DETAILED ACTION
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed 07 July 2026 have been fully considered but are not persuasive. The new limitations are disclosed by Davis as detailed in the rejection below.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
2. Claims 1-7 and 9-20 rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Webber et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2016/0334804) in view of Davis et al. (U.S. Patent Application Publication # US 2021/0255639), and further in view of Tamatani (U.S. Patent Application Publication # 2025/0068172).
Regarding claims 1, 16, and 19, Webber discloses a method of maintaining positionally accurate implement operation of an implement (claim 1, P147, etc), the method comprising:
receiving, by a controller onboard a work vehicle that is positionally coupled to the implement, a location data associated with a ground position of the implement from a Global Navigation Satellite System (GNSS) receiver (fig. 13, etc: e.g. GNSS signals);
determining, by the controller, the ground position of the implement based at least on the location data associated with the ground position of the implement (fig 13, etc: e.g. position computed from GNSS signals);
receiving, by the controller, from a GNSS positional sensor, GNSS data indicative of a relative offset between the implement and the work vehicle (fig. 13, P144, 21, 24, etc: baseline 732 [relative offset] between the vehicle antenna 753 location and the implement antenna location);
determining, by the controller, a ground position of the work vehicle relative to the implement based at least on the received location data associated with the ground position of the implement (fig 13, P144, etc: compute work vehicle position from work vehicle’s own GNSS antenna/signals, and then calculate moving baseline 732 [relative position between work vehicle and implement] from positions of work vehicle and implement);
determining, by the controller, a deviation of the ground position of the implement from a desired course based on the ground position of the implement (fig 17, claim 1, P147: “The guidance CPU 736 utilizes the retained tail “breadcrumb” positions 790 in conjunction with the GNSS-derived antenna locations for computing a crosstrack error representing implement 728 deviation from a desired guidepath 794, and the necessary steering signals for correcting the vehicle 10 course to maintain the implement 728 on track”, etc) exceeding a threshold (implicit based on smallest detectable deviation; or combined with P190: a deviation is compared to threshold); and
responsive to determining that the deviation of the ground position of the implement from the desired course exceeds the threshold (implicit based on smallest detectable deviation; or combined with P190: a deviation is compared to threshold), adjusting, by the controller, one or more operating parameters of the work vehicle to adjust the ground position of the work vehicle relative to the implement (claim 1, P147, etc).
Webber does not explicitly disclose receiving, by the controller, from a non-GNSS positional sensor, non-GNSS data indicative of a relative offset between the implement and the work vehicle; determining the ground position of the work vehicle relative to the implement based at least on the non-GNSS data indicative of the relative offset between the implement and the work vehicle; that the deviation is exceeding a threshold.
In the same field of endeavor, Davis discloses receiving, by the controller, from a non-GNSS positional sensor, non-GNSS data indicative of a relative offset between the implement and the work vehicle; and determining the ground position of the work vehicle relative to the implement based at least on the non-GNSS data indicative of the relative offset between the implement and the work vehicle (fig 1, P30, 88, 68, etc).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webber to do so, as taught by Davis, in order to enable use of the invention even when a vehicle GNSS sensor is obstructed, defective, malfunctioning, or missing, with predictable results.
In the same field of endeavor, Tamatani discloses that the deviation is exceeding a threshold (P117-118, etc).
It would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify Webber such that the deviation is exceeding a threshold, as taught by Tamatani, in order to reduce the number of adjustments to the vehicle movement for smoother and more efficient motion, with predictable results.
Regarding claim 2, Webber further discloses that the ground position of the work vehicle is further determined, by the controller, based on a characteristic of a positional coupling between the work vehicle and the implement, wherein the characteristic of the positional coupling includes at least one of a type of a coupling device, a length of the coupling device, a flexibility parameter of the coupling device, a wheelbase of the implement, a coupling position of the coupling device on the implement, a coupling position of the coupling device on the work vehicle, a difference in height between the work vehicle and the implement, and a suspension parameter (fig 13, P144, etc).
