DETAILED ACTION
This action is in response to the applicant’s reply filed on July 1, 2026. Claims 1-20 are pending and addressed below.
Response to Amendment
In response to the applicant’s amendment to the abstract to remove an implied phrase, the objection to the Specification has been withdrawn.
In response to the applicant’s amendments to claims 6 and 16 to correct minor typographical errors, the objections to claims 6 and 16 have been withdrawn.
Claims 1, 3-6, 8-12, 14-16, and 18-20 have been amended. Claims 1-20 are pending.
The new ground of rejection set forth below for claims 1-20 [under 35 U.S.C. § 102]] are necessitated by Applicant’s amendment filed on July 1, 2026. The remaining grounds of rejection set forth below for claims 1-11 are the same as those set forth in the previous Office action mailed on May 15, 2026. For these reasons, the present action is properly made final.
Response to Arguments
Applicant's arguments filed July 1, 2026 with respect to claims 1-11 as anticipated by Beroth, US 6,352,309 (hereinafter Beroth) have been fully considered but they are not persuasive.
Specifically, applicant has argued that Beroth fails to disclose “an ottoman operatively connected to an electric motor to move the ottoman from a first position adjacent to or behind a display or a screen to a second position spaced a first distance from the first position, wherein the second position is a second distance from an occupant seat to allow an occupant sitting in the occupant seat to gain access to a storage space defined in the ottoman”, however the Examiner disagrees.
Regarding claim 1, First applicant argues that Beroth does not disclose “a storage position” of the ottoman, however there is no “storage position” recited in the claims. Instead, there is merely a second position that allows the occupant to gain access to the storage space defined by the ottoman. Further, there does not appear to be a position in which the storage space of the ottoman would not be accessible to the occupant. Second, the applicant argues that Beroth does not disclose the ottoman being stored adjacent to or behind a display, however there are no limitations in the claim as to the ottoman being “stored”. Additionally, as shown in Figure 1 the ottoman 30 is clearly located adjacent to the stanchions 40 of the display and partially behind the stanchions 40 of the display. This meets the limitations of claim 1. Applicant further argues that Beroth does not disclose “the ottoman being moved between a stowed storage and a deployed position to allow an occupant seat to pivotally move the top wall to gain access to a storage space defined in the ottoman” however these limitations are not recited in claim 1. In response to applicant's argument that the references fail to show certain features of the invention, it is noted that the features upon which applicant relies (i.e., the ottoman being moved between a stowed storage and a deployed position to allow an occupant seat to pivotally move the top wall to gain access to a storage space defined in the ottoman) are not recited in the rejected claim(s). Although the claims are interpreted in light of the specification, limitations from the specification are not read into the claims. See In re Van Geuns, 988 F.2d 1181, 26 USPQ2d 1057 (Fed. Cir. 1993).
Regarding claim 3, Applicant has argued that the Examiner has improperly mapped a cushion to the claimed font wall with an outer face at an obtuse angle. However, it is the Examiner’s position that the “cushion 36” meets all of the limitations of the claimed “front wall” and that there is nothing which would preclude the “cushion 36” from being considered the front wall of the ottoman 30, which is clearly shown in Figure 2 of Beroth.
Regarding claim 4, Applicant indicates that the Examiner has improperly mapped “top cushion 34” to the top wall of the ottoman. However, it is the Examiner’s position that the “cushion 34” meets all of the limitations of the claimed “top wall” and that there is nothing which would preclude the “cushion 34” from being considered the top wall of the ottoman 30, which is clearly shown in Figure 2 of Beroth.
Regarding claims 5, 6, 11, and 16, similar to claims 3 and 4 the Applicant has argued that “a cushion” cannot be considered as a wall. However, there is nothing that precludes the use of a cushion as a wall. Clearly, the top cushion 34 of Beroth meets all of the limitations of the claimed “top wall”.
Regarding claims 2, and 7-10, the applicants arguments as presented above are equally applicable to claims 2 and 7-10.
