DETAILED ACTION
Specification
Applicant is reminded of the proper content of an abstract of the disclosure.
A patent abstract is a concise statement of the technical disclosure of the patent and should include that which is new in the art to which the invention pertains. The abstract should not refer to purported merits or speculative applications of the invention and should not compare the invention with the prior art.
If the patent is of a basic nature, the entire technical disclosure may be new in the art, and the abstract should be directed to the entire disclosure. If the patent is in the nature of an improvement in an old apparatus, process, product, or composition, the abstract should include the technical disclosure of the improvement. The abstract should also mention by way of example any preferred modifications or alternatives.
Where applicable, the abstract should include the following: (1) if a machine or apparatus, its organization and operation; (2) if an article, its method of making; (3) if a chemical compound, its identity and use; (4) if a mixture, its ingredients; (5) if a process, the steps.
Extensive mechanical and design details of an apparatus should not be included in the abstract. The abstract should be in narrative form and generally limited to a single paragraph within the range of 50 to 150 words in length.
See MPEP § 608.01(b) for guidelines for the preparation of patent abstracts.
The abstract of the disclosure is objected to because the abstract is over 150 words long. A corrected abstract of the disclosure is required and must be presented on a separate sheet, apart from any other text. See MPEP § 608.01(b).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 1-3, 5-7, and 9-11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Ishizuka (JP 2019035900).
Regarding claims 1-2, Ishizuka discloses an electrophotographic photoreceptor comprising a support, a charge generation layer, and a charge transport layer stacked on the support. The charge transport layer comprises a charge transport substance and a resin. The resin includes structures (I) and (II) ([0008], page 6).
Ishizuka further discloses specific examples of (I) and (II), including (I-4) and (II-1-6) ([0041] page 14, [0042] page 15), which are the same monomers used in Polyarylate Resin(1-1) of the Examples in the Instant Application (Instant Specification page 52).
Ishizuka further discloses the charge transport material is 25-80 % by mass of the charge transport layer ([0049]).
Regarding claim 3, Ishizuka discloses all limitations as set forth above. Ishizuka further discloses several charge transport materials, including (T-3), meeting Formula (1) of the Instant Claim ([0047]-[0048]).
Regarding claims 5-7, Ishizuka discloses all limitations as set forth above. Ishizuka further discloses a process cartridge comprising the electrophotographic photoreceptor, which is detachably attached to an electrophotographic apparatus ([0062]).
Regarding claims 9-11, Ishizuka discloses all limitations as set forth above. Ishizuka further discloses an electrophotographic apparatus using the electrophotographic photoreceptor, a charging means to charge the photoreceptor, an exposure means to form an electrostatic latent image on the photoreceptor, a developing means to develop the latent image with a toner, and a transfer means to transfer the toner image to a transfer material, aka the recording medium, #7 in figure 1, ([0063]-[0064] Fig. 1).
Claims 1-2, 4-6, 8-10, and 12 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Tanaka (US 20160154325).
Regarding claims 1-2, Tanaka discloses an electrophotographic photosensitive member comprising a surface layer selected from a polyarylate resin or a polycarbonate resin ([0007]). Tanaka further discloses the photosensitive member includes a support with an undercoat and a photosensitive layer on the support. The photosensitive layer may be a single layer or multilayer type, with the multilayer type comprising a charge generation layer and a charge transport layer, the charge transport layer being the surface layer ([0118]). Tanaka further discloses the mass ratio of the charge transport material and binder in the charge transport layer is 2:1 to 1:2, aka the charge transporting material is 33.33 to 66.67 mass% ([0171]). Tanaka further discloses the polyarylate resin comprises the structural unit (B), wherein the R groups each independently represent a hydrogen atom or methyl group, X2 represents a single bond, a cyclohexylidene group, or formula (C), and Y1 represents a m-phenylene group, a p-phenylene group, or a divalent group with two p-phenylene groups ([0108]-[0110]). Specific examples of formula (B) are taught on page 8-9.
Regarding claim 4, Tanaka discloses all limitations as set forth above. Tanaka further discloses the photosensitive member has an outer diameter of 23 mm or less (abstract, [0007]-[0009], [0016], Claim 1).
Regarding claims 5-6 and 8, Tanaka discloses all limitations as set forth above. Tanaka further discloses a process cartridge comprising the electrophotographic photosensitive member, which is detachably attachable to an electrophotographic apparatus ([0007], [0022], [0029], Claim 1)
Regarding claims 9-10 and 12, Tanaka discloses all limitations as set forth above. Tanaka further discloses an electrophotographic apparatus which includes the electrophotographic photosensitive member, a charging device to charge the photosensitive member, an exposure device to form an electrostatic latent image on the photosensitive member, a developing device to develop the latent image with a toner, and a transfer device to transfer the toner image onto a transfer material (aka paper), which is then fixed onto the transfer material forming the print/copy which output from the apparatus ([0009], [0023]-[0026] Fig. 1).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure.
Mimori (JP 2002174912) teaches a similar electrophotographic photoreceptor, comprising a photosensitive layer on a conductive support, the photosensitive layer comprising a polyester resin having a similar polyarylate structure defined by general formula (I) ([0009]).
Mimori further teaches the photosensitive layer may comprise a laminate structure comprising a charge generating layer and a charge transporting layer which comprises a charge transporting material dispersed in a binder ([0025]). The charge transport material is used in an amount of 100-300 parts per 100 parts binder ([0035]). The charge transport material is selected from several examples including multiple which meet formula (1) of the Instant Claims ([0032], page 7)
/C.C.S./ Examiner, Art Unit 1737
/AMBER R ORLANDO/ Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1731