Response to Amendments
The amendment filed December 22nd, 2025 has been entered. Claims 1-21 remain pending in the application. Applicant’s amendments to the claims have overcome each and every objection and 112(b) rejections previously set forth in the Non-Final Office Action mailed October 10th, 2025.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 1-5 and 8-21 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alcorn et al. (US 10,407,182) in view of Cantrell et al. (US 2020/0039373), Raptopoulos et al. (US 2017/0129603) and Cook et al. (US 2009/0299918).
Regarding claims 1 and 21, Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) an electric vertical take-off and landing (eVTOL) vehicle/UAV (60) (Col. 8 line 3), comprising:
a controller (71) to assist in docking the UAV (60) (Col.8 Lines 48);
a rotor (62) that is configured to rotate during loading to dynamically counterbalance wind effects (Col. 8 Line 7; rotor is configured to rotate and maintains UAV stability);
a spar/rod (74) including a vertical portion and at least one horizontal crossbar/bridge (72) coupled to a first end of the vertical portion (clearly seen in figure 9), wherein the rotor (62) is provided on the at least one horizontal crossbar (Col. 8 Lines 3-12; rotors are attached to horizontal crossbar/bridge (72); and
a male charging port/sphere (76) that is provided on and configured to charge a battery in the eVTOL vehicle including by detachably coupling the male charging port that is part of the eVTOL vehicle and a female charging port that is part of the charger/charging dome (40) (Col. 8 Lines 30-42),
but it is silent about the eVTOL vehicle comprising:
the controller that is configured to:
send a charging request to an area controller, wherein
the area controller is associated with an area including a plurality of chargers; and
the area controller tracks an occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers;
receive an assignment of a charger from the plurality of chargers in the area, wherein the assignment is determined by the area controller based at least in part on the tracked occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers,
communicate departure information to the area controller in response to conclusion of charging; and
the area controller updates the occupancy status of the at least one charger in the plurality of chargers in response to receiving the departure information.
Cantrell et al. ‘373 teaches (figures 1-5) UAV (110) and a host vehicle (120) comprising multiple contact charger surfaces (122) and a method of charging comprising establishing communication between a UAV (110) and a host vehicle (120) wherein the UAV initiates contact charge/sends a charging request and the host vehicle determines/tracks whether a charge position is available/occupied for the UAV to approach and communicate the position to the UAV to provide contact charge by assigning a charge position, wherein the host vehicle communicates modified positions to other UAVs following the host vehicle to make room for newly joined UAV (Para 0019, 0037-0040, 0046; host vehicle and UAV constantly communicates; positions are updated and communicated to other UAVs).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Cantrell et al. ‘373 to configure the eVTOL vehicle comprising:
the controller that is configured to:
send a charging request to an area controller, wherein
the area controller is associated with an area including a plurality of chargers; and
the area controller tracks an occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers;
receive an assignment of a charger from the plurality of chargers in the area, wherein the assignment is determined by the area controller based at least in part on the tracked occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers,
communicate departure information to the area controller in response to conclusion of charging; and
the area controller updates the occupancy status of the at least one charger in the plurality of chargers in response to receiving the departure information (occupancy status/modified positions are updated and communicated to other UAVs).
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure available charger is assigned for charging eVTOL vehicle..
Alcorn et al. ‘182 further teaches (figures 1-16) a docking mechanism or docking station (10) for capturing a UAV (60) wherein the docking mechanism is coupled to an object (12) such as a ground vehicle or a stationary object such as a bridge or a building (Col. Lines 46-55) but it is silent about the eVTOL vehicle comprising:
the area surrounded by a fence; and
the controller that is configured to perform a vertical landing by the eVTOL vehicle above the assigned charger.
Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 7A-7E) a landing platform/area (144) for vertically landing one or more UAVs (130) wherein the landing platform/area (144) is surrounded by a fence (Para 0211).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to configure the eVTOL vehicle comprising:
the area surrounded by a fence; and
the controller that is configured to perform a vertical landing by the eVTOL vehicle above the assigned charger.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would efficiently perform the landing operation of the eVTOL and secure the UAV.
Modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 is silent about the eVTOL vehicle wherein at least one charger of the plurality of chargers is a below-ground charger having a top surface substantially level with the ground.