Applicant’s arguments filed July 1, 2026 with respect to claims 18-20 as anticipated by Beroth have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 12-20 as anticipated by Beroth have been withdrawn.
Specifically, the applicant’s amendments to claim 18 to include “a second position away from a display or a screen” is not disclosed by Beroth.
Applicant’s arguments filed July 1, 2026 with respect to claims 1, 12, and 18 as anticipated by Kroner et al., US2024/0294122 (hereinafter Kroner) have been fully considered and are persuasive. The rejections of claims 1, 12, and 18 as anticipated by Kroner have been withdrawn.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-11, 14-15, and 19-20 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Claim 1: The recitation of “to allow an occupant sitting in the occupant seat to gain access to a storage space defined in the ottoman” are indefinite as it is unclear as to when the limitations are met and when they are no longer met . For example, the ottoman includes a storage compartment (see Fig 6, par [0053]) and for people of different sizes, the same position may result in one person being able to access the storage compartment and another person unable to access the storage compartment. For the purpose of examination, the claims have been interpreted such that the ottoman in movable between two positions.
Claim 4, 10, 15, 19 and 20: The recitation of “to support at least a lower leg portion of the occupant” is unclear as for people of different sizes, the same position may result in one person being able to rest their feet on the ottoman, one person to reset their lower leg on the ottoman, and a third person unable to rest either their feet or their lower leg on the ottoman. For the purpose of examination, the claims have been interpreted such that the ottoman in movable between two positions. Appropriate correction and/or clarification is required.
Claims 2-8 and 11 are subsumed by the previously noted rejections because of their dependance either directly or indirectly. Appropriate corrections are required.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1-11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Beroth, US 6,352,309 (hereinafter Beroth).
Claim 1: Beroth discloses a product (see Fig 2), comprising:
an ottoman (ottoman 30 with leg rest cushion 36) operatively connected to an electric motor (not shown, col 3, ln 35-39, col 4, ln 3-10) to move the ottoman from a first position (approximately 32 inches from the front of seat 10 as shown in Fig 2, col 23-33) adjacent to or behind a display or screen (ottoman 30 with leg rest cushion 36 is located both adjacent to the pair of stanchions 40 which carry a video monitor and partially behind the stanchions 40 and video monitor as seen in Fig 2) to a second position spaced a first distance from the first position (ottoman 30 has been moved towards the seat 10 by approximately 2.5 inches, as shown in Fig 4, col 4, ln 40-54) wherein the second position (shown in Fig 4) is a second distance from an occupant seat (seat 10) to allow an occupant sitting in the occupant seat to gain access to a storage space defined in the ottoman (second position in Fig 4 of ottoman 30 is 2.5 inches closer to the occupant seat 10 than the position in Fig 2, this would allow an occupant to access the storage space defined by the ottoman 30, leg support cushion comprises a door for the storage compartment, claim 11).
Claim 2: Beroth discloses comprising a vehicle floorboard (deck) having at least one track (track 12) formed therein (see Fig 1-2, col 3, ln 19-24), and wherein the ottoman (30) is connected to the vehicle floorboard (12) to travel along the at least one track (ottoman 30 comprises a frame 31 which is mounted on tracks 32 for fore and aft movement, col 3, ln 64-66).
Claim 3: Beroth discloses the ottoman (30) comprises a front wall having an outer face slanted at an obtuse angle (front wall of leg rest cushion 36) with respect to vehicle floor bed (deck) and configured as a footrest (leg rest cushion 36) (see Fig 2).
Claim 4: Beroth discloses wherein the ottoman (30) includes a top wall (top cushion 34) configured to support at least a lower leg portion of the occupant (supporting heals and calf as shown in Fig 4, size of occupant will affect leg placement on cushion 34 as a person with longer legs will have more of their calf supported by the cushion 34).