Regarding claims 3 and 17, Webber further discloses receiving, by the controller, from an optical sensor positionally coupled to the implement, image data of the work vehicle; and determining, by the controller, the ground position of the work vehicle based on the received location data associated with the ground position of the implement and the received image data of the work vehicle (abstract, P31, 71, 181, 192, etc).
Regarding claims 4, 18, and 20, Webber further discloses receiving, by the controller, from an optical sensor positionally coupled to the work vehicle, image data of the implement; and determining, by the controller, the ground position of the work vehicle based on the received location data associated with the ground position of the implement and the received image data of the implement (abstract, P31, 71, 181, 192, etc).
Regarding claim 5, Webber further discloses receiving, by the controller, from a position sensor, positional data of a coupling device physically coupled to the work vehicle at a first portion of the coupling device and physically coupled to the implement at a second portion of the coupling device; and determining, by the controller, the ground position of the work vehicle based on the received location data associated with the ground position of the implement and the received positional data of the coupling device (fig 27-31, etc; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 6, Webber further discloses that adjustment of the one or more operating parameters is based in part on a weight distribution of the work vehicle and the implement, a wind speed, a terrain grade, a terrain type, an implement type, an amount of deviation of the implement from the desired course, a steering geometry of the work vehicle, a steering geometry of the implement, a speed of the work vehicle, a time of operation, crop characteristics, and one or more suspension characteristics of the implement and the work vehicle (claim 1, P147, etc).
Regarding claim 7, Webber further discloses continuously updating, by the controller, the ground position of the implement as additional location data of the implement is received; continuously updating, by the controller, the ground position of the work vehicle relative to the implement based on the additional location data of the implement; determining, by the controller, the deviation of the implement from the desired course based on the updated ground position of the implement; and dynamically adjusting, by the controller, the one or more operating parameters of the work vehicle until the deviation of the ground position of the implement is within the threshold (claim 1, P147, etc).
Regarding claim 9, Webber further discloses storing, by the controller, in a memory communicatively coupled to the controller, a history of the location data of the implement and corresponding adjustments made to the one or more operating parameters of the work vehicle; accessing, by the controller, the history of the location data; predicting, by the controller, future adjustments to the one or more operating parameters based on new location data received; and responsive to predicting a future adjustment to the one or more operating parameters based on the new location data received, adjusting, by the controller, the one or more operating parameters based on the predicted future adjustment (P180, etc; also well known in the art, the Examiner hereby takes Official Notice).
Regarding claim 10, Webber further discloses that the implement is towed by the work vehicle during operation (figs 9, 13, etc).
Regarding claim 11, Webber further discloses that the work vehicle is physically coupled to the implement during operation (figs 9, 13, 21-23, 25, 30-31, etc).
Regarding claim 12, Webber further discloses that the work vehicle is communicatively coupled to the implement during operation (figs 10, 18, 22, 26, etc).
Regarding claim 13, Webber further discloses that the one or more operating parameters include at least one of steering angle, an engine speed, a transmission gear selection, a hydraulic pressure or flow rate, a traction control, a work mode, a brake force, clutch engagement, implement height, and implement lateral adjustment (claim 1, P147, etc).
Regarding claim 14, Webber further discloses that the one or more operating parameters of the work vehicle include one or more operating parameters of the implement, including at least one of an implement steering angle, an implement height, an implement engagement depth, and an implement lateral adjustment (fig 18, claim 1, P147, etc).
Regarding claim 15, Webber further discloses that the implement is at least one of plow, harrow, seeder, planter, cultivator, sprayer, fertilizer spreader, combine harvester, mower, brush hog, hay baler, rotary tiller, grain drill, irrigation applicator, grain cart, disc mower, manure spreader, forage harvester, potato harvester, cotton picker, vegetable transplanter, and strip tiller (figs 13, 21-23, 25, 30-31, 36, P121-122, etc).
Conclusion
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/Shelley Chen/
Patent Examiner
Art Unit 3665
September 5, 2026