DETAILED ACTION
Information Disclosure Statement
The information disclosure statement (IDS) submitted on June 12, 2024 and January 24, 2025 are in compliance with the provisions of 37 CFR 1.97. Accordingly, the information disclosure statement is being considered by the examiner.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1, 3, 5, 10, and 13 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Skroski et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20230307742 A1), hereinafter referred to as Skroski.
Regarding claim 1, Skroski teaches a system for venting an electric vehicle (see e.g., Abstract). Skroski teaches a system 100 for venting a power source (“a battery system”) (see e.g., paragraph [0017]). Skroski teaches the system 100 includes a power source, such as a battery pack having a plurality of battery modules 104 (“a battery housing”) (see e.g., Figure 1), wherein each battery module 104 includes a plurality of battery cells 120 (“battery cells in the battery housing”) (see e.g., paragraph [0017]). Skroski teaches the system includes a plurality of vent valves 160 (“electronic venting valves at the battery housing”) (see e.g., paragraph [0025] and Figure 1) connected to a vent 128, which is configured to contain a fluid, such as a gas and/or liquid, that traverses therethrough to provide ventilation (see e.g., paragraph [0019]). Skroski teaches the vent valve 160 is configured to allow, in an open position, a fluid to traverse in the vent 128 and is configured to prevent, in a closed position, a fluid to traverse in the vent 128 (see e.g., paragraph [0025]) via an actuator (“configured to be adjusted between an open position and a closed position via an electronic actuator”) (see e.g., paragraph [0067]). Skroski teaches the vent valve 160 is actuated by a controller of the system 100 (“a control unit configured to control the electronic venting valves to concurrently or substantially simultaneously open during a thermal runaway”) (see e.g., paragraph [0029]).
Regarding claim 3, Skroski teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Skroski teaches the system includes a module unit (MMU) 204, a pack monitoring unit (PMU) 208, and a sensor 212 or a sensor suite 300 having a plurality of sensors (see e.g., paragraph [0031]). Skroski teaches the MMU 204 includes a sensor that is configured to detect a condition parameter of the battery module, wherein the condition parameter is detected electrical or physical input and/or phenomenon related to a state of a battery pack, such as temperature, vent gas, or other measurable characteristics of the battery pack (see e.g., paragraph [0031]) and is configured to transmit a measurement datum of the battery module 104 to PMU 208 (“further comprising a sensor configured to detect the thermal runaway inside the battery housing, and to output a sensor signal”) (see e.g., paragraph [0032]). Skroski teaches the PMU 208 includes a controller 216, which is configured to receive measurement datum from MMU 204 (see e.g., paragraph [0034]). Skroski teaches the controller 216 of PMU 208 may be configured to determine a critical event element if charging condition is outside of a predetermined threshold (see e.g., paragraph [0035]) and is configured to generate an action command if critical event element is determined by the controller, wherein the action command includes actuating vent valve 160 by opening vent valve 160 (“wherein the control unit is configured to control the electronic venting valves in response to the sensor signal”) (see e.g., paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 5, Skroski teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Skroski teaches the sensor 212 include a sensor suite 300 or one or more individual sensors, which may include pressure sensors (“wherein the sensor comprises a pressure sensor configured to detect a pressure inside the battery housing”) (see e.g., paragraph [0040]). Skroski teaches the controller 216 of PMU 208 may be configured to determine a critical event element if charging condition is outside of a predetermined threshold (see e.g., paragraph [0035]) and is configured to generate an action command if critical event element is determined by the controller, wherein the action command includes actuating vent valve 160 by opening vent valve 160 (“wherein the control unit is configured to control the electronic venting valves upon the pressure exceeding a first value”) (see e.g., paragraph [0036]).
Regarding claim 10, Skroski teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Skroski teaches the actuator is configured to move the vent valve 160 between a closed position and an open position through a magnetic mechanism (“wherein the electronic actuator comprises an electro-magnetic element for holding a valve cap of the electronic venting valves in the closed position upon being powered”) (see e.g., paragraph [0067]). Skroski teaches if electric vehicle 108 includes a plurality of battery modules, then each corresponding vent of the battery modules may have a vent valve, so that battery modules that need a charging condition adjustment will have open vent valves “wherein the valve cap is the opening position by default, such that the valve cap moves into the open position upon the electro-magnetic element being unpowered”) (see e.g., paragraph [0025]) and closed as a function of the operating conditition of the battery module (see e.g., paragraph [0066]).
