DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDS) submitted on 08/30/2024 and 01/02/2025 were considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1, 3, 8, 10, 15, and 17 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGonagle et al. (US 7779614) hereinafter McGonagle in view of Swarvar et al. (US 2022/0180996 A1) hereinafter Swarvar.
Regarding claim 1, McGonagle discloses a verification system for a blister card packaging system (col. 24, lines 24-44), the verification system comprising:
an electronic processor (col. 29, line 46 to col. 30, line 6; Fig. 9, computer 910 including processing unit 912),
the electronic processor configured to: capture a successive plurality of images of a blister of a blister card (col. 26, lines 7-36, col. 28, line 44 to col. 29, line 4; a separate picture of each blister is taken. Vibration is applied and multiple pictures may be taken of the blister contents during the vibration. Images are taken as the pills are collected or after the pills are collected);
display a verification image of at least a portion of the blister card (col. 32, lines 26-45; Fig. 13; Image 1401 of blister 26 are displayed on a computer for review by a pharmacist).
McGonagle further discloses displaying multiple images of each blister for verification (col. 32, lines 26-45). However, McGonagle does not disclose receiving a selection of the blister subsequent to the display of the verification image; and display the successive plurality of images in response to receiving the selection.
Swarvar discloses a medical pill verification system that receives a selection of the blister subsequent to the display of the verification image (para. [0043]; a user selects or clicks on a cover image); and
display the successive plurality of images in response to receiving the selection (para. [0043], [0064]; Fig. 6, a cover image 118 presents the pharmacist with a general overview of pill parameters 104 and when selected, processor 114 displays the plurality of photographic images 118, e.g., when the pharmacist double-clicks the cover image 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle and incorporate the teachings in Swarvar of receiving a selection of the blister subsequent to the display of the verification image; and displaying the successive plurality of images in response to receiving the selection so that the pharmacist reviewing the blister compartment could selectively access the sequence of images associated with that compartment, thereby improving verification accuracy, auditability, and error detection. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the image history review functionality of Swarvar is not limited to prescription containers and is equally applicable to blister compartments since both systems involve identification of correct medication in to a receptacle and subsequently verifying the contents through image review (Swarvar: para. [0065]-[0066]). This modification merely applies a known image history review technique to a known pharmaceutical verification system to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 3, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 1. McGonagle further discloses wherein a final image of the successive plurality of images is captured after the blister is filled with a prescribed number of medications and before the blister card is sealed, wherein the verification image is the final image of the successive plurality of images (col. 24, lines 51-56, col. 29, lines 5-19; pictures of a blister are taken during fill operation before sealing).
Regarding claim 8, McGonagle discloses a method for verification of a blister card (col. 24, lines 24-44), the method comprising:
capturing a successive plurality of images of a blister of a blister card (col. 26, lines 7-36, col. 28, line 44 to col. 29, line 4; a separate picture of each blister is taken. Vibration is applied and multiple pictures may be taken of the blister contents during the vibration. Images are taken as the pills are collected or after the pills are collected);
displaying a verification image of at least a portion of the blister card (col. 32, lines 26-45; Images of blister 26 are displayed on a computer for review by a pharmacist).
McGonagle further discloses displaying multiple images of each blister for verification (col. 32, lines 26-45). However, McGonagle does not disclose receiving a selection of the blister subsequent to the display of the verification image; and displaying the successive plurality of images in response to receiving the selection.
Swarvar discloses a medical pill verification method that receives a selection of the blister subsequent to the display of the verification image (para. [0043]; a user selects or clicks on a cover image); and
display the successive plurality of images in response to receiving the selection (para. [0043], [0064]; Fig. 6, a cover image 118 presents the pharmacist with a general overview of pill parameters 104 and when selected, processor 114 displays the plurality of photographic images 118, e.g., when the pharmacist double-clicks the cover image 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification method of McGonagle and incorporate the teachings in Swarvar of receiving a selection of the blister subsequent to the display of the verification image; and displaying the successive plurality of images in response to receiving the selection so that the pharmacist reviewing the blister compartment could selectively access the sequence of images associated with that compartment, thereby improving verification accuracy, auditability, and error detection. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the image history review functionality of Swarvar is not limited to prescription containers and is equally applicable to blister compartments since both systems involve identification of correct medication in to a receptacle and subsequently verifying the contents through image review (Swarvar: para. [0065]-[0066]). This modification merely applies a known image history review technique to a known pharmaceutical verification system to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 10, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 8. McGonagle further discloses wherein a final image of the successive plurality of images is captured after the blister is filled with a prescribed number of medications and before the blister card is sealed and the verification image is the final image of the successive plurality of images (col. 24, lines 51-56, col. 29, lines 5-19; pictures of a blister are taken during fill operation before sealing).
