DETAILED ACTION
This office action is in response to the application filed on 10/01/2024.
Claims 1-40 are currently pending.
Claims 1-40 are rejected.
Claims 1, 11, 21 and 31 are independent claims.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 101
Claims 21-30 are rejected under 35 USC 101 since the claims are directed to non-statutory subject matter. Claims 21-30 each recite a “computer-readable medium” which typically covers forms of non-transitory tangible media and transitory propagating signals per se, which may be interpreted under the broadest reasonable interpretation to include signals, particularly when the specification is silent. See MPEP 211.01. Under the broadest reasonable interpretation of a claim which covers a signal per se, such as a claim drawn to a computer readable medium that covers both transitory and non-transitory embodiments, the claim is rejected under 35 U.S.C. § 101 as covering non-statutory subject matter.
It is suggested that the claims be amended to narrow the claim to cover only statutory embodiments to avoid a rejection under 35 U.S.C. § 101 by adding the limitation “non-transitory” to the claim. Such an amendment would typically not raise the issue of new matter, even when the specification is silent, because the broadest reasonable interpretation relies on the ordinary and customary meaning that includes non-transitory embodiments and signals per se.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 112
6. Claims 31-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 112(b) or 35 U.S.C. 112 (pre-AIA ), second paragraph, as being indefinite for failing to particularly point out and distinctly claim the subject matter which the inventor or a joint inventor, or for pre-AIA the applicant regards as the invention. Claims 31-40 each recite “a system comprising a network device and at least one user device” which has no corresponding structures for the network device and the at least one user device.
Double Patenting
The USPTO internet Web site contains terminal disclaimer forms which may be used. Please visit http://www.uspto.gov/forms/. The filing date of the application will determine what form should be used. A web-based eTerminal Disclaimer may be filled out completely online using web-screens. An eTerminal Disclaimer that meets all requirements is auto-processed and approved immediately upon submission. For more information about eTerminal Disclaimers, refer to http://www.uspto.gov/patents/process/file/efs/guidance/eTD-info-I.jsp.
8. Claims 1-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-38 of U.S. Patent No. 12,041,555. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations in claims 1-40 of the instant application recites limitations which reads on limitations of claims 1-38 of U.S. Patent No. 12,041,555. The claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in U.S. Patent No. 12,041,555 with obvious wording variations.
Claim 1 of current application
Claims 1,2 of US 12,041,555
Preamble
A method comprising:
A non-transitory computer-readable medium storing instructions that, when executed, cause:
Limitation 1
receiving a plurality of signals received by a network device;
determining signal information associated with a plurality of signals received via a network device;
Limitation 2
determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold; and
determining an attenuation value based at least on the signal information; and
Limitation 3
attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value to cause the network device to stop receiving the at least one signal.
attenuating, by the network device and based at least in part on the determined attenuation value, one or more radio frequency receiving paths of the network device.
Claim 2
The non-transitory computer-readable medium of claim 1,wherein the signal information comprises a received signal strength indication distribution comprising signal strength from a plurality of signal sources.
9. Claims 1-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-36 of U.S. Patent No. 12,471,031. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations in claims 1-40 of the instant application recites limitations which reads on limitations of claims 1-36 of U.S. Patent No. 12,471,031. The claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in U.S. Patent No. 12,471,031 with obvious wording variations.
10. Claims 1-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,647,466. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations in claims 1-40 of the instant application recites limitations which reads on limitations of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 11,647,466. The claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in U.S. Patent No. 11,647,466 with obvious wording variations.
11. Claims 1-40 are rejected on the ground of nonstatutory double patenting as being unpatentable over claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,925,008. Although the conflicting claims are not identical, they are not patentably distinct from each other because limitations in claims 1-40 of the instant application recites limitations which reads on limitations of claims 1-20 of U.S. Patent No. 10,925,008. The claimed limitations recited in the present application are transparently found in U.S. Patent No. 10,925,008 with obvious wording variations.