Regarding claim 13, Skroski teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Skroski teaches an electric vehicle comprising the battery system as claimed in claim 1.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 2, 4, and 6-9 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skroski et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20230307742 A1) in view of Krois et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20210194072 A1), hereinafter referred to as Krois.
Regarding claim 2, Skroski teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Skroski does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the electronic venting valves comprises a mechanical backup venting element configured to open upon a pressure inside the battery housing exceeding a value.
However, Krois teaches a thermal runaway detection system (see e.g., Abstract). Krois teaches the thermal runaway detection system includes a venting device, which is a sealing body that is disposed in a venting passage that is configured to vent venting gases in (or during) a thermal runaway of a battery cell (see e.g., paragraph [0011]). Krois teaches the battery cells include a vent 13 which has a vent opening that is covered by a membrane that is configured to open in response to a certain overpressure within the battery cell 10 (“wherein at least one of the electronic venting valves comprises a mechanical backup venting element configured to open upon a pressure inside the battery housing exceeding a value”) (see e.g., paragraph [0048]) along with a venting device 55 that is disposed in a lateral exterior wall of the housing 53 of the batter module (see e.g., paragraph [0051]) in order to selectively allow or permit gas produced in the battery during an abnormal operation condition to be released and bursts open when a pressure inside exceeds a reference pressure threshold (see e.g., paragraph [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the vent valves of Skroski to further include a membrane that is configured to open in response to a certain overpressure within the battery cell, as taught by Krois, in order to selectively allow or permit gas produced in the battery during an abnormal operation condition to be released and bursts open when a pressure inside exceeds a reference pressure threshold (see e.g., paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 4, Skroski teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 3, as previously described.
Skroski does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the electronic venting valves comprises a mechanical backup venting element configured to open upon a pressure inside the battery housing exceeding a value.
However, Krois teaches a thermal runaway detection system (see e.g., Abstract). Krois teaches the thermal runaway detection system includes a venting device, which is a sealing body that is disposed in a venting passage that is configured to vent venting gases in (or during) a thermal runaway of a battery cell (see e.g., paragraph [0011]). Krois teaches the battery cells include a vent 13 which has a vent opening that is covered by a membrane that is configured to open in response to a certain overpressure within the battery cell 10 (“wherein at least one of the electronic venting valves comprises a mechanical backup venting element configured to open upon a pressure inside the battery housing exceeding a value”) (see e.g., paragraph [0048]) along with a venting device 55 that is disposed in a lateral exterior wall of the housing 53 of the batter module (see e.g., paragraph [0051]) in order to selectively allow or permit gas produced in the battery during an abnormal operation condition to be released and bursts open when a pressure inside exceeds a reference pressure threshold (see e.g., paragraph [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the vent valves of Skroski to further include a membrane that is configured to open in response to a certain overpressure within the battery cell, as taught by Krois, in order to selectively allow or permit gas produced in the battery during an abnormal operation condition to be released and bursts open when a pressure inside exceeds a reference pressure threshold (see e.g., paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 6, Skroski teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 5, as previously described.
Skroski does not explicitly teach wherein at least one of the electronic venting valves comprises a mechanical backup venting element configured to open upon the pressure inside the battery housing exceeding a second value.
However, Krois teaches a thermal runaway detection system (see e.g., Abstract). Krois teaches the thermal runaway detection system includes a venting device, which is a sealing body that is disposed in a venting passage that is configured to vent venting gases in (or during) a thermal runaway of a battery cell (see e.g., paragraph [0011]). Krois teaches the battery cells include a vent 13 which has a vent opening that is covered by a membrane that is configured to open in response to a certain overpressure within the battery cell 10 (“wherein at least one of the electronic venting valves comprises a mechanical backup venting element configured to open upon the pressure inside the battery housing exceeding a second value”) (see e.g., paragraph [0048]) along with a venting device 55 that is disposed in a lateral exterior wall of the housing 53 of the batter module (see e.g., paragraph [0051]) in order to selectively allow or permit gas produced in the battery during an abnormal operation condition to be released and bursts open when a pressure inside exceeds a reference pressure threshold (see e.g., paragraph [0013]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the vent valves of Skroski to further include a membrane that is configured to open in response to a certain overpressure within the battery cell, as taught by Krois, in order to selectively allow or permit gas produced in the battery during an abnormal operation condition to be released and bursts open when a pressure inside exceeds a reference pressure threshold (see e.g., paragraph [0013]).