Regarding claim 15, McGonagle discloses a blister card packaging system, the blister card packaging system comprising: an electronic processor, the electronic processor configured to (col. 14, lines 5-21; col. 29, line 46 to col. 30, line 6; Fig. 9, computer 910 including processing unit 912):
capture a successive plurality of images of a blister of a blister card (col. 26, lines 7-36, col. 28, line 44 to col. 29, line 4; a separate picture of each blister is taken. Vibration is applied and multiple pictures may be taken of the blister contents during the vibration. Images are taken as the pills are collected or after the pills are collected);
display a verification image of at least a portion of the blister card (col. 32, lines 26-45; Images of blister 26 are displayed on a computer for review by a pharmacist).
McGonagle further discloses displaying multiple images of each blister for verification (col. 32, lines 26-45). However, McGonagle does not disclose receiving a selection of the blister subsequent to the display of the verification image; and displaying the successive plurality of images in response to receiving the selection.
Swarvar discloses a medical pill verification system that receives a selection of the blister subsequent to the display of the verification image (para. [0043], [0064]; Fig. 6, a user selects or clicks on a cover image); and
display the successive plurality of images in response to receiving the selection (para. [0043]; a cover image 118 presents the pharmacist with a general overview of pill parameters 104 and when selected, processor 114 displays the plurality of photographic images 118, e.g., when the pharmacist double-clicks the cover image 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle and incorporate the teachings in Swarvar of receiving a selection of the blister subsequent to the display of the verification image; and displaying the successive plurality of images in response to receiving the selection so that the pharmacist reviewing the blister compartment could selectively access the sequence of images associated with that compartment, thereby improving verification accuracy, auditability, and error detection. A person of ordinary skill in the art would have recognized that the image history review functionality of Swarvar is not limited to prescription containers and is equally applicable to blister compartments since both systems involve identification of correct medication in to a receptacle and subsequently verifying the contents through image review (Swarvar: para. [0065]-[0066]). This modification merely applies a known image history review technique to a known pharmaceutical verification system to obtain predictable results.
Regarding claim 17, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 15. McGonagle further discloses wherein a final image of the successive plurality of images is captured after the blister is filled with a prescribed number of medications and before the blister card is sealed and the verification image is the final image of the successive plurality of images (col. 24, lines 51-56, col. 29, lines 5-19; pictures of a blister are taken during fill operation before sealing).
Claims 2, 9, and 16 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGonagle (US 7779614) in view of Swarvar (US 2022/0180996 A1) , and in further view of Popovich et al. (US 7930064) hereinafter Popovich.
Regarding claim 2, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 1. The combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose the successive plurality of images depict the blister after successive layers of medications are dropped into the blister and the electronic processor is further configured to: receive a selection of a volume of medication corresponding to each of the successive layers.
Popovich discloses a drug inspection system, wherein the successive plurality of images depict the blister after successive layers of medications are dropped into the blister and the electronic processor is further configured to (col. 7, lines 27-59; camera 108 can take multiple pictures of the aggregate 119 of pills in the collection area 118, which changes as more pills are dropped so that the aggregate 119 at time 1 is different from that at time 2. The camera can take a picture of the aggregate 119 at time 1, time 2, time 3, time 4, etc. to obtain a different image of the aggregate 119 at each time as the collection area 118 is filling up with more pills):
receive a selection of a volume of medication corresponding to each of the successive layers (col. 8, lines 3-24, col. 8, lines 44-58; The system 100 can take a reading of the aggregate 119 after every pill is dropped, or after every 2 pills, 3 pills, 5 pills, 10 pills, or after any other desired number of pills).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle in view of Swarvar and incorporate the teachings of Popovich where the successive plurality of images depict the blister after successive layers of medications are dropped into the blister and the electronic processor is further configured to receive a selection of a volume of medication corresponding to each of the successive layers to improve verification reliability by reducing errors that could be caused by overlapping pills, as well as provide an audit trail of the filling process (Popovich: col. 7, line 60 to col 8, line 3; col. 8, lines 44-58).