Claim 5: Beroth discloses wherein the ottoman further comprises a front wall (36) an opposite spaced apart backwall (see Fig 2), a first side wall, an opposite spaced apart second side wall (shown in Fig 2), and the top wall (34), wherein the top wall (34) is pivotally connected one of the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, or the opposite spaced apart second side wall (cushion 34 is pivotally connected to the back wall of ottoman 30 shown open in Fig 2 and closed in Fig 4).
Claim 6: Beroth discloses the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, the opposite spaced apart second side wall define the storage space in the ottoman (30) (ottoman 30 provides storage for the occupant’s personal effects, col 2, ln 52-56, col 3, ln 59-64).
Claim 7: Beroth discloses further comprising a control system (controls) operatively connected to the ottoman (30) and configured to move the ottoman (30) from the first position to the second position (col 2, ln 38-41, col 4, ln 3-22).
Claim 8: Beroth discloses wherein the first position is spaced a third distance (ottoman approximately 32 inches from the seat 10, shown in Fig 2, col 4, ln 30-33) from the occupant seat seat (10), and wherein the third distance from the seat (ottoman 30 is about 32 inches from the seat 10 in Fig 2) is greater than the second distance (the position of the ottoman in Fig 4 is 2.5 inches closer to the seat 10 than the position of the ottoman 30 in Fig 2, col 4, ln 30-33, 40-47).
Claim 9: Beroth discloses wherein the ottoman (30) comprises a front wall having an outer face (leg cushion rest 36) slanted at an obtuse angle with respect to vehicle floor bed (12) (see Fig 2).
Claim 10: Beroth discloses wherein the ottoman (30) includes a top wall (34), and wherein the second position (see Fig 4) is a distance away from the occupant seat (10) so that the top wall (34) is configured to support at least a lower leg portion of the occupant (as shown in Fig 4, size of occupant will affect leg placement on top cushion 34 as a person with longer legs will have more of their calf supported by the top cushion 34).
Claim 11: Beroth discloses wherein the ottoman (ottoman 30) further comprises a front wall (36), an opposite spaced apart backwall (see Fig 2), a first side wall, an opposite spaced apart second side wall (shown in Fig 2), and the top wall (34), wherein the top wall (34) is pivotally connected one of the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, or the opposite spaced apart second side wall (cushion 34 is pivotally connected to the back wall of ottoman 30 shown open in Fig 2 and closed in Fig 4.
Claim 12: Beroth discloses a method, comprising:
providing an ottoman (ottoman 30 with leg rest cushion 36) operatively connected to an electric motor (not shown) to move the ottoman along at least one track formed in a vehicle floorboard (an electric motor is a conventional motor, ottoman 30 is mounted on tracks 32 for fore and aft movement, col 3, ln 64-66); and
moving the ottoman (30) longitudinally by the electric motor along the at least one track (tracks 32) formed in the vehicle floorboard from a first position adjacent to or behind a display or screen (ottoman 30 with leg rest cushion 36 is located both adjacent to the pair of stanchions 40 which carry a video monitor and partially behind the stanchions 40 and video monitor as seen in Fig 2) to a second position (Fig 4) spaced a first distance from the first position (an electric motor is a conventional motor, ottoman 30 is mounted on tracks 32 for fore and aft movement, col 3, ln 64-66, (ottoman 30 has been moved towards the seat 10 by approximately 2.5 inches, as shown in Fig 4, col 4, ln 40-54).
Claim 13: Beroth discloses further comprising providing a seat (seat 10) for supporting an occupant thereon (see Fig 2, 4 ) and connected to the vehicle floorboard (deck) (see Fig 2, 4), and wherein the second position is closer to the seat than the first position (the position of the ottoman 30 shown in Fig 4 is 2.5 inches closer to the seat 10 than the position of the ottoman 30 shown in Fig 2, col 4, ln 30-33, 40-47)..
Claim 14: Beroth discloses further comprising providing a seat (seat 10) configured to support an occupant thereon (see Fig 2, 4) and connected to the vehicle floorboard (deck) (see Fig 2, 4), wherein the ottoman (30) comprises a front wall having an outer face slanted at an obtuse angle (see Fig 2) with respect to the vehicle floorboard (deck) and configured to function as a footrest for the occupant sitting in the seat (as shown in Fig 2).