Claim Rejections - 35 USC § 103
15. Claims 1-3, 6-13, 16-23, 26-33 and 36-40 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xavier Reves Balleste et al. (US 2014/0105043 A1), hereinafter D1, in view of Robert Hardacker et al. (US 2008/0014890 A1), hereinafter D2.
For claim 1, D1 teaches a method comprising:
receiving a plurality of signals received by a network device (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.);
determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold (D1, Fig. 2 step 208 and paragraphs 21-25.); and
attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value to cause the network device to stop receiving the at least one signal (D1, Fig. 2 steps 210-212 and paragraphs 21-25.).
D2 also teaches receiving a plurality of signals received by a network device; determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold; and attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value (D2, Fig. 2B and paragraphs 31-34.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in D1 with D2 to have a method comprising: receiving a plurality of signals received by a network device; determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold; and attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value to cause the network device to stop receiving the at least one signal because both D1 and D2 teach method of setting attenuation value to improve incoming signals.
For claim 2, D1 and D2 further teach the method of claim 1, wherein the plurality of signals are received from a plurality of signal sources (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 3, D1 and D2 further teach the method of claim 1, further comprising determining a received signal strength indication distribution associated with the plurality of signals (D1, Fig. 2 step 204 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 6, D1 and D2 further teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining the attenuation value required to lower the strength of the at least one signal of the plurality of signals below the threshold comprises calculating the attenuation value as a function of a statistical distribution of the plurality of signals (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25, 29, 48. See also D2, Fig. 1B and paragraph 29.).
For claim 7, D1 and D2 further teach the method of claim 1, wherein determining the attenuation value required to lower the strength of the at least one signal of the plurality of signals below the threshold comprises determining the attenuation value based at least in part on data associated with an environment associated with the network device (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 8, D1 and D2 further teach the method of claim 7, wherein the data associated with the environment associated with the network device comprises at least one of historical data or real-time data (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 9, D1 and D2 further teach the method of claim 1, wherein attenuating the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value comprises attenuating the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device using one or more of a pin diode or a programmable electronic attenuator (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 10, D1 and D2 further teach the method of claim 1, wherein attenuating the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value comprises attenuating the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device by an amount equal to the attenuation value in steps until the strength of the at least one signal is below the threshold (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25, 29, 48. See also D2, Fig. 1B and paragraph 29.).
For claim 11, D1 teaches a network device (D1, Fig. 6) comprising:
one or more processors (D1, Fig. 6 item 612); and
memory (D1, Fig. 6 item 604) storing instructions that, when executed by the one or more processors, cause the device to:
receive a plurality of signals received by the network device (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.);
determine an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold associated with the network device (D1, Fig. 2 step 208 and paragraphs 21-25.); and
attenuate at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value to cause the network device to stop receiving the at least one signal (D1, Fig. 2 steps 210-212 and paragraphs 21-25.).
D2 also teaches receiving a plurality of signals received by a network device; determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold; and attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value (D2, Fig. 2B and paragraphs 31-34.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in D1 with D2 to have a method comprising: receiving a plurality of signals received by a network device; determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold; and attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value to cause the network device to stop receiving the at least one signal because both D1 and D2 teach method of setting attenuation value to improve incoming signals.
For claim 12, D1 and D2 further teach the network device of claim 11, wherein the plurality of signals are received from a plurality of signal sources (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 13, D1 and D2 further teach the network device of claim 11, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause the device to determine a received signal strength indication distribution associated with the plurality of signals (D1, Fig. 2 step 204 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 16, D1 and D2 further teach the network device of claim 11, wherein the instructions that, when executed, cause the device to determine the attenuation value required to lower the strength of the at least one signal of the plurality of signals below the threshold comprise instructions that, when executed, cause the device to calculate the attenuation value as a function of a statistical distribution of the plurality of signals (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25, 29, 48. See also D2, Fig. 1B and paragraph 29.).