Regarding claim 9, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 8. The combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose the successive plurality of images depict the blister after successive layers of medications are dropped into the blister and the method further comprising: receiving a selection of a volume of medication corresponding to each of the successive layers.
Popovich discloses a drug inspection system and method, wherein the successive plurality of images depict the blister after successive layers of medications are dropped into the blister(col. 7, lines 27-59; camera 108 can take multiple pictures of the aggregate 119 of pills in the collection area 118, which changes as more pills are dropped so that the aggregate 119 at time 1 is different from that at time 2. The camera can take a picture of the aggregate 119 at time 1, time 2, time 3, time 4, etc. to obtain a different image of the aggregate 119 at each time as the collection area 118 is filling up with more pills) and the method further comprising:
receiving a selection of a volume of medication corresponding to each of the successive layers (col. 8, lines 3-24, col. 8, lines 44-58; The system 100 can take a reading of the aggregate 119 after every pill is dropped, or after every 2 pills, 3 pills, 5 pills, 10 pills, or after any other desired number of pills).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification method of McGonagle in view of Swarvar and incorporate the teachings of Popovich where the successive plurality of images depict the blister after successive layers of medications are dropped into the blister, and the method further comprising receiving a selection of a volume of medication corresponding to each of the successive layers to improve verification reliability by reducing errors that could be caused by overlapping pills, as well as provide an audit trail of the filling process (Popovich: col. 7, line 60 to col 8, line 3; col. 8, lines 44-58).
Regarding claim 16, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 15. The combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose the successive plurality of images depict the blister after successive layers of medications are dropped into the blister and the electronic processor is further configured to: receive a selection of a volume of medication corresponding to each of the successive layers.
Popovich discloses a drug inspection system, wherein the successive plurality of images depict the blister after successive layers of medications are dropped into the blister and the electronic processor is further configured to (col. 7, lines 27-59; camera 108 can take multiple pictures of the aggregate 119 of pills in the collection area 118, which changes as more pills are dropped so that the aggregate 119 at time 1 is different from that at time 2. The camera can take a picture of the aggregate 119 at time 1, time 2, time 3, time 4, etc. to obtain a different image of the aggregate 119 at each time as the collection area 118 is filling up with more pills):
receive a selection of a volume of medication corresponding to each of the successive layers (col. 8, lines 3-24, col. 8, lines 44-58; The system 100 can take a reading of the aggregate 119 after every pill is dropped, or after every 2 pills, 3 pills, 5 pills, 10 pills, or after any other desired number of pills).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle in view of Swarvar and incorporate the teachings of Popovich where the successive plurality of images depict the blister after successive layers of medications are dropped into the blister and the electronic processor is further configured to receive a selection of a volume of medication corresponding to each of the successive layers to improve verification reliability by reducing errors that could be caused by overlapping pills, as well as provide an audit trail of the filling process (Popovich: col. 7, line 60 to col 8, line 3; col. 8, lines 44-58).
Claims 4-5, 11-12, and 18-19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGonagle (US 7779614) in view of Swarvar (US 2022/0180996 A1) , and in further view of Hosokawa et al. (US 2024/0350365) hereinafter Hosokawa.
