DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statements (IDSs) submitted on 06/12/2024 and 12/12/2024 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statements are being considered by the examiner.
Claim Objections
Claims 3 and 13 are objected to because of the following informalities:
Claim 3, line 6 and Claim 13, line 6, it appears the expression/limitation “S = 8 when the SCS is 480 kHz” should read - - - S=8 when the SCS is 960 kHz - - -.
Appropriate correction is required.
Claim Rejections – 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-5, 10-15, and 20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si et al. (US 20210076341 A1), hereinafter Si, in view of Ko et al. (US 20220295464 A1), hereinafter Ko.
Regarding Claim 1,
Si teaches a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Si, Abstract; disclosed throughout incl. ¶0012-0013, a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system Fig. 3, ¶0057, UE 116), the UE comprising:
a processor (Si, FIG. 3, processor 340, see also Claim 1) configured to:
determine a number M of consecutive orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols for a sidelink synchronization signals and physical sidelink broadcast channel (S-SS/PSBCH) block (Si, ¶0205, FIG. 23, an SSB compromises of four (4)/ “a number” consecutive orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in time domain);
determine . . . a number N sub. SSB of S-SS/PSBCH blocks (Si, ¶0111 the transmission of N_SSB number of S-SSBs is consecutive in time domain, e.g., the transmission of S-SSBs occupies N_SSB consecutive slots in time domain
determine a time domain pattern for a number NS-SSB period of S-SS/PSBCH blocks within a period (Si, ¶0108 S-SSB configurability of the transmission patterns; the transmission pattern [of the blocks] can be (pre-)configurable); and
a transceiver operably coupled to the processor (Si, FIG. 3, RF Transceiver 310), the transceiver configured to receive the S-SS/PSBCH block based on the time domain pattern (Si, ¶0012, [t]he UE comprises a transceiver configured to receive a set of higher layer parameters including configuration information for sidelink synchronization signals and physical sidelink broadcast channel (S-SS/PSBCH) block).
Si does not explicitly teach [to] determine a slot group of S consecutive slots . . . including a number N sub. SSB of S-SS/PSBCH blocks.
However, in the analogous art, Ko explicitly discloses [to] determine a slot group of S consecutive slots including a number N sub. SSB of S-SS/PSBCH blocks (Si, ¶0361, a plurality of slot indexes for transmitting a specific S-SSB index in a frame may be determined, and the UE may know an S-SSB index when detecting a slot index; ¶0363 a plurality of slot indexes for transmitting a specific S-SSB index in a frame may be determined, and the UE may know an S-SSB index when detecting a slot index).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Si’s method and apparatus for S-SSB transmission with Ko’s apparatus and method of transmitting and receiving a signal in a wireless communication system. The motivation would be to improve to improve the S-SSB reception performance [Ko, ¶0189].
Regarding Claim 2, Si and Ko teach Claim 1.
Si further teaches the number M is (i) a fixed integer or (ii) based on a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the S-SS/PSBCH block (Si, ¶0205, FIG. 23, an SSB compromises of four (4) consecutive orthogonal frequency division multiplexing (OFDM) symbols in time domain, i.e. M = 4 [“a fixed integer”]).
see also 3GPP TS 38.211, disclosed in IDS [t]he locations in the time domain where a UE shall monitor for a possible S-SS/PSBCH block are described in clause 16.1; Section 8.4.3 discloses mapping to physical resources; 8.4.3.1 (“an S-SS/PSBCH block consists of
N
symb
S-SSB
OFDM symbols, numbered in increasing order from 0 to
N
symb
S-SSB
-
1
within the S-SS/PSBCH block,)
Regarding Claim 3, Si and Ko teach Claim 1.
Si further teaches S is based on (i) a higher layer parameter or (ii) a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the S-SS/PSBCH block and wherein: S = 1 when the SCS is 120 kilohertz (kHz), S = 2 when the SCS is 240 kHz, S = 4 when the SCS is 480 kHz, or S = 8 when the SCS is 480 kHz (Si, Fig. 32, ¶0329-0330, step 3202, the UE receives a set of higher layer parameters including configuration information for sidelink synchronization signals and physical sidelink broadcast channel (S-SS/PSBCH) block); see also ¶0134-0135 Claim 1).
Regarding Claim 4, Si and Ko teach Claim 1.
Si further teaches N sub. SSB is a fixed integer or same as S (Si, ¶0109-0110, the transmission pattern can be (pre-)configurable (“fixed”); ¶0111, the transmission of N_SSB number of S-SSBs is consecutive in time domain, e.g., the transmission of S-SSBs occupies N_SSB consecutive slots in time domain; see also FIG. 32, at 3204).
Regarding Claim 5, Si and Ko teach Claim 1.
