DETAILED ACTION
Drawings
The drawings are objected to because:
In Fig. 7, it appears that 120 is used to identify canister 102.
In Fig. 8, 500 appears to be used to refer to the entire assembly shown, but the reference character 500 is also used to refer only to the straps.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor (or for applications subject to pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, the applicant), regards as the invention.
Regarding claim 1, the claim recites “the dispensing sub-system configured to fluidically couple the pre-pressurized canister to the valve sub-system” in lines 10-11. It is unclear how any part of the dispensing sub-system would be considered to couple the canister to the valve sub-system (see Figs. 4-5 and Paragraphs 0093-0096 of the specification). According to Examiner’s best understanding, the claim will be interpreted to read --configured to fluidically couple to the pre-pressurized canister via
Claims 4 and 11 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(d) or pre-AIA 35 U.S.C. 112, 4th paragraph, as being of improper dependent form for failing to further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which it depends, or for failing to include all the limitations of the claim upon which it depends. Each claim is dependent upon a claim that recites “one or more low GWP propellants including at least one of carbon dioxide, nitrogen, or trans-1-Chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene” (see claims 1 and 7), and further recites the limitation “wherein the one or more low GWP propellants include the trans-1-Chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene”. It is unclear whether the underlined term “the” is intended to impact the scope of the claim, since it appears to imply that trans-1-Chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene is required by the parent claim. There is additional ambiguity based on the written description, which describes the use of trans-1-Chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene separately as a propellant (e.g., see Paragraph 0090) and as a flammability reducer added to a composition having a different propellant (e.g., see Paragraph 0038). Thus, it is not necessarily clear whether/how the instant claims further limit the subject matter of the claim upon which each depends. Applicant may cancel the claim(s), amend the claim(s) to place the claim(s) in proper dependent form, rewrite the claim(s) in independent form, or present a sufficient showing that the dependent claim(s) complies with the statutory requirements.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 102
Claims 7-15 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 102(a)(1) as being anticipated by Yeates et al. (US 2014/0275303).
Regarding claim 7, Yeates et al. disclose a pre-pressurized canister (Paragraph 0051) comprising: one or more polymeric materials (e.g., the polyurethane foam forming composition may include polyisocyanate, polyether polyol, and/or silicone surfactants; see Paragraphs 0063-0064 and Table 2) and one or more low global warming potential (GWP) propellants, the one or more low GWP propellants including at least one of carbon dioxide, nitrogen, or trans-1-Chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (all three alternatives are disclosed as suitable low GWP blowing agents/propellants; Paragraphs 0030-0031).
Regarding claim 8, Yeates et al. further disclose that the pre-pressurized canister is configured to couple to a dispensing sub-system, the dispensing sub-system configured to dispense the one or more polymeric materials contained within the pre-pressurized canister (Paragraph 0051).
Regarding claims 9-10, Yeates et al. further disclose that the pre-pressurized canister includes between 3% to 50% and between 5% to 15% by weight propellant (e.g., the blowing agent, which also functions as a propellant, “is present in the one-component foam forming composition of the present invention in an amount from 10 to 30 wt. %.”; Paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 11, Yeates et al. further disclose that the one or more low GWP propellants include the trans-1-Chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (Paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 12, Yeates et al. further disclose that the one or more polymeric materials include at least polyurethane (the composition forms a polyurethane foam; see the Abstract). Examiner notes that at least a portion of the polymerization process may occur after dispensing in such an application, but that the invention of Yeates et al. appears to function in the same way as described in the instant invention (according to Examiner’s best understanding based on Paragraphs 0086-0092 of the specification). Furthermore, Yeates et al. additionally include silicone in the disclosed composition for use as a surfactant (Paragraphs 0032-0033).
Regarding claims 13-15, Yeates et al. disclose all of the features of the claimed chemical composition, as described above regarding claims 7 and 9-12.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
Claims 1-6 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Yeates et al. in view of Dean et al. (US 2010/0219204).