Regarding claim 4, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 3. McGonagle further discloses generating a verification screen including an image pane, a job pane, a reference pane, and a navigation pane (col. 32, lines 26-45; Fig. 13, image pane 1401, job pane showing patient information on top of screen, reference pane 1402, navigation pane bottom of screen),
for each medication included in the blister card, one or more reference images, a NDC code, one or more characteristics, and a SIG code are displayed in the reference pane, wherein the SIG code informs a user when the medication should be taken, how often the medication should be taken, or both (col. 32, lines 26-45, reference image 1402, NDC, characteristics e.g. color and inscription), and
one or more navigation buttons including at least one selected from the group consisting of an approve card button for approving the blister card, a previous card button for viewing a previously displayed blister card, and a rework card button for providing an instruction to repackage the blister card are displayed in the navigation pane (col. 32, lines 26-45; navigation buttons accept, reject, display picture. Ability to view previous card is contemplated as the verification system is designed to verify each blister in the pack).
The combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose, the verification image is displayed in the image pane along with a plurality of labels, each label of the plurality of labels corresponding to a row or column of the blister card in the verification image.
Hosokawa discloses a drug inspection system with a display where the verification image is displayed in the image pane along with a plurality of labels, each label of the plurality of labels corresponding to a row or column of the blister card in the verification image (para. [0140]; Fig. 14, plurality of labels 1702, 1703, 1704 corresponding to a column of a drug prescribed in one package).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle in view of Swarvar and incorporate the teachings in Hosokawa where the verification image is displayed in the image pane along with a plurality of labels, each label of the plurality of labels corresponding to a row or column of the blister card in the verification to correctly identify the specific image with prescription detail related to the time point for the dosage (Hosokawa: para. [0140]).
Regarding claim 5, the combination of McGonagle, Swarvar, and Hosokawa, discloses all limitations in claim 4. Swarvar further discloses receiving a selection of one selected from the group consisting of a label of the plurality of labels corresponding to the blister and a portion of the verification image corresponding to the blister (para. [0043]; receiving a selection using cover image 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle, Swarvar, and Hosokawa and further incorporate the teachings in Swarvar of receiving a selection of one selected from the group consisting of a label of the plurality of labels corresponding to the blister and a portion of the verification image corresponding to the blister to improve the verification efficiency by allowing the pharmacist to conduct a more detailed inspection on a suspected group of pills by selecting the cover image and reviewing the individual component pills (Swarvar: para. [0064]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 11, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 10. McGonagle further discloses generating a verification screen including an image pane, a job pane, a reference pane, and a navigation pane (col. 32, lines 26-45; Fig. 13, image pane 1401, job pane showing patient information on top of screen, reference pane 1402, navigation pane bottom of screen),
for each medication included in the blister card, one or more reference images, a NDC code, one or more characteristics, and a SIG code are displayed in the reference pane, wherein the SIG code informs a user when the medication should be taken, how often the medication should be taken, or both (col. 32, lines 26-45, reference image 1402, NDC, characteristics e.g. color and inscription), and
one or more navigation buttons including at least one selected from the group consisting of an approve card button for approving the blister card, a previous card button for viewing a previously displayed blister card, and a rework card button for providing an instruction to repackage the blister card are displayed in the navigation pane (col. 32, lines 26-45; navigation buttons accept, reject, display picture. Ability to view previous card is contemplated as the verification system is designed to verify each blister in the pack).
The combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose, the verification image is displayed in the image pane along with a plurality of labels, each label of the plurality of labels corresponding to a row or column of the blister card in the verification image.
Hosokawa discloses a drug inspection system with a display where the verification image is displayed in the image pane along with a plurality of labels, each label of the plurality of labels corresponding to a row or column of the blister card in the verification image (para. [0140]; Fig. 14, plurality of labels 1702, 1703, 1704 corresponding to a column of a drug prescribed in one package).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle in view of Swarvar and incorporate the teachings in Hosokawa where the verification image is displayed in the image pane along with a plurality of labels, each label of the plurality of labels corresponding to a row or column of the blister card in the verification to correctly identify the specific image with prescription detail related to the time point for the dosage (Hosokawa: para. [0140]).
Regarding claim 12, the combination of McGonagle, Swarvar, and Hosokawa, discloses all limitations in claim 11. Swarvar further discloses receiving a selection of one selected from the group consisting of a label of the plurality of labels corresponding to the blister and a portion of the verification image corresponding to the blister (para. [0043]; receiving a selection using cover image 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification method of McGonagle, Swarvar, and Hosokawa and further incorporate the teachings in Swarvar of receiving a selection of one selected from the group consisting of a label of the plurality of labels corresponding to the blister and a portion of the verification image corresponding to the blister to improve the verification efficiency by allowing the pharmacist to conduct a more detailed inspection on a suspected group of pills by selecting the cover image and reviewing the individual component pills (Swarvar: para. [0064]-[0065]).