Si further teaches the time domain pattern for the number NperiodS-SSB of S-SS/PSBCH blocks is determined based on indexes of slot groups that include the number NperiodS-SSB of S-SS/PSBCH blocks (Si, FIG. 32, at 3204, determine a number of transmitted S-SS/PSBCH blocks an offset and an interval; at 3206 determine a set of slots; ¶0142, the transmission of N_SSB number of S-SSBs is consecutive in time domain, e.g., the transmission of S-SSBs occupies N_SSB consecutive slots in time domain);
the indexes are given by NoffsetS-SSB+(NintervalS-SSB+1).[iS_SSB/NSSB] (Si, ¶0181, the sidelink UE acquires the information of the offset for transmission of S-SSB; ¶0187, UE acquires the information of the number of transmitted S-SSBs); iS-SSB is a S-SS/PSBCH block index within the number NperiodS-SSB period of S-SS/PSBCH blocks in the period, with 0≤iS-SSB≤NperiodS-SSB−1(Si, ¶0118, _SSB is the index of S-SSB within the configured number N_SSB of S-SSBs in the period, with 0≤I_SSB≤N_SSB−1.);
NperiodS-SSB is a slot group offset from a start of the period to a first slot group including a S-SS/PSBCH block (Si, ¶0121, [t]he offset the offset (e.g., denoted as O_SSB) for the transmission of S-SSBs within a S-SSB period . . . denotes the slot offset between the slot including the first S-SSB in the period and the first slot in the period);
the slot group offset is provided by a first higher layer parameter (Si, FIG. 32 at 3202; ¶¶0330-0333step 3202, the UE receives a set of higher layer parameters including configuration information for sidelink synchronization signals and physical sidelink broadcast channel (S-SS/PSBCH) block);
NintervalS-SSB is a slot group interval between slot groups including the number NperiodS-SB of S-SS/PSBCH blocks (Si, ¶0115, the transmission of N_SSB number of S-SSBs is evenly distributed in time domain within a S-SSB period with the same interval, wherein each S-SSB has a separate transmission burst and the distance between slots containing two neighboring S-SSBs is D_SSB, which is in the unit of slot); and
the slot group interval is provided a second higher layer parameter (Si, FIG. 32, ¶0330-0333, step 3202, the UE receives a set of higher layer parameters including configuration information for sidelink synchronization signals and physical sidelink broadcast channel (S-SS/PSBCH) block)
Regarding Claim 10, Si and Ko teach Claim 1.
Si further teaches the processor is further configured to determine a number of resource blocks (RBs) for the S-SS/PSBCH block, and the number of RBs is (i) a fixed integer or (ii) based on a sub-carrier spacing (SCS) of the S-SS/PSBCH block (Si, ¶¶0192-0193, the index of subcarrier in a RB starts from 0, and the index of RB in the 11 RB bandwidth of S-SSB; ¶¶0195-0196 [11 RB / “a number of resource blocks” bandwidth of S-SSB” ).
Regarding Claims 11-15 and 20, the claims the claims disclose similar features of Claims 1-5 and 10, respectively and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 1-5 and 10, in method form (method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Si, Abstract; ¶0013, a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system is provided)).
Claims 6-8 and 16-18 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si and Ko, in further view of LIU et al. (US 20260095899 A1), hereinafter LIU.
Regarding Claim 6, Si and Ko teach Claim 1.
Si further teaches a NR SS/PBCH block composition FIG. 23 and an S-SSB composition for NR V2X (FIG. 23, FIG. 25, ¶0211).
Yet, Si and Ko do not explicitly teach to determine first M₁ consecutive OFDM symbols within the M consecutive OFDM symbols, wherein each of the first M₁ consecutive OFDM symbols is mapped for a PSBCH in the S-SS/PSBCH block); and
determine last M₄ consecutive OFDM symbols within the M consecutive OFDM symbols, wherein each of the last M₄ consecutive OFDM symbols is mapped for the PSBCH.
However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses further teaches [to] determine first M₁ consecutive OFDM symbols within the M consecutive OFDM symbols, wherein each of the first M₁ consecutive OFDM symbols is mapped for a PSBCH in the S-SS/PSBCH block (LIU FIG. 10, ¶0243, a S-SS/PSBCH block where the 1st symbol of the consecutive OFDM symbols (“first M1 consecutive OFDM symbol”) is mapped for a PSBCH 1001); and
determine last M₄ consecutive OFDM symbols within the M consecutive OFDM symbols, wherein each of the last M₄ consecutive OFDM symbols is mapped for the PSBCH (LIU FIG. 10, ¶0243, a S-SS/PSBCH block where the 6th, 7th, 8th, 9th, 10th, 11th, 12th and 13th symbol of the consecutive OFDM symbols (“each of the last M1 consecutive OFDM symbols”) is mapped for the PSBCH 1001).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Si’s method and apparatus for S-SSB transmission and Ko’s apparatus and method of transmitting and receiving a signal in a wireless communication system with LIU’s UE and communication method for sidelink and V2X wireless communication. The motivation would be to improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency and the communication coverage of the S-SS/PSBCH transmission [LIU, ¶0004; ¶0244].
Regarding Claim 7, Si and Ko and LIU teach Claim 6.
Si and Ko do not explicitly teach to determine M₂ consecutive OFDM symbols after the first M₁ consecutive OFDM symbols within the M consecutive OFDM symbols, and each of the M₂ consecutive OFDM symbols is mapped for (1) a sidelink primary synchronization signal (S-PSS) or (2) the S-PSS that is frequency division multiplexed (FDMed) with the PSBCH.
