Election/Restrictions
Applicant’s election without traverse of claims 1 - 14 in the reply filed on June 12, 2024 is acknowledged.
Claims 15 - 21 are withdrawn from further consideration pursuant to 37 CFR 1.142(b) as being drawn to a nonelected invention, there being no allowable generic or linking claim. Election was made without traverse in the reply filed on June 12, 2024.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claim(s) 1 - 6 and 9 - 11 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Gleich (DE 102019101970).
With regards to claim 1, Gleich teaches a method for producing a veneered building panel (Abstract) comprising:
Providing a substrate (paragraph 16, Claim 1)
Applying a sub-layer on a first surface of the substrate (paragraph 16, Claim 1)
Applying a wood veneer layer on the sub-layer (paragraph 16, Claim 1)
Applying heat and pressure to form the veneered building panel (paragraphs 16 and 34)
Where the method further comprises:
Dehydrating the wood veneer layer prior to applying heat and pressure to form the veneered building panel (paragraph 17, claim 1)
Where dehydrating the wood veneer layer comprises applying one or more of IR radiation, heat, microwaves and/or hot air to the wood veneer layer (paragraph 22)
And where the sublayer comprises a no added formaldehyde binder (paragraphs 36 and 37)
With regards to claim 2, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Additionally, Gleich teaches that the dehydrating the wood veneer layer comprises dehydrating the wood veneer layer after applying the wood veneer layer on the sub-layer (paragraph 24).
With regards to claim 3, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Additionally, Gleich teaches that the sub-layer is applied in powder form, as a sheet, in liquid form, and/or as granulates (paragraph 37).
With regards to claim 4, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Additionally, Gleich teaches that the sub-layer is applied in powder form (paragraph 37).
With regards to claim 5, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Additionally, Gleich teaches that the binder comprises one or more of PVC, polyester, polyurethane or a combination thereof (paragraph 36).
With regards to claim 6, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Additionally, Gleich teaches that the method further comprises heating the sub-layer prior to applying the wood veneer layer to the sub-layer (paragraph 33).
With regards to claim 9, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Additionally, Gleich teaches that dehydrating the wood veneer layer comprises dehydrating the wood veneer layer to have a moisture content of less than 7 wt% (paragraph 21).
With regards to claim 10, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Additionally, Gleich teaches that the substrate is a wood-based board, optionally an MDF or HDF board (paragraph 26).
With regards to claim 11, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Additionally, Gleich teaches that an applied dehydration effect, for dehydrating the wood veneer layer, is proportional to a thickness of the wood veneer (paragraphs 21, 22 and 25).
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claim(s) 7 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleich (DE 102019101970) in view of Hart et al (US 2019/0152207).
With regards to claim 7, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Gleich teaches that the resin layer is pre-cured (paragraph 33) where one of ordinary skills would appreciate that heat is required to pre-cure. Gleich fails to explicitly disclose that the pre-curing is performed by using an IR radiation.
Hart discloses a composite laminate system for indoor and outdoor application comprising a wood layer comprised of a thin plank or veneer (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Gleich, where Hart discusses that curing a urethane coating by way of an infrared heat improves its hardness (paragraph 76).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have used IR heating to heat the resin layer in Gleich as suggested by Hart. The rationale being, as stated by Hart, that it improves or increases the hardness (paragraph 76).
Claim(s) 8 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleich (DE 102019101970) in view of Beuchel et al (US 2015/0086747).
With regards to claim 8, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Gleich fails to explicitly disclose that the method comprises a step of cooling the substrate, sub-layer and wood veneer layer prior to applying heat and pressure to form the veneered building panel.
Beuchel discloses various examples for polymer reinforced composite plywood and laminates (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Gleich, where Beuchel discloses cooling the substrate, sub-layer and wood veneer layer prior to applying heat and pressure to form the veneered building panel (paragraph 52).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have performed a step of cooling the substrate, sub-layer and wood veneer layer prior to applying heat and pressure to form the veneered building panel, as suggested by Beuchel, in Gleich’s method. The rationale being that, as stated by Beuchel, it prevents the resin layer for curing during the layup and spreading operations before the reach the pressing step (paragraph 52).
Claim(s) 12 - 14 is/are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Gleich (DE 102019101970) in view of Bradway et al (US 2018/0127987).
With regards to claim 12, the teachings of Gleich are presented above. Gleich fails to explicitly disclose that the method comprises applying a back side layer arrangement comprising a backing layer to a second surface of the substrate.
Bradway discloses a flooring system (Abstract), in the same field of endeavor as Gleich, where Bradway states that the panel comprises an underlayer (Figure 3 item 70, paragraph 47), which is positioned on a second surface of the substrate opposite the first surface on which the sub layer is applied (Figure 3 item 40).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skills in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to have applied a back side layer arrangement comprising a backing layer to a second surface of the substrate opposite the first surface on which the sub-layer is applied, as suggested by Bradway, in Gleich’s method. The rationale being that, as stated by Bradway, it can provide an additional protection and added properties to the building panel (paragraph 47).
With regards to claim 13, the teachings of Gleich and Bradway are presented above. Additionally, Bradway teaches that the back side layer arrangement comprises a binder configured to attach the backing layer to a second surface of the substrate and where the binder in the back side layer is the same as the binder in the sub-layer (Figure 3 item 50).
With regards to claim 14, the teachings of Gleich and Bradway are presented above. Additionally, Bradway teaches that the backing layer is configured to form a moisture barrier (paragraph 47).
Conclusion
/JOSHEL RIVERA/Examiner, Art Unit 1746
/MICHAEL N ORLANDO/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 1746