Cook et al. ‘918 teaches (figure 1) charging the automobile battery using a charger (150) located within the ground (Para 0010-0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Cook et al. ‘918 to configure the eVTOL vehicle wherein at least one charger of the plurality of chargers is a below-ground charger having a top surface substantially level with the ground.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure safe landing by providing a flat landing surface.
Regarding claim 2, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the eVTOL wherein the male charging port is vertically-oriented (clearly seen in figure 8).
Regarding claim 3, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the eVTOL further comprising the battery in the eVTOL vehicle that is configured to be charged using the assigned charger while the male charging port and the female charging port are detachably coupled (Col.7 Lines 30-42).
Regarding claim 4, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the eVTOL wherein the rotor is configured to rotate during loading to dynamically counterbalance wind effects including by maintaining eVTOL vehicle stability (rotor is configured to rotate and maintains UAV stability).
Regarding claim 5, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the eVTOL wherein the male charging port includes:
a first contact (86) including a circular band wrapping around the male charging port; and
a second contact (84) at a distal end of the male charging port (clearly seen in figure 12-13) (Col. 8 lines 23-29; contacts (84, 86) loops around the charging port forming a circular band wrapping).
Regarding claim 8, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the eVTOL wherein the male charging port and the female charging port are configured to be coupled above ground (Col. 6 Lines 51-55).
Regarding claim 9, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the eVTOL, wherein the male charging port and the female charging port are configured to be coupled below ground (no structural limitation is present in this claim regarding charging ports, thus, using a vehicle travelling underground configures the limitations).
Regarding claim 10, Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) a method, comprising:
the eVTOL vehicle/UAV (60) which includes:
a rotor (62) that is configured to rotate during loading to dynamically counterbalance wind effects (rotor is configured to rotate and maintains UAV stability) (Col. 8 Line 7);
a spar/rod (74) including a vertical portion and at least one horizontal crossbar/bridge (72) coupled to a first end of the vertical portion, wherein the rotor (62) is provided on the at least one horizontal crossbar (Col. 8 Lines 3-12; rotors are attached to horizontal crossbar/bridge (72);
detachably coupling a male charging port/sphere (76) that is part of the eVTOL vehicle and a female charging port that is part of the charger/charging dome (40) to charge a battery in the eVTOL vehicle (Col. 8 line 27-42);
but it is silent about a method, comprising:
sending a charging request to an area controller, wherein
the area controller is associated with an area including a plurality of chargers; and
the area controller tracks an occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers;
receiving an assignment of a charger from the plurality of chargers in the area, wherein the assignment is determined by the area controller based at least in part on the tracked occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers; and
communicating with the area controller to receive the assignment of the charger from the plurality of chargers in the area based at least on part on the occupancy status of the charger.
Cantrell et al. ‘373 teaches (figures 1-5) UAV (110) and a host vehicle (120) comprising multiple contact charger surfaces (122) and a method of charging comprising establishing communication between a UAV (110) and a host vehicle (120) wherein the UAV initiates contact charge/sends a charging request and the host vehicle determines/tracks whether a charge position is available/occupied for the UAV to approach and communicate the position to the UAV to provide contact charge by assigning a charge position (Para 0019, 0037-0040, 0046).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Cantrell et al. ‘373 to configure a method, comprising:
sending a charging request to an area controller, wherein
the area controller is associated with an area including a plurality of chargers; and
the area controller tracks an occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers;
receiving an assignment of a charger from the plurality of chargers in the area, wherein the assignment is determined by the area controller based at least in part on the tracked occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers; and
communicating with the area controller to receive the assignment of the charger from the plurality of chargers in the area based at least on part on the occupancy status of the charger.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure available charger is assigned for charging eVTOL vehicle..
Alcorn et al. ‘182 further teaches (figures 1-16) a docking mechanism or docking station (10) for capturing a UAV (60) wherein the docking mechanism is coupled to an object (12) such as a ground vehicle or a stationary object such as a bridge or a building (Col. Lines 46-55),
but it is silent about the method comprising:
the area surrounded by a fence; and
performing a vertical landing by an electric vehicle take-off and landing (eVTOL) vehicle above the assigned charger.
Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 7A-7E) a landing platform/area (144) for vertically landing one or more UAVs (130) wherein the landing platform/area (144) is surrounded by a fence (Para 0211).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to configure the method comprising:
the area surrounded by a fence; and
performing a vertical landing by an electric vehicle take-off and landing (eVTOL) vehicle above the assigned charger.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would efficiently perform the landing operation of the eVTOL and secure the UAV.
Modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 is silent about the method wherein at least one charger of the plurality of chargers is a below-ground charger having a top surface substantially level with the ground.
Cook et al. ‘918 teaches (figure 1) charging the automobile battery using a charger (150) located within the ground (Para 0010-0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Cook et al. ‘918 to configure the method wherein at least one charger of the plurality of chargers is a below-ground charger having a top surface substantially level with the ground.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure safe landing by providing a flat landing surface.
Regarding claim 11, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the method wherein the rotor is configured to rotate during loading to dynamically counterbalance wind effects including by maintaining eVTOL vehicle stability (rotor is configured to rotate and maintains UAV stability).
Regarding claim 12, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the method performing a vertical landing includes identifying the assigned charger above which the eVTOL vehicle is to land based at least in part on a computer vision sensor/camera (Col. 6 Lines 38-45; the positioning of the docking camera allows the pilot to easily align the sphere of the docking adapter with the docking cone during flight).
Regarding claim 13, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the method performing a vertical landing includes identifying the assigned charger above which the eVTOL vehicle is to land based at least in part on an assignment by a remote controller (UAV is remotely operable by a wireless control system).
Regarding claim 14, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the method recited in claim 11 but it is silent about the method comprising turning off the rotor in response to the vertical landing by the eVTOL vehicle above the assigned charger.
However, the examiner takes official notice that it would have been obvious to one or ordinary skill in the art to configure the method comprising turning off the rotor in response to the vertical landing by the eVTOL vehicle above the charger.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would preserve battery charge.
Regarding claim 15, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the method further comprising extending the male charging port into the female charging port in response to the vertical landing by the eVTOL vehicle above the assigned charger (clearly seen in figures 6a-6c) (male charging port extends into the female charging port to come in contact and charge the battery).
Regarding claim 16, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the method wherein the eVTOL vehicle is autonomous (Col. 11 Lines 9-12).
Regarding claim 17, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the method recited in claim 11 but it is silent about the method further comprising performing a vertical take-off by the eVTOL vehicle in response to completion of the charging the battery.
However, the examiner takes official notice it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art to configure the method further comprising performing a vertical take-off by the eVTOL vehicle in response to completion of the charging the battery.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would launch the vehicle as soon as it is ready.
Regarding claims 18-19, Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) a computer program product embodied in non-transitory computer readable storage medium/ controller (71) (208) (Col. 7 Line 57) and comprising computer instructions for:
the eVTOL vehicle/UAV (60) which includes:
a rotor (62) that is configured to rotate during loading to dynamically counterbalance wind effects including by maintaining eVTOL vehicle stability (rotor is configured to rotate and maintains UAV stability) (Col. 8 Line 7);
a spar/rod (74) including a vertical portion and at least one horizontal crossbar/bridge (72) coupled to a first end of the vertical portion, wherein the rotor (62) is provided on the at least one horizontal crossbar (Col. 8 Lines 3-12; rotors are attached to horizontal crossbar/bridge (72); and
detachably coupling a male charging port/sphere (76) that is part of the eVTOL vehicle and a female charging port that is part of the charger/charging dome (40) to charge a battery in the eVTOL vehicle (Col. 8 line 27-42),
but it is silent about the computer program product, comprising:
sending a charging request to an area controller, wherein
the area controller is associated with an area including a plurality of chargers; and
the area controller tracks an occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers;
receiving an assignment of a charger from the plurality of chargers in the area, wherein the assignment is determined by the area controller based at least in part on the tracked occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers; and
communicating with the area controller to receive the assignment of the charger from the plurality of chargers in the area based at least on part on the occupancy status of the charger.