Claim 15: Beroth discloses further comprising providing a seat (10) for supporting an occupant thereon (see Fig 2, 4) and connected to the vehicle floorboard (deck), wherein the ottoman comprises a top wall (34) configured to function to support at least a lower leg portion of the occupant (supporting heals and calf as shown in Fig 4, size of occupant will affect leg placement on cushion 34 as a person with longer legs will have more of their calf supported by the cushion 34).
Claim 16: Beroth discloses wherein the ottoman (ottoman 30) further comprises a front wall (36) and an opposite spaced apart backwall (see Fig 2), a first side wall, an opposite spaced apart second side wall (shown in Fig 2), and the top wall (34), wherein the top wall (34) is pivotally connected one of the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, or the opposite spaced apart second side wall (cushion 34 is pivotally connected to the back wall of ottoman 30 shown open in Fig 2 and closed in Fig 4) and wherein the second position (position of ottoman 30 in Fig 4) is a distance away from the seat (10) so that an occupant sitting in the seat (10) can pivotally move the top wall (34) (occupant can also individually control each seating component to a limited extent as desired to adjust the seat to the exact requirements of a particular occupant, occupant can individually move the leg rest cushion 36 of the ottoman 30 to its stowed position flush against the rear-facing side of the ottoman 30, if desired, Fig, 4, col 4, ln 3-18, as seat components and leg rest cushion 36 are individually adjustable the occupant can necessarily stow the leg rest cushion 36 and lean forward to pivotally move the top cushion 34 of the ottoman 30) to gain access to a storage space defined in the ottoman (30) by the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, the opposite spaced apart second side wall (ottoman 30 provides storage for the occupant’s personal effects, col 2, ln 52-56, col 3, ln 59-64).
Claim 17: Beroth discloses further comprising providing a seat (10) for supporting an occupant thereon and connected to the vehicle floorboard (deck) (see Fig 2, 4), further comprising a screen or display facing the seat (pair of stanchions 40 positioned on either side of the ottoman 30, and on which may be carried a video monitor, col 3, ln 64-col 4, ln 2) and moving the ottoman (30) from the second position (Fig 4) to the first position (shown in Fig 1) , and wherein the first position is adjacent to or behind the screen or the display (pair of stanchions 40 positioned on either side of the ottoman 30, and on which may be carried a video monitor, see Fig 2, 4, col 3, ln 64-col 4, ln 2, ottoman is adjacent to stations 40 that support video monitor).
Claim(s) 1-20 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(2) as being anticipated by Kim et al., US 2019/0232847 (hereinafter Kim).
Claim 1: Kim discloses a product (see Fig 1-2), comprising:
an ottoman (footrest housing 30) operatively connected to an electric motor (par [0029]) to move the ottoman (30) from a first position configured for storage adjacent to or behind a display or a screen (dashboard 5) (as shown in Fig 1) to a second position configured for use spaced a first distance from the first position (as shown in Fig 2), wherein the second position (see Fig 2) is a second distance from an occupant seat (backseat 7) to allow an occupant (passenger 2) sitting in the occupant seat (7) to gain access to a storage space defined in the ottoman (as shown in Fig 2, 5, par [0041]-[0043]).
Claim 2: Kim discloses further comprising a vehicle floorboard (floor panel 1) having at least one track (guide rail 10) formed therein, and wherein the ottoman (footrest housing 30) is connected to the vehicle floorboard (1) to travel along the at least one track (see Fig 1-2, par [0026]).
Claim 3: Kim discloses wherein the ottoman (30) comprises a front wall (20) having an outer face slanted at an obtuse angle with respect to the vehicle floor bed (1) (as seen in Fig 1-3) and configured to function as a footrest for the occupant (2) sitting in the seat (see Fig 2-3, par [0026]-[0027]).
