same person or subject to an obligation of assignment to the same person or subject to a joint research agreement.
Kaplan teaches a method of treating a solid tumor in a human subject, comprising administering to the subject 10-20 mg/kg of an antibody that specifically binds to B7-H4. Kaplan teaches that the antibody that binds to B7-H4 comprises a heavy chain variable region (VH) CDR1-3 which match 100% to the instantly claimed SEQ ID Nos: 5-6-7, respectively, and a light chain variable region (VL) CDR-1-3 which match 100% to the instantly claimed SEQ ID Nos: 8-9-10, respectively. [see sequence alignments below] [0359-0365, 0375; Tables 3 and 4]
SEQUENCE ALIGNMENTS
SEQ ID NOS: 5-6-7
RESULT 1
US-16-111-064-464
(NOTE: this sequence has 8 duplicates in the database searched)
Sequence 464, US/16111064
Patent No. 11306144
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: FIVE PRIME THERAPEUTICS, INC.
TITLE OF INVENTION: B7-H4 Antibodies and Methods of Use Thereof
FILE REFERENCE: 3986.0090004
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/111,064
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2018-08-23
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/550,173
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-08-25
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/579,774
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-10-31
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/607,810
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-12-19
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/656,789
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-04-12
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 469
SEQ ID NO 464
LENGTH: 120
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Antibody 20502 Variable Heavy Chain
Query Match 88.9%; Score 194.6; Length 120;
Best Local Similarity 47.0%;
Matches 39; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 44; Gaps 2;
Qy 1 GSIKSGSYYW--------------GNIYYSGSTYYNPSLRS------------------- 27
|||||||||| |||||||||||||||||
Db 27 GSIKSGSYYWGWIRQPPGKGLEWIGNIYYSGSTYYNPSLRSRVTISVDTSKNQFSLKLSS 86
Qy 28 -----------AREGSYPNQFDP 39
||||||||||||
Db 87 VTAADTAVYYCAREGSYPNQFDP 109
SEQ ID NOS: 8-9-10
RESULT 1
US-16-111-064-12
(NOTE: this sequence has 17 duplicates in the database searched)
Sequence 12, US/16111064
Patent No. 11306144
GENERAL INFORMATION
APPLICANT: FIVE PRIME THERAPEUTICS, INC.
TITLE OF INVENTION: B7-H4 Antibodies and Methods of Use Thereof
FILE REFERENCE: 3986.0090004
CURRENT APPLICATION NUMBER: US/16/111,064
CURRENT FILING DATE: 2018-08-23
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/550,173
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-08-25
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/579,774
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-10-31
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/607,810
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2017-12-19
PRIOR APPLICATION NUMBER: 62/656,789
PRIOR FILING DATE: 2018-04-12
NUMBER OF SEQ ID NOS: 469
SEQ ID NO 12
LENGTH: 107
TYPE: PRT
ORGANISM: Artificial Sequence
FEATURE:
OTHER INFORMATION: Antibody 15461 Variable Light Chain
Query Match 81.6%; Score 109.3; Length 107;
Best Local Similarity 36.5%;
Matches 27; Conservative 0; Mismatches 0; Indels 47; Gaps 2;
Qy 1 RASQSVSSNLA---------------GASTRAT--------------------------- 18
||||||||||| |||||||
Db 24 RASQSVSSNLAWYQQKPGQAPRLLIYGASTRATGIPARFSGSGSGTEFTLTISSLQSEDF 83
Qy 19 -----QQYHSFPFT 27
|||||||||
Db 84 AVYYCQQYHSFPFT 97
Double Patenting
Claim 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-2 and 8 of U.S. Patent No. 11,306,144 in view of Liu et al (US9676854 B2; Published 2014).
The U.S. Patent claims a method of treating a solid tumor comprising administering an antibody that specifically binds to B7-H4, comprising the instantly claimed sequences.
However, The U.S. Patent does not claim the wherein the B7-H4 antibody is administered at a dose of about 0.005 to about 20 mg/kg.
Liu teaches the method of treating cancer comprising administering an antibody that binds to B7-H4, wherein the B7-H4 antibody is administered to the subject at doses ranging from 0.005 mg/kg and 20 mg/kg. [Col. 46 lines 39-62]
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to treat solid tumors with administration of a B7-H4 antibody at a dose of about 0.005 to about 20 mg/kg. One would have been motivated to because the U.S. Patent and Liu teach and claim treating subjects having B7-H4 expressing tumors by administering the B7-H4 antibody. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success because Liu teaches and suggests administering B7-H4 antibody for cancer treatment at a dose of about 0.005 to about 20 mg/kg, for the same purpose to treat cancer as claimed by the U.S. Patent.
Claims 1 is rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1, 5, and 12 of U.S. Patent No. 11,814,431 in view of Liu et al (US9676854B2; Published 2014).
The U.S. Patent claims a method of treating a solid tumor comprising administering an antibody that specifically binds to B7-H4, comprising the instantly claimed sequences.
However, the U.S. Patent does not claim the wherein the B7-H4 antibody is administered at a dose of about 0.005 to about 20 mg/kg.
Liu teaches the method of treating cancer comprising administering an antibody that binds to B7-H4, wherein the B7-H4 antibody is administered to the subject at doses ranging from 0.005 mg/kg and 20 mg/kg. [Col. 46 lines 39-62]
It would have been prima facie obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time the invention was filed to treat solid tumors with administration of a B7-H4 antibody at a dose of about 0.005 to about 20 mg/kg. One would have been motivated to because the U.S. Patent and Liu teach and claim treating subjects having B7-H4 expressing tumors with the B7-H4 antibody. One of ordinary skill in the art would have reasonable expectation of success because Liu teaches and suggests administering B7-H4 antibody for cancer treatment at a dose of about 0.005 to about 20 mg/kg for the same purpose to treat cancer, as claimed by the U.S. Patent.
Conclusion
Conclusion: Claim 1 is rejected.
/SARAH A ALSOMAIRY/ Examiner, Art Unit 1646