DETAILED ACTION
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1 recites the limitation "one or more panels within the housing . . . the moving mechanism comprises a rod connecting the panels and providing at least one track to allow the panels to move,” which is indefinite. It is unclear how many panels are necessarily required by the claim. In the case of having one panel, it is unclear how to interpret the limitation “a rod connecting the panels and providing at least one track to allow the panels to move.” Based on the limitation “a rod connecting the panels and providing at least one track to allow the panels to move,” it is unclear if the claim necessarily requires more than one panel. For examination purposes, the claim is interpreted as only requiring at least a single movable panel.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1, 6, and 9-15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Xu (CN 112011984).
Regarding claim 1, Xu discloses a laundry apparatus, comprising: a housing (1); and one or more panels within the housing, each with at least one surface provided with one or more nozzles facing an article to be treated by fluid discharged by the nozzles (2, 24, 241); wherein the panels are configured to be movable by a moving mechanism to adjust their distance from the article (45, 46, 47, 48); and wherein the moving mechanism comprises a rod connecting the panels and providing at least one track to allow the panels to move therealong (47 or 45 or 46); and an actuator to control movement of the panels (48).
Note that treating an article with a fluid is intended use of the apparatus capable of being met by the apparatus of Xu. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claims 6, and 9-15, Xu discloses wherein the housing is formed with a detergent inlet for receiving detergent (Figure 1: any opening, such as an interior of a cabinet, is capable of receiving detergent); further comprising at least one array of panels that each includes two spaced apart panels which are at least substantially vertically positioned in a parallel manner (2, 24; parallel panels have a vertical extent); further comprising two or more arrays of panels that are arranged in a vertical configuration (2, 24; see multiple sets of 2 panels; panels have a vertical extent); wherein each panel is internally formed with a fluid supply compartment to accommodate the fluid to be discharged from the nozzles (interior of 24, see 23, 24, 241); wherein each panel is configured to have a plurality of nozzles arranged in a grid pattern on its surface (241); wherein the plurality of nozzles of each panel is arranged in rows or columns with one row or column connected to an adjacent row or column by a tube (interior of 24); further comprising a drainage system to remove unwanted water from the housing (101); further comprising a ventilation system to expel moisture, unwanted air, or both from the housing (101).
Claim(s) 1, 4, 6, 9-11, 14, and 15 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Hu et al. (CN 208980939).
Regarding claim 1, Hu discloses a laundry apparatus, comprising: a housing (1); and one or more panels within the housing, each with at least one surface provided with one or more nozzles facing an article to be treated by fluid discharged by the nozzles (9, 11); wherein the panels are configured to be movable by a moving mechanism to adjust their distance from the article (22, 23, 25); and wherein the moving mechanism comprises a rod connecting the panels and providing at least one track to allow the panels to move therealong (22); and an actuator to control movement of the panels (23).
Note that treating an article with a fluid is intended use of the apparatus capable of being met by the apparatus of Hu. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Regarding claims 4, 6, 9-11, 14, and 15, Hu discloses wherein the article is hung onto the rod by a hanger (22; note that hanging the article by a hanger is intended use capable of being met by the apparatus of Hu); wherein the housing is formed with a detergent inlet for receiving detergent (Figure 1: any opening, such as an interior of a cabinet, is capable of receiving detergent); further comprising at least one array of panels that each includes two spaced apart panels which are at least substantially vertically positioned in a parallel manner (9; parallel panels have a vertical extent); further comprising two or more arrays of panels that are arranged in a vertical configuration. ; (9; see multiple sets of 2 panels; panels have a vertical extent); wherein each panel is internally formed with a fluid supply compartment to accommodate the fluid to be discharged from the nozzles (interior of 9); further comprising a drainage system to remove unwanted water from the housing (4, 5); further comprising a ventilation system to expel moisture, unwanted air, or both from the housing (4, 5).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 2-3 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 112011984) in view of Alrefaei et al. (US 2014/0223973).
Regarding claim 2, Xu is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose a sensor for detecting thickness of the article.
Alrefaei discloses an automated steam cleaner including a plurality of infrared sensors to detect the vertical and lateral limits of an article of clothing or fabric and may determine the correct treatment by means of a program and a controller (46; paragraphs 8, 19).
Because it is known in the art to have a sensor as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, allowing for automated fabric sensing and treatment, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a sensor for detecting thickness of the article.
Regarding claim 3, the limitation “wherein the moving mechanism is configured to move the one or more panels according to the detected thickness of the article positioned adjacent one panel, or between two panels” is intended use of the apparatus capable of being performed by modified Xu. The claimed intended use must result in a structural difference between the claimed invention and the prior art in order to patentably distinguish the claimed invention from the prior art.
Claim(s) 5 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 112011984) in view of Hong (KR 2007-0709319).
Regarding claim 5, Xu is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose a water supplying system for supplying fluid in the form of water to be discharged from the nozzles, wherein the water supplying system includes a water source, and a pump for controlling pressure of the water.
Hong discloses a multiple washing machine having a cabinet (100), at least one nozzle assembly (310), a water supply pipe (7) and a water pump (510) for providing wash water and clear water, a hot air supply device (530), and a steam genitor (550) connected to the nozzle assembly moving bar (310) by a central pipe (770).
Because it is known in the art to provide wash water, steam, and hot air to a nozzle assembly, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a washing/rinsing capability using a known structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a water supplying system for supplying fluid in the form of water to be discharged from the nozzles, wherein the water supplying system includes a water source, and a pump for controlling pressure of the water.
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 112011984) in view of Hong (KR 2007-0709319) and Bolduan et al. (EP 1349976).
Regarding claim 7, Xu is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose a heating system that includes a heater and a compressor for supplying heated fluid in the form of air into the housing through the nozzles.
Hong discloses a multiple washing machine having a cabinet (100), at least one nozzle assembly (310), a water supply pipe (7) and a water pump (510) for providing wash water and clear water, a hot air supply device (530), and a steam genitor (550) connected to the nozzle assembly moving bar (310) by a central pipe (770). The hot air supply device (530) is provided with a circulation fan (533) for circulating hot air heated by a heater (531). Bolduan discloses a washing machine having a cabinet-shaped housing (2) and uses dry, heated compressed air for a dry process via a compressor or blower (13).
Because it is known in the art to provide wash water, steam, and hot air to a nozzle assembly, as taught by Hong, and to use a compressor to supply the air, as taught by Bolduan, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a heating system using a known structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have a heating system that includes a heater and a compressor for supplying heated fluid in the form of air into the housing through the nozzles.
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xu (CN 112011984), in view of Hong (KR 2007-0709319) and Bolduan et al. (EP 1349976), and further in view of Ahn (KR 2006-0008458).
Regarding claim 8, Xu, in view of Hong and Bolduan, is relied upon as above, but does not expressly disclose wherein the housing is provided with a fragrance product receiver at a position after the heating system with respect to an ingress direction of the heated fluid into the panels.
Ahn discloses a drum type washer with a dryer comprising a drying duct (50), a blowing fan (52), a drying heater (53), and a fragrance injector (100) downstream of the heater (53) and fan (52).
Because it is known in the art to have a fragrance injector as claimed, and the results of the modification would be predictable, namely, providing a fragrance with a known structure, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art at the time of the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have wherein the housing is provided with a fragrance product receiver at a position after the heating system with respect to an ingress direction of the heated fluid into the panels.
Conclusion
DAVID G. CORMIER
Examiner
Art Unit 1711
/DAVID G CORMIER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 1711