For claim 17, D1 and D2 further teach the network device of claim 11, wherein the instructions that, when executed, cause the device to determine the attenuation value required to lower the strength of the at least one signal of the plurality of signals below the threshold comprise instructions that, when executed, cause the device to determine the attenuation value based at least in part on data associated with an environment associated with the network device (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 18, D1 and D2 further teach the network device of claim 17, wherein the data associated with the environment associated with the network device comprises at least one of historical data or real- time data (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 19, D1 and D2 further teach the network device of claim 11, wherein the instructions that, when executed, cause the device to attenuate the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value comprise instructions that, when executed, cause the device to attenuate the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device using one or more of a pin diode or a programmable electronic attenuator (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 20, D1 and D2 further teach the network device of claim 11, wherein the instructions that, when executed, cause the device to attenuate the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value comprise instructions that, when executed, cause the device to attenuate the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device by an amount equal to the attenuation value in steps until the strength of the at least one signal is below the threshold (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25, 29, 48. See also D2, Fig. 1B and paragraph 29.).
For claim 21, D1 teaches a computer-readable medium (D1, Fig. 6 item 604) storing instructions that, when executed, cause:
determining a plurality of signals received by a network device (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.);
determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold (D1, Fig. 2 step 208 and paragraphs 21-25.); and
attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value to cause the network device to stop receiving the at least one signal (D1, Fig. 2 steps 210-212 and paragraphs 21-25.).
D2 also teaches receiving a plurality of signals received by a network device; determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold; and attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value (D2, Fig. 2B and paragraphs 31-34.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in D1 with D2 to have a method comprising: receiving a plurality of signals received by a network device; determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold; and attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value to cause the network device to stop receiving the at least one signal because both D1 and D2 teach method of setting attenuation value to improve incoming signals.
For claim 22, D1 and D2 further teach the computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the plurality of signals are received from a plurality of signal sources (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 23, D1 and D2 further teach the computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the instructions, when executed, further cause determining a received signal strength indication distribution associated with the plurality of signals (D1, Fig. 2 step 204 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 26, D1 and D2 further teach the computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the instructions that, when executed, cause determining the attenuation value required to lower the strength of the at least one signal of the plurality of signals below the threshold cause calculating the attenuation value as a function of a statistical distribution of the plurality of signals (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25, 29, 48. See also D2, Fig. 1B and paragraph 29.).
For claim 27, D1 and D2 further teach the computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the instructions that, when executed, cause determining the attenuation value required to lower the strength of the at least one signal of the plurality of signals below the threshold cause determining the attenuation value based at least in part on data associated with an environment associated with the network device (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 28, D1 and D2 further teach the computer-readable medium of claim 27, wherein the data associated with the environment associated with the network device comprises at least one of historical data or real- time data (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 29, D1 and D2 further teach the computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the instructions that, when executed, cause attenuating the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value cause attenuating the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device using one or more of a pin diode or a programmable electronic attenuator (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 30, D1 and D2 further teach the computer-readable medium of claim 21, wherein the instructions that, when executed, cause attenuating the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value cause attenuating the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device by an amount equal to the attenuation value in steps until the strength of the at least one signal is below the threshold (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25, 29, 48. See also D2, Fig. 1B and paragraph 29.).
For claim 31, D1 teaches a system comprising: a network device (D1, Figs. 5, 6) configured to:
receive a plurality of signals received by the network device (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.);
determine an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold (D1, Fig. 2 step 208 and paragraphs 21-25.); and
attenuate at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value to cause the network device to stop receiving the at least one signal (D1, Fig. 2 steps 210-212 and paragraphs 21-25.). and
at least one user device configured to transmit, to the network device and via the at least one radio frequency receiving paths, a signal (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
D2 also teaches receiving a plurality of signals received by a network device; determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold; and attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value (D2, Fig. 2B and paragraphs 31-34.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in D1 with D2 to have a method comprising: receiving a plurality of signals received by a network device; determining an attenuation value required to lower a strength of at least one signal of the plurality of signals below a threshold; and attenuating at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value to cause the network device to stop receiving the at least one signal because both D1 and D2 teach method of setting attenuation value to improve incoming signals.