However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses to determine M₂ consecutive OFDM symbols after the first M₁ consecutive OFDM symbols within the M consecutive OFDM symbols, and each of the M₂ consecutive OFDM symbols is mapped for (1) a sidelink primary synchronization signal (S-PSS) or (2) the S-PSS that is frequency division multiplexed (FDMed) with the PSBCH (LIU FIG. 10, ¶0243, a S-SS/PSBCH block where For an occasion with an S-SS/PSBCH block, S-PSS is mapped in the second and third OFDM symbols of the occasion of the consecutive OFDM symbols (“each of the last M1 consecutive OFDM symbols”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Si’s method and apparatus for S-SSB transmission and Ko’s apparatus and method of transmitting and receiving a signal in a wireless communication system with LIU’s UE and communication method for sidelink and V2X wireless communication. The motivation would be to improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency and the communication coverage of the S-SS/PSBCH transmission [LIU, ¶0004; ¶0244].
Regarding Claim 8, Si and Ko and LIU teach Claim 6.
Si and Ko do not explicitly teach to determine M₃ consecutive OFDM symbols before the last M₄ consecutive OFDM symbols within the M consecutive OFDM symbols, and each of the M₃ consecutive OFDM symbols is mapped for (1) a sidelink secondary synchronization signal (S-SSS) or (2) the S-SSS that is frequency division multiplexed (FDMed) with the PSBCH.
However, in the analogous art, LIU explicitly discloses to determine M₃ consecutive OFDM symbols before the last M₄ consecutive OFDM symbols within the M consecutive OFDM symbols, and each of the M₃ consecutive OFDM symbols is mapped for (1) a sidelink secondary synchronization signal (S-SSS) or (2) the S-SSS that is frequency division multiplexed (FDMed) with the PSBCH ((LIU FIG. 10, ¶0243, a S-SS/PSBCH block where For an occasion with an S-SS/PSBCH block, S-SSS is mapped in third and fourth OFDM symbols of the occasion of the consecutive OFDM symbols (“each of the last M1 consecutive OFDM symbols”).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Si’s method and apparatus for S-SSB transmission and Ko’s apparatus and method of transmitting and receiving a signal in a wireless communication system with LIU’s UE and communication method for sidelink and V2X wireless communication. The motivation would be to improve communication flexibility and/or efficiency and the communication coverage of the S-SS/PSBCH transmission [LIU, ¶0004; ¶0244].
Regarding Claims 16-18, the claims the claims disclose similar features of 6-8, respectively and are rejected based on the same rationales of Claims 6-8, in method form (method performed by a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system (Si, Abstract; ¶0013, a method of a user equipment (UE) in a wireless communication system is provided); LIU, Abstract; ¶0242-0243, method).
Claims 9 and 19 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Si and Ko, in further view of LUO et al. (US 20240188048 A1), hereinafter LUO.
Regarding Claim 9, Si and Ko teach Claim 1.
Si does not explicitly teach discloses to determine a sidelink resource pool, and the slot group including the number NSSB of S-SS/PSBCH blocks is not determined to be within the sidelink resource pool.
However, in the analogous art, LUO explicitly discloses to determine a sidelink resource pool (LUO, ¶0174, one or more resource pools (or referred to as SL resource pools) may be configured in one SL BWP), and the slot group including the number NₛₛB of S-SS/PSBCH blocks is not determined to be within the sidelink resource pool (LUO, ¶0175, the time-domain and frequency-domain resources corresponding to the S-SSB may be configured independently of the resource pool).
Therefore, it would have been obvious to one of the ordinary skill in the art before the effective filling date of the claimed invention to combine Si’s method and apparatus for S-SSB transmission Ko’s apparatus and method of transmitting and receiving a signal in a wireless communication system with LUO’s UE and communication method for sidelink and V2X wireless communication] The motivation would be to achieving flexible and efficient time resource indication in an inter-UE coordination message and synchronization [LUO, ¶0008; 0174-0175].
Regarding Claim 19, the claims the claim discloses similar features of Claim 9 and is rejected based on the same rationales of Claim 9, in method form.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
YI et al. (US 20250374245 A1): Abstract; a communication method and a related apparatus [determining] ¶0003 an optimal communication direction between two communication parties through beam training ¶0004 using a S-SSB.
Any inquiry concerning this communication or earlier communications from the examiner should be directed to TRACY L WILLIAMS whose telephone number is 571-270-7694. The examiner can normally be reached Mon - Fri 8:30-5:30. Examiner interviews are available via telephone, in-person, and video conferencing using a USPTO supplied web-based collaboration tool. To schedule an interview, applicant is encouraged to use the USPTO Automated Interview Request (AIR) at http://www.uspto.gov/interviewpractice. If attempts to reach the examiner by telephone are unsuccessful, the examiner’s supervisor, Ayman Abaza can be reached at 571-270-0422. The fax phone number for the organization where this application or proceeding is assigned is 571-273-8300.
/TRACY L WILLIAMS/Examiner, Art Unit 2465
/AYMAN A ABAZA/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2465