Regarding claim 7, Skroski, as modified by Krois, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Skroski, as modified by Krois, teaches the battery cells include a vent 13 which has a vent opening that is covered by a membrane that is configured to open in response to a certain overpressure within the battery cell 10 (“wherein the mechanical backup venting element comprises a burstable membrane”) (see e.g., paragraph Krois [0048]).
Regarding claim 8, Skroski, as modified by Krois, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 6, as previously described.
Skroski teaches the vent valve 160 includes a check value that is a valve that permits flow of a fluid only in a certain direction (see e.g., paragraph [0026]). Skroski teaches the check valve disposed within the vent valve 160 (“wherein the mechanical backup venting element is located in a valve cap of the electronic venting valve”) (see e.g., paragraph [0026]) in order to prevent back flow of vented fluid to other battery cells (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify membrane of Skroski, as modified by Krois, to be located in the vent valve of Skroski, in order to prevent back flow of vented fluid to other battery cells (see e.g., paragraph [0026]).
Regarding claim 9, Skroski, as modified by Krois, teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 8, as previously described.
Skroski, as modified by Krois, teaches the battery cells include a vent 13 which has a vent opening that is covered by a membrane that is configured to open in response to a certain overpressure within the battery cell 10 (“wherein the mechanical backup venting element comprises a burstable membrane”) (see e.g., paragraph Krois [0048]).
Claim 11 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skroski et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20230307742 A1) in view of Malone (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20240131899 A1).
Regarding claim 11, Skroski teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Skroski does not explicitly teach wherein the electronic actuator comprises an electric motor for driving a worm gear.
However, Malone teaches an apparatus for cooling a heat generating component of a vehicle (see e.g., paragraph [0005]). Malone teaches the system includes an adjustable valve 142 to direct fluid through respective outlets that is moved via an actuator 180 (see e.g., paragraph [0036]). Malone teaches the actuator motor 180 is electrically connected to a controller 86, and the controller 68 provides a control signal that selectively drives the actuator motor 180 to rotate a worm gear 184 and causes the rotation of the valve 142 (“wherein the electronic actuator comprises an electric motor for driving a worm gear”) (see e.g., paragraph [0038]) in order to control the discharge of the fluid (see e.g., paragraph [0038]).
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify the actuator controlling the vent valves of Skroski to include an actuator motor to rotate a worm gear and cause the rotation of the valve, as taught by Malone, in order to control the discharge of the fluid (see e.g., paragraph [0038]).
Claim 12 is rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Skroski et al. (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20230307742 A1) in view of Gyani (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20210188093 A1).
Regarding claim 12, Skroski teaches the instantly claimed invention of claim 1, as previously described.
Skroski does not explicitly teach a broken wire detection mechanism for detecting whether a cable connection connecting the control unit and one or more of the electronic venting valves is damaged.
However, Gyani teaches a battery pack enclosure, a battery module, and a method to detect damage (see e.g., Abstract). Gyani teaches an electronic control unit connected to sensor measuring the state of the battery pack and configured to monitor the sensor to detect damage to the battery pack enclosure (see e.g., paragraph [0118]). Gyani teaches the electronic control unit is configured to detect the damage to the battery enclosure when there is a change in the resistance of the wires (“further comprising a broken wire detection mechanism for detecting whether a cable connection connecting the control unit and one or more of the electronic venting valves is damaged”) (see e.g., paragraph [0120]) in order to provide protection against mechanical damage and detect damage that might go unnoticed.
Therefore, it would have been obvious before the effective filing date of the claimed invention that one of ordinary skill would modify controller of Skroski to include detection of possible damage through changes in the resistance, as taught by Gyani, in order to provide protection against mechanical damage and detect damage that might go unnoticed.
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Kim (Published U.S. Patent Application US 20230191885 A1) teaches a battery-pack mounting structure for a vehicle to secure the battery but also prevent harmful gas from flowing into the interior of the vehicle (see e.g., paragraph [0010]).
/KATHERINE N HIGGINS/Examiner, Art Unit 1728
/MATTHEW T MARTIN/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1728