Cantrell et al. ‘373 teaches (figures 1-5) UAV (110) and a host vehicle (120) comprising multiple contact charger surfaces (122) and a method of charging comprising establishing communication between a UAV (110) and a host vehicle (120) wherein the UAV initiates contact charge/sends a charging request and the host vehicle determines/tracks whether a charge position is available/occupied for the UAV to approach and communicate the position to the UAV to provide contact charge by assigning a charge position (Para 0019, 0037-0040, 0046)
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Cantrell et al. ‘373 to configure the computer program product, comprising:
sending a charging request to an area controller, wherein
the area controller is associated with an area including a plurality of chargers; and
the area controller tracks an occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers;
receiving an assignment of a charger from the plurality of chargers in the area, wherein the assignment is determined by the area controller based at least in part on the tracked occupancy status of at least one charger in the plurality of chargers; and
communicating with the area controller to receive the assignment of the charger from the plurality of chargers in the area based at least on part on the occupancy status of the charger.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure open charger is assigned for charging eVTOL vehicle..
Alcorn et al. ‘182 further teaches (figures 1-16) a docking mechanism or docking station (10) for capturing a UAV (60) wherein the docking mechanism is coupled to an object (12) such as a ground vehicle or a stationary object such as a bridge or a building (Col. Lines 46-55)
but it is silent about the area surrounded by the fence and the computer instructions for performing a vertical landing by an electric vehicle take-off and landing (eVTOL) vehicle above the charger.
Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 teaches (figures 7A-7E) a landing platform/area (144) for vertically landing one or more UAVs (130) wherein the landing platform/area (144) is surrounded by a fence (Para 0211).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Raptopoulos et al. ‘603 to configure the area surrounded by the fence and the computer instructions for performing a vertical landing by an electric vehicle take-off and landing (eVTOL) vehicle above the charger.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would efficiently perform the landing operation of the eVTOL and secure the UAV.
Modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 is silent about the computer program wherein at least one charger of the plurality of chargers is a below-ground charger having a top surface substantially level with the ground.
Cook et al. ‘918 teaches (figure 1) charging the automobile battery using a charger (150) located within the ground (Para 0010-0012).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Cook et al. ‘918 to configure the computer program wherein at least one charger of the plurality of chargers is a below-ground charger having a top surface substantially level with the ground.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would ensure safe landing by providing a flat landing surface.
Regarding claim 20, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the computer program product wherein performing a vertical landing includes identifying the charger above which the eVTOL vehicle is to land based at least in part on an assignment by a remote controller (UAV is remotely operable by a wireless control system).
Claim(s) 6-7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Alcorn et al. (US 10,407,182), Cantrell et al. (US 2020/0039373), Raptopoulos et al. (US 2017/0129603) and Cook et al. (US 2009/0299918) as applied to claim 1 above, and further in view of Fisher et al. (US 2017/0190443).
Regarding claim 6, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the eVTOL of claim 1 but it is silent about the eVTOL vehicle wherein the female charging port includes an upper conical section configured to guide the male charging port into a charging position.
Fisher et al ‘443 teaches (figure 2B) a charger/female charging port (as shown in the figure above) comprising a channel (105) with slanted sides at its top opening/conical section (clearly seen in figure 2B) (Para 0027).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Fisher et al. ‘443 to configure the eVTOL vehicle wherein the female charging port includes an upper conical section configured to guide the male charging port into a charging position.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would aid in guiding the male charging port/tang as the UAV lands (Para 0027).
Regarding claim 7, modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 teaches (figures 1-16) the eVTOL wherein the female charging port includes:
a first contact/charging contacts (28a, 28b) (Col. 7 Lines 38-43; flippers (22a, 22b) containing charging contacts (28a, 28b) are part of female charging port); and
a second contact at a bottom interior surface/lower concave surface of the female charging port (Col. 7 Lines 38-43),
but it is silent about a first contact as a cylindrically-shaped contact.
Fisher et al. ‘443 teaches a charger/female charging port (as shown in the figure above) including a cylindrically-shaped contact (242) (clearly seen in figure 2C) (Para 0028).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have further modified Alcorn et al. ‘182 to incorporate the teachings of Fisher et al. ‘443 to configure a first contact as a cylindrically-shaped contact.
One of ordinary skill in art would recognize that doing so would increase contact surface and enhance reliability.
Response to Arguments
Applicant’s arguments, filed December 22nd, 2025, with respect to amended claim(s) 1, 10 and 18 have been fully considered and are persuasive. Therefore, the rejection has been withdrawn. However, upon further consideration, a new ground(s) of rejection is made as explained in the rejection above.
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/ASHESH DANGOL/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3642