Regarding claim 1, Yeates et al. disclose a reactive polymer canister system comprising:
a pre-pressurized canister, the pre-pressurized canister being pre-filled with one or more polymeric materials and one or more low global warming potential (GWP) propellants, the one or more low GWP propellants including at least one of carbon dioxide, nitrogen, or trans-1-Chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (see above regarding the same limitation in claim 7); and
a dispensing sub-system comprising: a dispensing hose and a dispensing member, the dispensing member coupled to a portion of the dispensing hose, the dispensing member configured to dispense the one or more polymeric materials contained within the pre-pressurized canister (“The one-component foam forming composition may also be dispensed from a pressurized cylinder equipped with hose and wand assembly.”; Paragraph 0051).
Yeates et al. describe the canister system as being used to dispense a one-component polyurethane foam (Paragraph 0007), but are silent regarding the connection between the dispensing sub-system and the canister, and thus do not disclose a valve sub-system or any details regarding its connection to the dispensing sub-system.
Dean et al. disclose a system for dispensing a one-component polyurethane foam (see the Abstract) that includes a pre-pressurized canister (2; Paragraphs 0005, 0009), a valve sub-system (see Figs. 4-5), the valve sub-system including a dispensing valve (35; see also 56 in the embodiment of Figs. 6-10, and 82 in the embodiment of Fig. 11) configured to couple to a portion of the pre-pressurized canister (e.g., via 31 and 33 in Fig. 5), the valve sub-system including a valve control mechanism configured to regulate a pressure of the pre-pressurized canister to cause the pre-pressurized canister to release the one or more polymeric materials (e.g., valve 35 is operated as a selector to open/close canister; additionally, 31 may include sectioning valves to regulate flow between multiple containers; Paragraph 0027; see Figs. 4-5); and
a dispensing sub-system, the dispensing sub-system configured to fluidically couple to the pre-pressurized canister via the valve sub-system (see interpretation described in the rejection under 35 U.S.C. 112(b); Examiner notes that the claim may also be rejected without modification by considering elements 14, 31, and 33 to be a part of the dispensing sub-system), the dispensing sub-system comprising: a dispensing hose (10), the dispensing hose coupled to a portion of the dispensing valve (via 14); and a dispensing member (7, 8), the dispensing member coupled to a portion of the dispensing hose (e.g., see Figs. 2-5), the dispensing member configured to dispense the one or more polymeric materials contained within the pre-pressurized canister (Paragraphs 0022-0023).
It would have been obvious to one having ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the application to provide the canister system of Yeates et al. with a valve sub-system, as taught by Dean et al., in order to enable controlled connection and dispensing from the canister via the dispensing sub-system. Since Yeates et al. is silent regarding this function, one having ordinary skill in the art would look to the prior art for solutions, with Dean et al. providing a suitable example in accordance with methods well known in the art.
Regarding claims 2-3, Yeates et al. further disclose that the pre-pressurized canister includes between 3% to 50% and between 5% to 15% by weight propellant (e.g., the blowing agent, which also functions as a propellant, “is present in the one-component foam forming composition of the present invention in an amount from 10 to 30 wt. %.”; Paragraph 0031).
Regarding claim 4, Yeates et al. further disclose that the one or more low GWP propellants include the trans-1-Chloro-3,3,3-trifluoropropene (Paragraph 0030).
Regarding claim 5, Yeates et al. further disclose that the one or more polymeric materials include at least polyurethane (the composition forms a polyurethane foam; see the Abstract). Examiner notes that at least a portion of the polymerization process may occur after dispensing in such an application, but that the invention of Yeates et al. appears to function in the same way as described in the instant invention (according to Examiner’s best understanding based on Paragraphs 0086-0092 of the specification). Furthermore, Yeates et al. additionally include silicone in the disclosed composition for use as a surfactant (Paragraphs 0032-0033).
Regarding claim 6, the dispensing member of Dean et al. is taught to be configured to couple to a dispensing tip (7 couples to 4 and 5; Paragraph 0022; see Figs. 2-5).
Conclusion
The prior art made of record and not relied upon is considered pertinent to applicant's disclosure. See PTO-892 form. In particular, Wuerch et al. (US 2014/0065432) and Peterson et al. (US 2021/0379226) respectively disclose examples of a chemical composition and a canister system relevant to the independent claims of the instant invention.
/MICHAEL C PATTERSON/Examiner, Art Unit 3754
/PAUL R DURAND/Supervisory Patent Examiner, Art Unit 3754
March 6, 2026