For claim 32, D1 and D2 further teach the system of claim 31, wherein the plurality of signals are received from a plurality of signal sources (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 33, D1 and D2 further teach the system of claim 31, wherein the network device is further configured to determine a received signal strength indication distribution associated with the plurality of signals (D1, Fig. 2 step 204 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 36, D1 and D2 further teach the system of claim 31, wherein the network device is configured to determine the attenuation value required to lower the strength of the at least one signal of the plurality of signals below the threshold by calculating the attenuation value as a function of a statistical distribution of the plurality of signals (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25, 29, 48. See also D2, Fig. 1B and paragraph 29.).
For claim 37, D1 and D2 further teach the system of claim 31, wherein the network device is configured to determine the attenuation value required to lower the strength of the at least one signal of the plurality of signals below the threshold by determining the attenuation value based at least in part on data associated with an environment associated with the network device (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 38, D1 and D2 further teach the system of claim 37, wherein the data associated with the environment associated with the network device comprises at least one of historical data or real-time data (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 39, D1 and D2 further teach the system of claim 31, wherein the network device is configured to attenuate the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value by attenuating the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device using one or more of a pin diode or a programmable electronic attenuator (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25.).
For claim 40, D1 and D2 further teach the system of claim 31, wherein the network device is configured to attenuate the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device based on the attenuation value by attenuating the at least one radio frequency receiving path of the network device by an amount equal to the attenuation value in steps until the strength of the at least one signal is below the threshold (D1, Fig. 2 step 202 and paragraphs 21-25, 29, 48. See also D2, Fig. 1B and paragraph 29.).
16. Claims 4-5, 14-15, 24-25 and 34-35 are rejected under 35 U.S.C. 103 as being unpatentable over Xavier Reves Balleste et al. (US 2014/0105043 A1), hereinafter D1, in view of Robert Hardacker et al. (US 2008/0014890 A1), hereinafter D2 and Shuo Wang et al. (US 2006/0132257 A1), hereinafter D3.
For claim 4, D1 and D2 teach all the limitations of parent claim 1. D1 and D2 do not explicitly teach noise floor.
However, Wang explicitly teaches a noise floor associated with the network device (D3, Fig. 14 and paragraph 78.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in D1 and D2 with a noise floor associated with the network device taught in Wang to provide filters having an improved response at high frequencies [D3: background].
For claim 5, D1, D2 and D3 further teach the method of claim 4, wherein the noise floor associated with the network device is -90 decibels (D3, Fig. 14 and paragraph 78.).
For claim 14, D1 and D2 teach all the limitations of parent claim 11. D1 and D2 do not explicitly teach noise floor.
However, Wang explicitly teaches a noise floor associated with the network device (D3, Fig. 14 and paragraph 78.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in D1 and D2 with a noise floor associated with the network device taught in Wang to provide filters having an improved response at high frequencies [D3: background].
For claim 15, D1, D2 and D3 further teach the network device of claim 14, wherein the noise floor associated with the network device is -90 decibels (D3, Fig. 14 and paragraph 78.).
For claim 24, D1 and D2 teach all the limitations of parent claim 21. D1 and D2 do not explicitly teach noise floor.
However, Wang explicitly teaches a noise floor associated with the network device (D3, Fig. 14 and paragraph 78.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in D1 and D2 with a noise floor associated with the network device taught in Wang to provide filters having an improved response at high frequencies [D3: background].
For claim 25, D1, D2 and D3 further teach the computer-readable medium of claim 24, wherein the noise floor associated with the network device is -90 decibels (D3, Fig. 14 and paragraph 78.).
For claim 34, D1 and D2 teach all the limitations of parent claim 31. D1 and D2 do not explicitly teach noise floor.
However, Wang explicitly teaches a noise floor associated with the network device (D3, Fig. 14 and paragraph 78.).
It would have been obvious to one of ordinary skill in the art before the effective filing date of the claimed invention to modify the method taught in D1 and D2 with a noise floor associated with the network device taught in Wang to provide filters having an improved response at high frequencies [D3: background].
For claim 35, D1, D2 and D3 further teach the system of claim 34, wherein the noise floor associated with the network device is -90 decibels (D3, Fig. 14 and paragraph 78.).
Conclusion
/WILL W LIN/ Primary Examiner, Art Unit 2412