Regarding claim 18, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 17. McGonagle further discloses generating a verification screen including an image pane, a job pane, a reference pane, and a navigation pane (col. 32, lines 26-45; Fig. 13, image pane 1401, job pane showing patient information on top of screen, reference pane 1402, navigation pane bottom of screen),
for each medication included in the blister card, one or more reference images, a NDC code, one or more characteristics, and a SIG code are displayed in the reference pane, wherein the SIG code informs a user when the medication should be taken, how often the medication should be taken, or both (col. 32, lines 26-45, reference image 1402, NDC, characteristics e.g. color and inscription), and
one or more navigation buttons including at least one selected from the group consisting of an approve card button for approving the blister card, a previous card button for viewing a previously displayed blister card, and a rework card button for providing an instruction to repackage the blister card are displayed in the navigation pane (col. 32, lines 26-45; navigation buttons accept, reject, display picture. Ability to view previous card is contemplated as the verification system is designed to verify each blister in the pack).
The combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose, the verification image is displayed in the image pane along with a plurality of labels, each label of the plurality of labels corresponding to a row or column of the blister card in the verification image.
Hosokawa discloses a drug inspection system with a display where the verification image is displayed in the image pane along with a plurality of labels, each label of the plurality of labels corresponding to a row or column of the blister card in the verification image (para. [0140]; Fig. 14, plurality of labels 1702, 1703, 1704 corresponding to a column of a drug prescribed in one package).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle in view of Swarvar and incorporate the teachings in Hosokawa where the verification image is displayed in the image pane along with a plurality of labels, each label of the plurality of labels corresponding to a row or column of the blister card in the verification to correctly identify the specific image with prescription detail related to the time point for the dosage (Hosokawa: para. [0140]).
Regarding claim 19, the combination of McGonagle, Swarvar, and Hosokawa, discloses all limitations in claim 18. Swarvar further discloses receiving a selection of one selected from the group consisting of a label of the plurality of labels corresponding to the blister and a portion of the verification image corresponding to the blister (para. [0043]; receiving a selection using cover image 118).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle, Swarvar, and Hosokawa and further incorporate the teachings in Swarvar of receiving a selection of one selected from the group consisting of a label of the plurality of labels corresponding to the blister and a portion of the verification image corresponding to the blister to improve the verification efficiency by allowing the pharmacist to conduct a more detailed inspection on a suspected group of pills by selecting the cover image and reviewing the individual component pills (Swarvar: para. [0064]-[0065]).
Claims 7 and 14 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGonagle et al. (US 7779614) in view of Swarvar (US 2022/0180996 A1) and in further view of Spillinger et al. (US 2021/0345865 A1).
Regarding claim 7, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 1. Swarvar further discloses selecting a cover image by clicking on the image to display additional images (para. [0043]). However, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose detecting a hovering action over the blister in the displayed image for verification; and generating a pop-up window including a list of medications that are expected in the blister.
Spillinger discloses a graphical user interface that detects a hovering action over an image in the displayed image for verification; and generating a pop-up window including a list of second level images (para. [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle in view of Swarvar, and incorporate the teachings in Spillinger of detecting a hovering action over an image in the displayed image for verification; and generating a pop-up window including a list of second level images to provide additional images to enable the pharmacist to quickly access detailed medication information and associated images while preserving screen space and reducing interface clutter.
Regarding claim 14, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 8. Swarvar further discloses selecting a cover image by clicking on the image to display additional images (para. [0043]). However, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose detecting a hovering action over the blister in the displayed image for verification; and generating a pop-up window including a list of medications that are expected in the blister.
Spillinger discloses a graphical user interface that detects a hovering action over an image in the displayed image for verification; and generating a pop-up window including a list of second level images (para. [0051]).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle in view of Swarvar, and incorporate the teachings in Spillinger of detecting a hovering action over an image in the displayed image for verification; and generating a pop-up window including a list of second level images to provide additional images to enable the pharmacist to quickly access detailed medication information and associated images while preserving screen space and reducing interface clutter.