Claim 4: Kim discloses wherein the ottoman (30) includes a top wall (foot plate cover 42) configured to support at least a lower leg portion of the occupant (foot plate cover 4 footrest housing 30 is capable of supporting at least a lower leg portion of the occupant (passenger 2) (Fig 3-5).
Claim 5: Kim discloses wherein the ottoman (30) further comprises a front wall, an opposite spaced apart backwall, a first side wall and an opposite spaced apart second side wall, and a top wall, wherein the top wall is pivotally connected one of the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, or the opposite spaced apart second side wall (as seen in Fig 3-5, par [0032], [0034], [0038]).
Claim 6: Kim discloses wherein the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, the opposite spaced apart second side wall define the storage space (storage container 50) in the ottoman (as shown in Fig 5).
Claim 7: Kim discloses further comprising a control system operatively connected to the ottoman (30) and configured to move the ottoman (30) from the first position to the second position (Fig 1-2, par [0030]).
Claim 8: Kim discloses a seat (7) connected to the vehicle floorboard (1) and wherein the first position is spaced a third distance from the occupant seat (7) (as shown in Fig 1), and wherein the second position is spaced a second distance from the seat (7) (as shown in Fig 2), and wherein the third distance (see Fig 1) is greater than the second distance (see Fig 2).
Claim 9: Kim discloses wherein the ottoman (30) comprises a front wall (20) having an outer face slanted at an obtuse angle with respect to the vehicle floor bed (1) (as seen in Fig 1-3).
Claim 10: Kim discloses the ottoman (30) includes a top wall (foot plate cover 42), and wherein the second position (see Fig 2) is a distance away from the occupant seat (7) so that the top wall is configured to support at least a lower leg portion of the occupant (foot plate cover 4 footrest housing 30 is capable of supporting at least a lower leg portion of the passenger 2) (Fig 3-5).
Claim 11: Kim discloses wherein the ottoman (30) further comprises a front wall, an opposite spaced apart backwall, a first side wall and an opposite spaced apart second side wall, and a top wall, wherein the top wall is pivotally connected one of the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, or the opposite spaced apart second side wall (as seen in Fig 3-5, par [0032], [0034], [0038]).
Claim 12: Kim discloses method, comprising:
providing an ottoman (footrest housing 30) operatively connected to electric motor (par [0029]) to move the ottoman (30) along at least one track (guide rail 10) formed in a vehicle floorboard (floor panel 1) (see Fig 1-2); and
moving the ottoman (30) longitudinally by the electric motor (par [0029]) along the at least one track (10) formed in the vehicle floorboard (10) from a first position (shown in Fig 1) adjacent to or behind a display or screen (dashboard 5) to a second position away from the display or the screen (5) (shown in Fig 2).
Claim 13: Kim discloses comprising providing a seat (backseat 7) for supporting an occupant (passenger 2) thereon and connected to the vehicle floorboard (1), and wherein the second position (see Fig 2) is closer to the seat (7) than the first position (see Fig 1).
Claim 14: Kim discloses further comprising providing a seat (backseat 7) configured to support an occupant (2) thereon and connected to the vehicle floorboard (1), wherein the ottoman (30) comprises a front wall (20) having an outer face slanted at an obtuse angle with respect to the vehicle floorboard (1) (as seen in Fig 1-3) and configured to function as a footrest for the occupant (2) sitting in the seat (see Fig 2-3, par [0026]-[0027]).
Claim 15: Kim discloses comprising providing a seat (backseat 7) for supporting an occupant (2) thereon and connected to the vehicle floorboard (1), wherein the ottoman (30) comprises a top wall configured to support at least a lower leg portion of the occupant (foot plate cover 4 footrest housing 30 is capable of supporting at least a lower leg portion of the occupant (passenger 2) (Fig 3-5).
