DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 12: Line 2 recites “a plurality of magnets”, however, a plurality of magnets has already been introduced in claim 10. It is unclear if these are the same or different magnets.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1 and 10 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tsuruta et al. (“Tsuruta”; US 2019/0214875).
Regarding claim 1: Tsuruta discloses a motor (Fig. 1) comprising:
a rotor (3); and
a stator (2),
wherein the rotor includes:
a rotation shaft (35);
a rotor core (32, 34);
a magnet (31) attached to an outer periphery of the rotor core, the magnet including a protrusion protruding along a direction in which the rotation shaft extends from an end surface of the rotor core (311, Fig. 2b, as the magnet extends longer than the rotor at the top and bottom of Fig. 2b, there is a protrusion); and
a sealing member (33) disposed between the protrusion and the rotation shaft (Fig. 1).
Regarding claim 10: Tsuruta discloses a motor (Fig. 1) comprising:
a rotor (3); and
a stator (2),
wherein the rotor includes:
a rotation shaft (35);
a rotor core (32, 34);
a plurality of magnets (each 31 or 311) attached to an outer periphery of the rotor core, the magnets including a plurality of protrusions protruding along a direction in which the rotation shaft extends from an end surface of the rotor core (311, Fig. 2b, as the magnet extends longer than the rotor at the top and bottom of Fig. 2b, there is a protrusion); and
a sealing member (33) disposed between the plurality of protrusions (Fig. 1), as the sealing member is over the top and bottom of the magnets, it will inherently be between the protrusions).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruta, in view of Ueno et al. (“Ueno”; US 2020/0195105).
Regarding claim 2: Tsuruta discloses the sealing member is formed of a resin (paragraph 0004), but does not explicitly disclose an adhesive property to the magnet and the rotation shaft.
However, Ueno discloses an adhesive property to the magnet and the rotation shaft (paragraph 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnets, shaft, and resin of Tsuruta to have the adhesive property of Ueno in order to securely attach the magnets.
Regarding claim 11: Tsuruta discloses the sealing member is formed of a resin (paragraph 0004), but does not explicitly disclose an adhesive property to the magnet and the rotation shaft.
However, Ueno discloses an adhesive property to the magnet and the rotation shaft (paragraph 0006).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnets, shaft, and resin of Tsuruta to have the adhesive property of Ueno in order to securely attach the magnets.
Claims 3 and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruta, in view of Watanabe et al. (“Watanabe”; US 2016/0365779).
Regarding claim 3: Tsuruta discloses a plurality of the magnets (each 311) are mounted on the rotor core along a circumferential direction of the rotor core, but does not explicitly disclose the sealing member is provided between the adjacent magnets along the circumferential direction of the rotor core.
However, Watanabe discloses the sealing member (63A, Fig. 1) is provided between the adjacent magnets (62A) along the circumferential direction of the rotor core (as shown in Fig. 1, paragraphs 0023-0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sealing portion of Tsuruta to be provided between the adjacent magnets, as disclosed by Watanabe, in order to better seal and secure the magnets.
Regarding claim 12: Tsuruta discloses a plurality of the magnets (each 311) are mounted on the rotor core along a circumferential direction of the rotor core, but does not explicitly disclose the sealing member is provided between the adjacent magnets along the circumferential direction of the rotor core.
However, Watanabe discloses the sealing member (63A, Fig. 1) is provided between the adjacent magnets (62A) along the circumferential direction of the rotor core (as shown in Fig. 1, paragraphs 0023-0025).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the sealing portion of Tsuruta to be provided between the adjacent magnets, as disclosed by Watanabe, in order to better seal and secure the magnets.
Claims 4-6 and 13-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruta, in view of Schiffarth et al. (“Schiffarth”; EP 1 978 620 A1, English translation attached).
Regarding claim 4: Tsuruta discloses an outer periphery of the magnet, but does not explicitly disclose a covering member covering an outer periphery of the magnet.
However, Schiffarth discloses a covering member (3) covering an outer periphery of the magnet (2, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnets of Tsuruta to include the cover of Schiffarth in order to provide additional securing means.
Regarding claim 5: Tsuruta modified by Schiffarth disclose the covering member, Schiffarth further discloses the covering member has a shrinkage property (“elastic”, page 2 of translation, top partial paragraph).
Regarding claim 6: Tsuruta discloses the sealing member is filled between the rotation shaft (35) and the protrusion (top or bottom part of 311, Fig. 2b), but does not explicitly disclose in which the outer periphery of the magnet is covered with the covering member.
However, Schiffarth discloses the outer periphery of the magnet is covered with the covering member (3, as shown in Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnets of Tsuruta to include the cover of Schiffarth in order to provide additional securing means.
Regarding claim 13: Tsuruta discloses an outer periphery of the magnet, but does not explicitly disclose a covering member covering an outer periphery of the magnet.
However, Schiffarth discloses a covering member (3) covering an outer periphery of the magnet (2, Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnets of Tsuruta to include the cover of Schiffarth in order to provide additional securing means.
Regarding claim 14: Tsuruta modified by Schiffarth disclose the covering member, Schiffarth further discloses the covering member has a shrinkage property (“elastic”, page 2 of translation, top partial paragraph).
Regarding claim 15: Tsuruta discloses the sealing member is filled between the rotation shaft (35) and the protrusion (top or bottom part of 311, Fig. 2b), but does not explicitly disclose in which the outer periphery of the magnet is covered with the covering member.
However, Schiffarth discloses the outer periphery of the magnet is covered with the covering member (3, as shown in Fig. 2).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnets of Tsuruta to include the cover of Schiffarth in order to provide additional securing means.
Claims 7 and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Tsuruta, in view of Barletta et al. (“Barletta”; US 2019/0013747).
Regarding claim 7: Tsuruta discloses the magnet, but does not explicitly disclose the magnet has a coating layer on a surface of the magnet.
However, Barletta disclose the magnet (21) has a coating layer (6) on a surface of the magnet (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, paragraph 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnet of Tsuruta to include the coating of Barletta in order to protect the magnet (paragraph 0070).
Regarding claim 16: Tsuruta discloses the magnet, but does not explicitly disclose the magnet has a coating layer on a surface of the magnet.
However, Barletta disclose the magnet (21) has a coating layer (6) on a surface of the magnet (Fig. 2 and Fig. 3, paragraph 0070).
Therefore, it would have been obvious for one of ordinary skill in the art, before the effective filing date of the invention to modify the magnet of Tsuruta to include the coating of Barletta in order to protect the magnet (paragraph 0070).
Conclusion
/SEAN GUGGER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2834