Claims 6, 13 and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over McGonagle (US 7779614) in view of Swarvar (US 2022/0180996 A1) and in further view of Gotou et al. (US 2012/0200596) hereinafter Gotou.
Regarding claim 6, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 1. The combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose displaying the successive plurality of images adjacent to a cropped image of the blister card including only the blister so that a portion of the cropped image corresponding to the blister appears in a same row or a same column as the successive plurality of images corresponding to the blister.
Gotou discloses a tablet inspection support apparatus that displays the successive plurality of images adjacent to a cropped image of the blister card including only the blister so that a portion of the cropped image corresponding to the blister appears in a same row or a same column as the successive plurality of images corresponding to the blister (para. [0106]; Figs. 3, 15-16, display unit 20 simultaneously displays the reflected-light image 21 and the tablet group image 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification system of McGonagle in view of Swarvar, and incorporate the teachings in Gotou of displaying successive plurality of images adjacent to a cropped image of the blister card including only the blister so that a portion of the cropped image corresponding to the blister appears in a same row or a same column as the successive plurality of images corresponding to the blister to improve inspection quality by allowing the pharmacist to make comparison between the image of a specific blister and the individual tablets (para. [106]).
Regarding claim 13, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 8. The combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose displaying the successive plurality of images adjacent to a cropped image of the blister card including only the blister so that a portion of the cropped image corresponding to the blister appears in a same row or a same column as the successive plurality of images corresponding to the blister.
Gotou discloses a tablet inspection support apparatus that displays the successive plurality of images adjacent to a cropped image of the blister card including only the blister so that a portion of the cropped image corresponding to the blister appears in a same row or a same column as the successive plurality of images corresponding to the blister (para. [0106]; Figs. 3, 15-16, display unit 20 simultaneously displays the reflected-light image 21 and the tablet group image 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification method of McGonagle in view of Swarvar, and incorporate the teachings in Gotou of displaying successive plurality of images adjacent to a cropped image of the blister card including only the blister so that a portion of the cropped image corresponding to the blister appears in a same row or a same column as the successive plurality of images corresponding to the blister to improve inspection quality by allowing the pharmacist to make comparison between the image of a specific blister and the individual tablets (para. [106]).
Regarding claim 20, the combination of McGonagle and Swarvar, discloses all limitations in claim 15. The combination of McGonagle and Swarvar does not disclose displaying the successive plurality of images adjacent to a cropped image of the blister card including only the blister so that a portion of the cropped image corresponding to the blister appears in a same row or a same column as the successive plurality of images corresponding to the blister.
Gotou discloses a tablet inspection support apparatus that displays the successive plurality of images adjacent to a cropped image of the blister card including only the blister so that a portion of the cropped image corresponding to the blister appears in a same row or a same column as the successive plurality of images corresponding to the blister (para. [0106]; Figs. 3, 15-16, display unit 20 simultaneously displays the reflected-light image 21 and the tablet group image 51).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the verification method of McGonagle in view of Swarvar, and incorporate the teachings in Gotou of displaying successive plurality of images adjacent to a cropped image of the blister card including only the blister so that a portion of the cropped image corresponding to the blister appears in a same row or a same column as the successive plurality of images corresponding to the blister to improve inspection quality by allowing the pharmacist to make comparison between the image of a specific blister and the individual tablets (para. [106]).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Holmes (US 10594956) discloses a pharmacy packaging system including a verification system that uses a camera system configured to capture visible images an infrared spectrum images on a pharmaceutical pouch to identify each individual content of medication in the pouch. It also discloses a dashboard screen that displays an image pane, a job pane, a reference pane, a navigation pane including previous and approve buttons, and labels. It further discloses, in the event of identifying an improperly filled pouch, discarding the pouch or refilling the prescription order in a new pouch (col. 9, line 54 to col. 10, line 8; col. 12, lines 38-62; Figs. 10-12 )
/TEMESGEN M. MARU/ Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655
/JACOB S. SCOTT/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3655