Claim 16: Kim discloses wherein the ottoman (30) further comprises a front wall and an opposite spaced apart backwall, a first side wall and an opposite spaced apart second side wall, and a top wall, wherein the top wall is pivotally connected one of the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, or the opposite spaced apart second side wall (as seen in Fig 3-5, par [0032], [0034], [0038]), and wherein the second position (see Fig 2) is a distance from the seat (7) to allow the occupant (2) sitting in the seat (7) to pivotally move the top wall to gain access to a storage space (storage container 50) defined in the ottoman by the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, the opposite spaced apart second side wall (as shown in Fig 5).
Claim 17: Kim discloses further comprising providing a seat (7) for supporting an occupant (2) thereon and connected to the vehicle floorboard (1) (see Fig 1-2), further comprising a screen or display (dashboard 5) facing the seat (7) and moving the ottoman from the second position (Fig 2) to the first position (Fig 1), and wherein the first position (Fig 1) is adjacent to or behind the screen or the display (5) (footrest housing slides forward and backward, par [0026]).
Claim 18: Kim discloses a system (see Fig 1) comprising:
a vehicle (see Fig 1) having a vehicle floorboard (floor panel 1);
configured to move an ottoman (footrest housing 30) by a first electric motor (par [0029]) along at least one track (guide rail 10) formed in the vehicle floorboard (1) from a first position (shown in Fig 1) to a second position (shown in Fig 2) away from a display or a screen (dashboard 5).
Claim 19: Kim discloses providing an occupant seat (backseat 7) connected to the vehicle floorboard (see Fig 1-2), and wherein the second position (see Fig 2) is closer to the occupant seat than the first position (footrest housing 30 is closer to backseat 7 in Fig 2 than in Fig 1), wherein the ottoman (30) comprises a front wall having an outer face slanted at an obtuse angle (at door (20/21) with respect to the vehicle floorboard (as shown in Fig 1-3) and configured to function as a footrest for an occupant sitting in the occupant seat (as shown in Fig 2-3), wherein the ottoman (30) comprises a top wall (foot plate cover 42) configured to support at least a lower leg portion of the occupant (foot plate cover 4 footrest housing 30 is capable of supporting at least a lower leg portion of the occupant (passenger 2) (Fig 3-5).
Claim 20: Kim discloses an occupant seat (backseat 7) connected to the vehicle floorboard (10), the occupant seat (7) having bottom cushion and a back configured for pivotal movement (as shown in Fig 1-3), wherein the ottoman (30) comprises a front wall and an opposite spaced apart backwall (see Fig 3), a first side wall and an opposite spaced apart second side wall, (see Fig 3) and a top wall (see Fig 3), wherein the top wall is pivotally connected one of the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, or the opposite spaced apart second side wall (as seen in Fig 3-5, par [0032], [0034], [0038]), and wherein the second position (see Fig 2) is a distance from the occupant seat (7) to allow an occupant (2) sitting in the occupant seat (7) to pivotally move the top wall to gain to a access storage space (storage container 50) defined in the ottoman by the front wall, the opposite spaced apart backwall, the first side wall, the opposite spaced apart second side wall (as shown in Fig 5),
an electric motor (par [0029]) connected to the ottoman (30) to move at least a portion of the ottoman (30) from a first vertical position (door 20 is closed) nearest the vehicle floorboard (1) to a second vertical position (door 20 is open) configured to support at least a lower leg portion of an occupant (at footrest box 40) (see Fig 3-5, par [0026]) or to position reducing the distance the occupant must move to reach into the ottoman (see Fig 2), and wherein the back is moveable from a reclined position to an upright position (back of seat 7 is upright see Fig 1-2) reducing the distance the occupant must move to reach into the ottoman than if the back was in a recline position (as shown in Fig 2).
Conclusion
Claims 1-20 are rejected. No claims are allowed.
Applicant's amendment necessitated the new ground(s) of rejection presented in this Office action. Accordingly, THIS ACTION IS MADE FINAL. See MPEP § 706.07(a). Applicant is reminded of the extension of time policy as set forth in 37 CFR 1.136(a).
/CAROLINE N BUTCHER/Primary Examiner, Art Unit 3676